DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 10,746,940) hereafter Hsu.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu, discloses a cluster block housing 1 for electrical leads, comprising: a plurality of separable, connected casings 1a, 1b, 1c, each casing of the plurality of casings including a plug-receiving aperture 100, adjacently connected two casings 1a, 1b of the plurality of casings 1a, 1b, 1c are adapted to be positioned adjacently at a plurality of positions relative to each other (see figs. 2-9), each of plurality of positions corresponds to a distinct distance between the plug-receiving apertures of the two adjacent casings (upon adjusting adjacent casing, see and comparing the figs. 5 and 6 and 9) , the plug-receiving apertures 100, 100, 100 (figs. 4, 5,) and 200, 100, 200 (figs. 6 and 9) are maintained in a row in each of the plurality of positions.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu, discloses each casing includes a first connection portion 13, P (fig. 2) and a second connection portion 14, P;’ and the first connection portion of a first casing of the two casings cooperates with the second connection portion of a second casing of the two casings such that the first casing can be adjacently positioned against the second casing at the plurality of positions (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu, discloses the first connection portion 13 of the first casing forms, buckle fit, or plug fit with the second connection portion 14 of the second casing 1b.
Regarding claim 20, Hsu, discloses a cluster block housing 1 for electrical leads, comprising: a first casing 1a having a first plug-receiving aperture 100; a second casing 1b having a second plug-receiving aperture 100/200, the first casing 1a connectable to the second casing 1b in a plurality of discrete positions 100,100,100 (figs. 4, 5,) and 200,100,200 (figs. 6 and 9) are, in each of plurality of discrete positions the first and second plug-receiving apertures are arranged in a row and each of the plurality of discrete positions (upon adjusting adjacent casing, see and comparing the figs. 5 and 6 and 9) corresponds to a distinct distance between the first and second plug-receiving apertures (see figs. 4,5 and 6, 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu, discloses each casing includes a first surface S1, and a second surface S2 and a third surface S2 that are opposite, the second surface S2 and the third surface S3 are disposed at an angle relative to the first surface (see annotated fig.), and the first connection portion 13 of the first casing 1a cooperates with the second connection portion 14 of the second casing 1b, such that the second (left/right) surface of the first casing 1a abuts against the third (right/left) surface of the second casing 1b (see figs. 4-9).
Hsu, does not disclose the plug-receiving aperture is disposed at the first surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plug-receiving aperture disposed at the first surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.and in order to have ease of insertion the receiving plug and maintain symmetry of the cluster block assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Hsu discloses, the second surface of the first casing abuts against the third surface of the second casing with the first and second casings connected.
Regarding claim 6, Hsu, discloses, the first connection portion 13 and the second connection portion 14 of the each casing are disposed at the first surface of the each housing, and the first connection portion 14 includes a snap member 14 and the second connection portion 13 includes a snap groove 13.
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses, the snap member 14 of the first casing are adapted to be positioned at different locations in the snap groove 13 of the second casing such that the second surface of the first casing abuts against the third surface of the second casing at a respective position of the plurality of positions (see figs. 2-9).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu discloses, the each casing further includes positioning members disposed at the second surface (there are (multiple) three connection portions 14, out of which any one of them is considered as first connection portion and other two of the 14 can be considered as positioning members, as they guide and position the adjacent two casing) and a plurality of sets of positioning holes (there are (multiple) three connection portions 13, out of which any one of them is considered as second connection portion and other two of the 14 can be considered as positioning members, as they guide and position the adjacent two casing) disposed at the third surface.
Regarding claim 9, Hsu discloses, the positioning members of the first casing are adapted to be positioned in a respective set of positioning holes of the plurality of sets of positioning holes, such that the second surface of the first casing abuts against the third surface of the second casing at a respective position of the plurality of positions.
Regarding claim 10, Hsu discloses, the first connection portion and the second connection portion of the each casing are disposed at the first surface of the each housing, and the first connection portion includes buckle members having openings and the second connection portion includes a plurality of sets of protrusions.
Regarding claim 11, Hsu discloses, a respective set of protrusions of the plurality of sets of protrusions of the second casing is adapted to be positioned in the openings of the buckle members of the first casing, such that the second surface of the first casing abuts against the third surface of the second casing at a respective position of the plurality of positions.
Regarding claim 12, Hsu discloses, the each casing further includes a fourth surface S4 opposite to the first surface S1,
Hsu, does not disclose a third connection portion and a fourth connection portion are provided at the fourth surface; and the third connection portion of the first casing forms a snap fit or buckle fit with the fourth connection portion of the second casing, such that the second surface of the first casing abuts against the third surface of the second casing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a third connection portion and a fourth connection portion are provided at the fourth surface; and the third connection portion of the first casing forms a snap fit or buckle fit with the fourth connection portion of the second casing, such that the second surface of the first casing abuts against the third surface of the second casing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70, and in order to increase the connectivity in all directions.
Regarding claim 13, Hsu, discloses all the claimed limitations except for the first connection portion includes protruding insertion blocks which are shaped to expand upward gradually at least from a lower part, and the second connection portion includes a plurality of sets of grooves which are shaped to at least partially match the insertion blocks; and the insertion blocks of the second casing are adapted to be received in a respective set of grooves of the plurality of sets of grooves of the first casing, such that the second surface of the first casing abuts against the third surface of the second casing at a respective position of the plurality of positions.
However, it would have been obvious to have a plurality of sets of grooves which are shaped to at least partially match the insertion blocks; and the insertion blocks of the second casing are adapted to be received in a respective set of grooves of the plurality of sets of grooves of the first casing, such that the second surface of the first casing abuts against the third surface of the second casing at a respective position of the plurality of positions, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the shape of sets of grooves or insertion blocks, are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of connecting adjacent casing each other and a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu discloses, the each casing further includes a fourth surface S4 opposite to the first surface S1, and the insertion blocks extend between the first surface and the fourth surface S4 (of the other casing).
Regarding claim 15, Hsu discloses, each groove of the plurality of sets of grooves 13 is a blind hole, (it is to be noted that, there is no particular structure of blind hole is defined).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu discloses, each groove of the plurality of sets of grooves 13 defines an opening larger at a front receiving end thereof than a real thereof.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Meng (US 9,28,0920)
Regarding claim 17, Hsu discloses all the claimed limitations except for the each casing further includes position indication labels associated with the distance between the plug-receiving apertures.
Meng discloses a label is attached to the front surface of the flexible body (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each casing further includes position indication labels associated with the distance between the plug-receiving apertures as taught by Meng in order to make proper connection with proper mating connector.
Regarding claim 18, Hsu as modified by Meng discloses, the position indication labels are disposed at a surface of the each casing.
Regarding claim 17, Hsu as modified by Meng, discloses all the claimed limitations except for the position indication labels are disposed adjacent to the second connection portion at the surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the position indication labels are disposed adjacent to the second connection portion at the surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70, in order to have ease of guiding for the proper connection with corresponding mating connector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831