DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayakawa et al. (US 20180307919 A1; hereafter Hayakawa) in view of Tachibaba et al. (US 20150254981 A1; hereafter Tachibaba).
Regarding claim 1, Hayakawa teaches a parking assist system (Fig 1, [0026] The parking assist system 1000) comprising: a hardware processor connected to a memory, the hardware processor (Fig 1, [0027] The control device 10 of the parking assist apparatus 100...a specific computer comprising a ROM 12 that stores a parking assist program, a CPU as an operation circuit that executes the program stored in the ROM 12...and a RAM 13 that serves as an accessible storage device) being configured to: detect a parking frame around a vehicle based on a photographed image obtained by photographing surroundings of the vehicle ([0082] the control device 10 executes the frame line detection process for the parking spaces PLn within a predetermined range on the near side in the vehicle travel direction in the overhead image); determine accuracy of the parking frame (see at least, [0038] The control device 10 performs edge detection on the captured images…detects a pixel array in which the luminance difference between each pixel and its adjacent pixel is a predetermined value or more from the overhead image…when a line having a larger luminance difference is newly detected, the newly detected line is detected as a line having a higher possibility of being a frame line); determine, based on the accuracy of the parking frame (see at least, [0080] the control device 10 analyzes the overhead image…as the distance from the subject vehicle becomes longer, the resolution of the overhead image lowers and the detection accuracy of frame lines deteriorates); and generate a route based on the target parking position ([0070] The control device 10 calculates a travel route on the basis of the positional relationship between the position P4 of the subject vehicle V at which the parking maneuver (movement) is started and the position of the target parking space Mo).
Hayakawa does not explicitly teach detect a parking space based on ultrasonic transmitted waves and reflected waves of the ultrasonic transmitted waves, a method of calculating a target parking position using the parking frame and the parking space; calculate the target parking position based on the determination on the method of calculating the target parking position. However, Tachibaba teaches these limitations.
Tachibaba teaches detect a parking space based on ultrasonic transmitted waves and reflected waves of the ultrasonic transmitted waves (see at least, [0047] The area detection unit 51 detects the parking allowable area 201 by using the detection results output from the distance measuring units 17 that emit waves in the side direction of the vehicle 1 and detect the reflected waves of the waves; [0038] The distance measuring units 17 are sonars (sonar sensors, ultrasonic detectors, or active type distance sensors) that emit (radiate) ultrasonic waves as waves and capture (detect) the reflected waves), a method of calculating a target parking position using the parking frame and the parking space; calculate the target parking position based on the determination on the method of calculating the target parking position ([0051] the parking allowable area 201 is detected by the area detection unit 51, the parking section lines 102 are detected by the line detection unit 52, and the parking section line 102 is located outside the parking allowable area 201, then the target position calculation unit 53 calculates the target parking position 200 by using the detection result of the parking allowable area 201 by the area detection unit 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayakawa to include detect a parking space based on ultrasonic transmitted waves and reflected waves of the ultrasonic transmitted waves, a method of calculating a target parking position using the parking frame and the parking space; calculate the target parking position based on the determination on the method of calculating the target parking position as taught by Tachibaba in order to display the target parking position as parking assist information, display a relative positional relation among the target parking position, the parking section lines, and the obstacle (Tachibaba, [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist system according to claim 1. Hayakawa further teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to convert the photographed image into an overhead image ([0080] As illustrated in FIG. 8, the control device 10 analyzes the overhead image, which is generated from the images captured by the cameras 1a to 1d) and detect the parking frame on the overhead image ([0038] the control device 10 detects frame lines on the basis of the overhead image generated by the image processing device 2. Frame lines are boundary lines that define frames (regions) of parking spaces), and determine the accuracy of the parking frame based on a position or a shape of the parking frame on the overhead image ([0080] In such an overhead image, as the distance from the subject vehicle becomes longer, the resolution of the overhead image lowers and the detection accuracy of frame lines deteriorates).