DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Damme (WO 2017/005746 A1) in view of Zafir et al. (US 10974892 B1; hereinafter Zafir).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8, and 12-15, Van Damme discloses a food packaging container (2) an inner bag (B) comprising a sealable container; a closure cap (3) for the container; and a fillable tubular bag, wherein the tubular bag is connected flat to the inside of the container (Page 10 lines 6-29) and a bottom of the container is concave on the inside (Page 8 lines 31-35). Van Damme discloses the claimed invention except for gluing the inner bag to the inside of the container.
Zafir teaches an intermediate bulk container cartridge comprising an inner bag adhered to an inside surface of an outer container (Col 2 lines 1-25). Examiner considers the bag to be “glued flat” to the outer container in the portion of the bag where the adhesion takes place. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Van Damme’s bag-in-box container by adhering the inner bag to an inner surface of the outer container in order to ensure that said inner bag does not shift or move within said outer container, as taught by Zafir.
Regarding claim 4, Van Damme, as modified above, discloses a container wherein the closure cap is placed on the container (Van Damme; see Figs 1, 2, and 7).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Van Damme, as modified above, discloses a container wherein the closure cap is made of a recyclable plastic (Van Damme; Page 9 lines 30-35; Examiner considers anything capable of being re-used to be recyclable).
Regarding claims 9-11, Van Damme, as modified above, discloses a container further comprising a dosing aid (Van Damme; Page 6 lines 20-25).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Damme in view of Zafir, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Damme (BR 112017026320 B1; hereinafter Van Damme ‘320).
Regarding claim 3, Van Damme, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the container being made of cardboard. Van Damme ‘320 teaches a food packaging with an inner bag wherein an outer container of the packaging is made of cardboard (see Par. 035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Van Damme’s container to be made of cardboard, as a known material substitution in the art of food packaging comprising an inner bag inside of an outer container, as taught by Van Damme ‘320.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach a tubular bag that is “glued flat” to the inside of an outer container.
-Examiner notes that Van Damme in view of Zafir indeed teaches a bag that is glued to an interior of an outer container (Zafir; Col 2 lines 1-25). Examiner considers the portions of the bag that are adhered to be “glued flat” in the locations of said adhesion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734