DETAILED ACTION
Response to Request for Continued Examination 7/6/26
Claims 1, 6 and 11 have been amended.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
III. CLAIMS 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BERCOVICI et al (US 2022/0030407) in view of MILLER et al (US 2012/0026947).
Per claim 1, BERCOVICI et al teach a method performed by a transmission control server in a communication system supporting a Mission Critical Video (MCVideo) communication service, the method comprising:
wherein the receive media request message includes functional alias information related to a role of a user of the at least one UE (paras 0026, 0028—the UE transmits a request for permission in the OMA-PoC or MCPTT session to the PTT server, the PTT server transmits an acceptance message to the UE and sends the audio and/or video data to one or more other UEs, PTT server receives the call request for a group call associate with and includes group ID with serves as the function ID; paras 0107, 0131—mission critical video; paras 0062, 0065, 0127—unique user IDs of users to be dispatched and their roles to the incident manager); and
transmitting, by the transmission control server to a transmission participant server UE in the video communication group call, a media reception notification message related to reception of the media, wherein the media reception notification message includes the functional alias information related to the role of the user of the at least one UE (paras 0062, 0064-65, 0080, 0098, 0101, 0127, 0129—in response to the request, agency console/incident manager user roles and responsibilities of the UE are dispatched, alarms/alerts issued that includes ID information, agencies may also send unique user IDs of users to be dispatched and their roles to the incident manager).
BERCOVICI et al teach the limitations, as applied above, yet fail to explicitly teach the limitation “receiving, by the transmission control server from at least one user equipment (UE) in a video communication group call, a receive media request message related for reception of media by the at least one UE”. However, MILLER et al teach the configuration server receiving UE bindings with the jurisdictional identifier that has been assigned to each UE that includes a username and a role identifier (paras 0043, 0056, 0086). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to combine the teachings of BERCOVICI et al and MILLER et al for the purpose of associating the username identifier as a functional ID with a role identifier, which is well known in the art for linking and storing user information comprising a user’s alias/username and role.
Claims 6 and 11 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 2, BERCOVICI et al and MILLER et al teach the method of claim 1, MILLER et al further teach the method wherein the functional alias information related to the role of the user comprises a functional alias uniform resource identifier (URI) (para 0086—UE assigned identifiers comprises URI, URL related to the role identifier).
Claims 7 and 12 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 2 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 3, BERCOVICI et al and MILLER et al teach the method of claim 1, BERCOVICI et al further teach wherein the video communication group call comprises an MCVideo communication group call (paras 0028, 0107, 0131—mission critical video, group call; MILLER et al: paras 0065, 0076-77—group communication, multicasting for call types including voice, video, etc.).
Claims 8 and 13 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 3 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 5, BERCOVICI et al and MILLER et al teach the method of claim 1, BERCOVICI et al further teach wherein at least one of the receive media request message or the media reception notification message related to reception of the media comprises a functional alias identification (ID) as an information element identifier (IEI) functional alias field (paras 0028, 0077, 0083, 0095, 0117, 0128—network orchestrator may notify the incident manager with the IDs of the network slices created and the capabilities of each network slice; MILLER et al: paras 0043, 0086—a private user identity and user name as identifier for the UE).
Claims 10 and 15 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 5 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
IV. CLAIMS 4, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BERCOVICI et al (US 2022/0030407) in view of MILLER et al (US 2012/0026947) and BUCKLEY et al (US 2017/0134444).
Per claim 4, BERCOVICI et al and MILLER et al teach the method of claim 1, as applied above, yet fail to explicitly teach the method wherein the functional alias information comprises a functional-alias-uniform resource identifier (URI) based element to MCVideo info extensible markup language (XML) schema to enable sharing of the functional alias information. However, BUCKLEY et al teach that the functional alias identity ID comprises XML schema and URI (paras 0143, 0147, 0226, 0559-564). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to combine the teachings of BERCOVICI et al and MILLER et al with BUCKLEY et al for the purpose of using XML schema to enable sharing of the functional ID and URI, which is a well-known technique used in the art.
Claims 9 and 14 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 4 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Conclusion
V. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2018/0136979.
VI. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTIE D SHINGLES whose telephone number is (571)272-3888. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 10am-7pm.
/KRISTIE D SHINGLES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453