DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is a response to applicant’s arguments and amendment filed 07/02/2026. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-15 and 17-20 are amended. Claims 2-3 and 6 are cancelled. Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-20 are currently pending.
The objection of claims 3, 5, 7-11 and 15 has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
The objection of claims 17 and 20 has been maintained; see below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corrigan, Jr. in view of Schaefer; claims 1 and 12-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichi in view of Schaefer; claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corrigan, Jr. in view of Schaefer and Shinya; and claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corrigan, Jr. in view of Schaefer and Fry, have been fully considered and are persuasive, in combination with the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fitzpatrick as discussed below.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is noted applicant argues the newly added claim limitations are not taught by Corrigan, Jr., Schaefer or Yuichi, however, as discussed below, the newly added reference Fitzpatrick teaches said limitation.
Note the rejection of claims 1, 4-5 and 7-12 has been withdrawn due to applicant incorporating subject matter previously indicated as allowable into independent claim 1 (see below).
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, line 5, the phrase “the protrusions” should read “the plurality of protrusions”.
In claim 20, line 2, the phrase “the protrusions” should read “the plurality of protrusions”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichi (JP 2020116314A, translation provided) (previously of record) in view of Schaefer (US 2084412) (previously of record) and Fitzpatrick (US 2011/0130739 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yuichi discloses (paras. [0001]-[0111]; figs. 1-11) a hemostatic device (300, para. [0091]) comprising:
a pressing member (340, para. [0092]; fig. 10) configured to compress a puncture site formed on a patient (para. [0101]);
a plurality of bands (includes 311 and 312, para. [0093]) configured to be connected to the pressing member (para. [0101]);
wherein the pressing member includes a support member (342, para. [0097]) and an inflatable portion (341) fixed to the support member (fig. 10) and configured to compress the puncture site (para. [0097]);
the support member includes a first region in which the inflatable portion is disposed (fig. 10), and a second region located outside the first region (region of insertion holes 343), the second region configured to be connected to the plurality of bands (figs. 8-11);
wherein the second region includes a plurality of hole portions (insertion holes) configured to be connected to the plurality of bands (figs. 8-11);
the plurality of hole portions including a first hole portion (first insertion hole 343), a second hole portion (second insertion hole 343), and a third hole portion (third insertion hole 343).
However, Yuichi fails to disclose wherein at least two of the plurality of hole portions includes a plurality of protrusions protruding toward the inflatable portion; each of the first hole portion and the second hole portion includes the plurality of protrusions; and wherein the support member includes a first curved region curved convexly away from the inflatable portion near the third hole portion, and a second curved region curved convexly toward the inflatable portion near the first hole portion and the second hole portion.
Schaefer teaches (pg. 3, col. 2 lines 49-60; figs. 13-14), in the analogous art of the claimed invention, a buckle (figs. 13-14) including a plurality of protrusions (includes square-ended teeth 21), for the purpose of providing roughened surfaces for the strap to catch but not be perforated or pierced through, distributing force over a larger part of the strap and lessening wear on the strap by protecting sharp points of adjacent teeth (pg. 1, col. 1 line 29- pg. 2, col. 2 line 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion holes of Yuichi to include the V-shaped teeth and square-ended teeth protruding toward the inflatable portion as taught by Schaefer, in order to provide roughened surfaces for the strap to catch but not be perforated or pierced through, distributing force over a larger part of the strap and lessening wear on the strap when a holding force is applied to the strap by protecting sharp points of adjacent teeth, based on the suggestions and teachings of Schaefer (pg. 1, col. 1 line 29- pg. 2, col. 2 line 6).
Yuichi (as modified) further teaches each of the first hole portion and the second hole portion includes the plurality of protrusions (combination considered to further teach each of the insertion holes including the V-shaped teeth).
However, Yuichi (as modified) still fails to teach wherein the support member includes a first curved region curved convexly away from the inflatable portion near the third hole portion, and a second curved region curved convexly toward the inflatable portion near the first hole portion and the second hole portion.
Fitzpatrick teaches (paras. [0043]-[0044]; figs. 4a-b), in the same field of endeavor, a hemostatic device (abstract) comprising a first curved region (region between inflection points P, fig. 4a) curved convexly away from a pressing portion (convexly shaped away from pad 6), and a second curved region (region outwards of inflection points P, fig. 4a) curved convexly toward the pressing portion (converts to concave curvature towards pad 6), for the purpose of the panel being less obtrusive and permitting an injured person to continue with his or her activities with minimal interference from the panel (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support member of Yuichi (as modified) to comprise a first curved region curved convexly away from the inflatable portion, and a second curved region curved convexly towards the inflatable portion, in order to provide a support member that is less obtrusive and interferes minimally with movement of the patient, based on the suggestions and teachings of Fitzpatrick (para. [0044]).
