DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated over XUE (US 20210195641).
Regarding Claim 1, XUE discloses a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 1; UEs 115s), comprising:
discovering a relay wireless device for local communications on an unlicensed carrier (see FIG 1; UEs 115; See ¶¶0030, 0032, 0039; UE is discovering other UEs with relay functionality in order to relay information to the central server/base station on an unlicensed carrier); and
communicating, after a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is successful on the unlicensed carrier, data with the relay wireless device on the unlicensed carrier through the local communications (see FIG. 9; step - 930, 940; see ¶¶0032, 0039, 0112, 0113, 0119; After the UE performs successful LBT procedure on an unlicensed carrier, transmits data/signal with the relay device within/through the COT which is local/area-specific communication) for further communicating the data with a base station (see Fig. 12; see ¶¶0030, 0136; After successful LBT procedure further communicates the COT signal information to the base station).
Regarding Claim 2, XUE discloses receiving, from the base station and on a licensed carrier (see FIG. 1, FIG. 4; see ¶0039, 0067; The communication system operates both licensed and unlicensed bands), an uplink grant and information about a frequency domain location of an LBT bandwidth for the local communications with the relay wireless device on the unlicensed carrier (See FIG. 4; see ¶¶0067, 0068, 0069; UE is receiving an uplink grant and information about the frequency bands of an LBT bandwidth on an unlicensed carrier); and
performing the LBT procedure on the LBT bandwidth to acquire a channel occupancy time (COT) for the local communications on the unlicensed carrier, (See FIG. 4; see ¶¶0068, 0069; The LBT procedure is performed on an LBT bandwidth to get the COT on the unlicensed carrier)
wherein the communicating the data with the relay wireless device includes transmitting the data to the relay wireless device in the acquired COT and according to the uplink grant (see FIG. 4; see ¶¶0068, 0069; The base station transmits data with the relay wireless device/UE (see also ¶0032; UE act as a relay wireless device) within the acquired COT and based on the UL grant).
Regarding Claim 3, XUE discloses transmitting, to the base station, information about a remaining time duration of the COT (see ¶0073; The UE is sharing it’s COT with the base station) after the communicating the data with the relay wireless device (see ¶0075; multiple UE share COT), wherein the base station uses the remaining time duration of the COT for downlink data transmission (see ¶¶0063, 0063; Base station transmits downlink transmission withing the COT).
Regarding Claim 4, XUE discloses wherein the information about the remaining time duration of the COT includes at least one of:
a frequency domain resource of the remaining time duration of the COT (see FIG. 5; see ¶¶0076, 0077, 0078; The UE share the duration of the COT on a shared frequency bands).
Regarding Claim 5, XUE discloses wherein the LBT procedure is performed by the relay wireless device (see ¶0078; The UE/relay UE (see also ¶0032; UE act as relay UE) performs LBT procedure), and wherein the communicating the data with the relay wireless device includes receiving the data from the relay wireless device (see ¶0032; The UE can act as a relay UE or primary UE to communicate the data between other UEs).
Regarding Claim 6, XUE discloses receiving, from the base station and on a licensed carrier (see FIG. 1, FIG. 4; see ¶0039, 0067; The communication system operates both licensed and unlicensed bands), an indication to trigger the relay wireless device to perform the LBT procedure (see ¶¶0077, 0078; The UE/relay UE (see also ¶0032; UE act as relay UE) performs LBT procedure) and information about a frequency domain location of an LBT bandwidth for the local communications with the relay wireless device on the unlicensed carrier (See FIG. 4; see ¶¶0068, 0069; UE is receiving an uplink grant and information about the frequency bands of an LBT bandwidth on an unlicensed carrier); and
triggering the relay wireless device with the information (see ¶0078; The UE/relay UE (see also ¶0032; UE act as relay UE) performs LBT procedure).
Regarding Claim 7, XUE discloses receiving, from the relay wireless device, information about a remaining time duration of the COT acquired by the relay wireless device after the communicating the data with the relay wireless device (see FIG. 13; see ¶¶0153, 0154, 0155, 0156; The first UE performs LBT procedure and communicates with the second UE about the LBT gap/remaining time of the COT (see also ¶¶0157, 0158, 0159, 0160)), wherein the base station uses the remaining time duration of the COT for uplink data transmission of another UE( see ¶0094; The wireless device (UE or base station) share its COT gap for uplink transmission ).
