DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/14/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavelle et al (US 2005/0020320 A1) in view of Kihm (US 2014/0321662 A1) and further in Lozano (US 2013/0182798 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lavelle et al disclose an audio device (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2 audio device 152) comprising: an acoustic transducer electrically connected to circuitry of the audio device (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2 left and right speaker 282; 284 connected to circuitry 127); and a sensor electrically connected to the circuitry of the audio device (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2; sensor 252), wherein the sensor is configured to receive a user input (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2; Para [0054]); in response to receiving the user input at the sensor of the audio device, receive a wireless audio data stream of a plurality of wireless audio data streams (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2; Para [0054]), wherein the acoustic transducer renders a sound based on the wireless audio data stream (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2; Para [0054]); but do not expressly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive a plurality of wireless audio data streams; and in response to each receipt of the user input, cycle through receiving each of the plurality of wireless audio data streams in a determined order. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kihm disclose a device comprising in response to each receipt of the user input, cycle through receiving each of the plurality of wireless audio data streams in a determined order (Kihm; Para [0067][0089]; toggle through the audio streams interpreted as cycling through the audio streams in a predefined order). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Kihm et al as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve comfort and ergonomics of the audio device (Kihm; Para [0012]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Lozano discloses a device wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive a plurality of wireless audio data streams (Lozano; Fig 1B; Para [0321]); in response to receiving the user input at the sensor of the audio device, receive a wireless audio data stream of a plurality of wireless audio data streams (Lozano; Para [0012] [0321]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Lozano et al as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to enable a user to easily and intuitively switch between the existing streams (Lozano; Para [0083]).
Regarding claim 14, Lavelle et al disclose a method of selecting a wireless audio data stream using an audio device (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2), the method comprising: receiving a user input at a sensor of the audio device (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2; Para [0054]); in response to receiving the user input, receiving a wireless audio data stream of a plurality of wireless audio data streams (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2; Para [0054]); in response to receiving the wireless audio data stream (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2; Para [0054]), rendering, via an acoustic transducer, a sound based on the wireless audio data stream (Lavelle et al ; Fig 2; Para [0054]); and but do not expressly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive a plurality of wireless audio data streams in response to each receipt of the user input, cycling through receiving each of the plurality of wireless audio data streams in a determined order. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kihm disclose a method comprising in response to each receipt of the user input, cycle through receiving each of the plurality of wireless audio data streams in a determined order (Kihm; Para [0067][0089]; toggle through the audio streams interpreted as cycling through the audio streams in a predefined order). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Kihm et al as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve comfort and ergonomics of the audio device (Kihm; Para [0012]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Lozano discloses a method wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive a plurality of wireless audio data streams (Lozano; Fig 1B; Para [0321]); in response to receiving the user input at the sensor of the audio device, receive a wireless audio data stream of a plurality of wireless audio data streams (Lozano; Para [0012] [0321]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Lozano et al as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to enable a user to easily and intuitively switch between the existing streams (Lozano; Para [0083]).
Claim(s) 2, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavelle et al (US 2005/0020320 A1) in view of Kihm (US 2014/0321662 A1) and further in Lozano (US 2013/0182798 A1) and further in view of Koriyama (US 2016/0128121 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the audio device of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the determined order is based at least in part on a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) associated with each of the plurality of wireless audio data streams. However, in the same field of endeavor, Koriyama discloses a device wherein the determined order is based at least in part on a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) associated with each of the plurality of wireless audio data streams (Koriyama; Para [0073][0007][0034][0032]) It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Koriyama as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to accurately determine the nearest electronic device in establishing a pairing with an electronic device to be a target for remote control (Koriyama; Para [0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the method of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein the determined order is based at least in part on a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) associated with each of the plurality of wireless audio data streams. However, in the same field of endeavor, Koriyama discloses a method wherein the determined order is based at least in part on a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) associated with each of the plurality of wireless audio data streams (Koriyama; Para [0073][0007][0034][0032]) It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Koriyama as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to accurately determine the nearest electronic device in establishing a pairing with an electronic device to be a target for remote control (Koriyama; Para [0006]).
