Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English translation of JP2018006112A (Nakamura) in view of English translation of JP2018107054 [Iizuka] .
Claim 1, Nakamura teaches a power storage cell [abs] comprising: a case; an electrode assembly; an insulating film; and an electrolyte solution, wherein the case [#11] accommodates the electrode assembly [#12 ;0015], the insulating film [#13; 0044], and the electrolyte solution [not shown; 0015], the electrode assembly has an upper surface, a lower surface, and a peripheral surface , the peripheral surface connects the upper surface with the lower surface, the peripheral surface includes a first region and a second region, the first region is covered with the insulating film, the second region is not covered with the insulating film, the second region extends from the upper surface to reach the lower surface, and the second region is smaller in area than the first region [please refer to the annotated figure below which depicts the claimed features]. It is noted, Nakamura does not explicitly illustrate the a liquid inlet hole is provided on a side of the case facing the upper surface. Iizuka teaches a secondary battery and teaches the liquid injection hole as structurally claimed [#11; 0034-0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakamura in view of Iizuka and have the injection hole as claimed as this is a common structural element in this field of endeavor and would be an obvious structural element incorporated into a battery. The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Claim 2, Nakamura teaches the power storage cell according to claim 1, wherein the power storage cell further includes an insulating member [#50 i.e. insulating cover -0039], and the insulating member is placed on the case at a position facing the second region.
Claim 3, modified Nakamura teaches wherein the second region is placed below the liquid inlet hole [please refer to claim 1].
Claim 4, Nakamura teaches wherein the power storage cell further includes an insulating tape [#50; 0039], the second region is bounded on both sides in a circumferential direction of the peripheral surface, by the first region, and the insulating tape extends to link one side of the first region to the other side, straddling the second region [0041; The first insulating portion 51 straddles the electrode bonding portion 32 a of the positive electrode conductive member 32 and the electrode bonding portion 42 a of the negative electrode conductive member 42. In addition, the first insulating portion 51 is interposed between the electrode junction portions 32 a, 42 a and the lid 11].
Claim 5, Nakamura teaches wherein the insulating film has a belt-like shape [as it is seen in annotated fig above in claim 1; the insulating film surrounds the surfaces which is synonymous to a belt like shape; 0049].
Claim 6, Nakamura teaches wherein the insulating film is wrapped on the peripheral surface [depicted in claim 1; 0044, 0046, 0049].
Claim 7, Nakamura teaches wherein the insulating film has a length direction and a width direction, the width direction is orthogonal to the length direction, and a size of the insulating film in the length direction is smaller than a circumferential size of the peripheral surface [depicted in claim 1].
Claim 8, Nakamura teaches wherein the electrode assembly has a cubic outer shape, and the electrode assembly is of stack type [fig. 1; 0015].
Claim 9, Nakamura teaches wherein the peripheral surface consists of the first region and the second region [depicted in claim 1].
Conclusion
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729