DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to Applicant’s response filed 01/14/2026.
Application filed: 07/18/2024
Application PgPUB: 2026/0025419
Claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 10 and 18 are independent.
Claims 1, 2, 10 and 18 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s response, filed 01/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive to overcome the prior rejection. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”).
As to claim 1, Huotari discloses:
a network device (Fig. 2, S-CSCF), comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
receiving, over a network, an IP multimedia subsystem (IMS) registration request from a communication device (Fig. 2, UE Registration, ¶0041 – Huotari teaches a S-CSCF receiving a registration request from a UE);
obtaining, over the network from a network server (Fig. 2, HSS), information indicating enabled services associated with the communication device (¶0043 – Huotari teaches the S-CSCF can easily download the service configuration from the HSS); and
providing, over the network, a request successful message to the communication device, wherein when a local list of enabled services is not received with the IMS registration request, then the request successful message includes the information indicating the enabled services, and (Fig. 2, ¶0045 – Huotari teaches the successful subscription is acknowledged by the S-CSCF 10 in step 3 with a SIP 200 "OK" response. Then, the S-CSCF 10 initiates a HSS query via the Cx interface in step 4 to thereby download the service configuration of the UE 40. The received current service configuration is then forwarded to the UE 40 in a SIP NOTIFY request. Examiner Note, Huotari is silent as to a local list in a SIP/IMS register message and therefore meets this limitation).
Coadic discloses what Huotari does not expressly disclose.
Coadic discloses:
wherein when a local list of enabled services is received with the IMS registration request and the local list of enabled services does not match the information indicating enabled services, then the request successful message includes adjusted enabled services information for reconfiguring the enabled services associated with the communication device (¶0070-¶0073 – Coadic teaches use of P-Requested-Services and P-Supported-Services. P-Requested-Services is a list of services included in a SIP REGISTER message that it can use/provide and the P-Supported-Services are the listed services returned to the user in a 200OK message for services that will be provided. The operator network RO compares the received list with the list of services to which the customer device T, 10, is entitled among the services that the operator network RO has the means to provide, and returns the common subset by means of the header P-Supported-Services of the 200 OK REGISTER).
Huotari and Coadic are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to IP Multimedia Subsystem.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Coadic to the system/method of Huotari in order to allow an operator network to know what services it can effectively provide for a customer device belonging to this operator network, among the services desired by the user of this customer device. (Coadic, ¶0024).
As to claim 2, Huotari and Coadic discloses:
network device of claim 1, and
Huotari discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise
receiving, over the network, a service request from the communication device, wherein the service request is for a service of the enabled services, and wherein the service request is generated by the communication device after the communication device adjusts a communication device configuration according to the information indicating the enabled services or the adjusted enabled services information (¶0046 – Huotari teaches If the user or the UE 40 now wants to initiate one of the available services, for which specific configuration data has been retrieved, it can make use of the configuration data.).
As to claim 7, Huotari and Coadic discloses:
network device of claim 1, and
Huotari discloses:
wherein the network device operates as a Serving Call Session Control Function (S-CSCF), and wherein the network server is a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) (Fig. 2, S-CSCF, HSS of Huotari).