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist system according to claim 2. Hayakawa further teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to perform the determination based on the position or the shape of the parking frame by using comparison of an angle between frame lines of the parking frame and a threshold determined according to the position, or symmetry of the parking frame ([0082] the control device 10 executes the frame line detection process for the parking spaces PLn within a predetermined range on the near side in the vehicle travel direction in the overhead image...selects, from among the detected candidates of frame lines, a pair of frame line candidates in which the distance there between falls within a first threshold range and the relative angle therebetween falls within a first threshold range, and detects the pair of frame line candidates as the frame lines of the parking space PLn).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist system according to claim 3. Hayakawa further teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to determine that the parking frame is unavailable when the angle between the frame lines of the parking frame is equal to or larger than the threshold (see at least, [0101] the threshold of the luminance difference in the region with a width H1 around the position c is set to a second threshold lower than the above first threshold; [0093] the luminance difference between a pixel array and its adjacent pixel array, the length of the pixel array, the relative angle between frame lines, and the distance between frame lines, factors of a white line width and the perpendicularity to the pathway may be employed to extract candidates of frame lines and/or detect frame lines…changing the threshold (lowering the threshold) corresponds to widening the threshold range), determine that the parking frame is available when the angle between the frame lines of the parking frame is smaller than the threshold ([0082] the control device 10 executes the frame line detection process for the parking spaces PLn within a predetermined range on the near side in the vehicle travel direction in the overhead image...selects, from among the detected candidates of frame lines, a pair of frame line candidates in which the distance therebetween falls within a first threshold range and the relative angle therebetween falls within a first threshold range, and detects the pair of frame line candidates as the frame lines of the parking space PLn), and determine that the parking frame is partially available when the frame lines of the parking frame are bilaterally symmetrical to each other ([0101] FIG. 12 is a chart illustrating the relationship between the position in the travel direction of the vehicle and the threshold used for detection of frame line candidates).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist system according to claim 1. Tachibaba further teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to continuously execute the calculation of the target parking position during driving for automatic parking ([0057] The target position calculation unit 53 repeats calculation of the target parking position 200 in the backward traveling of the vehicle 1, and updates the target parking position 200…the vehicle 1 repeats image recognition (detection of the parking section lines 102 by the line detection unit 52) by the imaging unit 16 while traveling backward…and sets the target parking position 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hayakawa to include continuously execute the calculation of the target parking position during driving for automatic parking as taught by Tachibaba in order to display the target parking position as parking assist information, display a relative positional relation among the target parking position, the parking section lines, and the obstacle (Tachibaba, [0064]).
Regarding claim 9, Hayakawa teaches a parking assist method (Fig 1, [0026] The parking assist system 1000) implemented by a computer (Fig 1, [0027] The control device 10 of the parking assist apparatus 100...a specific computer comprising a ROM 12 that stores a parking assist program, a CPU as an operation circuit that executes the program stored in the ROM 12...and a RAM 13 that serves as an accessible storage device), the parking assist method comprising: detecting a parking frame around a vehicle based on a photographed image obtained by photographing surroundings of the vehicle ([0082] the control device 10 executes the frame line detection process for the parking spaces PLn within a predetermined range on the near side in the vehicle travel direction in the overhead image); determining accuracy of the parking frame (see at least, [0038] The control device 10 performs edge detection on the captured images…detects a pixel array in which the luminance difference between each pixel and its adjacent pixel is a predetermined value or more from the overhead image…when a line having a larger luminance difference is newly detected, the newly detected line is detected as a line having a higher possibility of being a frame line); determining, based on the accuracy of the parking frame (see at least, [0080] the control device 10 analyzes the overhead image…as the distance from the subject vehicle becomes longer, the resolution of the overhead image lowers and the detection accuracy of frame lines deteriorates); and generating a route based on the target parking position ([0070] The control device 10 calculates a travel route on the basis of the positional relationship between the position P4 of the subject vehicle V at which the parking maneuver (movement) is started and the position of the target parking space Mo).
Hayakawa does not explicitly teach detecting a parking space based on ultrasonic transmitted waves and reflected waves of the ultrasonic transmitted waves; a method of calculating a target parking position using the parking frame and the parking space; calculating the target parking position based on the determination on the method of calculating the target parking position. However, Tachibaba teaches these limitations.
