Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 7014233 B2) in view of Steinmeister (DE 202004013157 U1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses suction pad grips comprising: a holding member (11; see Fig. 1), a first suction cup module (20; see Fig. 1), a driving member (30; see Fig. 1) and a driven member (see Fig. 4 for the driving member pushing down on driven member); a first seat (12; see Fig. 1) integrally formed on the first end of the holding member; the first seat has a first platform provided with a first passage (120; see Fig. 2); the holding member has a first receiving chamber formed between the grip and the first seat (see Fig. 2); the first receiving chamber is hollow and has a sidewall provided with a positioning hole (14; see Fig. 2); the first suction cup module includes a first suction cup member having a flexible feature (20; see Fig. 4-5 for the flexibility), a first pull rod (21; see Fig. 2) protruding upward from the first suction cup member and having an upper end provided with a first perforation (see Fig. 2; two bosses extend through the perforation), a first shaft (210; see Fig. 2) extending through the first perforation of the first pull rod, and a first spring member (22; see Fig. 2) mounted on the first pull rod and biased between the first suction cup member and the first platform of the first seat (see Fig. 2); the first pull rod extends through the first passage of the first platform from a bottom of the first seat and partially extending into the first receiving chamber of the first seat (see Fig. 2); the driving member (30; see Fig. 3) partially extends into the first receiving chamber of the first seat (see Fig. 3); the driving member has a first end having a bottom formed with an abutting edge (32; see Fig. 3); the driving member is provided with a limit groove (33; see Fig. 2) arranged above the abutting edge; the driving member is provided with a limit hole (34; see Fig. 2); a control knob (41; see Fig. 2) is movable into and received in the limit hole of the driving member (see Fig. 2); a spring (42; see Col. 3, lines 1-5) is mounted on the control knob; the driving member has a second end provided with a pull handle (see Fig. 1; the end of the operation lever).
Chen fails to disclose a second suction cup module; the holding member includes a grip having a first end extending downward and a second end extending downward; and a second seat integrally formed on the second end of the holding member; the second seat has a second platform provided with a second passage; the holding member has a second receiving chamber formed between the grip and the second seat; the second receiving chamber is hollow; the second suction cup module includes a second suction cup member having a flexible feature, a second pull rod protruding upward from the second suction cup member and having an upper end provided with a second perforation, a second shaft extending through the second perforation of the second pull rod, and a second spring member mounted on the second pull rod and biased between the second suction cup member and the second platform of the second seat; the second pull rod extends through the second passage of the second platform from a bottom of the second seat and partially extending into the second receiving chamber of the second seat; the driven member partially extends into the second receiving chamber of the second seat; the driven member has a first end having a bottom formed with an abutting edge; the driven member is provided with a limit groove arranged above the abutting edge; and the driven member has a second end provided with a driven portion.
However, Steinmeister teaches a suction pad grip comprising a second suction cup module (see Fig. 1); the holding member includes a grip having a first end extending downward and a second end extending downward (see Fig. 1); and a second seat integrally formed on the second end of the holding member (see Fig. 1); the second seat has a second platform provided with a second passage (see Fig. 1); the holding member has a second receiving chamber formed between the grip and the second seat (see Fig. 1); the second receiving chamber is hollow (see Fig. 1); the second suction cup module includes a second suction cup member having a flexible feature (see Fig. 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a suction pad grip comprising a second suction cup module; the holding member includes a grip having a first end extending downward and a second end extending downward; and a second seat integrally formed on the second end of the holding member; the second seat has a second platform provided with a second passage; the holding member has a second receiving chamber formed between the grip and the second seat; the second receiving chamber is hollow; the second suction cup module includes a second suction cup member having a flexible feature, on the suction pad of Chen, as taught by Steinmeister, in order to enlarge the carrying capacity (see Page 2, Para. 6).
Further, the combination of Chen, in view of Steinmeister, does not expressly disclose a second pull rod protruding upward from the second suction cup member and having an upper end provided with a second perforation, a second shaft extending through the second perforation of the second pull rod, and a second spring member mounted on the second pull rod and biased between the second suction cup member and the second platform of the second seat; the second pull rod extends through the second passage of the second platform from a bottom of the second seat and partially extending into the second receiving chamber of the second seat; the driven member partially extends into the second receiving chamber of the second seat; the driven member has a first end having a bottom formed with an abutting edge; the driven member is provided with a limit groove arranged above the abutting edge; and the driven member has a second end provided with a driven portion.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second suction cup assembly with all the claimed features. Such modification would constitute merely a duplication of parts to provide an additional suction cup having the same known function. The duplication of the suction cup assembly would have been within the ordinary skill in the art and would not have required more than routine skill and experimentation. See MPEP § 2114.04.VI.
Regarding claim 2, Chen, in view of Steinmeister, discloses the double suction cup assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first passage has an inner diameter having a polygonal shape (see Col. 2, lines 40-45), the first pull rod has an outer diameter having a polygonal shape matching that of the first passage (see Col. 2, lines 40-45 and Fig. 2).
Chen, as modified by Steinmeister, fails to expressly disclose the second passage has an inner diameter having a polygonal shape, and the second pull rod has an outer diameter having a polygonal shape matching that of the second passage.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second suction cup assembly with all the claimed features. Such modification would constitute merely a duplication of parts to provide an additional suction cup having the same known function. The duplication of the suction cup assembly would have been within the ordinary skill in the art and would not have required more than routine skill and experimentation. See MPEP § 2114.04.VI.
Regarding claim 3, Chen, in view of Steinmeister, discloses the double suction cup assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the abutting edge (32; see Fig. 2) of the driving member (30; see Fig. 2) presses the first platform (see Fig. 3-4 for first platform getting pressed).
Chen, as modified by Steinmeister, fails to expressly disclose the abutting edge of the driven member presses the second platform.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second suction cup assembly with all the claimed features. Such modification would constitute merely a duplication of parts to provide an additional suction cup having the same known function. The duplication of the suction cup assembly would have been within the ordinary skill in the art and would not have required more than routine skill and experimentation. See MPEP § 2114.04.VI.
Regarding claim 4, Chen, in view of Steinmeister, discloses the double suction cup assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the limit groove (33; see Fig. 2) of the driving member is a blind slot that is tapered from an open top toward a closed bottom (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Chen, in view of Steinmeister, discloses the double suction cup assembly as claimed in claim 1.
Chen, as modified by Steinmeister, fails to expressly disclose wherein the limit groove of the driven member is a blind slot that is tapered from an open top toward a closed bottom.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the driven member with the same blind slot configuration disclosed for the driving member. Because the driving member and driven member perform corresponding functions in the suction cup assembly, providing the driven member with the same limit groove configuration would provide the same structural support and guidance for the driven member. Such modification would constitute merely a duplication of parts and would not change the basic operation or function of the suction cup assembly. The duplication would therefore have been within the ordinary skill in the art and would not have required more than routine skill. See MPEP § 2114.04.VI.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 7014233 B2) in view of Steinmeister (DE 202004013157 U1), further in view of Liu (TW I600840 B).
Regarding claim 6, Chen, in view of Steinmeister, discloses the double suction cup assembly as claimed in claim 1.
Chen, as modified by Steinmeister, fails to disclose wherein the driven portion of the driven member presses a top of the pull handle of the driving member.
However, Liu teaches a press suction cup structure wherein the driven portion of the driven member presses a top of the pull handle of the driving member (see annotated Fig. below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the driven portion of the driven member presses a top of the pull handle of the driving member, on the double suction cup assembly of Chen, as modified by Steinmeister, as taught by Liu, in order to achieve stable absorption and desorption (see Abstract).
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654