As to claim 18, Huotari discloses:
a method, comprising:
receiving, by a network device over a network, a registration request from a communication device (Fig. 2, UE Registration, ¶0041 – Huotari teaches a S-CSCF receiving a registration request from a UE);
obtaining, by the network device over the network from a network server, information indicating enabled services associated with the communication device (¶0043 – Huotari teaches the S-CSCF can easily download the service configuration from the HSS), wherein the information indicating the enabled services includes identification of application features authorized for the communication device, wherein the network server is provisioned with the information indicating the enabled services according to a service ordering process associated with the communication device for a subscriber account prior to the receiving of the registration request (¶0043 – Huotari teaches the S-CSCF can easily download the service configuration from the HSS; Fig. 2, 0045 – Huotari teaches The successful subscription is acknowledged by the S-CSCF 10 in step 3 with a SIP 200 "OK" response. Then, the S-CSCF 10 initiates a HSS query via the Cx interface in step 4 to thereby download the service configuration of the UE 40. The received current service configuration is then forwarded to the UE 40 in a SIP NOTIFY request; ¶0040 – Huatori teaches the HSS 20 is the master database for a given user and includes the functions of conventional home location registers (HLRs) as well as new functionalities specified to IP networks, such as the IMS. The HSS 20 is the entity containing the subscription-related information to support the network entities actually handling calls and/or sessions; ¶0045 – Huatari teaches Then, the S-CSCF 10 initiates a HSS query via the Cx interface in step 4 to thereby download the service configuration of the UE 40. Examiner Note: because the HSS acts as the server, it will possess the information needed for the UE prior to the registration request.); and
providing, by the network device over the network, a request successful message to the communication device, wherein when the registration request does not include a list of enabled services of the communication device, then the request successful message includes the information indicating the enabled services (Fig. 2, ¶0045 – Huotari teaches the successful subscription is acknowledged by the S-CSCF 10 in step 3 with a SIP 200 "OK" response. Then, the S-CSCF 10 initiates a HSS query via the Cx interface in step 4 to thereby download the service configuration of the UE 40. The received current service configuration is then forwarded to the UE 40 in a SIP NOTIFY request. . Examiner Note, Huotari is silent as to a local list in a SIP/IMS register message and therefore meets this limitation).
Coadic discloses what Huotari does not expressly disclose.
Coadic discloses:
otherwise the request successful message includes reconfiguration information in a case where a received list of enabled services does not match the information indicating enabled services (¶0070-¶0073 – Coadic teaches use of P-Requested-Services and P-Supported-Services. P-Requested-Services is a list of services included in a SIP REGISTER message that it can use/provide and the P-Supported-Services are the listed services returned to the user in a 200OK message for services that will be provided. The operator network RO compares the received list with the list of services to which the customer device T, 10, is entitled among the services that the operator network RO has the means to provide, and returns the common subset by means of the header P-Supported-Services of the 200 OK REGISTER).
The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 1.
As to claim 19, Huotari and Coadic discloses:
method of claim 18, and
Huotari discloses:
further comprising:
receiving, by the network device over the network, a service request from the communication device, wherein the service request is for a service of the enabled services, and wherein the service request is generated by the communication device after the communication device adjusts a communication device configuration according to the information indicating the enabled services (¶0046 – Huotari teaches If the user or the UE 40 now wants to initiate one of the available services, for which specific configuration data has been retrieved, it can make use of the configuration data.).
As to claim 20, Huotari and Coadic discloses:
method of claim 19, and
Huotari discloses:
wherein the receiving the registration request from the communication device includes receiving device configuration data indicating service capability, and further comprising:
adjusting the device configuration data to match the enabled services resulting in adjusted device configuration data, wherein the information indicating the enabled services included in the request successful message is the adjusted device configuration data (¶0046 – Huotari teaches If the user or the UE 40 now wants to initiate one of the available services, for which specific configuration data has been retrieved, it can make use of the configuration data.).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0232402 A1 to Przybysz (“Przybysz”).
As to claim 3, Huotari and Coadic discloses:
network device of claim 1,
wherein the operations further comprise adjusting the device configuration data to match the enabled services resulting in adjusted device configuration data, and wherein the information indicating the enabled services included in the request successful message is the adjusted device configuration data (¶0046 – Huotari teaches If the user or the UE 40 now wants to initiate one of the available services, for which specific configuration data has been retrieved, it can make use of the configuration data; Fig. 2, UE Registration, ¶0041 – Huotari teaches a S-CSCF receiving a registration request from a UE).
Przybysz discloses what Huotari and Coadic does not expressly disclose.
Przybysz discloses:
wherein the receiving the IMS registration request from the communication device includes receiving device configuration data indicating service capability (Fig. 8, ¶0005, ¶0053-¶0055 – Przybysz teaches a UA initiates the registration procedure and sends a REGISTER request to the P-CSCF and UA includes media feature tags and other contact header parameters as part of the UA information. TE-UA shall also include User Agent information that may include any of the following pieces of information: [0055] An indication that the UA belongs to terminal equipment with multiple interface capabilities (e.g. with CS and PS interfaces). This capability could for instance be represented as a new media feature tag (RFC 3840).)),
Huotari, Coadic and Przybysz are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to IP Multimedia Subsystem.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate determining service capability as discussed in Przybysz with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Przybysz to the system/method of Huotari and Coadic in order to for application servers to force decisions related to different access interfaces (and access networks) of the terminal equipment and need to enforce such decisions in the IMS core (Przybysz, ¶0009).
