DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 11-14, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Firth (US 20240014579 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Firth discloses a connector assembly, comprising:
an electrical conductor 106 defining a threaded attachment feature 124; and
an electrical terminal 154 having a base 150 defining a corresponding threaded attachment feature 156 configured to engage and disengage the threaded attachment feature 124 of the electrical conductor 106, the corresponding threaded attachment feature 156 configured to directly attach the terminal 154 to the electrical conductor 106, the terminal 154 defining a torque feature 151 configured to cooperate with a tool to facilitate rotation of the terminal 154 (see para. [0035]), the torque feature 151 being accessible by the tool from a user accessible face of the connector assembly when installed.
The recitation that “the connector assembly is a charging connector assembly configured for use in an electrical energy transfer system” has not been given significant patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
In regard to claim 2, Firth discloses the electrical conductor 106 is a stranded wire cable having compacted strands at an end of a stranded wire cable.
In regard to claim 7, Frith discloses the torque feature 151 is located near the base 150 of the terminal 154, wherein the torque feature 151 comprises a prismatic shape (see para. [0023]), and wherein a distance between opposed outer surfaces of the torque feature 151 is greater than a distance between opposed outer surfaces of the terminal 154.
In regard to claim 11, Firth discloses the terminal 154 has a cylindrical pin shape and wherein the terminal 154 has a tip opposite the base 150 that is integral with the terminal 154 and is tapered.
In regard to claim 12, the recitation that “the terminal is configured to conduct at least 200 amperes of electrical current” has not been given a significant patentable weight since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
In regard to claim 13, Firth discloses a replaceable electrical terminal 154, comprising:
a threaded attachment feature 156 configured to be directly connected to an electrical conductor 106 by a corresponding threaded attachment feature 124 of the electrical conductor 106; and
a torque feature 151 configured to cooperate with a tool to facilitate rotation (see para. [0035]) of the terminal 154, the torque feature 151 being accessible by the tool from a user accessible face of the connector assembly when installed.
The recitation that “the replaceable electrical terminal is a replaceable electrical terminal configured for use in a charging connector assembly of an electrical energy transfer system” as not been given significant patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
In regard to claim 14, Firth discloses the threaded attachment feature 156 of the terminal 154 comprises a threaded bore.
In regard to claim 16, Frith discloses the torque feature 151 is located near the base 150 of the terminal 154, wherein the torque feature 151 comprises a prismatic shape (see para. [0023]), and wherein a distance between opposed outer surfaces of the torque feature 151 is greater than a distance between opposed outer surfaces of the terminal 154.
In regard to claim 20, Firth discloses the terminal 154 has a cylindrical pin shape and wherein the terminal 154 has a tip opposite the threaded attachment feature 156 of the terminal 154 that is integral with the terminal 154 and is tapered.
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, 14, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carver (US 7766703 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Carver discloses a connector assembly, comprising:
an electrical conductor 51 defining a threaded attachment feature 74; and
an electrical terminal 65 having a base 66 defining a corresponding threaded attachment feature 68 configured to engage and disengage the threaded attachment feature 74 of the electrical conductor 51, the corresponding threaded attachment feature 68 configured to directly attach the terminal 65 to the electrical conductor 51, the terminal 65 defining a torque feature 63 configured to cooperate with a tool to facilitate rotation of the terminal 65, the torque feature 63 being accessible by the tool from a user accessible face of the connector assembly when installed.
The recitation that “the connector assembly is a charging connector assembly configured for use in an electrical energy transfer system” has not been given significant patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
In regard to claim 2, Carver discloses the electrical conductor 51 is a rigid busbar having a generally rectangular cross-section.
In regard to claim 3, Carver discloses the threaded attachment feature 74 of the busbar 51 comprises a threaded stud 68 configured to provide rational resistance relative to the busbar and wherein the corresponding threaded attachment feature 68 of the terminal 65 comprises a threaded bore.
In regard to claim 4, Carver discloses a portion of the threaded stud is in an interference fit within a bore defined in the busbar 51 (see fig. 1 and 3).
