DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Group II (claim 20) is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/5/2026.
During a telephone conversation with Agent Scott Breining on 2/3/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the species of the base being an alkali metal hydroxide, claims 3-4. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 5-10 and 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Claim status
The amendment filed on 1/5/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending with claim(s) 5-10, 14-16 and 20 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1-4, 11-13 and 17-19 is/are under examination in this office action.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 13 recites “a range of concentration of the polyamic acid salt in the aqueous solution is from about 0.01 to about 0.3 g/cm3, based on the weight of the polyamic acid” which is interpreted as the aqueous solution contains about 0.01 to about 0.3 g of polyamic acid per cm3 of the solution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (CN 111607227 A, machine translation is referenced herein) in view of Zhang et al (CN 102910625 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 1-2, 11-12, Li teaches a method of forming a monolith graphene polyimide aerogel comprising reacting a diamine such as 4,4'-diaminodiphenyl ether [P6L44] with a dianhydride such as 3,3′,4,4′-benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride [P6L48] in the presence of a basic amine such as triethylamine to form a polyamic acid (polyimide precursor) [P7L36-40]. The reaction mixture is dissolved in water [P2L46]. Therefore, it is an aqueous solution. The aerogel is a three-dimensional material that can withstand 90% of compressive strain, and can quickly restore the original state [P3L26-27]. Therefore, it is in monolithic form.
The polyamic acid precursor solution reads on the claimed aqueous solution of the polyamic acid salt, with the triethylamine reading on the recited base in claim 2.
The polyamic acid comprises 4,4'-oxydiphthalic acid coming from the 3,3′,4,4′-benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride, which reads on the recited tetracarboxylic acid in claim 11.
The 4,4'-diaminodiphenyl ether reads on the recited diamine in claim 12.
Li does not teach “adding delta-gluconolactone to the aqueous solution of the polyamic acid salt to form a gelation mixture”.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches a method of forming a graphene aerogel comprising using a gel promotor gluconolactone, to not only allow the forming process of gel become controlled, and substantially increase gel quality [0020, 0121].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add gluconolactone in Li’s method in order to allow the forming process of gel become controlled, and substantially increase gel quality.
The gluconolactone is art recognized as the recited delta-gluconolactone.
Li teaches pouring the precursor solution into a mold to form a wet gel [P2L56].
Li teaches washing the wet gel [P2L43-44].
Li teaches that the precursor aerogel is subjected to microwave imidization to form the polyimide composite aerogel material [P2L12-13].
Li teaches drying to form the aerogel [P2L59-60].
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches 1% imide precursor aqueous solution [P9L50-51], corresponding to 0.01 g of polyamic acid per cm3 of the solution, meeting the claimed range of about 0.01 to about 0.3 g of polyamic acid per cm3 of the solution.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches drying the aerogel by lyophilizing [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use lyophilizing method for drying Li’s polyimide composite aerogel material, as Zhang teaches that lyophilizing is suitable for similar aerogel materials.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Steiner et al (US 20220153951 A1).
Regarding claims 3-4, Li in view of Zhang teaches the method in claim 1. Li teaches basic amine such as triethylamine in preparing the polyamic acid precursor, but does not teach the claimed alkali metal hydroxide.
In the same field of endeavor, Steiner teaches a method of forming a monolith polyimide aerogel comprising reacting a diamine such as p-phenylenediamine with a dianhydride such as 3,3′,4,4′-benzophenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride in the presence of a catalyst [0005, 0033, 0091, 0092, 0096 and Example 4 in 0182-0184]. The solvent or pore fluid can be water [0033, 0129]. Steiner teaches that the catalyst can be tertiary amine and such as triethylamine, or alkali metal and alkaline earth metal hydroxides [0096].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select lithium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, or potassium hydroxide as the alkali metal hydroxide, as these are the most common ones in limited number of alkali metals (Lithium, Sodium, Potassium, Rubidium, Cesium, Francium).
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since Steiner recognized triethylamine and alkali metal hydroxide are equivalent for the same purpose as the base catalyst in polyamic acid making, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute triethylamine with lithium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, or potassium hydroxide in Li’s method.
Regarding claim 18, Li in view of Zhang teaches the method in claim 1. Li does not teach converting the polyimide aerogel to an isomorphic carbon aerogel, the converting comprising pyrolyzing the polyimide aerogel under inert atmosphere at a temperature of at least about 650 °C.
Steiner teaches a method of forming a monolith polyimide aerogel as stated above. Steiner further teaches carbonizing the polyimide aerogel by pyrolyzing the aerogel under inert atmosphere at a temperature of at least about 700 °C [0128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to pyrolyze the polyimide aerogel under inert atmosphere at a temperature of at least about 700 °C, as Steiner demonstrated this is suitable for similar polyimide aerogel.
Since Li in view of Zhang and Steiner teaches the same composition and process, the claimed isomorphic carbon aerogel would be expected from this pyrolyzing process.
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Zhang teaches the method in claim 1. Li does not teach adding an electroactive material to the aqueous solution of the polyamic acid salt.
According to the applicant, the recited electroactive material is silicon [0383 and 0388 spec.].
Stein teaches a method of forming a monolith polyimide aerogel as stated above. Steiner further teaches that the aerogel may contain silicon metalloid [0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add silicon in Li’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762