DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
P = paragraph e.g. P[0001] = paragraph[0001]
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “UAS RID”. The claim should clearly describe the words that make up each acronym of “UAS” and “RID”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and parent Claim 3 recites “rebroadcast”, therefore, the Claim 4 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and parent Claim 3 recites “rebroadcast”, therefore, the Claim 5 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and parent Claim 3 recites “rebroadcast”, therefore, the Claim 6 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and parent Claim 3 recites “rebroadcast”, therefore, the Claim 8 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “RID”. The claim should clearly describe the words that makes up the acronym “RID”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and Claim 12 also recites “rebroadcast” as in “rebroadcast by a re-broadcast station” in line 2, therefore, the Claim 12 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “FAA TIS-B”. The first instance of “TIS-B” should include a corresponding description of the words that make up the acronym “TIS-B”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and parent Claim 12 recites “rebroadcast”, therefore, the Claim 13 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “UAS RID”. The claim should clearly describe the words that make up each acronym of “UAS” and “RID”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 1 and 2 each recite “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and Claim 16 recites “rebroadcast” in line 2, therefore, the Claim 16 limitations “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and parent Claim 12 recites “rebroadcast”, therefore, the Claim 17 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and Claim 18 recites “rebroadcast” in line 3, therefore, the Claim 18 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and Claim 19 recites “rebroadcast” in line 3, therefore, the Claim 19 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “broadcasts)”. The “)” is improper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “re-broadcast”. The claims should use consistent language for terms, and Claim 20 recites “rebroadcast” in line 2, therefore, the Claim 20 limitation “re-broadcast” should be “rebroadcast”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites “satellite)”. The “)” is improper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 5, 6, 13, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per Claim 13, the claim recites “wherein the rebroadcast of the UAS RID data display is accomplished”.
It is unclear how a “data display” can be “rebroadcast”, particularly since a display cannot be broadcasted, as it is a display.
Therefore, the claim is unclear.
As per Claim 19, the claim recites “wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts and wherein the UAS RID data received by the ground station is rebroadcast as ADS-B broadcast messages and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcast messages”.
It is unclear if the limitations “the FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts”, “ADS-B broadcast messages” and “FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcast messages” are each entirely separate broadcasted data, or if all or some of these limitations are equivalent.
Therefore, the claim is unclear.
The Examiner notes that the lack of clarity appears at least partly due to the unclear language of referring to FAA “broadcasts”, “broadcast messages” that have no FAA label, and FAA “broadcast messages”, rather than using consistent and clear language in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the UAS RID broadcast" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the FAA Traffic Information Service - Broadcasts (TIS-B)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the rebroadcast of the UAS RID data display" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the FAA Traffic Information Service - Broadcasts (TIS-B)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen (2020/0410874).
Examiner’s Note:
The preamble limitation “for the purpose of situational awareness display and/or alerting as to potential collision conditions” is directed to an intended use that does not further limit the claim and that is then not required of the prior art.
Regarding Claim 15, Jensen teaches the claimed method of receiving a broadcast of UAS RID data in manned or unmanned aircraft for the purpose of situational awareness display and/or alerting as to potential collision conditions, the method including,
providing a receiver system onboard the receiving aircraft capable of receiving the UAS RID broadcast, the receiver system having at least a processor and display interface (“…a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017] and “The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021] and “…the programmer is a smart device such as a smartphone, laptop, tablet, smartwatches, or the like…a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017] and “Portable programming devices may be any variety of portable devices capable of displaying, storing, processing and transmitting data. Some examples without limitation include laptop computers, personal data assistants, miscellaneous computer devices, smartphones, smartwatches and other so called smart devices. Client devices such as portable programming devices 151a and 151b may also function as receivers/displays to receive and display RID data during the mission”, see P[0067] and “…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD). RITS 700 may also utilize ‘local’ network 799a to send Remote ID Data (RIDD) to the portable programming/receiver device 740 when the UAS is airborne and in the local area”, see P[0190], also see P[0216] and P[0227]-P[0228]),
receiving the broadcast UAS RID signals (“…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD)”, see P[0190] and “…a display interface is available to display both manned aircraft ADS-B received data as well as UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) in a single display mode”, see P[0191]),
processing the received UAS RID signal to extract the UAS RID (“The data is read from the Remote ID Message (RIDM) 548 and displayed in accordance with the format selections 550”, see P[0166] and see FIG. 13 and “FIG. 13 illustrates a mapping function which might be displayed in an aircraft cockpit 1391 or a ground monitoring display 1392 such as for UAS control. Illustrated on the display 1300 is a portion of the aircraft or UAS flight plan showing the manned aircraft 1390 in the center of the display 1300”, see P[0214] and “…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD)”, see P[0190] and “…a display interface is available to display both manned aircraft ADS-B received data as well as UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) in a single display mode”, see P[0191]),
communicating the extracted UAS RID data to the display system interface (“The data is read from the Remote ID Message (RIDM) 548 and displayed in accordance with the format selections 550”, see P[0166]) and,
displaying the extracted UAS RID data on the display system (“The programmer device may comprise a non-volatile memory for storing computer instructions or code (aka ‘app code’), a processor system for executing those instructions, a display for displaying personality programming data and entry fields to the operator, input means for receiving input from the operator, and a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017]).
