This is a Non-Final office action for serial number 18/776817.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 recites, “the mount including at least one first mounting hole disposed at an oblique angle to the mount, the mount including at least one second mounting hole disposed perpendicular to the mount, the at least one first mounting hole and the at least one second mounting hole each sized to receive a fastener for attaching the mounting bracket to the structure” which when interpreted could mean only one fastener extending in the at least first and second mounting hole however, the specification teaches that the each of the first mounting hole and second mounting hole receive different fasteners therefore the claim is indefinite and confusing.
Claim 47, recites, “the mounting portion defining an upper mounting hole and a lower mounting hole that are laterally aligned such that the upper mounting hole and the lower mounting hole at least partially overlap laterally; attaching the mounting bracket to the surface by inserting a fastener through the upper mounting hole of the mounting portion of the mounting bracket and into the surface at an oblique angle, the upper mounting hole extending obliquely relative to the rear surface of the mounting bracket to guide the fastener into the surface at the oblique angle and being above the lower mounting hole and further from the angled support to provide clearance for driving the fastener through the upper mounting hole at the oblique angle” which when interpreted could mean only one fastener extending in the lower mounting hole and an upper mounting hole however, the specification teaches that the each of the upper mounting hole and lower mounting hole receive different fasteners therefore the claim is indefinite and confusing.
Claim 34 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "claim 27" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 27 is cancelled therefore all of the limitations of claim 34 lack antecedent basis. The examination of claim 34 is based on the claim 34 being dependent from claim 21, as best understood.
The claims have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 for the above reasons. Please note that the Examiner may not have pointed out each and every example of indefiniteness. The applicant is required to review all the claim language to make sure the claimed invention is clear and definite.
All words in a claim must be considered in determining the patentability of theclaim against the prior art. If no reasonably definite meaning can be ascribed to certainterms in the claim, the subject matter does not become obvious, the claim becomesindefinite. In re Wilson, 424F.2d 1382, 1385 (CCPA 1970). The examiner's analysis ofthe claims, in particular claim language within the claims as rejected under 35 USC 112 above, indicates that considerable speculation as to the meaning of the terms employed and assumptions as to the scope of the claims needs to be made, as the examiner does not understand what is exactly being claimed by the applicant. Any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 should not be based on such speculations and assumptions. In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859,862 (CCPA 1962); Ex parte Head, 214 USPQ 551 (Bd.App. 1981). Accordingly, the applicant should not assume that any claims not rejected using prior art is considered allowable since the examiner can not clearly determine the limitations of the claim due to indefiniteness. The applicant should be aware that once the claims have been corrected to remove the problems concerning indefiniteness, prior art may be used to reject the claims and the next action made final or if the application is in a final status the amendment after final may not be entered as requiring further search and/or consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 38 and 40-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Daude 2021/0230858.
Daude discloses claims:
38. A bracket comprising: a mounting bracket having a mount and a support, the mount having a mounting surface profiled to engage a structure, the support having a central axis extending from the structure at an angle along the central axis and the mount extending upward from the support; at least one fastener (7) for attaching the mounting bracket to the structure, the mount defining at least one first mounting hole (lower mounting hole 29) to support the at least one fastener (7) such that the at least one fastener extends from the mount at an oblique angle to the mounting surface, the mount defining at least one second mounting hole to support the at least one fastener such that the at least one fastener extends from the mount perpendicular to the mounting surface, wherein the at least one first mounting hole (lower mounting hole 29) and the at least one second mounting hole (upper mounting hole 29) are vertically stacked with one positioned above the other and laterally aligned such that the at least one first mounting hole and the at least one second mounting hole at least partially overlap laterally; and a support arm ( extending from the mounting bracket and away from the structure and in an overlying at least in part engagement with the support to resist downward deflection of the support arm, wherein the at least one fastener extends from a portion of the mount located above the support, the at least one fastener having a longitudinal axis that is lateral of the central axis of the support.
40. The bracket of claim 38 wherein the mount comprises two arms extending from the support.
41. The bracket of claim 40 wherein the two arms each support one of the at least one fastener.
43. The bracket of claim 40 wherein the mounting bracket defines a space and the support arm includes an attachment portion extending through the space to extend along the structure.
44. wherein the at least one fastener is disposed laterally of the space.
45. wherein the support arm defines a first attachment hole and the support defines a corresponding second attachment hole for attaching the support arm to the support.
