Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-14 and 21-25 in the reply filed on 04/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that applicant has elected a purge gas of helium. This is not found persuasive because the species pointed out by Examiner in the restriction of 02/12/2026 are:
Processing an optical fiber with helium and a protective polymer coating
Processing an optical fiber with helium without a protective polymer coating
Processing an optical fiber with hydrogen
Processing an optical fiber with neon
Processing an optical fiber with deuterium
Applicant amended the claims such that only the species of helium is required by the claims 1-8, 11-13, and 21-25 are generic to the helium species. The amendments and arguments are persuasive and the elected species is drawn to processing an optical fiber with helium, claim 1 being generic to the other claims.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Henningsen et al. Applied Optics, “Dynamics of gas flow in hollow core photonic bandgap fibers” section 2. Experiment, Fig 1) 2008 referred to as Henningsen herein after.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Henningsen discloses a method of processing a glass(Section I, Introduction) hollow core fibers (“HC-PBG” and “HC-PBF” referred to by Henningsen) the method comprising;
Placing a central portion of the fiber into an interior pressure vessel, or vacuum box (section 2. Experiment, Fig 1).
Arranging end portions of the fiber outside the vacuum vessel through vacuum tight seals (section 2. Experiment; line 7)
Admitting gas into the purge vessel, or vacuum vessel, the gas permeating through the fiber material the purge gas pressure is necessarily greater than a partial pressure of the initial content of the purge gas in the cladding because the gas diffuses into the core and is considered to push an initial gas content towards ends of the fiber given the broadest reasonable interpretation (section 2. Experiment; lines 3, 27-31, section 3. Theory The flow of a homogeneous gas through the fiber core is driven by the pressure gradient).
A predefined threshold can be considered any threshold at which the purge time ends
The term “predefined threshold” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “predefined threshold” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The predefined threshold must be defined previous relative to something.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henningsen et al. Applied Optics, “Dynamics of gas flow in hollow core photonic bandgap fibers” section 2. Experiment, Fig 1) 2008 referred to as Henningsen herein after.
Regarding claim 2, Henningsen discloses (section 2. Experiment; lines 3, 27-31, section 3. Theory The flow of a homogeneous gas through the fiber core is driven by the pressure gradient). However fails to recite a predefined threshold of .1 to 10% of the initial gas content.
Henningsen discloses adding a purge gas to the hollow core by diffusing through the cladding, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to cease adding the purge when the core is full and minimize the amount of purge gas residing in the cladding.
Regarding claim 22, Henningsen discloses 1.4 to 10 m (section 2. Experiment; line 25) overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henningsen et al. Applied Optics, “Dynamics of gas flow in hollow core photonic bandgap fibers” section 2. Experiment, Fig 1) 2008 referred to as Henningsen herein after as applied above and further in view of Rudolph (US 20130202006)
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Hennington fails to recite the gas with which the hollow core fiber is filled.
In an analogous art of gas filled hollow core fibers Rudolph discloses using Helium as a filling gas [0054], [0068]. It would be obvious to a skilled artisan to use helium as a buffer gas as motivated to mitigate thermal effects adjust molecular relaxation rates, provide for energy transfer, or combinations thereof and seal the ends of the gas filled hollow core fiber to maintain the gas filled core (claim 9)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8, 12-14, 21 and 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741