Claim(s) 3-5, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavelle et al (US 2005/0020320 A1) in view of Kihm (US 2014/0321662 A1) and further in Lozano (US 2013/0182798 A1) and further in view of Reily et al (US 2020/0264835 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the audio device of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the determined order is selected based at least in part on prior user behavior. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reily discloses a device wherein the determined order is selected based at least in part on prior user behavior (Reily et al; Para [0024][0065][0055][0056]; list of audio sources based on prior behavior). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Reily as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a better audio experience and a better overall user experience (Reilly; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Reily disclose the audio device of claim 3, but do not expressly disclose wherein the prior user behavior corresponds to logged user data corresponding to a specific location, a specific environment, or a specific activity. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reily discloses a device wherein the prior user behavior corresponds to logged user data corresponding to a specific location, a specific environment, or a specific activity (Reily et al; Para [0024][0063]-[0065][0055][0056]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Reily as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a better audio experience and a better overall user experience (Reilly; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Reily disclose the audio device of claim 3, but do not expressly disclose wherein the prior user behavior corresponds to logged user behavior corresponding to past connections, total connection time to one of the plurality of wireless audio data streams, proximity each of a plurality of source devices corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams, and/or sensor data obtained from the sensor. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reily discloses a device wherein the prior user behavior corresponds to logged user behavior corresponding to past connections, total connection time to one of the plurality of wireless audio data streams, proximity each of a plurality of source devices corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams, and/or sensor data obtained from the sensor (Reily et al; Para [0024][0063]-[0068]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Reily as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a better audio experience and a better overall user experience (Reilly; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the method of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein the determined order is selected based at least in part on prior user behavior. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reily discloses a method wherein the determined order is selected based at least in part on prior user behavior (Reily et al; Para [0024][0065][0055][0056] list of audio sources based on prior behavior). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Reily as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a better audio experience and a better overall user experience (Reilly; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Reily disclose the method of claim 16, but do not expressly disclose wherein the prior user behavior corresponds to logged user data corresponding to a specific location, a specific environment, or a specific activity. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reily discloses a method wherein the prior user behavior corresponds to logged user data corresponding to a specific location, a specific environment, or a specific activity (Reily et al; Para [0024][0063]-[0065][0055][0056) It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Reily as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a better audio experience and a better overall user experience (Reily; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Reily disclose the method of claim 16, but do not expressly disclose wherein the prior user behavior corresponds to logged user behavior corresponding to past connections, total connection time to one of the plurality of wireless audio data streams, proximity each of a plurality of source devices corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams, and/or sensor data obtained from the sensor. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reily discloses a method wherein the prior user behavior corresponds to logged user behavior corresponding to past connections, total connection time to one of the plurality of wireless audio data streams, proximity each of a plurality of source devices corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams, and/or sensor data obtained from the sensor (Reily et al; Para [0024][0063]-[0068]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Reily as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a better audio experience and a better overall user experience (Reilly; Para [0005]).
Claim(s) 6, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavelle et al (US 2005/0020320 A1) in view of Kihm (US 2014/0321662 A1) and further in Lozano (US 2013/0182798 A1) and further in view of Davis et al (US 2020/0252731 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the audio device of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the determined order is based on a favorites list corresponding to a specific environment. However, in the same field of endeavor, Davis et al disclose a device wherein the determined order is based on a favorites list corresponding to a specific environment (Davis et al; Para [0103]-[0105]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Davis as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the user's experience.
Regarding claim 19, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the method of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein the determined order is based on a favorites list corresponding to a specific environment. However, in the same field of endeavor, Davis et al disclose a method wherein the determined order is based on a favorites list corresponding to a specific environment (Davis et al; Para [0103]-[0105]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Davis as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the user's experience.
Claim(s) 7-8, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavelle et al (US 2005/0020320 A1) in view of Kihm (US 2014/0321662 A1) and further in Lozano (US 2013/0182798 A1) and further in view of Hulvey et al (US 2019/0107995 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the audio device of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the determined order is produced based on advertising packets corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hulvey et al disclose a device wherein the determined order is produced based on advertising packets corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Hulvey as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to discover device identity and a full connection to discover device capability (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Hulvey disclose the audio device of claim 7, but do not expressly disclose wherein the advertising packets include an address indicative of a device type or a device class of each of a plurality of source devices corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams, and wherein the determined order is produced based on the device type or the device class of each of the plurality of source devices. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hulvey et al disclose a device wherein the advertising packets include an address indicative of a device type or a device class of each of a plurality of source devices corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]), and wherein the determined order is produced based on the device type or the device class of each of the plurality of source devices (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Hulvey as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to discover device identity and a full connection to discover device capability (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]).
Regarding claim 20, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the method of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein the determined order is produced based on advertising packets corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hulvey et al disclose a method wherein the determined order is produced based on advertising packets corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Hulvey as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to discover device identity and a full connection to discover device capability (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]).