As to claim 4, Huotari and Przybysz discloses:
network device of claim 3, and
Przybysz discloses:
wherein the device configuration data is included in a header of the IMS registration request (Fig. 8, ¶0005, ¶0053-¶0055 – Przybysz teaches a UA initiates the registration procedure and sends a REGISTER request to the P-CSCF and UA includes media feature tags and other contact header parameters as part of the UA information. TE-UA shall also include User Agent information that may include any of the following pieces of information: [0055] An indication that the UA belongs to terminal equipment with multiple interface capabilities (e.g. with CS and PS interfaces). This capability could for instance be represented as a new media feature tag (RFC 3840).)). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 3.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0232402 A1 to Przybysz (“Przybysz”) in further view of Printed Publication, “RFC 3840 – Indicating User Agent Capabilities in the Session Initiation Protocol (SIP)” to Rosenberg et al. (“Rosenberg”).
As to claim 5, Huotari, Coadic and Przybysz discloses:
network device of claim 3,
Rosenberg discloses what Huotari and Przybysz do not expressly disclose.
Rosenberg discloses:
wherein the adjusted device configuration data is included in a header of the request successful message (Section 5, pg. 8, feature parameters, pg. 11 – Rosenberg teaches When a UAC refreshes its registration, it MUST include its feature parameters in that refresh if it wishes for them to remain active. Furthermore, when a registrar returns a 200 OK response to a REGISTER request, each Contact header field value MUST include all of the feature parameters associated with that URI., Section 6 - Expressing Capabilities in a Registration).
Huotari, Coadic, Przybysz and Rosenberg are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SIP.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate determining capabilities of UAs as discussed in Roseberg determining service capability as discussed in Przybysz with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Rosenberg to the system/method of Huotari, Coadic and Przybysz in order to learn the capabilities and characteristics of a SIP UA. (Rosenberg, Introduction, 1).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of Printed Publication, “RFC 3840 – Indicating User Agent Capabilities in the Session Initiation Protocol (SIP)” to Rosenberg et al. (“Rosenberg”).
As to claim 6, Huotari and Coadic discloses:
network device of claim 1,
Rosenberg discloses what Huotari and Coadic does not expressly disclose.
Rosenberg discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise inserting the information indicating the enabled services in a header of the request successful message (Section 5, pg. 8, feature parameters, pg. 11 – Rosenberg teaches When a UAC refreshes its registration, it MUST include its feature parameters in that refresh if it wishes for them to remain active. Furthermore, when a registrar returns a 200 OK response to a REGISTER request, each Contact header field value MUST include all of the feature parameters associated with that URI., Section 6 - Expressing Capabilities in a Registration).
Huotari, Coadic and Rosenberg are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SIP.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate determining capabilities of UAs as discussed in Roseberg with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Rosenberg to the system/method of Huotari and Coadic in order to learn the capabilities and characteristics of a SIP UA. (Rosenberg, Introduction, 1).
As to claim 8, Huotari, Coadic and Rosenberg discloses:
network device of claim 7, and
Huotari discloses:
wherein the communication device is an end user device (Fig. 2, UE of Huotari),
wherein the HSS is provisioned with the information indicating the enabled services according to a service ordering process associated with the communication device for a subscriber account prior to the receiving of the IMS registration request (¶0040 – Huatori teaches the HSS 20 is the master database for a given user and includes the functions of conventional home location registers (HLRs) as well as new functionalities specified to IP networks, such as the IMS. The HSS 20 is the entity containing the subscription-related information to support the network entities actually handling calls and/or sessions; ¶0045 – Huotari teaches Then, the S-CSCF 10 initiates a HSS query via the Cx interface in step 4 to thereby download the service configuration of the UE 40. Examiner Note: because the HSS acts as the server, it will possess the information needed for the UE prior to the registration request.).