46. wherein the mount of the mounting bracket includes a proximal segment and a distal segment at an angle relative to the proximal segment, the proximal segment spacing the support from the structure, the distal segment profiled to engage the structure.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Proximal segment
Distal segment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st mounting hole (lower hole 29))][AltContent: textbox (Corresponding 2nd attachment hole)][AltContent: textbox (1st attachment hole (49))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (support)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support arm attachment portion (12))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Space )][AltContent: textbox (2nd arm (27 or 21) of mount
First arm of mount)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fastener (7) portion above support)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support arm (8))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd mounting hole (upper hole 29))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mounting bracket (9)
mount)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 24, 25, 28-41, 43-49 is/are rejected, as best understood, (since claim 34 depend from cancelled claim 27) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman et al. (Berman) 20210219764 in view of Knapp 12,398,741.
Berman discloses claims:
21. A bracket comprising: a mounting bracket having a mount (20) and a support (18), the mount profiled to engage a structure, the support (18) having a central axis and extending from the structure at an angle along the central axis, the mount including at least a second mounting hole (16) disposed at an angle to the mount perpendicular to the mount, the at least one first mounting hole sized to receive a fastener for attaching the mounting bracket to the structure; and a support arm (14) extending from the mounting bracket and away from the structure and in an overlying at least in part engagement with the support (18) to resist downward deflection of the support arm, wherein at least a portion of the at least one first mounting hole (16) is located above the support and the at least one first mounting hole having a center, the center being lateral of the central axis of the support (18) .
24. The bracket of claim 21 wherein the mount comprises two arms (left and right 20) extending from the support (18).
29. The bracket of claim 24 wherein the two arms (left and right 20) of the mount define a space (30) therebetween and the support arm (14) extends into the space to contact the structure.
30. The bracket of claim 21 wherein the mounting bracket defines a space (see figure below) and the support arm (14) includes an attachment portion (34,38, 40) extending through the space to extend along the structure.
32. The bracket of claim 21 wherein the support arm (14) defines a first attachment hole (40) and the support (18) defines a corresponding second attachment hole (32) for attaching the support arm (14 via 40) to the support (18).
33. The bracket of claim 21 wherein the support (18) is spaced from the structure (wall) by the mount (20).
34. The bracket of claim 27, wherein at least a portion of the at least one second mounting hole (16) is located above the support arm (14)
35. The bracket of claim 21 further comprising a base arm (38) connected to the support arm (14/40), the base arm (38) extending at an angle relative to the support arm (14/40) to engage the structure (wall).
36. The bracket of claim 21 wherein the mount (24/22) of the mounting bracket includes a proximal segment (22) and a distal segment (24) at an angle relative to the proximal segment, the proximal segment spacing the support from the structure, the distal segment (24) profiled to engage the structure (wall).
37. The bracket of claim 21 wherein the mount (24/22) extends upward from the support (18), wherein the support arm (14) includes a base (38) that extends downward from the support (18) along the structure.
38. A bracket comprising: a mounting bracket having a mount (24/22) and a support (18), the mount having a mounting surface (back surface of 24/22) profiled to engage a structure (wall), the support (18) having a central axis extending from the structure at an angle along the central axis and the mount extending upward from the support (18); at least one fastener (received within mounting holes 16) for attaching the mounting bracket to the structure, the mount (24/22) defining at least one second mounting hole to support the at least one fastener such tat the at least one fastener extends from the mount perpendicular to the mounting surface; and a support arm (14) extending from the mounting bracket and away from the structure and in an overlying at least in part engagement with the support (18) to resist downward deflection of the support arm, wherein the at least one fastener extends from a portion of the mount located above the support (18), the at least one fastener (received in mounting holes 16) having a longitudinal axis that is lateral of the central axis of the support (18).
40. The bracket of claim 38 wherein the mount comprises two arms (left and right 20) extending from the support (18).
41. The bracket of claim 40 wherein the two arms (left and right 20 including 24/22) each support one of the at least one fastener (mounting holes area 16).
43. The bracket of claim 40 wherein the mounting bracket defines a space and the support arm (14) includes an attachment portion (34) extending through the space (see figure below) to extend along the structure.
44. The bracket of claim 43 wherein the at least one fastener (mounting hole 16 receives fastener) is disposed laterally of the space.
45. The bracket of claim 38 wherein the support arm (14) defines a first attachment hole (46) and the support (18) defines a corresponding second attachment hole (32) for attaching the support arm (14) to the support (18).