Regarding Claim 16, Jensen teaches the claimed method of claim 15 wherein the UAS RID data is received by a re-broadcast station and is rebroadcast to the receiving aircraft from the re-broadcast station (“The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (2020/0410874) in view of Murphy et al. (2014/0327581).
Regarding Claim 1, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system (CRDS) for manned and unmanned receiving aircraft, the CRDS operative to receive broadcast UAS RID flight data, process the data, and communicate the processed data to the receiving aircraft cockpit display system for displaying the received UAS RID flight data, the receiving aircraft CRDS comprising:
a receiver/processing suite located within the receiving aircraft cockpit for receiving UAS transmitted RID data, the receiver/processing suite having,
a communication module for receiving the broadcast UAS RID flight data, the UAS RID including at least the absolute position (latitude and longitude) of the UAS (“…a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017] and “The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021] and “…the programmer is a smart device such as a smartphone, laptop, tablet, smartwatches, or the like…a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017] and “Portable programming devices may be any variety of portable devices capable of displaying, storing, processing and transmitting data. Some examples without limitation include laptop computers, personal data assistants, miscellaneous computer devices, smartphones, smartwatches and other so called smart devices. Client devices such as portable programming devices 151a and 151b may also function as receivers/displays to receive and display RID data during the mission”, see P[0067] and “…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD). RITS 700 may also utilize ‘local’ network 799a to send Remote ID Data (RIDD) to the portable programming/receiver device 740 when the UAS is airborne and in the local area”, see P[0190], also see P[0216] and P[0227]-P[0228]),
a processor in communication with the communication module, the processor…sampling the received UAS RID flight data from the communication module to obtain the received UAS RID flight data (“…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD)”, see P[0190] and “…a display interface is available to display both manned aircraft ADS-B received data as well as UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) in a single display mode”, see P[0191]), the processor processing the received RID data into a format for display presentation on the receiving aircraft display system (“The data is read from the Remote ID Message (RIDM) 548 and displayed in accordance with the format selections 550”, see P[0166] and see FIG. 13 and “FIG. 13 illustrates a mapping function which might be displayed in an aircraft cockpit 1391 or a ground monitoring display 1392 such as for UAS control. Illustrated on the display 1300 is a portion of the aircraft or UAS flight plan showing the manned aircraft 1390 in the center of the display 1300”, see P[0214] and “…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD)”, see P[0190] and “…a display interface is available to display both manned aircraft ADS-B received data as well as UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) in a single display mode”, see P[0191]),
a display system in communication with the processor to receive the processed UAS RID data and display the data on the display system (“The data is read from the Remote ID Message (RIDM) 548 and displayed in accordance with the format selections 550”, see P[0166]) and,
a non-transitory storage medium for storing computer software instructions executable by the processor, the execution of which causes the CRDS to receive the transmitted UAS RID data, process the received data into a display format, and display the RID data on the receiving aircraft cockpit display (“The programmer device may comprise a non-volatile memory for storing computer instructions or code (aka ‘app code’), a processor system for executing those instructions, a display for displaying personality programming data and entry fields to the operator, input means for receiving input from the operator, and a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017]).
Jensen does not expressly recite the bolded portions of the claimed
a processor in communication with the communication module, the processor periodically sampling the received UAS RID flight data from the communication module to obtain the received UAS RID flight data.
