DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12075418. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of following:
- With respect to claims, the Patent discloses a method for reporting uplink control information, performed by a User Equipment (UE) (see claim 1, lines 1-2 of Patent “18) and comprising: determining resource indication information of an uplink channel occupation, wherein the resource indication information indicates a resource of an uplink channel occupied by the UE for sending information by a base station (see claim 1, lines 3-7 of Patent “18); carrying uplink indication information with a preset resource on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduled by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and/or a configured grant PUSCH, wherein the uplink indication information comprises the resource indication information of the uplink channel occupation (see claim 1, lines 8-14 of Patent “18); and sending the PUSCH scheduled by the PDCCH and/or the configured grant PUSCH to the base station (see claim 1, lines 15-16 of Patent “18).
- Regarding to claims, the Application merely broaden the scope of the patent by eliminating: “a time-frequency resource”; “where the time-frequency resource indication information is used for indicating a time-frequency resource of an uplink channel occupied by the UE”; “where the uplink indication information comprises the time-frequency resource indication information of the uplink channel occupation information”; “to make the base station send an information according to the time-frequency resource of the uplink channel indicated by the time-frequency resource indication information”. It have been held that the omission of the element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd. App. 1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 12-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (Pub. No. 20170048916) in view of Fu et al. (Pub. No. 20180019842).
- With respect to claims 1, 7, 13-14, Yoo teaches a method for reporting uplink control information, performed by a User Equipment (UE) and comprising: determining resource indication information of an uplink channel occupation, wherein the resource indication information indicates a resource of an uplink channel occupied by the UE for sending information by a base station (see steps S600, S610 and S620 in fig. 6); carrying uplink indication information with a preset resource on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduled by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and/or a configured grant PUSCH (e.g. par. 86), wherein the uplink indication information comprises the resource indication information of the uplink channel occupation; and sending the PUSCH scheduled by the PDCCH and/or the configured grant PUSCH to the base station (e.g. step s620 in fig. 6 and par. 107). Yoo explicitly fails to teaches a preset resource on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduled by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), Fu teaches a preset resource on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduled by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) (see par. 135). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of a preset resource on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) scheduled by a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) into Yoo’s invention for control uplink channel to report the occupation of the UL channel in communication.
- With respect to claims 6, 12, 19, Yoo teaches wherein the uplink indication information further comprises at least one of: a HARQ process (see par. 81), a Redundancy Version (RV) and a CSI.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUC H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3172. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 Flex.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471