46.The bracket of claim 38 wherein the mount of the mounting bracket includes a proximal segment (22) and a distal segment (24) at an angle relative to the proximal segment (22), the proximal segment (22) spacing the support from the structure, the distal segment (24) profiled to engage the structure.
47. A method of mounting hardware to a surface, the method comprising: positioning a rear surface of a mounting portion (24, 22, 20) of a mounting bracket against the surface, the mounting bracket including a main body (18) having an angled support (18) having a central axis and extending from the surface at an angle along the central axis, and the mounting portion (22, 24, 20) extending from the angled support (18) of the main body and spacing at least a portion of the angled support (18) from the surface; attaching the mounting bracket to the surface by inserting a fastener through a mounting hole (16) of the mounting portion (22, 24, 20) of the mounting bracket and into the surface at an angle, and connecting hardware (14) to the mounting bracket including inserting an attachment portion (34) of the hardware (14) between the surface and the angled support (18) of the main body of the mounting bracket and between a first portion (left 20) and a second portion (right 20) of the mounting portion (24, 22, 20) until the attachment portion (34) rests on and extends along the angled support (18) of the main body from the surface, and the first portion (left 20) and second portion (right 20) of the mounting portion (24, 22, 20) are adjacent sides of the attachment portion (34), at least a portion of the mounting hole (16) being located above a top of the attachment portion (34) and the mounting hole (16) having a center, the center being lateral of the central axis of the angled support (18).
48. The method of claim 47 wherein connecting the hardware (14) to the mounting bracket comprises positioning the attachment portion (34) to contact the surface and fastening the attachment portion (34) of the hardware (14) to the main body (18) of the mounting bracket.
49. The method of claim 47 wherein the hardware (14) includes a receptacle (52/50) opposite the attachment portion (34) for receiving a rod (65).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Space)]
[AltContent: textbox (Mount hole(16)
Mount (20)
Support (32))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Attachment portion (38) of support arm (14))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support arm (14))]
[AltContent: textbox (Mounting hole (16) perpendicular to the mount)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Mounting bracket (12)
Mount (24))][AltContent: textbox (Space (30) between arms (20))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Berman discloses all of the limitations except for :
the mount including at least one first mounting hole disposed at an oblique angle to the mount; wherein the two arms each define one of the at least one first mounting hole; wherein the mount comprises two arms extending from support, the two arms each defining at least one of the at least one first mounting hole and at least one of the at least one second mounting hole; wherein the at least one first mounting hole is disposed laterally of the space; the mount defining at least one first mounting hole to support the at least one fastener such that the at least one fastener extends from the mount at an oblique angle to the mounting surface, the mount defining at least one second mounting hole to support the at least one fastener such that the at least one fastener extends from the mount perpendicular to the mounting surface, wherein the at least one first mounting hole and the at least one second mounting hole are vertically stacked with one positioned above the other and laterally aligned such that the at least one first mounting hole and the at least one second mounting hole at least partially overlap laterally; the at least one first mounting hole is above the at least one second mounting hole; the mounting portion defining an upper mounting hole and a lower mounting hole that are laterally aligned such that the upper mounting hole and the lower mounting hole at least partially overlap laterally; attaching the mounting bracket to the surface by inserting a fastener through the upper mounting hole of the mounting portion of the mounting bracket and into the surface at an oblique angle, the upper mounting hole extending obliquely relative to the rear surface of the mounting bracket to guide the fastener into the surface at the oblique angle and being above the lower mounting hole and further from the angled support to provide clearance for driving the fastener through the upper mounting hole at the oblique angle.
Knapp teaches that it is known to have:
(of Claim 21 and 25) the mount including at least one first mounting hole disposed at an oblique angle to the mount; (of Claim 25) each arm including an additional one of the at least one first mounting hole; (of Claim 28) at least one of the at least one first mounting hole and at least one of the at least one second mounting hole;
(of Claim 38) the mount defining at least one first mounting hole to support the at least one fastener such that the at least one fastener extends from the mount at an oblique angle to the mounting surface, the mount defining at least one second mounting hole to support the at least one fastener such that the at least one fastener extends from the mount perpendicular to the mounting surface, wherein the at least one first mounting hole and the at least one second mounting hole are vertically stacked with one positioned above the other and laterally aligned such that the at least one first mounting hole and the at least one second mounting hole at least partially overlap laterally; the at least one first mounting hole is above the at least one second mounting hole;
(of Claim 39) the at least one first mounting hole is above the at least one second mounting hole.