, and
Rosenberg discloses:
wherein the information indicating the enabled services includes identification of application features authorized for the communication device (Section 5, pg. 8, feature parameters, pg. 11 – Rosenberg teaches When a UAC refreshes its registration, it MUST include its feature parameters in that refresh if it wishes for them to remain active. Furthermore, when a registrar returns a 200 OK response to a REGISTER request, each Contact header field value MUST include all of the feature parameters associated with that URI., Section 6 - Expressing Capabilities in a Registration),
The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 6.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of U.S. Patent No. 7,085,814 B1 to Gandhi et al. (“Gandhi”).
As to claim 9, Huotari and Coadic discloses:
network device of claim 1,
Gandhi discloses what Huotari and Coadic does not expressly disclose.
Gandhi discloses:
wherein the information indicating the enabled services is derived from terminology representing application features associated with different vendors that correspond to a subset of 3GPP Uniform Resource Names (URNs) (col. 50 ll. 15-67, col. 51 ll. 1-67, col. 52 ll.1-26 – Gandhi teaches The UPnP description for a device includes vendor-specific, manufacturer information like the model name and number, serial number, manufacturer name, URLs to vendor-specific Web sites, etc. (details below). The description also includes a list of any embedded devices or services, as well as URLs for control, eventing, and presentation. URN: urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:service-type:service-version).
Huotari, Coadic and Gandhi are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to use of uniform resource names.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate URNs as discussed in Gandhi with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Gandhi to the system/method of Huotari and Coadic in order to learn more about devices and its capabilities via URLs (Gandhi, col. 50 ll. 24-32).
Claims 10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,986,570 B1 to Menon et al. (“Menon”).
As to claim 10, Huotari discloses:
a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor of a communication device, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
providing, over a network, a registration request (Fig. 2, UE Registration, ¶0041 – Huotari teaches a S-CSCF receiving a registration request from a UE);
receiving, over the network, a request successful message, wherein the request successful message includes information indicating enabled services associated with the communication device (Fig. 2, 0045 – Huotari teaches The successful subscription is acknowledged by the S-CSCF 10 in step 3 with a SIP 200 "OK" response. Then, the S-CSCF 10 initiates a HSS query via the Cx interface in step 4 to thereby download the service configuration of the UE 40. The received current service configuration is then forwarded to the UE 40 in a SIP NOTIFY request); and
Coadic discloses what Huotari does not expressly disclose.
Coadic discloses:
receiving, over the network, a request successful message, wherein the request successful message includes information indicating enabled services associated with the communication device only in a case where the registration request is accompanied by a list of enabled services provisioned to the communication device services (¶0070-¶0073 – Coadic teaches use of P-Requested-Services and P-Supported-Services. P-Requested-Services is a list of services included in a SIP REGISTER message that it can use/provide and the P-Supported-Services are the listed services returned to the user in a 200OK message for services that will be provided. The operator network RO compares the received list with the list of services to which the customer device T, 10, is entitled among the services that the operator network RO has the means to provide, and returns the common subset by means of the header P-Supported-Services of the 200 OK REGISTER).; and
Huotari and Coadic are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to IP Multimedia Subsystem.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Coadic to the system/method of Huotari in order to allow an operator network to know what services it can effectively provide for a customer device belonging to this operator network, among the services desired by the user of this customer device. (Coadic, ¶0024).
Menon discloses what Huotari and Coadic does not expressly disclose.
Menon discloses:
disabling an application feature according to the information indicating the enabled services (col. 1 ll. 58-67, col. 2 ll. 1-11 – Menon teaches modifying an operating parameter of the wireless communication device responsive to a determination that the local MCC does not match any home MCC of the wireless communication device; col. 6 ll. 42-64 – Menon teaches determine whether or not they are located within their respective home countries by comparing their local MCCs to the MCC(s) include on their respective home MCC lists, and to selectively enable/disable device features/services accordingly. In some embodiments, for instance, wireless communication devices 401A and/or 401B may be configured to selectively enable/disable device-to-device (D2D)/proximity services (“ProSe”) communication services/features depending on whether they are located within their respective home countries).