Regarding claim 21, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Hulvey disclose the method of claim 20, but do not expressly disclose wherein the advertising packets include an address indicative of a device type or a device class of each of a plurality of source devices corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams, and wherein the determined order is produced based on the device type or the device class of each of the plurality of source devices. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hulvey et al disclose a method wherein the advertising packets include an address indicative of a device type or a device class of each of a plurality of source devices corresponding to the plurality of wireless audio data streams (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]), and wherein the determined order is produced based on the device type or the device class of each of the plurality of source devices (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Hulvey as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to discover device identity and a full connection to discover device capability (Hulvey et al; Para [0023]).
Claim(s) 9-11, 13, 22-24, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavelle et al (US 2005/0020320 A1) in view of Kihm (US 2014/0321662 A1) and further in Lozano (US 2013/0182798 A1) and further in view of Mathur (WO 2016/172457 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the audio device of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the sound comprises audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mathur disclose a device wherein the sound comprises audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream (Mathur; Para [0019]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Mathur as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the overall experience of the user (Mathur; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Mathur disclose the audio device of claim 9, but do not expressly disclose wherein, in response to receiving the user input, the circuitry is further configured to generate a second sound indicating which of the plurality of wireless audio data streams is active. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mathur disclose a device wherein, in response to receiving the user input, the circuitry is further configured to generate a second sound indicating which of the plurality of wireless audio data streams is active (Mathur; Para [0021][0042]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Mathur as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the overall experience of the user (Mathur; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Mathur disclose the audio device of claim 10, but do not expressly disclose wherein the acoustic transducer renders the second sound prior to rendering the sound comprising the audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mathur disclose a device wherein the acoustic transducer renders the second sound prior to rendering the sound comprising the audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream (Mathur; Para [0032][0019]; sound alert alerting of new sound source interpreted as second sound received before the new sound source). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Mathur as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the overall experience of the user (Mathur; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the audio device of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the sound indicates which of the plurality of wireless audio data streams is active. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mathur disclose a device wherein the sound indicates which of the plurality of wireless audio data streams is active (Mathur; Para [0019]; sound notification of active audio stream). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Mathur as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the overall experience of the user (Mathur; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 22, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the method of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein the sound comprises audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mathur disclose a method wherein the sound comprises audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream (Mathur; Para [0019]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Mathur as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the overall experience of the user (Mathur; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 23, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Mathur disclose the method of claim 22, but do not expressly disclose further comprising, in response to receiving the user input, generating a second sound indicating which of the plurality of wireless audio data streams is active. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mathur disclose a method further comprising, in response to receiving the user input, generating a second sound indicating which of the plurality of wireless audio data streams is active (Mathur; Para [0021][0042]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Mathur as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the overall experience of the user (Mathur; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 24, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Mathur disclose the method of claim 23, but do not expressly disclose wherein the acoustic transducer renders the second sound prior to rendering the sound comprising the audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mathur disclose a method wherein the acoustic transducer renders the second sound prior to rendering the sound comprising the audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream (Mathur; Para [0032][0019]; sound alert alerting of new sound source interpreted as second sound received before the new sound source). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Mathur as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the overall experience of the user (Mathur; Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 26, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano disclose the method of claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein the sound indicates which of the plurality of wireless audio data streams is active. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mathur disclose a method wherein the sound indicates which of the plurality of wireless audio data streams is active (Mathur; Para [0019]; sound notification of active audio stream). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Mathur as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the overall experience of the user (Mathur; Para [0003]).
Claim(s) 12, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavelle et al (US 2005/0020320 A1) in view of Kihm (US 2014/0321662 A1) and further in Lozano (US 2013/0182798 A1) and further in view of Mathur (WO 2016/172457 A1) and further in view of Lambourne et al (US 2020/0076939 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Mathur disclose the audio device of claim 10, but do not expressly disclose wherein the acoustic transducer renders the second sound simultaneously to the sound comprising the audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lambourne disclose a device wherein the acoustic transducer renders the second sound simultaneously to the sound comprising the audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream (Lambourne; Para [0115]-[0118]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Lambourne as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an improved user experience (Lambourne; Para [0030]).
Regarding claim 25, Lavelle et al in view of Kihm and further in view of Lozano and further in view of Mathur disclose the method of claim 23, but not expressly disclose wherein the acoustic transducer renders the second sound simultaneously to the sound comprising the audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream. However, in the same field of endeavor, Lambourne disclose a method wherein the acoustic transducer renders the second sound simultaneously to the sound comprising the audio content contained within the wireless audio data stream (Lambourne; Para [0115]-[0118]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio stream selection taught by Lambourne as audio stream selection for the audio system taught by Lavelle. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an improved user experience (Lambourne; Para [0030]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Denis et al (US 2021/0334065 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692