DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, term “the axial direction” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 2, “the axial rib” has no antecedent basis.
Claims 1-20, term, “characterized in that” should be changed to—wherein--.
Claim 2, term, “the circumferential ribs” should be changed to – the multiple circumferential ribs--.
Claim 3, term, “the circumferential direction” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 5, “the axial rib” has no antecedent basis. Also, terms, “Extending, Straight, Continuous, When” should be changed to – extending, straight, continuous, when--.
Claim 6, terms, “the heigh and the width” have no antecedent basis.
Claim 7, term, “the far end” and “the inner diameter” have no antecedent basis. Also, term, “connector” should be changed to – the connector--.
Claim 9, “terms, “the near end” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 10, term, “the far end to the near end” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 11, term, “the inner surface” and “the circumferential direction” have no antecedent basis.
Claim 14, term, “each set of recessed portion comprises multiple recessed portion” should be changed to – each set of the recessed portion comprises the multiple recessed portions--. Also, term, “the multiple set of recessed portions” has no antecedent basis.
Claim 20, term, “the ends” has no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 15-16, 18,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Scrimpshire (U. S. Patent 6,429,373).
Regarding claim 1, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses a shield 30 for a connector interface, wherein the shield 30 is configured to encase at least a portion of a connector 16, the shield 30 comprises a hollow shield body 30 made of elastic material (see column 3), the shield body 30 surrounding a through-hole adapted to receive a cable 48 and the connector, the shield body 30 is further provided with: multiple circumferential ribs 44, wherein the multiple circumferential ribs 44 are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction and extend outward in the radial direction; and at least one axial rib 49, wherein the axial rib 49 extends outward in the radial direction.
Regarding claim 2, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the circumferential ribs 44 and/or the axial rib 49 are integrally formed on the shield body 30.
Regarding claim 3, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the at least one axial rib 44 comprises multiple axial ribs spaced apart in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 4, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the multiple axial ribs 49 are evenly spaced apart in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 5, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the axial rib 49 has at least one of the following features: extending in the axial direction or extending at least partially off the axial direction; straight or curved in shape.
Regarding claim 7, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the shield body 30 comprises a main body 30 and a neck portion, 58, 32 set at the far end of the main body 30, the inner diameter of the neck portion 58, 32 is smaller than the inner diameter of the main body 30, and the neck portion 58, 32 is constructed to sealably fit onto a mating cable or connector 16.
Regarding claim 9, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the shield body further includes a cable sealing part 48 set at the near end of the main body 30, the cable sealing part 48 is tubular and has an inner diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the main body 30, and the cable sealing part 48 is constructed to sealably fit onto the cable 22.
Regarding claim 15, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the shield body 30 is made of non-metallic material.
Regarding claim 16, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the shield body 30 is made of a single material or composite material.
Regarding claim 18, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the connector assembly comprises: a cable connector assembly 48; and the shield 30 for a connector interface, the shield 30 being configured to enclose at least a portion of the cable connector assembly to protect the connector interface between two mating connectors.
Regarding claim 19, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the connector 16 is an electrical cable connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scrimpshire.
Regarding claim 6, Scrimpshire discloses the claimed invention except for the height of the axial rib in the radial direction is between 1mm and 2mm, and the width of the axial rib in the circumferential direction is between 2mm and 6mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Scrimpshire to provide such features so as to provide for optimum dimensions for specific application. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Scrimpshire discloses the claimed invention except for the wall thickness of the main body is between 2mm and 3mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Scrimpshire to provide such features so as to provide for optimum dimensions for specific application. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scrimpshire in view of Natoli (U. S. 9,917,394).
Regarding claim 10, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the claimed invention except for the inner surface of the cable sealing part includes recessed portions, and the recessed portions do not form a continuous passage from the far end to the near end of the cable sealing part. Natoli discloses has recessed portion at 28. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Scrimpshire to provide such features as taught by Natoli so as to provide for better sealing.
Regarding claim 11, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the claimed invention except for the recessed portions are annular. Natoli discloses has recessed portion at 28. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Scrimpshire to provide such features as taught by Natoli so as to provide for better sealing.
Regarding claims 12-14, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the claimed invention except for the inner surface of the cable sealing part includes multiple sets of recessed portions, each set of recessed portions comprises multiple recessed portions, and adjacent sets of recessed portions are interrupted by a break in the cable sealing part. Natoli discloses has recessed portion at 28. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Scrimpshire to provide such features as taught by Natoli so as to provide for better sealing.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scrimpshire.
Regarding claim 17, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the claimed invention except for the shield body is made of a single polymer material or mixed polymer material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Scrimpshire to provide such features as taught by Natoli so as to provide best material for manufacture.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scrimpshire in view of Castaldo (U. S. Patent 5,857,873).
Regarding claim 20, Scrimpshire, see figures 1-3, discloses the claimed invention except for the cable connector is used to connect the ends of cables together. Castaldo discloses the cable connector is used to connect the ends of cables together. It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Scrimpshire to provide such features as taught by Castaldo to provide an important use of boots is to attach cables together.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831