DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
Claims 1 and 6 are currently amended.
Claim 9 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/03/2022, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 under Ishifune (US PG. Pub. 2021/0286572 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under Hitaka (US PG. Pub. 2018/0143560 A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4:
The prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record fails to explicitly teach, disclose or suggest the teaching(s) of the printer according to claim 3, the controller is configured to, in the case where the display termination instruction is accepted from the user after the first screen has been displayed and before the print preparation action is completed, terminate displaying the first screen and display on the display unit a second screen including the execution message and a second execution message, wherein the second execution message indicates that the print preparation action is being executed and that the printer will be enabled for operation after completion of the print preparation action.
Regarding Claim 6:
The prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record fails to explicitly teach, disclose or suggest the teaching(s) of the printer according to claim 4, the controller is configured to, in a case where the print preparation action is completed after the first screen has been displayed and before the display termination instruction is accepted from the user, terminate displaying the first screen and display on the display unit a third screen including the promotion message and a completion message indicating that the print preparation action has been completed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hitaka (US PG. Pub. 2018/0143560 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Hitaka teaches a printer (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 2, MFP 100) comprising:
a print executing unit (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 2, Image Forming Unit 140); and
a controller (See Hitaka, Fig. 3, CPU 111) configured to:
in a case where a predetermined operation is accepted from a user of the printer (See Hitaka, Sect. [0055] lines 7-10, The operation unit 160B includes a plurality of keys, and accepts input of data, such as instructions, characters, and numerical characters, according to the key operations by the user. ), cause the print executing unit of the printer to execute a print preparation action (See Hitaka, Sect. [0061] lines 1-3, The print data generating portion 51 executes a print job, and generates print data that the image forming unit 140 uses for forming an image.); and
in a case where the print preparation action is executed by the print executing unit of the printer (See Hitaka, Sect. [0061] lines 1-6, The print data generating portion 51 executes a print job, and generates print data that the image forming unit 140 uses for forming an image. The print data generating portion 51, for example, in the case where the communication I/F 112 receives a print job from an external computer, executes the print job.), display on a display unit a promotion message for prompting subscription to a service related to the printer and an execution message indicating that the print preparation action is being executed (See Hitaka, Fig. 6, Sect. [0095] lines 6-10, the CPU 111 displays an alert screen in the display unit 160A, and the process proceeds to step S32. The alert screen includes, for example, a message notifying that an image is formed to be shifted. In the step S32, likewise in the step S26, the CPU 111 restarts conveying the sheet).
Referring to Claim 2, Hitaka teaches the printer according to claim 1 (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 2, MFP 100), wherein the controller is configured to, while the print preparation action is being executed by the print executing unit, display on the display unit a first screen including the promotion message and the execution message (See Htaka, Fig. 8, Sect. [0098], FIG. 8 is a diagram showing an example of the alert screen including: a job number “AA” for identifying a job targeted for image formation; and a page number “BB” for identifying, from among a plurality of pages included in the job, a page in which a shift occurs in the image. This allows the user to readily specify, from among the plurality of sheets, a sheet in which the image formation is executed.).
Referring to Claim 3, Hitaka teaches the printer according to claim 2 (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 2, MFP 100), wherein the controller is further configured to, in a case where a display termination instruction is accepted from the user after the first screen has been displayed and before the print preparation action is completed, terminate displaying the first screen (See Hitaka, Sect. [0077], if the paper detection signal is not input from the waiting position detecting portion 73 until a time when the grace period elapses from the restart time, the conveyance restart portion 75 stops driving the image forming unit 140 and the paper feed unit 150 so as to display an error screen in the display unit 160A after the grace period elapses from the restart time. The error screen includes, for example, an error message notifying that the sheet has been jammed in the conveyance path. Further, in the case where the grace period is not input from the grace period determining portion 63, in response to an even that the restart time comes, the conveyance restart portion 75 stops driving the image forming unit 140 and the paper feed unit 150 to display the error screen in the display unit 160A as long as the paper detection signal is not input from the waiting position detecting portion 73 until the restart time comes.).
