DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai (US 2009/0214797) as evidenced by, or, in the alternative, in view of Sekiguchi et al (US 2013/0010040).
With regards to claim 1, Kasai teaches an inkjet ink composition that is radiation curable (abstract) that contains a pigment (abstract), a dispersant (0007), and additives (0458). Kasai teaches the dispersant to be a compound formed from the reaction of an amine and hydroxystearic acid (0008) and the composition to include pyridine (0255).
Kasai does not teach the addition of a gelling agent.
Sekiguchi teaches that hydroxystearic acid acts as a gelling agent (0111 table 1) and Kasai teaches the presence of this compound in the composition. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims reads that the gelling agent and the hydroxy fatty acid can be the same compound. Therefore, because Kasai teaches the inclusion of the hydroxystearic acid, it teaches the use of a gelling agent.
Sekiguchi teaches an inkjet ink (abstract) that contains a pigment (0061) and a gelling agent (0033) and teaches the motivation for adding the gelling agent to be because it employs a phase transition of the ink before the ink excessively permeates the substrate (0033). Kasai and Sekiguchi are analogous in the art of inkjet ink compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the gelling agent of Sekiguchi.
With regards to claim 2, Kasai teaches the polymer to be copolymer of (meth)acrylic acids and a pyridine (0171).
With regards to claim 3, Kasai is silent on the amine value of the hydroxystearic acid. However both Kasai and the art use 12-hydroxystearic acid, and therefore, this compound is read to have the claimed amine value.
With regards to claims 4 and 5, Kasai is silent on the amounts of the pyridine compound and the hydroxystearic acid. However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the amounts of these two compounds in order to achieve the desired gelability and amounts of dispersant created in the reaction (hydroxystearic acid) and the viscosity of the composition (pyridine compound).
With regards to claim 6, Kasai teaches the addition of black or magenta pigments (0049)
With regards to claim 7, Kasai teaches the process of producing the ink to include mixing the components including the pigment and dispersant (0769) with the remaining components (0771).
With regards to claim 8, Kasai teaches the ink to be printed at a temperature of 25 to 80°C (0514) and the substrate to be room temperature (reading on 25°C) (0514).
With regards to claim 9, Kasai teaches the composition to be applied to a substrate (0053).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference teaches the claimed compound of claim 1 but does not include the exact dispersant or gelling agent: Nakamura et al (US 2009/0169765); and the following reference teaches the dispersant as claimed with motivation for using it: Fujimatsu et al (JP 2002294121).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763