Tachibaba teaches detecting a parking space based on ultrasonic transmitted waves and reflected waves of the ultrasonic transmitted waves (see at least, [0047] The area detection unit 51 detects the parking allowable area 201 by using the detection results output from the distance measuring units 17 that emit waves in the side direction of the vehicle 1 and detect the reflected waves of the waves; [0038] The distance measuring units 17 are sonars (sonar sensors, ultrasonic detectors, or active type distance sensors) that emit (radiate) ultrasonic waves as waves and capture (detect) the reflected waves), a method of calculating a target parking position using the parking frame and the parking space; calculating the target parking position based on the determination on the method of calculating the target parking position ([0051] the parking allowable area 201 is detected by the area detection unit 51, the parking section lines 102 are detected by the line detection unit 52, and the parking section line 102 is located outside the parking allowable area 201, then the target position calculation unit 53 calculates the target parking position 200 by using the detection result of the parking allowable area 201 by the area detection unit 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayakawa to include detecting a parking space based on ultrasonic transmitted waves and reflected waves of the ultrasonic transmitted waves; a method of calculating a target parking position using the parking frame and the parking space; calculating the target parking position based on the determination on the method of calculating the target parking position as taught by Tachibaba in order to display the target parking position as parking assist information, display a relative positional relation among the target parking position, the parking section lines, and the obstacle (Tachibaba, [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist method according to claim 9. Hayakawa further teaches further comprising converting the photographed image into an overhead image ([0080] As illustrated in FIG. 8, the control device 10 analyzes the overhead
image, which is generated from the images captured by the cameras 1a to 1d) and detect the parking frame on the overhead image ([0038] the control device 10 detects frame lines on the basis of the overhead image generated by the image processing device 2. Frame lines are boundary lines that define frames (regions) of parking spaces), wherein the determining accuracy of the parking frame is performed based on a position or a shape of the parking frame on the overhead image ([0080] In such an overhead image, as the distance from the subject vehicle becomes longer, the resolution of the overhead image lowers and the detection accuracy of frame lines deteriorates).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist method according to claim 10. Hayakawa further teaches wherein the determining based on the position or the shape of the parking frame is performed by using comparison of an angle between frame lines of the parking frame and a threshold determined according to the position, or symmetry of the parking frame ([0082] the control device 10 executes the frame line detection process for the parking spaces PLn within a predetermined range on the near side in the vehicle travel direction in the overhead image
...selects, from among the detected candidates of frame lines, a pair of frame line candidates in which the distance there between falls within a first threshold range and the relative angle therebetween falls within a first threshold range, and detects the pair of frame line candidates as the frame lines of the parking space PLn).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist method according to claim 11. Hayakawa further teaches wherein the determining accuracy of the parking frame is performed by determining that the parking frame is unavailable when the angle between the frame lines of the parking frame is equal to or larger than the threshold (see at least, [0101] the threshold of the luminance difference in the region with a width H1 around the position c is set to a second threshold lower than the above first threshold; [0093] the luminance difference between a pixel array and its adjacent pixel array, the length of the pixel array, the relative angle between frame lines, and the distance between frame lines, factors of a white line width and the perpendicularity to the pathway may be employed to extract candidates of frame lines and/or detect frame lines…
changing the threshold (lowering the threshold) corresponds to widening the threshold range), determining that the parking frame is available when the angle between the frame lines of the parking frame is smaller than the threshold (see at least, [0082] the control device 10 executes the frame line detection process for the parking spaces PLn within a predetermined range on the near side in the vehicle travel direction in the overhead image...selects, from among the detected candidates of frame lines, a pair of frame line candidates in which the distance therebetween falls within a first threshold range and the relative angle therebetween falls within a first threshold range, and detects the pair of frame line candidates as the frame lines of the parking space PLn), and determining that the parking frame is partially available when the frame lines of the parking frame are bilaterally symmetrical to each other (see at least, [0101] FIG. 12 is a chart illustrating the relationship between the position in the travel direction of the vehicle and the threshold used for detection of frame line candidates).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist method according to claim 9. Tachibaba further teaches wherein the calculating the target parking position is continuously executed during driving for automatic parking ([0057] The target position calculation unit 53 repeats calculation of the target parking position 200 in the backward traveling of the vehicle 1, and updates the target parking position 200…the vehicle 1 repeats image recognition (detection of the parking section lines 102 by the line detection unit 52) by the imaging unit 16 while traveling backward…and sets the target parking position 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayakawa to include calculating the target parking position is continuously executed during driving for automatic parking as taught by Tachibaba in order to display the target parking position as parking assist information, display a relative positional relation among the target parking position, the parking section lines, and the obstacle (Tachibaba, [0064]).
Claims 5, 7, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayakawa et al. (US 20180307919 A1; hereafter Hayakawa) in view of Tachibaba et al. (US 20150254981 A1; hereafter Tachibaba) in further view of Inui et al. (US 20250139989 A1; hereafter Inui).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist system according to claim 4. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the hardware processor is configured to determine to calculate the target position by using the parking space in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is unavailable, determine to calculate the target position by using the parking frame in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is available. However, Inui teaches these limitations.
