Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to Applicant' s communication filed 5/27/2026 in response to the Office action dated 2/27/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US 20150012717 A1) in view of He et al. (US 20170046102 A1), hereinafter He, and further in view of Taylor et al. (US 9558232 B1), hereinafter Taylor, and Teh et al. (US 20220100423 A1), hereinafter Teh.
Regarding claim 1, Murphy teaches a method for offloading memory access workloads from a host system in a distributed memory architecture (Paragraphs 13-14; Fig. 1, processors 102-1 to 102-P [host system] send requests to main memory devices 104-1 to 104-M), the method comprising:
at a processor on a memory controller (Paragraph 25; Fig. 3, memory operations are performed by vault controller 328 which is a hardware logic unit [processor] that functions analogously to a memory controller):
receiving a data mover call, the data mover call comprising a request to copy values, a request to gather values, a request to scatter values, or a request to set values (Paragraph 18; Fig. 2, in response to a request [call] from processor 202, performing a data gather operation),
the data mover call specifying one or more source (Paragraphs 18, 23; Fig. 2, the request [call] specifies data in a data structure which may be in multiple, scattered [source] locations within memory portion 214) and
one or more destination memory locations (Paragraph 18; Fig. 2, gathered data being stored in cache line 216 containing multiple entries [destination locations]);
determining that all the data mover tasks for the data mover call have completed (Paragraph 23; Fig. 2, completing the data modifications [tasks] in response to a request [call] from processor 202);
and sending a response to the data mover call to the host (Paragraph 23; Fig. 2, sending the modified data [response] to processor 202 [host]).
Murphy does not explicitly teach creating a set of data mover tasks based upon the data mover call, the data mover tasks created based upon a specified mapping between data mover calls and data mover tasks, each data mover task including a read phase and a write phase; allocating each data mover task of the set to one of a plurality of memory interface slices, each memory interface slice communicating with one or more memory devices over a memory fabric; executing each data mover task in the set by executing each phase of each particular task of the set of data mover tasks by issuing memory access commands corresponding to the phase of the particular one of the set of data mover tasks, wherein each memory interface slice breaks down allocated data mover tasks into fabric protocol operations; concurrently executing a plurality of the fabric protocol operations of the set of data mover tasks on the plurality of memory interface slices, the plurality of fabric protocol operations targeting memory locations specified in the data mover call; and performing write combining by passing, via a write data exporting buffer of a first memory interface slice, a partial write from a first data mover task to a second memory interface slice, wherein the second memory interface slice merges the partial write with a write from a second data mover task to reduce a number of fabric protocol operations.
However, He teaches allocating each data mover task of the set to one of a plurality of memory interface slices, each memory interface slice communicating with one or more memory devices over a memory fabric (Paragraphs 38, 40-41; Figs. 1 and 2, NAND Flash interface driver 200 directs [data mover] commands/tasks to a plurality of job processors 201 [interface slices], wherein the plurality of job processors 201 communicates with a plurality of NAND flash memory units 101 via multiplexing circuitry 202 [memory fabric],
wherein each memory interface slice breaks down allocated data mover tasks into fabric protocol operations (Paragraph 83, NAND flash interface breaks down a task into a sequence of interface signals [fabric protocol operations]); and
concurrently executing a plurality of the fabric protocol operations of the set of data mover tasks on the plurality of memory interface slices, the plurality of the fabric protocol operations targeting memory locations specified in the data mover call (Paragraphs 40-41, 66, 83; Fig. 2, job processors 201 [memory interface slices] work in parallel [concurrently execute] on jobs (consisting of tasks which consist of interface signals [fabric protocol operations]) that target addresses [memory locations]).
Murphy and He are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, that being data movement management. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Murphy to further include the breaking down of tasks into fabric protocol operations according to the teachings of He. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase compatibility with different NAND flash structures (He, Paragraph 87).
Murphy in view of He does not explicitly teach creating a set of data mover tasks based upon the data mover call, the data mover tasks created based upon a specified mapping between data mover calls and data mover tasks, each data mover task including a read phase and a write phase; executing each data mover task in the set by executing each phase of each particular task of the set of data mover tasks by issuing memory access commands corresponding to the phase of the particular one of the set of data mover tasks; and performing write combining by passing, via a write data exporting buffer of a first memory interface slice, a partial write from a first data mover task to a second memory interface slice, wherein the second memory interface slice merges the partial write with a write from a second data mover task to reduce a number of fabric protocol operations.
