DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-9, and of species nitrooxidative and nitrocysteine, in the reply filed on 7/7/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3, 5 and 10-16 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-9 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of nitrooxidative and nitrocysteine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 2, the recitation of “modifications” is indefinite as it is unclear what has changed to what, in other words, the starting material is unknown and changes are unknown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to an extracellular matrix (ECM) product comprising nitroxidative or oxidative modifications. It was well-known that ECM naturally develop nitroxidative modifications, and that natural oxidative modifications occur routinely in ECM. There is no indication in the instant specification that the claimed ECM comprises nitroxidative or oxidative modifications has any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring ECM comprises nitroxidative or oxidative modifications. Thus, the ECM comprises nitroxidative or oxidative modifications does not have markedly different characteristics from its natural counterparts in its natural state, and is a “product of nature” exception. Claim 1 also recites a preparation method, which is regarded as a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation is not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, but instead is only limited to the structure implied by the steps. As noted above, the claimed ECM comprises nitroxidative or oxidative modifications does not have markedly different characteristics from its natural counterparts in its natural state. Accordingly, claim 1 is directed to an exception. Claim 1 does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claim 1 does not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 2, 4 and 6 recite a characterization or conclusion of the results of process step positively recited. These limitations are regarded as product by process type limitations. A product-by-process limitation is not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, but instead is only limited to the structure implied by the steps. These product by process type limitations do not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claims 2, 4 and 6 do not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 7-8 recite the ECM further comprises nanovesicles and its preparation steps. It was well-known that ECM naturally contains nanovesicles. There is no indication in the instant specification that the claimed ECM comprises nanovesicles has any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring ECM comprises nanovesicles. Thus, the ECM comprises nanovesicles does not have markedly different characteristics from its natural counterparts in its natural state, and is a “product of nature” exception. Claims 7-8 also recite a preparation method, which is regarded as a product-by-process limitation. A product-by-process limitation is not limited to manipulations of the recited steps, but instead is only limited to the structure implied by the steps. As noted above, the claimed ECM comprises nanovesicles does not have markedly different characteristics from its natural counterparts in its natural state. Claims 7-8 do not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claims 7-8 do not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 9 recites a mesh or matrix of a synthetic polymer composition. The instant specification discloses the polymer can be collagen (para 0018). It was well-known that collagen naturally forms mesh-like networks and structural scaffolds. The ECM comprises collagen does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claim 9 does not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Kennett et al (Free Radical Biology & Medicine. 2008;45:716-725.) as evidenced by Badylak et al (WO 2017/151862 A1; 9/8/2017. Cited on IDS).
The instant claims recite an extracellular matrix (ECM) product comprising nitroxidative or oxidative modifications, prepared by a method comprising contacting tissue or an ECM material with a reactive oxygen species (ROS) or a reactive nitrogen species (RNS) to produce the ECM product having nitroxidative or oxidative modifications.
Kennett teaches an extracellular matrix (ECM) product comprising nitroxidative or oxidative modifications (p.718 col right – para 1-2). Kennett teaches ECM comprises collagen (a mesh or matrix) (p.716 col right – para 3, p.722 col right – para 4). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was well-known in the art that ECM contains embedded nanovesicles. Badylak teaches matrix bound nanovesicles are embedded in any type of ECM (p.24 line 13-14).
Limitations of “prepared by a method …” in claim 1, “comprising at least a two-fold increase …” in claims 2, 4 & 6, “prepared from …” in claim 7, “wherein the nanovesicles are prepared from …” in claim 8, and “a synthetic polymer composition” in claim 9 are regarded as product by process type limitations. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e. the product disclosed in the cited reference), the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or slightly different than the claimed product-by-process, rejections under 35 U.S.C 102 and/or 35 U.S.C 103 are proper. (MPEP 2113)
Therefore the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759