DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘expandable foam’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, 11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the proximal covering" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the proximal covering" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the tubular support" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "insert" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan et al. (US 2014/0277074A1, “Kaplan”) in view of Oberti et al. (US 2009/0177262A1, “Oberti”).
Regarding claim 1, Kaplan discloses a left appendage closure (LAAC) device capable of occluding the left atrial appendage (LAA). The device includes an implant capable of trans-septal delivery to the LAA and includes an expandable foam (1204; Fig. 2; [0009, 0045]). A covering in the form of a catheter (900;[0013, 0062]) is disposed over the implant and is capable of protecting the implant during trans-septal delivery to the LAA and removal after trans-septal delivery to the LAA. However, Kaplan does not disclose that that the covering is formed of polymer.
In the same field of endeavor, LAA treatment, Oberti teaches a catheter (84; [0111]) that is passed over a guidewire (80) and a pushrod (92; [0112]) that is used to advance an implant (12) out of the catheter to the LAA. The catheter disposed over the implant during delivery and is formed of polymeric material, e.g., silicone, PTFE, ePTFE, plastic polymer [0111]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the material of the catheter of Kaplan of polymeric material, as taught by Oberti, to provide the catheter with a flexible, resiliently yieldable material [0111].
Regarding claims 2, the combination of Kaplan and Oberti discloses a foam implant (2500; [0081]; Kaplan) that includes an implant lumen extending therethrough prior to expansion (Fig. 25A). A tubular support rod (2506) extends through the implant lumen and is operably coupled with at least a portion of the covering (2504). The tubular support rod defines a tubular support rod lumen through which a lead (2502) is capable of extending (Fig. 25A; Kaplan). The tubular support rod lumen is capable of accommodating one or more of a guidewire or a radio frequency (RF) energy wire. It is noted that the guidewire and radio frequency energy wire are not positively recited.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kaplan and Oberti discloses that the implant has a shape that facilitates trans-septal delivery to the LAA (Fig. 2; Kaplan).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kaplan and Oberti discloses that the implant includes expandable foam that expands upon exposure to moisture [0072; Kaplan].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kaplan and Oberti discloses that the polymeric covering and tubular support rod are capable of being independently pulled proximally to expose the implant (Fig. 25A; Kaplan).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kaplan and Oberti discloses one or more anchor features (barbs; 2302) are embedded within the implant for anchoring the LAAC device within the LAA [0056, 0073].
Claim(s) 4, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan et al. (US 2014/0277074A1, “Kaplan”) in view of Oberti et al. (US 2009/0177262A1, “Oberti”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meyer et al. (US 2015/0196305A1, “Meyer”).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 12, the combination of Kaplan and Oberti does not disclose that the implant is expandable foam that expands upon reaching a temperature elevated from ambient temperature.
In the same field of endeavor, devices for LAA treatment, Meyer teaches a temperature activated memory shape foam [abs, 0027, 0034-0045, 0050-0052], wherein the foam is capable of expanding upon reaching a temperature elevated from ambient temperature [0036, 0040, 0041] and is formed of shape memory foam. The foam includes anchoring mechanism (16) in the form of hooks [0044; Fig. 5]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the implant of the combination of Kaplan and Oberti, with a temperature activated shape memory foam, taught by Meyer, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one expandable foam for another for the predictable result of creating a seal to protect against blood clots forming and escaping from left atrial appendage [0045-0046, 0050]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the implant of the combination of Kaplan and Oberti, with anchor features, taught by Meyer, such that any potential for incidence of effusion is reduced or eliminated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-16 are allowed. The prior art does not disclose or suggest a left atrial closure device including a cone-shaped covering disposed over an expandable foam cone-shaped implant, the cone-shaped covering including a distal region having a plurality of perforations adapted to split apart to facilitate removal of the cone-shaped covering, an insert lumen extending through the cone-shaped implant when in its delivery configuration, a tubular support rod operably coupled to at least a portion of the cone-shaped covering, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miles et al. (US 2009/0112249A1) discloses a foam implant (302) disposed within a covering (310; Fig. 16).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771