(of Claim 47) the mounting portion defining an upper mounting hole and a lower mounting hole that are laterally aligned such that the upper mounting hole and the lower mounting hole at least partially overlap laterally; attaching the mounting bracket to the surface by inserting a fastener through the upper mounting hole of the mounting portion of the mounting bracket and into the surface at an oblique angle, the upper mounting hole extending obliquely relative to the rear surface of the mounting bracket to guide the fastener into the surface at the oblique angle and being above the lower mounting hole and further from the angled support to provide clearance for driving the fastener through the upper mounting hole at the oblique angle.
[AltContent: textbox (First mounting hole/upper mounting hole
2nd mounting hole/lower mounting hole)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Berman to have included each arm including an additional one of the at least one first mounting hole; the mount including at least one first mounting hole disposed at an oblique angle to the mount; wherein the two arms each define one of the at least one first mounting hole; wherein the mount comprises two arms extending from support, the two arms each defining at least one of the at least one first mounting hole and at least one of the at least one second mounting hole; wherein the at least one first mounting hole is disposed laterally of the space; the mount defining at least one first mounting hole to support the at least one fastener such that the at least one fastener extends from the mount at an oblique angle to the mounting surface, the mount defining at least one second mounting hole to support the at least one fastener such that the at least one fastener extends from the mount perpendicular to the mounting surface, wherein the at least one first mounting hole and the at least one second mounting hole are vertically stacked with one positioned above the other and laterally aligned such that the at least one first mounting hole and the at least one second mounting hole at least partially overlap laterally; the at least one first mounting hole is above the at least one second mounting hole; the mounting portion defining an upper mounting hole and a lower mounting hole that are laterally aligned such that the upper mounting hole and the lower mounting hole at least partially overlap laterally; attaching the mounting bracket to the surface by inserting a fastener through the upper mounting hole of the mounting portion of the mounting bracket and into the surface at an oblique angle, the upper mounting hole extending obliquely relative to the rear surface of the mounting bracket to guide the fastener into the surface at the oblique angle and being above the lower mounting hole and further from the angled support to provide clearance for driving the fastener through the upper mounting hole at the oblique angle as taught by Knapp for the purpose of providing a means through which an attachment mechanism, such as a pin, nail, or screw, may traverse to attach the device to the vertical surface wherein guided by the angle of the outer surfaces of mounting hole to allow the attachment mechanism to attach to the vertical surface at an angle allowing the hanger to support a greater weight than if the attachment mechanism attaches to the vertical surface without an angle.
Modified Berman in view Knapp discloses claim
31. The bracket of claim 30 wherein the at least one first mounting hole is disposed laterally of the space.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman et al. (Berman) 20210219764, as discussed above in view of Wilhelmi 6,698,971.
Berman discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein the mount includes at least one protrusion, the at least one first mounting hole extending through the at least one protrusion; wherein the mount includes at least one tab extending at an oblique angle relative to the support, the at least one first mounting hole extending through the at least one tab.
Wilhermi teaches that it is known to have at least one first mounting hole disposed at an oblique angle to the mount, and a second mounting hole; wherein the mount includes at least one protrusion, the at least one first mounting hole extending through the at least one protrusion; wherein the mount includes at least one tab
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st mounting hole having
Projection/tab extending oblique angle to mount)][AltContent: textbox (2nd mounting hole extending perpendicular )][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Berman to have included at least one first mounting hole disposed at an oblique angle to the mount, and a second mounting hole, wherein the mount includes at least one protrusion, the at least one first mounting hole extending through the at least one protrusion; wherein the mount includes at least one tab extending at an oblique angle relative to the support, the at least one first mounting hole extending through the at least one tab as taught by Knapp for the purpose of providing a means through which an attachment mechanism, such as a pin, nail, or screw, may traverse to attach the device to the vertical surface wherein guided by the angle of the outer surfaces of mounting hole to allow the attachment mechanism to attach to the vertical surface at an angle allowing the hanger to support a greater weight than if the attachment mechanism attaches to the vertical surface without an angle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose a support arm extending from the mounting bracket and away from the structure and in an overlying at least in part engagement with the support to resist downward deflection of the support arm, wherein the mount comprises two arms extending from the support at an angle, wherein the two arms extend to a connecting portion that extends between the two arms and connects the two arms above the support, and the connecting portion above the support defining at least one of the at least one first mounting hole above the support and including all of the other limitations of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art discloses conventional mounting brackets.
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631