Regarding Claim 8, XUE discloses wherein the information about the remaining time duration of the COT includes at least one of:
an indication of whether the remaining time duration of the COT can be shared by the base station for other uplink transmissions (see ¶0094; The wireless device (UE or base station) receives an indication to share its COT gap for uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 9, XUE discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication (see ¶0106; receiving from base station an indication of LBT for sharing a COT) to trigger the UE to perform the LBT procedure and information about a frequency domain location of an LBT bandwidth (see ¶¶0112, 0113; UE performs successful LBT procedure and communicates signals energy in different frequency) for the local communications with the relay wireless device on the unlicensed carrier (see FIG. 13; see ¶¶0153, 0154, 0155, 0156; The first UE performs LBT procedure and communicates with the second UE).
performing the LBT procedure on the LBT bandwidth to acquire a channel occupancy time (COT) (see ¶0063; UE/relay UE performs LBT procedure to reserve a COT) for the local communications on the unlicensed carrier (see ¶0039; The LBT procedure is performed on unlicensed carrier);
transmitting, to the relay wireless device, COT sharing information and an indication of an LBT type for the relay wireless device to perform an LBT procedure to use the acquired COT for data forwarding (see FIG.1; see ¶¶0032, 0065, 0066; UE transmits The COT sharing information and LBT type to the relay UE for LBT procedure within the acquired COT), wherein the communicating the data with the relay wireless device includes receiving the data from the relay wireless device in the acquired COT (see FIG. 13; see ¶¶0153, 0154, 0155, 0156; The first UE performs LBT procedure and communicates with the second UE about the remaining time of the COT (see also ¶¶0157, 0158, 0159, 0160)).
Regarding Claim 10, XUE discloses wherein the COT sharing information includes at least one of:
the LBT type for the relay wireless device to perform the LBT procedure to use the acquired COT (see ¶0068; The COT sharing includes LTB type for the UE/relay UE to perform LBT procedure).
Regarding Claim 11, XUE discloses A method of wireless communication of a relay wireless device (see FIG. 1; UEs 115s; With relay functionality), comprising:
discovering a user equipment (UE) for local communications on an unlicensed carrier (see FIG 1; UEs 115; See ¶¶0030, 0032, 0039; UE with relay functionality is discovering other UEs to carrier/region/local information to the central server/base station on an unlicensed carrier); and
communicating, after a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure is successful on the unlicensed carrier, data with the UE on the unlicensed carrier through the local communications (see FIG. 9; step - 930, 940; see ¶¶0032, 0039, 0112, 0113; After the relay device performs successful LBT procedure on an unlicensed carrier, transmits data/signal with the UE within/through the COT which is local/area-specific communication) for communicating the data between the UE and a base station (See ¶¶0030, 0136; UEs communicating with each other to further transfer the data to the base station).
Regarding Claim 12, XUE discloses receiving, from the base station and on a licensed carrier (see FIG. 1, FIG. 4; see ¶0039, 0067; The communication system operates both licensed and unlicensed bands), a trigger to perform the LBT procedure and information about a frequency domain location of an LBT bandwidth for the local communications with the UE on the unlicensed carrier (See FIG. 4; see ¶¶0068, 0069; UE is receiving an uplink grant/trigger and information about the frequency bands of an LBT bandwidth on an unlicensed carrier); and
performing the LBT procedure on the LBT bandwidth to acquire a channel occupancy time (COT) for the local communications on the unlicensed carrier, (See FIG. 4; see ¶¶0068, 0069; The LBT procedure is performed on an LBT bandwidth to get the COT on the unlicensed carrier); and
receiving, from the base station and on the licensed carrier (see FIG. 1, FIG. 4; see ¶0039, 0067; The communication system operates both licensed and unlicensed bands), the data after the LBT procedure is successful (see ¶0068; UE receives data from base station after the LBT procedure is successful),
wherein the communicating the data with the UE includes transmitting the data to the UE in the acquired COT (see FIG. 4; see ¶¶0068, 0069; The base station transmits data with the UE within the acquired COT).