However, a process of “periodically sampling” encompasses simply use of a sampling frequency, where Murphy et al. (2014/0327581) teaches the use of a particular sampling or sample frequency (Murphy et al.; “…sampling rate…”, see P[0025], also see P[0029]-P[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Murphy et al., and to provide a processor in communication with the communication module, the processor periodically sampling the received UAS RID flight data from the communication module to obtain the received UAS RID flight data, as rendered obvious by Murphy et al., in order to provide for “receiving flight tracking information from a target aircraft” (Murphy et al.; see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 1 wherein the UAS RID broadcast is received by the receiving aircraft directly from the UAS (“…the receiver/display having the ability to connect directly with the RITS or to receive Remote ID Data (RIDD) indirectly through a network connection”, see P[0017] and “The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021] and “The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]).
Regarding Claim 3, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 1 wherein the UAS RID data is rebroadcast to the receiving aircraft from a rebroadcast station (“The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]).
Regarding Claim 9, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 1 wherein the display system further comprises a display area and a user interface, the user interface including one or more user selectable controls to control the display presentation of data on the display screen and a control which allows the display of data to be altered between a pictorial mode and a textual mode with one activation action (“…in addition to the textual display, the ability to graph certain items may also be provided using buttons 628p-628t. Selection of that item to ON would result in a graphical display of that data over a period of time”, see P[0168]).
Regarding Claim 10, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 1 wherein the display system and receiver/processor suite further include a wireless communication means such that the receiver/processor suite and the display system may be connected wirelessly and display data transmitted wirelessly from the receiver/processor suite to the display system (“FIG. 3c illustrates a first method of wireless transfer of the personality data to the RITS 300c”, see P[0113]).
Regarding Claim 11, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 1 wherein the receiver/processor suite and display system comprise a smartphone (“…the portable programming device is a laptop, and in another it is a smartphone”, see P[0123]).
Regarding Claim 12, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system (CRDS) for manned and unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) operative to receive UAS RID flight data rebroadcast by a re-broadcast station and communicate the data to a cockpit display for display of the received UAS RID flight data (“The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]), the CRDS comprising:
a receiver/processing suite located within the cockpit for receiving UAS transmitted RID data, the receiver/processing suite having,
a communication module for receiving the relay broadcasts (“…a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017] and “The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021] and “…the programmer is a smart device such as a smartphone, laptop, tablet, smartwatches, or the like…a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017] and “Portable programming devices may be any variety of portable devices capable of displaying, storing, processing and transmitting data. Some examples without limitation include laptop computers, personal data assistants, miscellaneous computer devices, smartphones, smartwatches and other so called smart devices. Client devices such as portable programming devices 151a and 151b may also function as receivers/displays to receive and display RID data during the mission”, see P[0067] and “…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD). RITS 700 may also utilize ‘local’ network 799a to send Remote ID Data (RIDD) to the portable programming/receiver device 740 when the UAS is airborne and in the local area”, see P[0190], also see P[0216] and P[0227]-P[0228]),
a processor in communication with the communication module (“…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD)”, see P[0190] and “…a display interface is available to display both manned aircraft ADS-B received data as well as UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) in a single display mode”, see P[0191]), the processor…sampling the received UAS RID broadcasts and extracting the RID flight data therefrom and processing the extracted RID data into a format for presentation (“The data is read from the Remote ID Message (RIDM) 548 and displayed in accordance with the format selections 550”, see P[0166] and see FIG. 13 and “FIG. 13 illustrates a mapping function which might be displayed in an aircraft cockpit 1391 or a ground monitoring display 1392 such as for UAS control. Illustrated on the display 1300 is a portion of the aircraft or UAS flight plan showing the manned aircraft 1390 in the center of the display 1300”, see P[0214] and “…portable programming device 740 may also function as a receiver/display of the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD)”, see P[0190] and “…a display interface is available to display both manned aircraft ADS-B received data as well as UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) in a single display mode”, see P[0191]),
a display system in communication with the processor to receive the processed UAS RID data and display the data on the display system (“The data is read from the Remote ID Message (RIDM) 548 and displayed in accordance with the format selections 550”, see P[0166]) and,
a non-transitory storage medium for storing computer software instructions executable by the processor, the execution of which causes the CDS to receive the transmitted UAS RID data, process the received data into a display format, and display the RID data on the cockpit display (“The programmer device may comprise a non-volatile memory for storing computer instructions or code (aka ‘app code’), a processor system for executing those instructions, a display for displaying personality programming data and entry fields to the operator, input means for receiving input from the operator, and a communications module to facilitate wireless communication between the programmer and the RITS”, see P[0017]).
