DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inside" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, therefore, the metes and bounds of the limitation are not readily understood.
Claims 2-6 and 8-15 fail to cure the deficiencies.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Damme (WO 2017/005746 A1) in view of Zafir et al. (US 10974892 B1; hereinafter Zafir).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, and 12-15, Van Damme discloses a food packaging container (2) an inner bag (B) comprising a sealable container; a closure cap (3) for the container; and a fillable tubular bag, wherein the tubular bag is connected flat to the inside of the container (Page 10 lines 6-29) and a bottom of the container is concave on the inside (20; Page 8 lines 31-35; see Fig. 4a-b). Examiner notes that the bottom 20 is elevated relative to a lowest point of sidewalls 20a; therefore, Examiner considers the bottom to be concave. Van Damme discloses the claimed invention except for gluing the inner bag to the inside of the container.
Zafir teaches an intermediate bulk container cartridge comprising an inner bag adhered to an inside surface of an outer container (Col 2 lines 1-25). Examiner considers the bag to be “glued flat” to the outer container in the portion of the bag where the adhesion takes place. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Van Damme’s bag-in-box container by adhering the inner bag to an inner surface of the outer container in order to ensure that said inner bag does not shift or move within said outer container, as taught by Zafir.
Regarding claim 4, Van Damme, as modified above, discloses a container wherein the closure cap is placed on the container (Van Damme; see Figs 1, 2, and 7).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Van Damme, as modified above, discloses a container wherein the closure cap is made of a recyclable plastic (Van Damme; Page 9 lines 30-35; Examiner considers anything capable of being re-used to be recyclable).
Regarding claims 9-11, Van Damme, as modified above, discloses a container further comprising a dosing aid (Van Damme; Page 6 lines 20-25).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Damme in view of Zafir, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Damme (BR 112017026320 B1; hereinafter Van Damme ‘320).
Regarding claim 3, Van Damme, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the container being made of cardboard. Van Damme ‘320 teaches a food packaging with an inner bag wherein an outer container of the packaging is made of cardboard (see Par. 035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Van Damme’s container to be made of cardboard, as a known material substitution in the art of food packaging comprising an inner bag inside of an outer container, as taught by Van Damme ‘320.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art, Van Damme, fails to disclose a concave interior bottom as claimed.
-Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Van Damme’s bottom (20; Page 8 lines 31-35; see Fig. 4a-b) is elevated relative to a lowest point of sidewalls (20a); therefore, Examiner considers the bottom to be concave. Examiner invites Applicant to provide Drawings to depict how the presently claimed concave bottom differs from that of a standard concave bottom found in the art, as exhibited by Van Damme. No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Applicant contends that the prior art also fails to teach that the tubular bag is glued to the inside of the container, as claimed, since the prior art teaching relied upon glues an internal bag to a reinforcing board.
-Examiner considers the reinforcing board of the prior art to be a part of the inside of the container. Examiner notes that the claim recites that “the tubular bag is glued flat to the inside of the container”. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, an internal reinforcing board of a container is not precluded from being considered part of “the inside of the container”.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734