In regard to claim 13, Carver discloses a replaceable electrical terminal 65, comprising:
a threaded attachment feature 68 configured to be directly connected to an electrical conductor 51 by a corresponding threaded attachment feature 74 of the electrical conductor 51; and
a torque feature 63 configured to cooperate with a tool to facilitate rotation of the terminal 68, the torque feature 63 being accessible by the tool from a user accessible face of the connector assembly when installed.
The recitation that “the replaceable electrical terminal is a replaceable electrical terminal configured for use in a charging connector assembly of an electrical energy transfer system” as not been given significant patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
In regard to claim 14, Carver discloses the threaded attachment feature 68 of the terminal 65 comprises a threaded bore.
In regard to claim 16, Carver discloses the torque feature 63 is located near the threaded attachment feature 68 of the terminal 65, wherein the torque feature 63 comprises a prismatic shape, and wherein a distance between opposed outer surfaces of the torque feature 63 is greater than a distance between opposed outer surfaces 69 of the terminal 65.
In regard to claim 17, Carver discloses the prismatic shape is a hexagonal prism.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 10, 13, 15, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 4407806 A1.
In regard to claim 1, EP 4407806 A1 discloses a connector assembly 1, comprising:
an electrical conductor 2 defining a threaded attachment feature 10; and
an electrical terminal 4 having a base 8b defining a corresponding threaded attachment feature 17 configured to engage and disengage the threaded attachment feature 10 of the electrical conductor 2, the corresponding threaded attachment feature 17 configured to directly attach the terminal 4 to the electrical conductor 2, the terminal 4 defining a torque feature 16 configured to cooperate with a tool to facilitate rotation of the terminal 4, the torque feature 16 being accessible by the tool from a user accessible face of the connector assembly when installed.
The recitation that “the connector assembly is a charging connector assembly configured for use in an electrical energy transfer system” has not been given significant patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
In regard to claim 2, EP 4407806 A1 discloses the electrical conductor 2 is a rigid busbar having a generally rectangular cross-section.
In regard to claim 5, EP 4407806 A1 discloses the threaded attachment feature 10 of the busbar 2 comprises a threaded bore and wherein the corresponding threaded attachment feature 17 of the terminal 4 comprises a threaded stud.
In regard to claim 6, EP 4407806 A1 discloses the threaded stud is integrally formed with the terminal 4.
In regard to claim 9, EP 4407806 A1 discloses the terminal 4 has a cylindrical pin shape, wherein the torque feature 16 comprises a socket located in a tip of the pin terminal 4 arranged opposite the base 8b, and wherein a distance between opposed inner surfaces of the torque feature 16 is less than a diameter of the terminal 4 (at 8b).
In regard to claim 10, EP 4407806 A1 discloses a shape of the socket is a hexagonal socket.
In regard to claim 13, EP 4407806 A1 discloses a replaceable electrical terminal 4, comprising:
a threaded attachment feature 17 configured to be directly connected to an electrical conductor 2 by a corresponding threaded attachment feature 10 of the electrical conductor 2; and
a torque feature 16 configured to cooperate with a tool to facilitate rotation of the terminal 4, the torque feature 16 being accessible by the tool from a user accessible face of the connector assembly when installed.
The recitation that “the replaceable electrical terminal is a replaceable electrical terminal configured for use in a charging connector assembly of an electrical energy transfer system” as not been given significant patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
In regard to claim 15, EP 4407806 A1 discloses the threaded attachment feature 17 of the terminal 4 comprises a threaded stud.
In regard to claim 18, EP 4407806 A1 discloses the terminal 4 has a cylindrical pin shape, wherein the torque feature 16 is a socket located in a tip of the terminal 4 opposite the threaded attachment feature 17 of the terminal 4 and wherein a distance between opposed inner surfaces of the torque feature 16 is less than a distance between opposed outer surfaces (at 8b) of the terminal 4.
In regard to claim 19, EP 4407806 A1 discloses a shape of the socket 16 is a hexagonal socket.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firth.
In regard to claims 8, 17, Firth does not disclose the prismatic shape is a hexagonal prism.
It would have been obvious to modify Firth’s invention by having the torque feature with different type of configurations since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the torque feature are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing gripping surface which may facilitate application of torque. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
7/20/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834