Jensen does not expressly recite the bolded portions of the claimed
the processor periodically sampling the received UAS RID broadcasts and extracting the RID flight data therefrom and processing the extracted RID data into a format for presentation.
However, a process of “periodically sampling” encompasses simply use of a sampling frequency, where Murphy et al. (2014/0327581) teaches the use of a particular sampling or sample frequency (Murphy et al.; “…sampling rate…”, see P[0025], also see P[0029]-P[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Murphy et al., and the processor periodically sampling the received UAS RID broadcasts and extracting the RID flight data therefrom and processing the extracted RID data into a format for presentation, as rendered obvious by Murphy et al., in order to provide for “receiving flight tracking information from a target aircraft” (Murphy et al.; see Abstract).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (2020/0410874) in view of Murphy et al. (2014/0327581) further in view of Chambers et al. (9,997,080).
Regarding Claim 4, Jensen does not expressly recite the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 3 wherein the re-broadcast station is an airborne station.
However, Chambers et al. (9,997,080) teaches wherein the re-broadcast station is an airborne station (Chambers et al.; “…the UAVs transmit information about their occupation of a lane to other aircraft”, see col.11, particularly lines 22-54 and “The communications system 203 may also support mesh networking such that a first UAV 102 can receive and rebroadcast a signal sent by a second UAV 102…”, see col.15, particularly lines 46-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Chambers et al., and wherein the re-broadcast station is an airborne station, as rendered obvious by Chambers et al., so that “conflict in lane assignment is avoided” (Chambers et al.; see col.11, particularly lines 22-54).
Claims 5, 6, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (2020/0410874) in view of Murphy et al. (2014/0327581) further in view of Jensen (2020/0334994).
Regarding Claim 5, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 3 wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting…(“The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]) and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving…broadcasts (“The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021]).
Jensen does not expressly recite the bolded portions of the claimed
wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Traffic Information Service - Broadcasts (TIS-B) and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving TIS-B broadcasts.
However, Jensen (2020/0334994), which will also be referred to as Jensen ‘994, teaches a ground station re-broadcasting aircraft data and aircraft receiving the re-broadcasted data, where the “class of data transmitted from the ground station back to the aircraft is referred to a Traffic Information Service-Broadcast (TIS-B)” (Jensen ‘994; see P[0010]-P[0011] and P[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Jensen ‘994, and wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Traffic Information Service - Broadcasts (TIS-B) and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving TIS-B broadcasts, as rendered obvious by Jensen ‘994, in order to provide “both broadcast to and reception from other aircraft and ground stations” (Jensen ‘994; see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, Jensen teaches the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 3 wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the…broadcasts (“The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]) and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving…broadcasts (“The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021]).
Jensen does not expressly recite the bolded portions of the claimed
wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts.
However, Jensen (2020/0334994), which will also be referred to as Jensen ‘994, teaches a ground station re-broadcasting ADS-B aircraft data and aircraft receiving the re-broadcasted data (Jensen ‘994; see P[0010]-P[0011] and P[0052], P[0055], P[0065] and P[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Jensen ‘994, and wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts, as rendered obvious by Jensen ‘994, in order to provide “both broadcast to and reception from other aircraft and ground stations” (Jensen ‘994; see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Jensen teaches the claimed system of claim 12 wherein the re-broadcast station is an FAA TIS-B or ADS-B broadcast station (“The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]) and wherein the rebroadcast of the UAS RID data display is accomplished using the FAA’s Traffic Information Service - Broadcast (TIS-B) or Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) (“The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021]).
Jensen does not expressly recite the bolded portions of the claimed
wherein the re-broadcast station is an FAA TIS-B or ADS-B broadcast station and wherein the rebroadcast of the UAS RID data display is accomplished using the FAA’s Traffic Information Service - Broadcast (TIS-B) or Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B).
