DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2021/0241572 A1 to Marks et al. (hereinafter “Marks”)
Concerning claim 1, Marks discloses a gaming system comprising: a processor; and a memory device which stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by the processor, for a symbol accumulation sequence (paragraphs [0047], [0048]), cause the processor to:
cause a display, by a display device, of symbol displays configured to display different award amount symbols and configured to display an amount replication symbol (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]);
cause a display, by the display device, of an activation counter that indicates a remaining quantity of activations of the symbol displays of the symbol accumulation sequence (Fig. 11C, element 1120); and
for one of a plurality of activations of the symbol displays of the symbol accumulation sequence: cause a display, by the display device, of one of the award amount symbols on a first one of the symbol displays, wherein the award amount symbol indicates an award amount associated with that award amount symbol (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]),
cause a display, by the display device, of a reset of the activation counter (Fig. 10H, element 1030, Fig. 10 I, element 1030),
cause a display, by the display device, of the amount replication symbol on a second one of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]),
cause a display, by the display device, of activatable amounts resulting from the amount replication symbol and respectively associated with a plurality of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]),
wherein a first one of the activatable amounts is associated with the first one of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]),
cause a display, by the display device, of an indication of the first one of the activatable amounts associated with the first one of the symbol displays being activated (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]), and
cause a display, by the display device, of an increase of the award amount associated with the award amount symbol displayed by the first one of the symbol displays, wherein the increase is based on the first one of the activatable amounts associated with the first one of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claims 2, 11, and 15, Marks discloses wherein the activatable amounts resulting from the amount replication symbol are the same (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claims 3, 12, and 16, Marks discloses wherein two of the activatable amounts resulting from the amount replication symbol are different (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claims 4, 13, and 17, Marks discloses wherein a quantity of the activatable amounts resulting from the amount replication symbol is predetermined (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claim 5, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of one the activatable amounts not being activated by any of the award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claim 6, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of a second one the activatable amounts being activated by another one of the award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claim 7, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of a second one the activatable amounts being activated by another one of the award amount symbols, and a third one of the activatable amounts not being activated by any of the award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claim 8, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of each of the activatable amounts being activated by different award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claim 9, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of a second one of the activatable amounts being activated by a second one of the award amount symbols that is associated with a different award amount than the award amount associated with the first one of the award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claims 10 and 14, see the rejection of claim 1.
Concerning claim 18, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to: for a further subsequent one of a plurality of activations of the symbol displays of the symbol accumulation sequence: cause a display, by the display device, of an additional amount replication symbol on a third one of the symbol displays, and cause a display, by the display device, of additional activatable amounts resulting from the additional amount replication symbol and associated with an additional plurality of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claim 19, Marks discloses wherein the additional plurality of the symbol displays is different than the plurality of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Concerning claim 20, Marks discloses wherein the additional plurality of the symbol displays and the plurality of the symbol displays comprise one same symbol display (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715