DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (US 2024/0261537, hereinafter “Williams”).
Regarding claim 1, Williams discloses a sequential dilator assembly for a vessel; the sequential dilator assembly comprising:
a first dilator segment (120) at least partially nested in a second dilator segment (115) that is at least partially nested within a third dilator segment (110), wherein the first dilator segment (120) is configured to be axially moved distally relative to the second dilator segment (115) when the second dilator segment (115) is nested within the third dilator segment (110) (para [0014] – “the inner tube, 115 and innermost member 120 can co-axially slide relative to one another and relative to the outer sheath 110”), and where the first dilator segment (120) is configured to be releasably locked with the second dilator (115) segment into both a first compact locked configuration (Fig 3) and a first extended locked configuration (Fig 4) (locked positions controlled by control system 505 – para [0020-0025]; para [0023] – “the stages may also include locking mechanisms to ensure they do not move unintentionally”); and
where the second dilator segment (115) is configured to be axially moved distally relative to the third dilator segment (110) independent of whether the first dilator segment (120) and the second dilator segment (115) are in either the first compact locked configuration or the first extended locked configuration (Figs 2-4; locked positions controlled by control system 505, wherein each dilator segment is configured to be controlled independently of the other – para [0020-0025]), and where the second dilator segment (115) is configured to be releasably locked with the third dilator segment (110) into both a second compact locked configuration (Fig 2) and a second extended locked configuration (Fig 3 or 4).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lobo et al. (US 2021/0386454, hereinafter “Lobo”).
Regarding claim 1, Lobo discloses a sequential dilator assembly for a vessel (A dilator is well known to be a tube-shaped device inserted in a tissue opening to expand the opening. First, second and third tubular members – 260, 240, and 220 - are fully capable of sequentially being extended to dilate a vessel and thus is interpreted as a sequential dilator assembly.); the sequential dilator assembly comprising:
a first dilator segment (260) at least partially nested in a second dilator segment (240) that is at least partially nested within a third dilator segment (220), wherein the first dilator segment (260) is configured to be axially moved distally relative to the second dilator segment (240) when the second dilator segment (240) is nested within the third dilator segment (220) (para [0045]), and where the first dilator segment (260) is configured to be releasably locked with the second dilator segment (240) into both a first compact locked configuration (Figs 7-9, 11 – second protrusion 248 of second segment 240 locked within distal circular groove 269 of first segment 260; para [0047, 0050]) and a first extended locked configuration (Figs 15, 17 – second protrusion 248 of second segment 240 locked within proximal circular groove 267 of first segment 260; para [0052]); and
where the second dilator segment (240) is configured to be axially moved distally relative to the third dilator segment (220) independent of whether the first dilator segment (260) and the second dilator segment (240) are in either the first compact locked configuration or the first extended locked configuration (para [0045]), and where the second dilator segment (240) is configured to be releasably locked with the third dilator segment (220) into both a second compact locked configuration (Figs 9-11 – first protrusion 224 of first segment 220 received in distal groove 249 of second segment 240; para [0050]) and a second extended locked configuration (Figs 15-16 – first protrusion 224 of first segment 220 received in proximal groove 247 of second segment 240; para [0051-0052]).
Regarding claim 2, further comprising: at least a first circumferential groove (269) on an outer surface of the first dilator segment (260); and a protrusion (248) on an inner surface of the second dilator segment (240), wherein when the protrusion engages the first circumferential groove, the first dilator segment and the second dilator segment are in the first compact locked configuration (Figs 7-9, 11 – second protrusion 248 of second segment 240 locked within distal circular groove 269 of first segment 260; para [0047, 0050]).