However, Jensen (2020/0334994), which will also be referred to as Jensen ‘994, teaches a ground station re-broadcasting aircraft data and aircraft receiving the re-broadcasted data, where the “class of data transmitted from the ground station back to the aircraft is referred to a Traffic Information Service-Broadcast (TIS-B)” (Jensen ‘994; see P[0010]-P[0011] and P[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Jensen ‘994, and wherein the re-broadcast station is an FAA TIS-B or ADS-B broadcast station and wherein the rebroadcast of the UAS RID data display is accomplished using the FAA’s Traffic Information Service - Broadcast (TIS-B) or Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B), as rendered obvious by Jensen ‘994, in order to provide “both broadcast to and reception from other aircraft and ground stations” (Jensen ‘994; see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 14, Jensen teaches the claimed system of claim 13 wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving TIS-B or ADS-B (In) broadcasts (“…a display interface is available to display both manned aircraft ADS-B received data as well as UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) in a single display mode”, see P[0191]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (2020/0410874) in view of Murphy et al. (2014/0327581) further in view of Yamamoto (JPH11120499A).
Regarding Claim 7, Jensen does not expressly recite the claimed cockpit receiver/display system (CRDS) of claim 1 wherein the non-transitory storage medium for storing computer software instructions comprises instructions for the processor which when executed convert the UAS absolute position transmitted in the RID, into a position referenced to the receiving aircraft in which the UAS RID display is occurring and generates collision avoidance alerts upon condition of impending collision between the UAS and the receiving aircraft.
However, Yamamoto (JPH11120499A) teaches convert a second aircraft absolute position transmitted in the RID, into a position referenced to a first aircraft in which a display is occurring and generates collision avoidance alerts upon condition of impending collision between the second aircraft and the first aircraft (Yamamoto; “…the relative position of the other aircraft is converted into the absolute position (position on the map) in the relative / absolute position conversion unit based on the absolute position information of the own aircraft from the GPS receiver and output to the symbol generation unit 3. When the traffic information of the other aircraft converted into the absolute position in this way is generated as the symbol signal of the other aircraft in a symbol generation part 3 and outputted to a display part 1…”, see P[0008] and “…when the aircraft collision prevention device determines that another aircraft having a risk of collision is present around the own aircraft, the control unit (not shown) forcibly switches the display to the GPS navigation / aircraft collision prevention device simultaneous display mode to display the other aircraft”, see P[0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Yamamoto, and wherein the non-transitory storage medium for storing computer software instructions comprises instructions for the processor which when executed convert the UAS absolute position transmitted in the RID, into a position referenced to the receiving aircraft in which the UAS RID display is occurring and generates collision avoidance alerts upon condition of impending collision between the UAS and the receiving aircraft, as rendered obvious by Yamamoto, in order to “avoid the air collision of an aircraft” (Yamamoto; see Overview).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (2020/0410874) in view of Murphy et al. (2014/0327581) further in view of Chambers et al. (9,997,080), further in view of Moreno (3,432,755).
Regarding Claim 8, Jensen does not expressly recite the claimed cockpit receiver/display system of claim 4 wherein the airborne re-broadcast station is a satellite and wherein the receiving aircraft receiver suite is capable of receiving the satellite rebroadcast signal.
However, Moreno (3,432,755) teaches a satellite receiving a signal and rebroadcasting the signal to a radio receiver on an airplane (Moreno; see col.1, particularly lines 63-72 and col.2, particularly lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Moreno, and wherein the airborne re-broadcast station is a satellite and wherein the receiving aircraft receiver suite is capable of receiving the satellite rebroadcast signal, as rendered obvious by Moreno, in order to “rebroadcast” a radio message “to the nearest radio receiver” (Moreno; see col.1, particularly lines 63-72 and col.2, particularly lines 1-3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (2020/0410874) in view of Chambers et al. (9,997,080).
Regarding Claim 17, Jensen does not expressly recite the claimed method of claim 16 wherein the re-broadcast station is an airborne station.
