Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response dated 7/29/26, the Applicant amended Claims 1, 3-6, 10, canceled Claim 2 and argued Claims previously rejected in the Office Action dated 4/29/26.
In light of the Applicant’s amendments and remarks, the rejections under 35 USC 102, 112 and objections to the Specification have been withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation are: “control section configured to control a display device”, “specifying section configured to specify”, “drawing section configured to draw” and “the setting section” in claims 1, 3-10, and “operation section configured to receive an operation” in Claim 8.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber et al., United States Patent Publication 2013/0152010 (hereinafter “Weber”), in view of Yellin et al., United States Patent Publication 2021/0329091 (hereinafter “Yellin”).
Claim 1:
Weber discloses:
A display control device comprising
a control section configured to control a display device so as to cause a screen to be displayed, by a browsing function, in a first page region which is a page region on a foreground (see paragraph [0025]). Weber teaches causing a screen to be displayed in a first region of a browsing session in the foreground,
the control section including:
a setting section configured to set one or more switching screen specification information that specifies one or more switching candidate screens which are each a screen to which it is possible to switch the screen being displayed in the first page region (see paragraph [0025]). Weber teaches defined constraints for tabs that specify which tabs are candidate screens based on the constraints and defining the order of the stack of screens based on the constraint; and
a specifying section configured to specify the switching candidate screen on the basis of the screen specification information (see paragraph [0026]). Weber teaches specifying the switching screen based on the defined specification; and
a drawing section configured to draw the switching candidate screens specified by the specifying section, in one or more second page regions each of which is provided on a background of the first page region (see paragraphs [0025], [0026] and [0029], figure 4C). Weber teaches displaying the screens stacked in a particular order in the background based on the constraint.
Weber fails to expressly disclose extracting acquisition information from the page.
Yellin discloses:
wherein
the screen is provided with an object for operating switching from the screen to the switching candidate screen (see paragraph [0068] and [0069]). Yellin teaches predefined objects on the screen that will be screen switching candidates,
acquisition information for acquiring the switching candidate screens is set in the object (see paragraphs [0069] and [0070]). Yellin teaches acquiring the candidate screen switching content;
the setting section creates, as the screen specification information, search words composed of at least part of words that set the object (see paragraphs [0232] and [0855]). Yellin teaches creating specification information that takes keywords and determine prefetching;
in a case where the screen is to be displayed in the first page region, the specifying section extracts the acquisition information by searching screen data of the screen for the search words and associated the acquisition information with region specification information specifying the second page regions on which the switching candidate screen are to be drawn (see paragraphs [0172] [0232], [0855]). Yellin teaches using the processor to execute the specifying instructions, acquire the keywords and determine whether to pre-fetch the information to switch the screens based on the request; and
the drawing section draws, in the second page regions specified on the basis of the region specification information corresponding to the switching candidate screen, the switching candidate screens acquired on the basis of the acquisition information (see paragraphs [0198] and [0855]). Yellin teaches displaying the second screen based on the prefetched information.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Weber to include extract information from the page, and prefetching data for the purpose of improve the mobile user experience while also taking into account battery life and data plan restrictions for the user, as taught by Yellin.
Claim 3:
Weber discloses:
wherein the drawing section draws, in the second page regions, the switching candidate screens in a descending order of priority (see paragraph [0019]). Weber teaches organizing the screens based on a constraint.
Claim 8:
Weber discloses:
an operation section configured to receive an operation that specifies one of the switching candidate screens (see paragraph [0024]). Weber teaches receiving an operation that specifies the switching screens,
the specifying section creating a list of pieces of acquisition information corresponding to the switching candidate screens (see paragraph [0025]). Weber teaches creating an organized list of candidate screens, and
the control section including a switching section which, in a case where the list includes region specification information corresponding to the one switching candidate screen specified by the operation that is received by the operation section, switches the first page region to one of the second page regions, the one switching candidate screen being drawn in the one second page region (see paragraph [0025]). Weber teaches region specification information corresponding the screen switching and switching a display from a first region to a second region.
Claim 9:
Weber discloses:
a display control device according to claim 8; and a display device configured to be controlled by the display control device (see paragraphs [0024], [0025] and the above rejection of Claims 8). Weber teaches the limitation so Claim 8 and a control device.
Claim 10:
Although Claims 10 is a method claim, it is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the device of Claim 1.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber, in view of Yellin, in view of Kawamoto, United States Patent Publication 2015/0199090.
Claim 4:
Weber discloses:
a memory used in drawing the switching candidate screens in the second page regions (see paragraph [0023]). Weber teaches a memory for storing the screens and content for the screens.
the specifying section creating a list of pieces of the acquisition information corresponding to the switching candidate screens (see paragraph [0029]). Weber teaches creating a list of screen and content corresponding to the screens.
the switching candidate screens in the descending order of priority (see paragraph [0019]). Weber teaches organizing the screens based on a constraint.
Weber and Yellin fail to expressly disclose determining the usage capacity of the memory for the tabs.
Nakashima discloses:
the drawing section drawing the switching candidate screens in the list, comparing a usage capacity of the memory with a predetermined upper limit value every time one of the switching candidate screens is drawn, and stopping drawing when the usage capacity exceeds the upper limit value (see paragraph [0036]). Nakashima teaches comparing a usage capacity of the memory with a predetermined limit value and stopping the displaying of the page when the memory is consumed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Weber and Yellin to include comparing the usage of the window to the usage capacity for the purpose of effectively avoiding excessive occupation of the memory resource by the browser, as taught Nakashima.