Huotari, Coadic and Menon are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to IMS systems
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate disable/enable services as discussed in Menon with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS systems as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Menon to the system/method of Huotari in order to enable services/features based on a location (Menon, col. 6 ll. 42-64).
As to claim 15, Huotari, Coadic and Menon discloses:
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 10, and
Huotari discloses:
wherein the request successful message is received from a network device operating as a Serving Call Session Control Function (S-CSCF) (Fig. 2, 0045 – Huotari teaches The successful subscription is acknowledged by the S-CSCF 10 in step 3 with a SIP 200 "OK" response. Then, the S-CSCF 10 initiates a HSS query via the Cx interface in step 4 to thereby download the service configuration of the UE 40. The received current service configuration is then forwarded to the UE 40 in a SIP NOTIFY request), and wherein the S-CSCF obtains, over the network from a network server, the information indicating the enabled services associated with the communication device (¶0043 – Huotari teaches the S-CSCF can easily download the service configuration from the HSS).
As to claim 16, Huotari, Coadic and Menon discloses:
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 10, and
Huotari discloses:
wherein the network server is a Home Subscriber Server (HSS), wherein the information indicating the enabled services includes identification of application features authorized for the communication device, and wherein the HSS is provisioned with the information indicating the enabled services according to a service ordering process associated with the communication device for a subscriber account prior to the providing of the registration request (¶0043 – Huotari teaches the S-CSCF can easily download the service configuration from the HSS; Fig. 2, 0045 – Huotari teaches The successful subscription is acknowledged by the S-CSCF 10 in step 3 with a SIP 200 "OK" response. Then, the S-CSCF 10 initiates a HSS query via the Cx interface in step 4 to thereby download the service configuration of the UE 40. The received current service configuration is then forwarded to the UE 40 in a SIP NOTIFY request).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,986,570 B1 to Menon et al. (“Menon”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0113082 to Sabeur et al. (“Sabeur”).
As to claim 11, Huotari, Coadic and Menon discloses:
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 10, and
wherein the operations further comprise:
adjusting of a communication device configuration according to the information indicating the enabled services resulting in the disabling of the application feature (col. 1 ll. 58-67, col. 2 ll. 1-11 – Menon teaches modifying an operating parameter of the wireless communication device responsive to a determination that the local MCC does not match any home MCC of the wireless communication device; col. 6 ll. 42-64 – Menon teaches determine whether or not they are located within their respective home countries by comparing their local MCCs to the MCC(s) include on their respective home MCC lists, and to selectively enable/disable device features/services accordingly. In some embodiments, for instance, wireless communication devices 401A and/or 401B may be configured to selectively enable/disable device-to-device (D2D)/proximity services (“ProSe”) communication services/features depending on whether they are located within their respective home countries); and
providing, over the network, a service request for a service of the enabled services (¶0046 – Huotari teaches If the user or the UE 40 now wants to initiate one of the available services, for which specific configuration data has been retrieved, it can make use of the configuration data.).
Sabeur discloses what Huotari, Coadic and Menon do not expressly disclose.
Sabeur discloses:
wherein the information indicating the enabled services associated with the communication device is obtained from a unified data management function that exposes an N70 interface for accessing the information (Fig. 1, ¶0018 – Sabeur teaches the HSS/UDM (i.e., unified data management function) and CSCF (i.e., S-CSCF, I-CSCF) is coupled by the N70 interface),
Huotari, Coadic, Menon and Sabeur are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to IMS systems
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate N70 as discussed in Sabeur with disable/enable services as discussed in Menon with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS systems as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Sabeur to the system/method of Huotari and Menon in order to demonstrate connections between different components within a IMS system (Sabeur, ¶0018).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,986,570 B1 to Menon et al. (“Menon”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0232402 to Przybysz et al. (“Przybysz”).
As to claim 12, Huotari, Coadic and Menon discloses:
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 10,
Przybysz discloses what Huotari, Coadic and Menon do not expressly disclose.