However, Chambers et al. (9,997,080) teaches wherein the re-broadcast station is an airborne station (Chambers et al.; “…the UAVs transmit information about their occupation of a lane to other aircraft”, see col.11, particularly lines 22-54 and “The communications system 203 may also support mesh networking such that a first UAV 102 can receive and rebroadcast a signal sent by a second UAV 102…”, see col.15, particularly lines 46-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Chambers et al., and wherein the re-broadcast station is an airborne station, as rendered obvious by Chambers et al., so that “conflict in lane assignment is avoided” (Chambers et al.; see col.11, particularly lines 22-54).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (2020/0410874) in view of Jensen (2020/0334994).
Regarding Claim 18, Jensen teaches the claimed method of claim 16 wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting…and wherein the UAS RID data received by the ground station is rebroadcast…(“The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]) and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving…broadcast messages (“The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021]).
Jensen does not expressly recite the bolded portions of the claimed
wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Traffic Information Service - Broadcasts (TIS-B) and wherein the UAS RID data received by the ground station is rebroadcast as TIS-B broadcast messages and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving TIS-B broadcast messages.
However, Jensen (2020/0334994), which will also be referred to as Jensen ‘994, teaches a ground station re-broadcasting aircraft data and aircraft receiving the re-broadcasted data, where the “class of data transmitted from the ground station back to the aircraft is referred to a Traffic Information Service-Broadcast (TIS-B)” (Jensen ‘994; see P[0010]-P[0011] and P[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Jensen ‘994, and wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Traffic Information Service - Broadcasts (TIS-B) and wherein the UAS RID data received by the ground station is rebroadcast as TIS-B broadcast messages and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving TIS-B broadcast messages, as rendered obvious by Jensen ‘994, in order to provide “both broadcast to and reception from other aircraft and ground stations” (Jensen ‘994; see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 19, Jensen teaches the claimed method of claim 16 wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the…broadcasts) (“The data needed to populate the UAS Remote ID Data (RIDD) displayed on display 1300 would be acquired using the methods described above. In the situation where the display 1300 is associated with an airborne manned aircraft 1391, the data would likely be acquired using the air-to-air communication methods described above or alternatively from a rebroadcast of the data from a ground relay”, see P[0218]) and wherein the UAS RID data received by the ground station is rebroadcast as…broadcast messages and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving…broadcast messages (“The display systems may have receivers capable of receiving the RITS data either directly via the RF broadcast or through a network such as the internet and accessing the data from the database server or cloud storage service”, see P[0021]).
Jensen does not expressly recite the bolded portions of the claimed
wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts and wherein the UAS RID data received by the ground station is rebroadcast as ADS-B broadcast messages and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcast messages.
However, Jensen (2020/0334994), which will also be referred to as Jensen ‘994, teaches a ground station re-broadcasting ADS-B aircraft data and aircraft receiving the re-broadcasted data (Jensen ‘994; see P[0010]-P[0011] and P[0052], P[0055], P[0065] and P[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Jensen ‘994, and wherein the re-broadcast station is a ground station broadcasting the FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcasts and wherein the UAS RID data received by the ground station is rebroadcast as ADS-B broadcast messages and wherein the receiver processing suite is an existing radio receiver capable of receiving FAA Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) broadcast messages, as rendered obvious by Jensen ‘994, in order to provide “both broadcast to and reception from other aircraft and ground stations” (Jensen ‘994; see Abstract).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (2020/0410874) in view of Chambers et al. (9,997,080) further in view of Moreno (3,432,755).
Regarding Claim 20, Jensen teaches the claimed method of claim 17 wherein the airborne re-broadcast station is a satellite) and wherein the UAS RID data received by the satellite is rebroadcast as satellite broadcast messages and wherein the receiving aircraft receiver suite is capable of receiving the satellite rebroadcast messages.
However, Moreno (3,432,755) teaches a satellite receiving a signal and rebroadcasting the signal to a radio receiver on an airplane (Moreno; see col.1, particularly lines 63-72 and col.2, particularly lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jensen with the teachings of Moreno, and wherein the airborne re-broadcast station is a satellite) and wherein the UAS RID data received by the satellite is rebroadcast as satellite broadcast messages and wherein the receiving aircraft receiver suite is capable of receiving the satellite rebroadcast messages, as rendered obvious by Moreno, in order to “rebroadcast” a radio message “to the nearest radio receiver” (Moreno; see col.1, particularly lines 63-72 and col.2, particularly lines 1-3).
Conclusion
/ISAAC G SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662