DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5-11 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
II. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
III. CLAIMS 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BERCOVICI et al (US 2022/0030407).
Per claim 1, BERCOVICI et al teach a method performed by a transmission control server in a communication system supporting a Mission Critical Video (MCVideo) communication service, the method comprising:
receiving, by the transmission control server from at least one sender user equipment (UE) in a video communication group call, a receive media request message related to reception of media, wherein the receive media request message includes functional alias information related to a role of a user of the at least one sender UE (paras 0026, 0028—the UE transmits a request for permission in the OMA-PoC or MCPTT session to the PTT server, the PTT server transmits an acceptance message to the UE and sends the audio and/or video data to one or more other UEs, PTT server receives the call request for a group call associate with and includes group ID with serves as the function ID; paras 0107, 0131—mission critical video; paras 0062, 0065, 0127—unique user IDs of users to be dispatched and their roles to the incident manager); and
transmitting, by the transmission control server to a transmission participant server UE in the video communication group call, a media reception notification message related to reception of the media, wherein the media reception notification message includes the functional alias information related to the role of the user of the at least one server UE (paras 0062, 0064-65, 0080, 0098, 0101, 0127, 0129—in response to the request, agency console/incident manager user roles and responsibilities of the UE are dispatched, alarms/alerts issued that includes ID information, agencies may also send unique user IDs of users to be dispatched and their roles to the incident manager).
Claims 6 and 11 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 3, BERCOVICI et al teach the method of claim 1, wherein the video communication group call comprises an MCVideo communication group call (paras 0107, 0131—mission critical video).
Claims 8 and 13 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 3 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 5, BERCOVICI et al teach the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the receive media request message or the media reception notification message related to reception of the media comprises a functional alias identification (ID) as an information element identifier (IEI) functional alias field (paras 0028, 0077, 0083, 0095, 0117, 0128—network orchestrator may notify the incident manager with the IDs of the network slices created and the capabilities of each network slice).
Claims 10 and 15 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 5 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. CLAIMS 2, 4, 7, 9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BERCOVICI et al (US 2022/0030407) in view of BUCKLEY et al (US 2017/0134444).
Per claim 2, BERCOVICI et al teach the method of claim 1, as applied above, yet fail to explicitly teach the method wherein the functional alias information related to the role of the user comprises a functional alias uniform resource identifier (URI). However, BUCKLEY et al teach a message comprising an identifier in message is encoded as URI, URI pointing to called party’s MCPTT ID within the contact list (paras 0143, 0226, 0559-560, 0578). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to combine the teachings of BERCOVICI et al and BUCKLEY et al for the purpose of associating the functional ID with a functional URI, which is well known in the art for accessing the functional ID.
Claims 7 and 12 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 2 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 4, BERCOVICI et al teach the method of claim 1, as applied above, yet fail to explicitly teach the method wherein the functional alias information comprises a functional-alias-uniform resource identifier (URI) based element to MCVideo info extensible markup language (XML) schema to enable sharing of the functional alias information. However, BUCKLEY et al teach that the functional alias identity ID comprises XML schema and URI (paras 0143, 0147, 0226, 0559-564). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to combine the teachings of BERCOVICI et al and BUCKLEY et al for the purpose of using XML schema to enable sharing of the functional ID and URI, which is a well-known technique used in the art.
Claims 9 and 14 contain limitations substantially equivalent to claim 4 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Conclusion
VI. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2019/0273773, US 2023/0319567, US 2019/0044980, US 2019/0037518.
VII. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VIII. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTIE D SHINGLES whose telephone number is (571)272-3888. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 10am-7pm.
/KRISTIE D SHINGLES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453