Yuichi (as modified) further teaches wherein the first curved region is curved convexly away from the inflatable portion near the third hole portion (combination considered to further teach convex curvature away from the inflatable portion in a central region of the support member and therefore near the third hole portion), and the second curved region is curved convexly toward the inflatable portion near the first hole portion and the second hole portion (combination considered to further teach convex curvature towards the inflatable portion at edges of the support member and therefore near the first and second hole portions).
Regarding claim 14, Yuichi (as modified) teaches the hemostatic device according to claim 13. Yuichi (as modified) further teaches wherein the first hole portion having a first side surface, and a second side surface which is located on a side farther from the inflatable portion than the first side surface and which includes the plurality of protrusions (combination considered to further teach first insertion hole 343 of Yuichi having first and second side surfaces comprising teeth); the second hole portion has a third side surface, and a fourth side surface which is located on a side farther away from the inflatable portion than the third side surface and which includes the plurality of protrusions (combination considered to further teach third and fourth side surfaces of second hole 343 of Yuichi comprising teeth); the third hole portion located at a position different from the first hole portion and the second hole portion in the support member (see fig. 11 of Yuichi); and each of the second side surface and the fourth side surface includes a gap portion formed between adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions (gap portion considered to be formed by V-shaped teeth, fig. 13 of Schaefer).
Regarding claim 15, Yuichi (as modified) teaches the hemostatic device according to claim 14. Yuichi (as modified) further teaches wherein each of the plurality of protrusions in the first hole portion and the second hole portion includes a central portion including an apex (linear flat portion of square-ended teeth 21 of Schaefer) of each of the plurality of protrusions and a connection portion (vertical portions of square-ended teeth, fig. 13 of Schaefer) connecting the central portion and the gap portion (fig. 13 of Schaefer), and the connection portion tilts from the central portion toward the gap portion (combination considered to further teach vertical portions tilting toward V-shaped teeth, due to insertion holes 343 of Yuichi having a degree of tilting when wrapped around the hand of a patient, figs. 8-11 of Yuichi).
Regarding claim 16, Yuichi (as modified) teaches the hemostatic device according to claim 15. Yuichi (as modified) further teaches wherein at least part of the central portion of each of the plurality of protrusions located in the first hole portion and at least part of the central portion of each of the plurality of protrusions located in the second hole portion are located on the same virtual circle (combination considered to further teach at least part of central portion of teeth of Schaefer in each insertion hole located on a same virtual circle due to arrangement of insertion holes in Yuichi, such that a virtual circle is considered to exist between the insertion holes that the protrusions in Yuichi (as modified) would fall along, fig. 11 of Yuichi).
Regarding claim 17, Yuichi (as modified) teaches the hemostatic device according to claim 16. Yuichi (as modified) further teaches wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has a trapezoidal shape (square-ended teeth 21 of Schaefer considered to have a trapezoidal shape, inclusive definition of a trapezoidal shape encompasses shapes with at least one pair of parallel sides, such that a square shape meets the inclusive definition of a trapezoid), and the central portion includes a linear flat portion (fig. 13 of Schaefer); and a width of the gap portion is smaller than a width of each of the protrusions (width of apex of V-shaped teeth considered to be smaller than width of linear flat portion of square-ended teeth, fig. 13 of Schaefer).
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corrigan, Jr. (US 2014/0142615 A1) (previously of record) in view of Schaefer and Fitzpatrick.
Regarding claim 18, Corrigan, Jr. discloses (see abstract; paras. [0020]-[0054]; figs. 1-6) a support member (fig. 2) for a hemostatic device, the support member comprising:
a pressing member (36) configured to compress a puncture site formed on a patient (para. [0038]), the pressing member includes an inflatable portion (bladder 36, para. [0023]) fixed to the support member and configured to compress the puncture site (figs. 2-3);
a first region in which the inflatable portion is disposed (fig. 2), and a second region located outside the first region (encompasses remainder of device) and configured to receive at least a first band and a second band (straps, paras. [0028] and [0034]);
the second region includes a first hole portion (first slot 68 of first connector end 64) configured to connect to the first band (receives first strap, paras. [0028] and [0034]), and a second hole portion (second slot 68 of second connector end 64) located at a position facing the first hole portion across the inflatable portion (across inflatable portion, depicted in figs. 2-3) and configured to connect to the second band (receives second strap, paras. [0028] and [0034]);
the second region has a third hole portion (access opening 72) located at a position different from the first hole portion and the second hole portion in the support member (figs. 2-3);
a second curved region curved convexly toward the inflatable portion near the first hole portion and the second hole portion (see convex curvature towards bladder 36 of connector ends 64, figs. 2-3).