Claim 5:
Weber discloses:
a memory used in drawing the switching candidate screens in the second page regions (see paragraph [0023]). Weber teaches a memory for storing the screens and content for the screens.
the specifying section creating a list of pieces of the acquisition information corresponding to the switching candidate screens (see paragraph [0029]). Weber teaches creating a list of screen and content corresponding to the screens.
Weber and Yellin fail to expressly disclose determining the usage capacity of the memory for the tabs.
Nakashima discloses:
the drawing section deleting one or more of the second page regions in which the switching candidate screens are drawn in a case where the usage capacity of the memory exceeds a predetermined upper limit value (see paragraph [0044]). Nakashima teaches delete tab screen display areas when the capacity is exceeded.
whereas in a case where the usage capacity of the memory is not more than the upper limit value, the drawing section does not delete any of the second page regions in which the switching candidate screens are drawn, the one or more of the second page regions being each a second page region in which a switching candidate screen corresponding to the acquisition information that existed in the list created in the past but that does not exist in the list most recently created is drawn (see paragraph [0044]). Nakashima teaches determining if the capacity is exceeded, if not determining if the page exist and if not, opening a new page in a display region.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Weber and Yellin to include comparing the usage of the window to the usage capacity for the purpose of effectively avoiding excessive occupation of the memory resource by the browser, as taught Nakashima.
Claim 6:
Weber discloses:
the specifying section creates a list of pieces of the acquisition information corresponding to the switching candidate screens (see paragraph [0029]). Weber teaches creating a list of screen and content corresponding to the screens.
Weber and Yellin fail to expressly disclose determining the usage capacity of the memory for the tabs.
Nakashima discloses:
also determines whether the list created in the past exists (see paragraphs [0007] and [0044]). Nakashima teaches determining the list created and comparing the new tabs to old tabs on the list.
in a case where it is determined that the list created in the past exists, the drawing section compares the acquisition information in the list most recently
created with the acquisition information in the list created in the past, and deletes one or more of the second page regions, the one or more of the second page regions being each a second page region in which a switching candidate screen specified by the acquisition information that existed in the list created in the past but that does not exist in the list most recently created is drawn (see paragraphs [0007] and [0044]). Nakashima teaches based on the determining the older tabs on list existing, deleting the old tabs and creating new tabs to free up usage capacity.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Weber and Yellin to include comparing the usage of the window to the usage capacity for the purpose of effectively avoiding excessive occupation of the memory resource by the browser, as taught Nakashima.
Claim 7:
Weber and Yellin fail to expressly disclose determining the usage capacity of the memory for the tabs.
Nakashima discloses:
wherein the drawing section does not draw the switching candidate screens in a case where a predetermined condition is satisfied, whereas the drawing section draws the switching candidate screens in a case where the predetermined condition is not satisfied (see paragraph [0036]). Nakashima teaches comparing a usage capacity of the memory with a predetermined limit value and stopping the displaying of the page when the memory is consumed at capacity and displaying the page when the condition is not exceeded.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Weber and Yellin to include comparing the usage of the window to the usage capacity for the purpose of effectively avoiding excessive occupation of the memory resource by the browser, as taught Nakashima.
Pertinent Art
20150193395- Although this art teaches predicting which content to pre-load, this art fails to teach determining based on the predicting based on keywords, terms, buttons, or links. This art teaches predicting based on proximity of the gesture received.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REM, filed, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Weber and Yellin.
Claim Interpretation Under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
Applicant argues it is believed that with the above amendments it is clear that the claims are not to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Moreover, because the specification discloses adequate corresponding structure/algorithm for each function recited in the respective sections, no indefiniteness issue arises from this construction.
The Examiner disagrees.
The claims do not recite any section with hardware require to perform the recited functions. Thus, the claims remain rejected under 35 USC 112f.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
These rejections have been withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101
These rejections have been withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant argues Thus, the stacking of tabs as disclosed in Weber does not disclose or suggest a specifying section and a drawing section as recited in amended claim 1.
The Examiner disagrees.
Weber does teach organizing graphical user interface windows into separate stacks of windows are provided. In one aspect, a method includes providing, for display, a first window in a graphical user interface, and receiving a request to display a second window in the graphical user interface when viewing the first window. The method also includes moving the first window to a first stack in the graphical user interface in response to the request, and displaying the second window in the graphical user interface in a second stack (see abstract). Thus, Weber does define the organization of the windows, specifying the order and which windows are displayed/background.
The Examiner introduced Yellin to teach an article that is considered very likely to be accessed by the user might be prefetched and pre-rendered ahead of time. If the article is being displayed via a web view, the web view function may be called in the background so as to be ready for instant display. Similarly, if a video is considered very likely to be accessed by the user, the video player might be pre-launched in the background with an initial segment of the video (see paragraph [0855]). Yellin teaches preloading content for instant display in the background. Thus, the combination of Weber and Yellin teaches the argued limitation.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant argues Kawamoto does not rectify the above identified deficiencies of Weber with respect to amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 1 and its dependent claims, including claims 4-7, are allowable over the combination of Weber and Kawamoto.
The Examiner agrees. Kawamoto is not used to teach the limitations of Claim 1.
.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 10/16/26
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178