Regarding claim 3, further comprising a plurality of grooves (distal circular groove 269 and proximal circular groove 267) radially spaced apart on the outer surface of the first dilator segment (260), wherein the protrusion is configured to engage with any of the plurality of grooves (para [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, further comprising a second circumferential groove (249) on an outer surface of the second dilator segment (240) and a protrusion (224) on an inner surface of the third dilator segment (220), wherein when the protrusion of the third dilator segment engages the second circumferential groove of the second dilator segment, the second dilator segment and the third dilator segment are in the second compact locked configuration (Figs 9-11 – first protrusion 224 of first segment 220 received in distal groove 249 of second segment 240; para [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lobo et al. (US 2021/0386454, hereinafter “Lobo”) in view of Mauch (US 2018/0126121, hereinafter “Mauch”). Lobo discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as shown above, but fails to disclose the claimed alignment markers. Mauch discloses a similar dilator assembly or assembly of nested tubular members, wherein a first dilator segment (tubular member 22) is at least partially nested in a second dilator segment (tubular member 18) that is at least partially nested within a third dilator segment (tubular member 20) (telescoping arrangement - Figs 6-7; para [0018-0019; 0032]). Mauch teaches the first dilator segment (22) comprises a first alignment marker (66) and the second dilator segment (18) comprises a second alignment marker (66), wherein the first alignment marker and the second alignment marker are used as indicators to indicate positional coupling and alignment of the tubular segments, or dilator segments (22, 18) respectively when extended and selectively coupled or locked (para [0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lobo to include alignment markers, as taught by Mauch, to indicate a positional coupling and alignment of the tubular or dilator segments. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Lobo and Mauch to position the alignment markers such that they were longitudinally aligned when the first dilator segment was axially moveable relative to the second dilator segment or such that the alignment markers were longitudinally misaligned when the first dilator segment was axially locked relative to the second dilator segment or such that the alignment markers were longitudinally misaligned when the first dilator segment was rotatable relative to the second dilator segment, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lobo et al. (US 2021/0386454, hereinafter “Lobo”), as applied to claim 2 above, in view of LaPierre et al. (US 2021/0228198, hereinafter “LaPierre”). Lobo discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as shown above, including a sequential dilator assembly for a vessel (A dilator is well known to be a tube-shaped device inserted in a tissue opening to expand the opening. First, second and third tubular members – 260, 240, and 220 - are fully capable of sequentially being extended to dilate a vessel and thus is interpreted as a sequential dilator assembly.); the sequential dilator assembly comprising:
a first dilator segment (260) at least partially nested in a second dilator segment (240) that is at least partially nested within a third dilator segment (220), wherein the first dilator segment (260) is configured to be axially moved distally relative to the second dilator segment (240) when the second dilator segment (240) is nested within the third dilator segment (220) (para [0045]), and where the first dilator segment (260) is configured to be releasably locked with the second dilator segment (240) into both a first compact locked configuration (Figs 7-9, 11 – second protrusion 248 of second segment 240 locked within distal circular groove 269 of first segment 260; para [0047, 0050]) and a first extended locked configuration (Figs 15, 17 – second protrusion 248 of second segment 240 locked within proximal circular groove 267 of first segment 260; para [0052]); and
where the second dilator segment (240) is configured to be axially moved distally relative to the third dilator segment (220) independent of whether the first dilator segment (260) and the second dilator segment (240) are in either the first compact locked configuration or the first extended locked configuration (para [0045]), and where the second dilator segment (240) is configured to be releasably locked with the third dilator segment (220) into both a second compact locked configuration (Figs 9-11 – first protrusion 224 of first segment 220 received in distal groove 249 of second segment 240; para [0050]) and a second extended locked configuration (Figs 15-16 – first protrusion 224 of first segment 220 received in proximal groove 247 of second segment 240; para [0051-0052]).
However, Lobo fails to disclose the first dilator segment (260) comprises a longitudinal groove on an outer surface of the first dilator segment, where the protrusion (224) of the second dilator segment (240) is configured to slide along the longitudinal groove when transitioning the first dilator segment between the first compact locked configuration (Figs 7-9, 11 – second protrusion 248 of second segment 240 locked within distal circular groove 269 of first segment 260; para [0047, 0050]) and the first extended locked configuration (Figs 15, 17 – second protrusion 248 of second segment 240 locked within proximal circular groove 267 of first segment 260; para [0052]).
LaPierre discloses a similar device having inner (140) and outer (200) tubes mate with
each other along their length (Figs 1-2), wherein the outer tube comprises a plurality of grooves 230a-k) radially spaced apart on the outer surface of the outer tube and joined by longitudinal channel (220) extending along the length of the outer tube and wherein the inner tube comprises at least one protrusion (160) that engages with any of the plurality of grooves to lock along different lengths of the outer tube (para [0028-0029]). Thus, the outer tube may be locked to the inner tube in a compact locked configuration (for example protrusion 160 engaged to grooves 230a or 230b) or in an extended locked configuration (for example protrusion 160 engaged to grooves 230j or 230k, see Fig 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lobo such that the connection between the first and second dilator segments comprised a plurality of grooves joined by a longitudinal channel on one dilator segment such that the protrusion on the other dilator segment can selectively engage a distal groove or a proximal groove to move between a compact locked configuration and an extended locked configuration, as taught by LaPierre, and provide more precise control.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gephart (US 2008/0051821) teaches a sequential dilator with a plurality of operably connected, coaxial sleeves
Smith (US 4,862,891) teaches a generic sequential dilator comprising at least three
dilator segments
Bar et al. (US 2016/0206347) teaches a sequential dilator with a screw type mechanism
between at least three dilator segments
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE M RODJOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771