Regarding Claim 13, XUE discloses receiving, from the base station, an indication of a resource to report COT sharing information (see ¶0068; UE receives COT sharing information from base station); and
transmitting, to the base station, the COT sharing information including at least one of:
an indication of whether the remaining time duration of the COT can be shared by the base station for other uplink transmissions (see ¶0073; UE transmits to the base station to share its COT with the base station for uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 14, XUE discloses wherein the LBT procedure is performed by the UE (see ¶0078; The UE performs LBT procedure), and wherein the communicating the data with the UE includes receiving the data from the UE in a COT acquired by the UE (see ¶¶0032, 0152; The UE can act as a relay UE or primary UE to communicate the data between other UEs in a COT).
Regarding Claim 15, XUE discloses receiving, from the UE, COT sharing information and an indication of an LBT type (see ¶0063; The UE share its COT information and LBT type with the base station); and
performing an LBT procedure of the LBT type to use the COT acquired by the UE for data forwarding (see ¶0070; The UE performs LBT procedure of the LBT type to use the COT),
wherein the COT sharing information includes at least one of:
the LBT type (see ¶¶0068, 0069, 0070; The COT sharing information includes LBT type CAT1 or CAT2 or CAT4)
Regarding Claim 16, XUE discloses receiving, from the base station and on a licensed carrier (see FIG. 1, FIG. 4; see ¶0039, 0067; The communication system operates both licensed and unlicensed bands), information about a frequency domain location of an LBT bandwidth for the local communications with the UE on the unlicensed carrier (See FIG. 4; see ¶¶0068, 0069; UE is receiving information about the frequency bands of an LBT bandwidth on an unlicensed carrier);
Regarding Claim 18, XUE discloses receiving, from the UE, information about a frequency domain location of an LBT bandwidth for the local communications with the UE on the unlicensed carrier (See FIG. 4; see ¶¶0081, 0084, 0085; UE is transmitting frequency bands of an LBT bandwidth on an unlicensed carrier).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XUE (US 20210195641) in view of LI (20240023071).
Regarding Claim 17, XUE discloses wherein the information about the frequency domain location of the LBT bandwidth (See FIG. 4; see ¶¶0068, 0069; UE is receiving information about the frequency bands of an LBT bandwidth on an unlicensed carrier).
Although XUE discloses information about the frequency domain location of the LBT bandwidth, XUE doesn’t explicitly disclose including a frequency domain resource allocation.
LI discloses frequency domain location including a frequency domain resource allocation (see ¶0127; The frequency domain resource allocation indicates a frequency domain location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the information about the frequency domain location of the LBT bandwidth includes a frequency domain resource allocation as taught by LI, in the system of XUE, so that it would improve communication connection to the base station through random access (LI, see ¶0003).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XUE (US 20210195641) in view of LI (20230262642).
Regarding claim 19, XUE discloses wherein the relay wireless device cannot directly communicate with the base station (see ¶0032; The relay UE (P2P, D2D) can’t communicate with the base station).
Although XUE discloses information about base station not communicating with the relay wireless device, XUE doesn’t explicitly disclose UE/relay UE/ device not having a SIM card.
LI discloses wherein the relay wireless device/UE/device does not have a SIM card (see ¶0067; The UE doesn’ have a SIM card)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to UE does not have a SIM card and can’t communicate with the base station, as taught by LI, in the system of XUE, so that it would improve higher quality of service, longer battery life, and improved performance (LI, see ¶0003).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XUE (US 20210195641) in view of Hsieh (20100248731).
Regarding claim 20, XUE discloses wherein the relay wireless device can directly communicate with the base station (see ¶0025; Base station communicates with the UE (see also ¶0032; UE act as a relay wireless device)).
Although XUE discloses information about base station communicating with the relay wireless device, XUE doesn’t explicitly disclose UE/relay UE/device having a SIM card.
Hsieh discloses wherein the relay wireless device/UE has a SIM card (see Fig. 2; see ¶0029; UE has a SIM card and can communicate with the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to UE have a SIM card and can communicate with the base station, as taught by Hsieh, in the system of XUE, so that it would improve probability of successful RACH transmission for a mobile device (Hsieh, see ¶0010).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xue (US 20210368542) FIG. 1-12.
Mominur Rashid Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/MOMINUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469