Inui teaches determine to calculate the target position by using the parking space in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is unavailable (see at least, [0077] The boundary line recognition unit 141c does not recognize the candidate line Q as the boundary line 201 when determining that the luminance difference is equal to or larger than the luminance threshold), determine to calculate the target position by using the parking frame in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is available (see at least, [0077] The boundary line recognition unit 141c…recognizes the candidate line Q as the boundary line 201 when
determining that the luminance difference is less than the luminance threshold. The parking target
position setting unit 142 sets the parking target position N on the basis of the boundary line 201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba to include determine to calculate the target position by using the parking space in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is unavailable, determine to calculate the target position by using the parking frame in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is available as taught by Inui in order to improve the accuracy in detection of a boundary line (Inui, [0008]).
Tachibaba further teaches in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is partially available, determine to calculate the target position by using the parking frame for a lateral direction of the vehicle ([0050] when a distance L1 between the pair of parking section lines 102 (distance between broken lines 202) is equal to or larger than a specified parking width, the target position calculation unit 53 may calculate the target parking position 200 while when the distance between the pair of parking section lines 102 (distance between broken lines 202) is not equal to or larger than the specified parking width) and calculate the target position by using the parking space for a longitudinal direction of the vehicle ([0050] The target position calculation unit 53 sets the target parking position 200 such that the center of the target parking position 200 is located at the medium of the pair of parking section lines 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayakawa to include in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is partially available, determine to calculate the target position by using the parking frame for a lateral direction of the vehicle and calculate the target position by using the parking space for a longitudinal direction of the vehicle as taught by Tachibaba in order to display the target parking position as parking assist information, display a relative positional relation among the target parking position, the parking section lines, and the obstacle (Tachibaba, [0064]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hayakawa, Tachibaba and Inui teaches the parking assist system according to claim 5. Tachibaba further teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to execute the calculation of the target parking position when the determination result meets a specific condition ([0050] the target position calculation unit 53 may calculate the target parking position 200 while when the distance between the pair of parking section lines 102…is not equal to or larger than the specified parking width, the target position calculation unit 53 may not calculate the target parking position 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayakawa to include execute the calculation of the target parking position when the determination result meets a specific condition as taught by Tachibaba in order to display the target parking position as parking assist information, display a relative positional relation among the target parking position, the parking section lines, and the obstacle (Tachibaba, [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba teaches the parking assist method according to claim 12. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the determining a method of calculating a target parking position is performed by determining to calculate the target position by using the parking space in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is unavailable, determining to calculate the target position by using the parking frame in response to a determination result representing that that the parking frame is available. However, Inui teaches these limitations.
Inui teaches wherein the determining a method of calculating a target parking position is performed by determining to calculate the target position by using the parking space in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is unavailable (see at least, [0077] The boundary line recognition unit 141c does not recognize the candidate line Q as the boundary line 201 when determining that the luminance difference is equal to or larger than the luminance threshold), determining to calculate the target position by using the parking frame in response to a determination result representing that that the parking frame is available (see at least, [0077] The boundary line recognition unit 141c…recognizes the candidate line Q as the boundary line 201 when determining
that the luminance difference is less than the luminance threshold. The parking target position
setting unit 142 sets the parking target position N on the basis of the boundary line 201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Hayakawa and Tachibaba to include determining a method of calculating a target parking position is performed by determining to calculate the target position by using the parking space in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is unavailable, determining to calculate the target position by using the parking frame in response to a determination result representing that that the parking frame is available as taught by Inui in order to improve the accuracy in detection of a boundary line (Inui, [0008]).
Tachibaba further teaches in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is partially available, determining to calculate the target position by using the parking frame for a lateral direction of the vehicle ([0050] when a distance L1 between the pair of parking section lines 102 (distance between broken lines 202) is equal to or larger than a specified parking width, the target position calculation unit 53 may calculate the target parking position 200 while when the distance between the pair of parking section lines 102 (distance between broken lines 202) is not equal to or larger than the specified parking width) and calculate the target position by using the parking space for a longitudinal direction of the vehicle ([0050] The target position calculation unit 53 sets the target parking position 200 such that the center of the target parking position 200 is located at the medium of the pair of parking section lines 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayakawa to include in response to a determination result representing that the parking frame is partially available, determining to calculate the target position by using the parking frame for a lateral direction of the vehicle and calculate the target position by using the parking space for a longitudinal direction of the vehicle as taught by Tachibaba in order to display the target parking position as parking assist information, display a relative positional relation among the target parking position, the parking section lines, and the obstacle (Tachibaba, [0064]).
