CTFR 18/776,745 CTFR 83635 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 5/11/26. Claims 1-17 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2021/0241572 A1 to Marks et al. (hereinafter “Marks”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0327218 A1 to Malik et al. (hereinafter “Malik”) . Concerning claim 1, Marks discloses a gaming system comprising: a processor; and a memory device which stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by the processor, for a symbol accumulation sequence (paragraphs [0047], [0048]), cause the processor to: cause a display, by a display device, of symbol displays configured to display different award amount symbols and configured to display an amount replication symbol (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]); cause a display, by the display device, of an activation counter that indicates a remaining quantity of activations of the symbol displays of the symbol accumulation sequence (Fig. 11C, element 1120); and for one of a plurality of activations of the symbol displays of the symbol accumulation sequence: cause a display, by the display device, of one of the award amount symbols on a first one of the symbol displays, wherein the award amount symbol indicates an award amount associated with that award amount symbol (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]), cause a display, by the display device, of a reset of the activation counter (Fig. 10H, element 1030, Fig. 10 I, element 1030), cause a display, by the display device, of the amount replication symbol on a second one of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses cause a display, by the display device, of a plurality of separate activatable amounts resulting from the amount replication symbol on the second one of the symbol displays, thereafter cause a display by the display device of the plurality of separate activatable amounts respectively separately associated with a plurality of the symbol displays other than the second one of the displays and including the first one of the symbol displays, cause a display, by the display device, of an indication of the first one of the plurality of separate activatable amounts associated with the first one of the symbol displays being activated, and cause a display, by the display device, of an increase of the award amount associated with the award amount symbol displayed by the first one of the symbol displays, wherein the increase is based on the first one of the plurality of separate activatable amounts associated with the first one of the symbol displays (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claims 2, 11, and 15, Marks discloses wherein the activatable amounts resulting from the amount replication symbol are the same (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses the plurality of separate activatable amounts (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claims 3, 12, and 16, Marks discloses wherein two of the activatable amounts resulting from the amount replication symbol are different (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses the plurality of separate activatable amounts (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claims 4, 13, and 17, Marks discloses wherein a quantity of the activatable amounts resulting from the amount replication symbol is predetermined (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses the plurality of separate activatable amounts (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claim 5, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of one the activatable amounts not being activated by any of the award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses the plurality of separate activatable amounts (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claim 6, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of a second one the activatable amounts being activated by another one of the award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses the plurality of separate activatable amounts (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claim 7, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of a second one the activatable amounts being activated by another one of the award amount symbols, and a third one of the activatable amounts not being activated by any of the award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses the plurality of separate activatable amounts (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claim 8, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of each of the activatable amounts being activated by different award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses the plurality of separate activatable amounts (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claim 9, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to cause a display, by the display device, for the symbol accumulation sequence, of a second one of the activatable amounts being activated by a second one of the award amount symbols that is associated with a different award amount than the award amount associated with the first one of the award amount symbols (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Marks lacks specifically disclosing, however, Malik discloses the plurality of separate activatable amounts (Figs. 4C-4F, paragraphs [0111]-[0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of separate activatable amounts as shown by Malik in the system of Marks in order to provide a more predictable award payout to the player, thereby increasing player interest). Concerning claims 10 and 14, see the rejection of claim 1. Concerning claim 18, Marks discloses wherein when executed by the processor, the plurality of instructions cause the processor to: for a further subsequent one of a plurality of activations of the symbol displays of the symbol accumulation sequence: cause a display, by the display device, of an additional amount replication symbol on a third one of the symbol displays, and cause a display, by the display device, of additional activatable amounts resulting from the additional amount replication symbol and associated with an additional plurality of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Concerning claim 19, Marks discloses wherein the additional plurality of the symbol displays is different than the plurality of the symbol displays (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]). Concerning claim 20, Marks discloses wherein the additional plurality of the symbol displays and the plurality of the symbol displays comprise one same symbol display (Figs. 11C-11H, paragraphs [0142]-[0147], [0153]-[0155]) . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 . Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALINA D BLAISE whose telephone number is (571)270-3398. The examiner can normally be reached Mon. - Thurs. 7:00 am - 5:00 pm (PT). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai can be reached at 571-272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MALINA D. BLAISE Primary Examiner Art Unit 3715 /MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 2 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 3 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 4 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 5 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 6 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 7 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 8 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 9 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/776,745 Page 10 Art Unit: 3715