However, Corrigan, Jr. fails to disclose the first hole portion and the second hole portion have a plurality of protrusions protruding toward the inflatable portion; wherein the support member includes a first curved region curved convexly away from the inflatable portion near the third hole portion.
Schaefer teaches (pg. 3, col. 2 lines 49-60; figs. 13-14), in the analogous art of the claimed invention, a buckle (figs. 13-14) having a plurality of protrusions (includes V-shaped teeth 13), for the purpose of providing roughened surfaces for the strap to catch but not be perforated or pierced through, distributing force over a larger part of the strap and lessening wear on the strap (pg. 1, col. 1 line 29- pg. 2, col. 2 line 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slots 38 of Corrigan, Jr. to include the teeth protruding toward the inflatable portion as taught by Schaefer, in order to provide roughened surfaces for the strap to catch but not be perforated or pierced through, distributing force over a larger part of the strap and lessening wear on the strap when a holding force is applied to the strap, based on the suggestions and teachings of Schaefer (pg. 1, col. 1 line 29- pg. 2, col. 2 line 6).
Corrigan, Jr. (as modified) further teaches wherein the plurality of protrusions protrude toward the inflatable portion (note each hole portion of Schaefer comprises V-shaped teeth, such that slots 38 of Corrigan, Jr. at each connector end 64 would have protrusions protruding towards bladder 36).
Corrigan, Jr. (as modified) still fails to teach wherein the support member includes a first curved region curved convexly away from the inflatable portion near the third hole portion.
Fitzpatrick teaches (paras. [0043]-[0044]; figs. 4a-b), in the same field of endeavor, a hemostatic device (abstract) comprising a first curved region (region between inflection points P, fig. 4a) curved convexly away from a pressing portion (convexly shaped away from pad 6), for the purpose of the panel being less obtrusive and permitting an injured person to continue with his or her activities with minimal interference from the panel (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Corrigan, Jr. (as modified) to further include a convex curvature away from bladder 36 in the central portion of frame 42, in order to provide a frame that is less obtrusive and interferes minimally with movement of the patient, based on the suggestions and teachings of Fitzpatrick (para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Corrigan, Jr. (as modified) teaches the support member according to claim 18. Corrigan, Jr. (as modified) further teaches wherein the first hole portion includes a first side surface, and a second side surface which is located on a side farther from the inflatable portion than the first side surface and which includes the plurality of protrusions (combination considered to further teach slots 38 of Corrigan, Jr. having first and second side surfaces including V-shaped teeth, such that the second side surface includes V-shaped teeth); the second hole portion has a third side surface, and a fourth side surface which is located on a side farther away from the inflatable portion than the third side surface and which includes the plurality of protrusions (combination considered to further teach slots 38 of Corrigan, Jr. having third and fourth side surfaces including V-shaped teeth, such that the fourth side surface includes V-shaped teeth); and each of the second side surface and the fourth side surface includes a gap portion formed between adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions (gap portion considered to be formed by square-ended teeth, fig. 13 of Schaefer).
Regarding claim 20, Corrigan, Jr. (as modified) teaches the support member according to claim 19. Corrigan, Jr. (as modified) further teaches wherein each of the protrusions includes a central portion including an apex (apex of V-shaped teeth 13 of Schaefer) of each of the plurality of protrusions and a connection portion (angled portions of V-shaped teeth leading to apex, fig. 13 of Schaefer) connecting the central portion and the gap portion (fig. 13 of Schaefer); and the connection portion tilts from the central portion toward the gap portion (depicted in fig. 13 of Schaefer); and at least part of the central portion of each of the plurality of protrusions located in the first hole portion and at least part of the central portion of each of the plurality of protrusions located in the second hole portion are located on the same virtual circle (considered to be located on the same virtual circle due to connector ends 64 of Corrigan, Jr. being curved and forming a virtual circle, para. [0028]; figs. 1-3 of Corrigan, Jr.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-12 are allowed. See the non-final rejection mailed 04/20/2026 for reasons for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771