DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A: Figs 6 & 14 in the reply filed on 08/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/28/2025.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 depends from claim 9 which is withdrawn, therefore claim 10 is withdrawn. Further, according to the applicant’s specification only unelected Species C (Figs 11 & 12) discloses a wall mountable housing that has an aperture through its center for receiving a mechanical element 50; wherein the mechanical element may be a screw or wall anchor [0041].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,061 in view of Biagiotti 2014/0284439.
Claims 1 and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,061 claims all the limitations set forth in the instant application except for “wherein the housing is a wall mountable housing”.
Biagiotti discloses a retractable towel apparatus (Figs 1 & 7) comprising a wall mountable housing (Figs 1 & 7, #10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the housing of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,061 to a wall as taught by Biagiotti because the substitution of one known mounting surface or support surface for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiang 6,467,736.
Regarding claim 1, in a first interpretation, Chiang discloses an apparatus (Fig 7) that is capable of being used as a retractable towel apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of retractable cord and clip modules (Figs 2 & 7, #221), each formed of: a wall mountable housing (Figs 1 & 3, #21) configured to house a retractable cord (Figs 3 & 7, #22); and a clip (annotated Fig 3 below) & (Figs 1 & 7, #221), wherein the clip (annotated Fig 3 below) & (Fig 1 & 7, #221) is coupled to the retractable cord (Figs 3 & 7, #22).
Regarding claim 2, in the first interpretation, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus further comprising: an adjustable bar (Fig 7, #6) configured to couple to the plurality of retractable cord and clip modules (Figs 2 & 7, #221).
Regarding claim 3, in the first interpretation, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus wherein the clip (annotated Fig 3 above) & (Fig 1 & 7, #221) includes a pivoting portion (annotated Fig 3 above).
Regarding claim 4, in the first interpretation, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus wherein the retractable cord (Figs 3 & 7, #22) is coupled to the clip (annotated Fig 3 above) & (Fig 1 & 7, #221) via mechanical elements (annotated Fig 3 below).
Regarding claim 5, in the first interpretation, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus wherein the clip (annotated Fig 3 above) & (Figs 1 & 7, #221) includes a first jaw (annotated Fig 3 above) and a second jaw (annotated Fig 3 above), wherein the first jaw (annotated Fig 3 above) is biased against the second jaw (annotated Fig 3 above).
Regarding claim 1, in a second interpretation, Chiang discloses an apparatus (Fig 5) that is capable of being used as a retractable towel apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of retractable cord and clip modules (Figs 1 & 2, #221), each formed of: a wall mountable housing (Figs 1 & 3, #21) configured to house a retractable cord (Figs 3 & 5, #22); and a clip (annotated Fig 3 below) & (Figs 1 & 2, #221), wherein the clip (annotated Fig 3 below) & (Fig 1 & 2, #221) is coupled to the retractable cord (Figs 3 & 5, #22).
Regarding claim 2, in the second interpretation, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus further comprising: an adjustable bar (Fig 5, #52) configured to couple to the plurality of retractable cord and clip modules (Figs 2 & 3, #221).
Regarding claim 3, in the second interpretation, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus wherein the clip (annotated Fig 3 above) & (Fig 1 & 3, #221) includes a pivoting portion (annotated Fig 3 above).
Regarding claim 4, in the second interpretation, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus wherein the retractable cord (Figs 3 & 5, #22) is coupled to the clip (annotated Fig 3 above) & (Fig 1 & 2, #221) via mechanical elements (annotated Fig 3 below).
Regarding claim 5, in the second interpretation, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus wherein the clip (annotated Fig 3 above) & (Figs 1 & 2, #221) includes a first jaw (annotated Fig 3 above) and a second jaw (annotated Fig 3 above), wherein the first jaw (annotated Fig 3 above) is biased against the second jaw (annotated Fig 3 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang 6,467,736.
Regarding claim 6, Chiang discloses the retractable towel apparatus wherein the first jaw (annotated Fig 3 above) is biased against the second jaw (annotated Fig 3 above) using a spring clip (annotated Fig 3 above) (as shown in Fig 3).
Chiang has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach the retractable towel apparatus wherein the first jaw is biased against the second jaw using a tension spring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bias the first jaw (Chiang, annotated Fig 3 above) is biased against the second jaw (Chiang, annotated Fig 3 above) using a tension spring since it is old and well known in the art for standard spring clips such as the clips (Chiang, annotated Fig 3 above) of Chiang to be made using tension springs.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang 6,467,736 in view of Phillips 10,959,508.
Regarding claim 7, Chiang has been discussed above but does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second jaw each include a row of retaining teeth.
Phillips discloses a clip (Fig 2) that includes a first jaw (Fig 2, #14) and a second jaw (Fig 2, #16), wherein the first jaw (Fig 2, #14) is biased against the second jaw (Fig 2, #16); wherein the first (Fig 2, #14) and the second jaw (Fig 2, #16) each include a row of retaining teeth (Fig 1, #38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace each clip (Chiang, annotated Fig 3 above) of Chiang with the clip (Phillips, Fig 2) of Phillips because the substitution of one known clip for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Further, the clip (Phillip, Fig 2) will enable Chiang to support heavier objects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DEVIN K BARNETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631