Referring to Claim 5, Hitaka teaches the printer according to claim 2 (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 2, MFP 100), wherein the controller is further configured to, in a case where the print preparation action is completed after the first screen has been displayed and before a display termination instruction is accepted from the user, terminate displaying the first screen (See Hitaka, Sect. [0088], the CPU 111 executes the timing control processing (the step S16), and the process proceeds to step S17. In the step S17, the CPU 111 determines from a result of the timing control processing whether the image forming unit 140 and the paper feed unit 150 are stopped or not. If the image forming unit 140 and the paper feed unit 150 are stopped, the process proceeds to step S18; otherwise, the process proceeds to step S19. In the step S19, the CPU 111 determines whether the print data exists for the next page or not. If the print data exists for the next page, the process returns to the step S03; otherwise, the process ends. In the step S18, the CPU 111 displays the error screen in the display unit 160A, and the process ends. The error screen includes, for example, an error message notifying that the sheet has been jammed in the conveyance path.).
Referring to Claim 7, Hitaka teaches the printer according to claim 1 (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 2, MFP 100), wherein the controller is configured to, while the print preparation action is being executed, display the execution message on the display unit and, after the print preparation action is completed, display the promotion message on the display unit (See Hitaka, Sect. [0129] lines 5-12, an allowable amount of a shift of an image formed on a sheet is classified into a plurality of levels, and a level setting screen for setting a level is prepared in advance. The grace period determining portion 63 displays the level setting screen in the display unit 160A, and determines the grace period which allows a shift of an image to a level that the user has selected according the level setting screen.).
Referring to Claim 8, Hitaka teaches the printer according to claim 1 (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 2, MFP 100), wherein the printer is a laser printer (See Hitaka, Fig. 2, MFP 100 (Laser Printer), Sect. [0038] lines 1-3, The photoreceptor drum 23Y, after being charged by the electrostatic charger 22Y, is irradiated with the laser light emitted by the exposure head 21Y.),
the print executing unit includes a photoreceptor (See Hitaka, Fig. 2, Sect. [0037] lines 1-3, Image Forming Unit 20Y of Unit 140 includes a photoreceptor drum 23Y) and an exposure device (See Hitaka, Fig. 2, Exposure head 21) configured to emit laser light to the photoreceptor (See Hitaka, Sect. [0037] lines 5-9, The exposure head 21Y emits a laser light in response to reception of the print data (electrical signal). The emitted laser light s one-dimensionally scanned by a polygon mirror included in the exposure head 21Y, so as to cause the photoreceptor drum 23Y to be exposed.),
the print preparation action is an action for correcting displacement of an emission position of the laser light emitted from the exposure device to the photoreceptor (See Hitaka, Fig. 7, Step S42, Determine Correction Time, Sect. [0097] lines 1-7, the CPU 111 determines the correction time (step S42). The CPU 111 determines as the correction time for changing the exposure start time, a period obtained by adding the minimum interval period to the overlap avoiding value. The minimum interval period is a predetermined value as an allowable minimum of a paper interval. Then, the CPU 111 changes the next exposure start time to a time after the correction time elapses (step S43), and the process returns to the timing control processing), and
the predetermined operation is for turning on the laser printer (See Hitaka, Fig. 7, Step S43, Change Exposure Start On Time, Sect. [0097] lines 7-9, Then, the CPU 111 changes the next exposure start time to a time after the correction time elapses (step S43), and the process returns to the timing control processing).
Referring to Claim 9, Hitaka teaches the printer according to claim 1 (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 2, MFP 100), wherein the display unit is a display unit of the printer (See Hitaka, Figs. 1 and 3 Sect. [0055] lines 1-3, The operation panel 160 is arranged on an upper surface of the MFP 100 (as shown in FIG. 1), and includes a display unit 160A and an operation unit 160B. ).
Cited Art
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Sakatani et al. (US PG. PUB. No. 2007/0122198 A1) discloses in an image forming apparatus of the present invention, a developing unit for magenta contains magenta-type toner for pseudo full-color image forming whose chromaticity point is shifted closer to yellow hue on a chromaticity diagram, in comparison with genuine-magenta toner for full-color image forming, and likewise, a developing unit for cyan contains cyan-type toner for the pseudo full-color image forming whose chromaticity point is shifted closer to yellow hue on the chromaticity diagram, in comparison with genuine-cyan toner for the full-color image forming.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683