However, Taylor teaches creating a set of data mover tasks based upon the data mover call (Col. 16, lines 3-6, partitioning a bulk copy operation [call] into multiple, smaller copy requests [set of tasks]),
the data mover tasks created based upon a specified mapping between data mover calls and data mover tasks (Col. 16, lines 28-43; Fig. 6, creating a specific number of corresponding requests [tasks] that target [map to] the same locations as the original bulk copy operation [call]),
each data mover task including a read phase and a write phase (Col. 1, lines 45-58, a copy operation/request includes a read command and a write command);
executing each data mover task in the set by executing each phase of each particular task of the set of data mover tasks by issuing memory access commands corresponding to the phase of the particular one of the set of data mover tasks (Col. 1, lines 45-58, Col. 16, lines 3-6, each of the requests [tasks] within the bulk copy operation copies a portion of data, which entails a read command and a write command [phases]).
Murphy, He, and Taylor are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, that being data movement management. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Murphy in view of He to further include the partitioning of large operations into requests according to the teachings of Taylor. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase operational throughput by allowing the execution of smaller data requests in parallel according to the capabilities of the system (Taylor, Col. 19, lines 44-60).
Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor does not explicitly teach performing write combining by passing, via a write data exporting buffer of a first memory interface slice, a partial write from a first data mover task to a second memory interface slice, wherein the second memory interface slice merges the partial write with a write from a second data mover task to reduce a number of fabric protocol operations.
However, Teh teaches performing write combining by passing, via a write data exporting buffer of a first memory interface slice, a partial write from a first data mover task to a second memory interface slice, wherein the second memory interface slice merges the partial write with a write from a second data mover task to reduce a number of fabric protocol operations (Paragraph 64; Fig. 1, sending [first] write command data from an AXI interface 1 stored in write data & strobe FIFO buffer 27 to be merged with existing [second] write command data in read-write command buffer 6, which is subsequently sent to a [second] DFI interface 11).
Murphy, He, Taylor, and Teh are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, that being data movement management. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor to further include the write combining according to the teachings of Teh. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the number of commands issued to memory and thus reserve command bandwidth for other commands (Teh, Paragraph 78).
Regarding claim 2, Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data mover call comprises a first memory location, a stride amount, an element size, and a number of elements (Murphy, Paragraphs 28, 31; Fig. 4, a strided request [call] includes a base address [first memory location], a stride [amount], an indication of the size of elements, and an indication of a number of elements), and
wherein the set of data mover tasks access a plurality of memory locations indicated by the number of elements and starting with the first memory location and incrementing by the stride amount (Murphy, Paragraphs 28-29, 31; Fig. 4, strided requests comprise storing elements at locations starting at a base address [first memory location] and adding [incrementing] a stride to the base address).
Regarding claim 3, Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data mover call comprises a location of a list of addresses (Murphy, Paragraphs 28-29; Fig. 4, address based request 440 [call] includes a list of addresses 454-1 to 454-N) and
wherein one of the set of data mover tasks comprises fetching the list of addresses (Murphy, Paragraph 28; Fig. 4, as part of a request, traversing the data structure 440 to obtain [fetch] the list of addresses).
Regarding claim 4, Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data mover call comprises a first location and a second location storing a list of offsets (Murphy, Paragraphs 28, 30; Fig. 4, offset based request 444 [call] includes a base address 458 [first location] and a list of offset indices 460-1 to 460-N [at a second location]) and
wherein one of the set of data mover tasks comprises fetching the list of offsets (Murphy, Paragraph 28; Fig. 4, as part of a request, traversing the data structure 444 to obtain [fetch] the list of offset indices).
Regarding claim 5, Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data mover tasks comprise a task to read from one contiguous memory location and write data into one to many contiguous memory locations (Taylor, Col. 1, lines 45-58, Col. 16, lines 28-43; Fig. 6, requests [tasks] include copying [reading] data from contiguous source area 510 [and writing] to contiguous target locations T1, T2, T3, and T4),
a task to read from one to many memory locations and write data into one contiguous memory location (Murphy, Paragraph 18; Fig. 2, gathering [reading] data from scattered locations in memory portion 214 [and writing] into contiguous cache line 216),
and a task to write into one to many memory locations (Murphy, Paragraphs 18, 21; Fig. 2, storing [writing] the data back into the scattered locations within memory portion 214).
Regarding claim 6, Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the memory interface slices are commanded to start the memory commands at a same time (He, Paragraph 40; Fig. 2, job processors 201 [memory interface slices] handles commands in parallel [same time]).
Regarding claim 7, Murphy in view of He, further in view of Teh teaches the method of claim 1 and the memory controller executing data mover calls from a host (Murphy, Paragraphs 25-26; Fig. 3, vaults 324 (including vault [memory] controllers 328) receive I/O requests [calls] from requesting device 302).
Murphy in view of He, further in view of Teh does not explicitly teach further comprising: concurrently executing, by the memory controller, a second data mover call from the host at a same time as executing the first data mover call.
However, Taylor teaches further comprising: concurrently executing, by the memory controller, a second data mover call from the host at a same time as executing the first data mover call (Col. 17, lines 34-36, requests are issued [executed] in parallel [concurrently]).
