DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al (US 2022/0046457, hereinafter Kumar) and in view of Gao et al (WO 2020/083369, hereinafter Gao).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar discloses a measurement reporting method, comprising: obtaining, by a first device, M types of measurement results for a first signal, wherein the first signal is used to detect a target object or a spatial channel (UE is configured with M measurement types, Para [0096], UE performs plurality of measurements, Para [0079], network quality and radio link measurements, Para [0088], used to detect, is intended use); and sending, by the first device, N types of measurement results in the M types of measurement results to a second device, wherein M and N are positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M (UE response to network device, includes first measurement results based on measurement filter and excludes second measurement results based on the measurement filter, Para [0007], which means sending a subset of the measurement results); but does not disclose the first signal is an echo signal obtained after a sensing signal sent by the first device is reflected by the target object. Gao discloses the application can be installed in any device, where a device transmits a detection signal and receives a reflected signal by the target object and obtain measurements from the reflected signal, page 4-5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Gao in the system of Kumar in order to effectively use limited bandwidth resources to design a waveform for efficient work of radar.
Regarding claim 15, Kumar discloses communication apparatus (UE, Fig. 4), comprising: at least one processor and a memory (processor and memory, Fig. 4) storing programming instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the communication apparatus to: obtain M types of measurement results for a first signal, wherein the first signal is used to detect a target object or a spatial channel (UE is configured with M measurement types, Para [0096], UE performs plurality of measurements, Para [0079], network quality and radio link measurements, Para [0088], used to detect, is intended use); and send N types of measurement results in the M types of measurement results to a second device, wherein M and N are positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M (UE response to network device, includes first measurement results based on measurement filter and excludes second measurement results based on the measurement filter, Para [0007], which means sending a subset of the measurement results); but does not disclose the first signal is an echo signal obtained after a sensing signal sent by the first device is reflected by the target object. Gao discloses the application can be installed in any device, where a device transmits a detection signal and receives a reflected signal by the target object and obtain measurements from the reflected signal, page 4-5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Gao in the system of Kumar in order to effectively use limited bandwidth resources to design a waveform for efficient work of radar.
Claims 2-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar, in view of Gao and in view of Tooher et al (US 2019/0074953, hereinafter Tooher).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Kumar discloses the measurement reporting method/apparatus according to claim 4/11/18, but not further comprising: sending, by the first device, second indication information to the second device, wherein the second indication information indicates whether a feedback condition is met. Tooher discloses UE only reports feedback that achieves a threshold, Para [0130], trigger threshold can be when the difference between a current measurement and a previous reported measurement is greater than a threshold amount, Para [0132], if the UE is reporting feedback than that means the feedback condition is met. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Tooher in the system of Kumar in view with Gao in order to reduce overhead when reporting feedback.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Kumar discloses the measurement reporting method/apparatus according to claim 1/8/15, wherein the M types of measurement results comprise of: a first type of measurement result comprising one or more of information about the first signal or information about the spatial channel (measurement type is a radio link measurement, Para [0088]), wherein the information about the spatial channel indicates a feature of the spatial channel corresponding to the first signal; a second type of measurement result comprising one or more of a time domain measurement result, a space domain measurement result, or a frequency domain measurement result, wherein the time domain measurement result indicates speed information of the target object, the space domain measurement result indicates angle information of the target object, and the frequency domain measurement result indicates distance information of the target object; a third type of measurement result comprising one or more of a target detection probability, a target false alarm probability, a target missed detection probability, first information, or a channel quality indicator, wherein the target detection probability is a probability that the target object is detected, the target false alarm probability is a probability that a target object that actually does not exist is determined as a target object that exists, the target missed detection probability is a probability that no target object that actually exists is detected, the first information indicates whether the target object is detected, and the channel quality indicator indicates quality of the spatial channel corresponding to the first signal: or a fourth type of measurement result comprising one or more of the speed information, the angle information, or the distance information of the target object.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Kumar discloses the measurement reporting method/apparatus according to claim 1/8/15, further comprising: receiving, by the first device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a type of a measurement result that needs to be reported. Kumar discloses UE receives a request indicating one or more measurement filters, Para [0083], UE can select first measurements but not second measurement results, Para [0085] and UE sends a response, Para [0089].
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Kumar discloses the measurement reporting method/apparatus according to claim 1/8/15, further comprising: receiving, by the first device, a first request message, wherein the first request message is used to request to report a measurement result for the first signal; and sending, by the first device, a response message, wherein the response message comprises the N types of measurement results. Kumar discloses UE receives a request indicating one or more measurement filters, Para [0083], UE can select first measurements but not second measurement results, Para [0085] and UE sends a response, Para [0089].
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Kumar discloses the measurement reporting method/apparatus according to claim 4/11/18, further comprising: receiving, by the first device, third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used to trigger reporting of the measurement result. Kumar discloses UE receives a request indicating one or more measurement filters, Para [0083], UE can select first measurements but not second measurement results, Para [0085] and UE sends a response, Para [0089].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Kumar discloses the measurement reporting method according to claim 5/12, but not wherein the feedback condition comprises that the measurement result is greater than or equal to a reporting threshold, or the feedback condition comprises that a change rate of the measurement result is within a preset range, wherein the change rate of the measurement result is a difference between an (i+1).sup.th measurement result and an i.sup.th measurement result, and i is an integer greater than or equal to 1. Tooher discloses UE only reports feedback that achieves a threshold, Para [0130], trigger threshold can be when the difference between a current measurement and a previous reported measurement is greater than a threshold amount, Para [0132].
Regarding claim 8, Kumar discloses a measurement reporting method, comprising: receiving, by a second device, N types of measurement results from a first device, wherein the N types of measurement results belong to M types of measurement results for a first signal, the first signal is used to detect a target object or a spatial channel, M and N are positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M (UE is configured with M measurement types, Para [0096], UE performs plurality of measurements, Para [0079], network quality and radio link measurements, Para [0088], used to detect, is intended use, UE response to network device, includes first measurement results based on measurement filter and excludes second measurement results based on the measurement filter, Para [0007], which means sending a subset of the measurement results); and determining attribute information of the target object or the spatial channel based on the N types of measurement results (the network device can adjust network performance, make scheduling decisions or change transmission mode based on the measurement data results, Para [0100], obvious to one of ordinary skill a determination had been made on the channel based on the results); but does not disclose the first signal is an echo signal obtained after a sensing signal sent by the first device is reflected by the target object. Gao discloses the application can be installed in any device, where a device transmits a detection signal and receives a reflected signal by the target object and obtain measurements from the reflected signal, page 4-5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Gao in the system of Kumar in order to effectively use limited bandwidth resources to design a waveform for efficient work of radar.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant adds a new limitation to the claims and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Kumar does not disclose the first signal is an echo signal obtained after sensing signal is sent by a first device and is reflected by the target object. In response, argument is moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461