Regarding 15, the combination of Hayakawa, Tachibaba and Inui teaches the parking assist method according to claim 13. Tachibaba further teaches wherein the calculating the target parking position is performed when the determination result meets a specific condition ([0050] the target position calculation unit 53 may calculate the target parking position 200 while when the distance between the pair of parking section lines 102…is not equal to or larger than the specified parking width, the target position calculation unit 53 may not calculate the target parking position 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayakawa to include calculating the target parking position is performed when the determination result meets a specific condition as taught by Tachibaba in order to display the target parking position as parking assist information, display a relative positional relation among the target parking position, the parking section lines, and the obstacle (Tachibaba, [0064]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayakawa et al. (US 20180307919 A1; hereafter Hayakawa) in view of Tachibaba et al. (US 20150254981 A1; hereafter Tachibaba) in further view of Inui et al. (US 20250139989 A1; hereafter Inui) and Hayakawa et al. (US 20180308359 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hayakawa, Tachibaba and Inui teaches the parking assist system according to claim 7. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the specific condition is one of a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is available, a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is partially available, and a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is partially available to the determination that the parking frame is available. However, Hayakawa et al. (US 20180308359 A1) teaches these limitations.
Hayakawa et al. (US 20180308359 A1) teaches wherein the specific condition is one of a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is available, a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is partially available (see at least, [0144] In the next period, with regard to the parking space specified as the available parking space Me, the parking frame cannot be specified due to disturbance, and the control device 10 determines that this parking space is in the parking-unavailable state. The disturbance is noise caused by raindrops attached to the cameras, light reflected from a puddle in the parking space, etc.), and a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is partially available to the determination that the parking frame is available (see at least, [0144] Then, the control device 10 specifies the parking frame again for the parking space which was determined to be in the parking-unavailable state. When the parking frame can be successfully specified, the control device 10 determines that the parking-unavailable state is canceled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Hayakawa, Tachibaba and Inui to include the specific condition is one of a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is available, a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is partially available, and a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is partially available to the determination that the parking frame is available as taught by Hayakawa et al. (US 20180308359 A1) in so that parking assist apparatus can automatically moving the subject vehicle to an available parking space (Hayakawa-US 20180308359 A1, [0038]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hayakawa, Tachibaba and Inui teaches the parking assist method according to claim 15. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the specific condition is one of a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is available, a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is partially available, and a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is partially available to the determination that the parking frame is available. However, Hayakawa et al. (US 20180308359 A1) teaches these limitations.
Hayakawa et al. (US 20180308359 A1) teaches wherein the specific condition is one of a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is available, a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is partially available (see at least, [0144] In the next period, with regard to the parking space specified as the available parking space Me, the parking frame cannot be specified due to disturbance, and the control device 10 determines that this parking space is in the parking-unavailable state. The disturbance is noise caused by raindrops attached to the cameras, light reflected from a puddle in the parking space, etc.), and a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is partially available to the determination that the parking frame is available (see at least, [0144] Then, the control device 10 specifies the parking frame again for the parking space which was determined to be in the parking-unavailable state. When the parking frame can be successfully specified, the control device 10 determines that the parking-unavailable state is canceled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Hayakawa, Tachibaba and Inui to include the specific condition is one of a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is available, a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is unavailable to the determination that the parking frame is partially available, and a condition where the determination result shifts from the determination that the parking frame is partially available to the determination that the parking frame is available as taught by Hayakawa et al. (US 20180308359 A1) in so that parking assist apparatus can automatically moving the subject vehicle to an available parking space (Hayakawa-US 20180308359 A1, [0038]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Von Reyher et al. (US 20100259420 A1) discloses a method of calculating a target parking position using the parking frame and the parking space ([0063] The parking assist ECU 1 detects and sets the parking target position as a settable parking space by comparing the depth and the width of the parking space that have been detected with the parking assist system's own vehicle dimensions).
Yamashita et al. (US 20170259850 A1) discloses the hardware processor is configured to execute the calculation of the target parking position when the determination result meets a specific condition ([0080] The subject vehicle 68 completely fitting into the parking frame 76 set to determine the parking target position 78 may be a condition to complete the parking assistance).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Examiner, Art Unit 3662