Murphy, He, Teh, and Taylor are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, that being data movement management. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Murphy in view of He, further in view of Teh to further include the parallel execution according to the teachings of Taylor. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase operational throughput by executing requests in parallel.
Regarding claim 8, this is a memory controller device version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 1, respectively), in which Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh also teaches a memory controller device (Murphy, Paragraph 25; Fig. 3, vault controller 328 is a hardware logic unit which functions analogously to a memory controller).
The remaining claim limitations have been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 9, this is a memory controller device version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 2, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 10, this is a memory controller device version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 3, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 11, this is a memory controller device version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 4, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 12, this is a memory controller device version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 5, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 13, Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh teaches the memory controller device of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise classifying the data mover call into a selected category of one of a plurality of predetermined categories (Taylor, Col. 5, lines 21-28, classifying operations [calls] into read or write operations);
and wherein creating the set of data mover tasks based upon the data mover call comprises utilizing the selected category to determine a launch rate, a slice interleaving policy, or an allocation policy (Taylor, Col. 5, lines 21-28, Col. 9, lines 49-59; Fig. 2, a WUT (write) command characterizes [determines] a data movement operation including a source and target area [allocation policy] resulting in one or more data requests [tasks]).
Regarding claim 14, Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh teaches the memory controller device of claim 8, wherein a data mover task includes a fetch phase (Murphy, Paragraph 28; Fig. 4, as part of a request, traversing a data structure 440/444 to obtain [fetch] information within the request).
Regarding claim 15, this is a non-transitory machine-readable medium version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 1, respectively), in which Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh also teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions (Murphy, Paragraph 34, a non-transitory computing device readable medium storing executable instructions).
The remaining claim limitations have been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 16, this is a non-transitory machine-readable medium version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 2, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 17, this is a non-transitory machine-readable medium version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 3, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 18, this is a non-transitory machine-readable medium version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 4, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 19, this is a non-transitory machine-readable medium version of the claimed method discussed above (claim 5, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Regarding claim 20, this is a non-transitory machine-readable medium version of the claimed memory controller device discussed above (claim 13, respectively), wherein all claim limitations have also been addressed and/or covered in the cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, this claim is also obvious over Murphy in view of He, further in view of Taylor and Teh.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (see pages 8-10 of the remarks) filed 5/27/2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, the Applicant argues that Murphy, He, Taylor, and specifically Teh fails to teach the limitation: “performing write combining by passing, via a data write exporting buffer of a first memory interface slice, a partial write from a first data mover task to a second memory interface slice, wherein the second memory interface slice merges the partial write with a write from a second data mover task to reduce a number of the fabric protocol operations”.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that Teh does not disclose a second memory interface slice that receives a partial write from a first memory interface slice (summarized as “peer/inter-slice data passing of any kind”), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Teh teaches transferring write data from a write buffer connected to an interface (Teh, Paragraph 64; Fig. 1, passing write data from AXI interface 1 to strobe FIFO buffer 27) to be received with additional write data in a second buffer connected to a second interface (Teh, Paragraph 64; Fig. 1, merging the write data with an existing write command into read-write command buffer 6 before sending the merged write data to DFI interface 11). Since the “data write exporting buffer” of the invention was construed to be part of the “first interface slice” (taught by Teh as the strobe FIFO buffer 27 of AXI interface 1), there is nothing precluding the read-write command buffer of Teh to be construed as part of the second DFI interface. Thus, the Examiner responds that the passing of (partial) write data between buffers of interfaces teaches the “passing, via a write data exporting buffer of a first memory interface slice, a partial write … to a second memory interface slice” limitation.
In response to the Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the combining of partial writes being inter-slice and inter-task, triggered at task boundaries between concurrently executing slices, and enabled by a per-slice export structure) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Finally, in response to the Applicant’s argument that the write combining of Teh is performed for a different reason under a different architecture, the Examiner notes that the limitations of claim 1 merely requires the write combining to “reduce a number of the fabric protocol operations” and to be performed between a buffer of a first interface slice and a second interface slice. It follows that Teh teaches merging write commands from a buffer of a first interface and passing only a singular write command to a second interface (Teh, Paragraph 64; Fig. 1, after merging write commands from strobe FIFO buffer 27 of AXI interface 1, the merged write command (singular) is sent to DFI interface 11). Consequently, the total number of commands/operations is reduced (Teh, Paragraph 78, write merging reduces the number of read/write commands sent to the DRAM). Thus, the Examiner maintains that the processes and structure of Teh fulfills the requirements set out by the limitations of claim 1.
Accordingly, the Examiner argues that the previously cited areas of the Teh reference teach the contested limitations and further notes any other arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 are consummate in scope with the argument above. Thus, the Examiner maintains the rejections set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2137
/Arpan P. Savla/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2137