Przybysz discloses:
wherein the providing of the registration request includes providing device configuration data indicating service capability of the communication device (Fig. 8, ¶0005, ¶0053-¶0055 – Przybysz teaches a UA initiates the registration procedure and sends a REGISTER request to the P-CSCF and UA includes media feature tags and other contact header parameters as part of the UA information. TE-UA shall also include User Agent information that may include any of the following pieces of information: [0055] An indication that the UA belongs to terminal equipment with multiple interface capabilities (e.g. with CS and PS interfaces). This capability could for instance be represented as a new media feature tag (RFC 3840).)).
Huotari, Coadic, Menon and Przybysz are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to IP Multimedia Subsystem.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate determining service capability as discussed in Przybysz with disable/enable services as discussed in Menon with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Przybysz to the system/method of Huotari and Menon in order to for application servers to force decisions related to different access interfaces (and access networks) of the terminal equipment and need to enforce such decisions in the IMS core (Przybysz, ¶0009).
As to claim 13, Huotari, Coadic, Menon and Przybysz discloses:
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12, and
Przybysz discloses:
wherein the device configuration data is included in a header of the registration request (Fig. 8, ¶0005, ¶0053-¶0055 – Przybysz teaches a UA initiates the registration procedure and sends a REGISTER request to the P-CSCF and UA includes media feature tags and other contact header parameters as part of the UA information. TE-UA shall also include User Agent information that may include any of the following pieces of information: [0055] An indication that the UA belongs to terminal equipment with multiple interface capabilities (e.g. with CS and PS interfaces). This capability could for instance be represented as a new media feature tag (RFC 3840).)). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 13.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,986,570 B1 to Menon et al. (“Menon”) in further view of Printed Publication, “RFC 3840 – Indicating User Agent Capabilities in the Session Initiation Protocol (SIP)” to Rosenberg et al. (“Rosenberg”).
As to claim 14, Huotari, Coadic and Menon discloses:
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 10,
Rosenberg discloses what Huotari, Coadic and Menon do not expressly disclose.
Rosenberg discloses:
wherein the information indicating the enabled services is included in a header of the request successful message (Section 5, pg. 8, feature parameters, pg. 11 – Rosenberg teaches When a UAC refreshes its registration, it MUST include its feature parameters in that refresh if it wishes for them to remain active. Furthermore, when a registrar returns a 200 OK response to a REGISTER request, each Contact header field value MUST include all of the feature parameters associated with that URI., Section 6 - Expressing Capabilities in a Registration).
Huotari, Coadic, Menon and Rosenberg are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SIP.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate determining capabilities of UAs as discussed in Roseberg with disable/enable services as discussed in Menon with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Rosenberg to the system/method of Huotari, Coadic and Menon in order to learn the capabilities and characteristics of a SIP UA. (Rosenberg, Introduction, 1).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0205212 A1 to Huotari et al. (“Huotari”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0229536 A1 to Coadic et al. (“Coadic”) in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,986,570 B1 to Menon et al. (“Menon”) in further view of U.S. Patent No. 7,085,814 B1 to Gandhi et al. (“Gandhi”).
As to claim 17, Huotari, Coadic and Menon discloses:
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 10,
Gandhi discloses what Huotari, Coadic and Menon do not expressly disclose.
Gandhi discloses:
wherein the information indicating the enabled services is derived from terminology representing application features associated with different vendors that correspond to a subset of 3GPP Uniform Resource Names (URNs) (col. 50 ll. 15-67, col. 51 ll. 1-67, col. 52 ll.1-26 – Gandhi teaches The UPnP description for a device includes vendor-specific, manufacturer information like the model name and number, serial number, manufacturer name, URLs to vendor-specific Web sites, etc. (details below). The description also includes a list of any embedded devices or services, as well as URLs for control, eventing, and presentation. URN: urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:service-type:service-version).
Huotari, Coadic, Menon and Gandhi are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to SIP.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate URNs of UAs as discussed in Gandhi with disable/enable services as discussed in Menon with registration service lists as discussed in Coadic with IMS system as discussed in Huotari by adding the functionality of Gandhi to the system/method of Huotari, Coadic and Menon in order to learn more about devices and its capabilities via URLs (Gandhi, col. 50 ll. 24-32).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAYLOR A ELFERVIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445