DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12052254. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims of patent application contain every element of claims above instant application or vice versa, and as such they anticipate or anticipated by Instant Application. As to Claims 1, 11, of the Pat. *254 anticipates the claims of the instant application. By way of illustration, consider the respective claim 1 from each disclosure:
Claim 1 of the instant application
Claim 1 of the ‘254 Patent
1. A computer-implemented method executed by data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a user of a user account, a request for escalated privileges of the user account to perform a task requiring the escalated privileges, the escalated privileges greater than specified privileges assigned to the user account, wherein the task is not permitted for user accounts assigned the specified privileges; determining that the task requires the escalated privileges; based on determining that the task requires the escalated privileges, temporarily granting the escalated privileges to the user account for a specified duration, the escalated privileges temporarily granted to the user account comprising a restriction normally permitted for user accounts comprising the escalated privileges; and based on expiration of the specified duration, restoring the specified privileges to the user account.
1. A computer-implemented method when executed on data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a user of a user account, a request to temporarily escalate privileges of the user account to permit access to a plurality of resources in a distributed computing environment, the request comprising a duration specified by the user for the privileges to be escalated, the temporarily escalated privileges greater than current privileges assigned to the user account; granting the temporarily escalated privileges to the user account, the temporarily escalated privileges comprising a restriction prohibiting the user account from performing an activity using one of the plurality of resources, the activity normally permitted for user accounts comprising the temporarily escalated privileges; during the specified duration while the temporarily escalated privileges are granted to the user account, detecting a user generated particular event from the user account; determining that the user generated particular event detected from the user account comprises an attempt by the user account to perform the activity prohibited by the restriction of the temporarily escalated privileges using the one of the plurality of resources; and in response to detecting the attempt by the user account to perform the activity prohibited by the restriction, sending an alert to a registered administrator of the plurality of resources.
Independent claims 1, 11 of the instant application are substantially similar to independent claims 1, 11, of the Pat. *254 and are rejected for substantially similar reasons as discussed supra. Likewise, dependent claims 2-10, 12-20 of the instant application are substantially similar to dependent claims 2-10, 12-20 (respectively) of the Pat. *254 and are rejected for substantially similar reasons as discussed supra.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites receiving, from a user of a user account, a request for escalated privileges of the user account to perform a task requiring the escalated privileges…determining that the task requires the escalated privileges…based on determining…temporarily granting the escalated privileges…based on expiration of the specified duration, restoring the specified privileges….The limitations above, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “executed by data processing hardware” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishth et al (Pub. No. US 2006/0143447) in view of Ezra et al (Pub. No. US 2017/0006044).
As per claim 1, Vasishth discloses a computer-implemented method executed by data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a user of a user account, a request for escalated privileges of the user account to perform a task requiring the escalated privileges, the escalated privileges greater than specified privileges assigned to the user account (…the user requests an elevated right account, see par. 16…an elevated right account provides greater rights to the associated user…see par. 28), wherein the task is not permitted for user accounts assigned the specified privileges (…the user will be able to perform a task such as accessing the domain controller using the elevated right account, but the user will not be able to access the domain controller through the basic user account…see par. 27); determining that the task requires the escalated privileges (temporary elevated access can be granted when a user is called upon to perform a task on a temporary bases that requires access over and above that held for his/her routine job responsibilities…see par. 38); based on determining that the task requires the escalated privileges, temporarily granting the escalated privileges to the user account for a specified duration, the escalated privileges temporarily granted to the user account comprising a restriction normally permitted for user accounts comprising the escalated privileges (…the IT personnel grant elevated rights based on job responsibility criteria…the job responsibility criteria can include the frequency of the tasks (e.g., daily, weekly, monthly) and a specified time limit associated with the tasks (e.g., not longer than one month) …the IT personnel can grant an elevated right account in a manner that is customized to the job responsibility criteria…the elevated right account may have a lifecycle of only one month if the associated job responsibility lasts only one month…the user will be able to perform a task such as accessing the domain controller using the elevated right account, but the user will not be able to access the domain controller through the basic user account…see par. 23, 27). Vasishth does not explicitly disclose based on expiration of the specified duration, restoring the specified privileges to the user account. However Ezra discloses based on expiration of the specified duration, restoring the specified privileges to the user account (…these elevated privileges typically include a time limit on the user's access to the elevated privileges…when the elevated privileges are provided on a just-in-time manner, the elevated privileges may have predetermined time period (e.g., of one hour)…the time period for the elevated privileges may be determined by the privileges manager…the privileged identity management system may designate time when the user is preapproved for elevated privileges…for example, the privileged identity management system may provide elevated privileges from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, which would cause the elevated privileges to expire at 5:00 PM…the user may continue their work session without the elevated privileges…see par. 47, 50). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Ezra in Vasishth for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further improve user accounts’ levels of authorization to computer systems and software applications, see Ezra, par. 1-3.
As per claim 11, Vasishth discloses a system comprising: data processing hardware; and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware (see fig.3), the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a user of a user account, a request for escalated privileges of the user account to perform a task requiring the escalated privileges, the escalated privileges greater than specified privileges assigned to the user account (…the user requests an elevated right account, see par. 16…an elevated right account provides greater rights to the associated user…see par. 28), wherein the task is not permitted for user accounts assigned the specified privileges (…the user will be able to perform a task such as accessing the domain controller using the elevated right account, but the user will not be able to access the domain controller through the basic user account…see par. 27); determining that the task requires the escalated privileges (temporary elevated access can be granted when a user is called upon to perform a task on a temporary bases that requires access over and above that held for his/her routine job responsibilities…see par. 38); based on determining that the task requires the escalated privileges, temporarily granting the escalated privileges to the user account for a specified duration, the escalated privileges temporarily granted to the user account comprising a restriction normally permitted for user accounts comprising the escalated privileges (…the IT personnel grant elevated rights based on job responsibility criteria…the job responsibility criteria can include the frequency of the tasks (e.g., daily, weekly, monthly) and a specified time limit associated with the tasks (e.g., not longer than one month) …the IT personnel can grant an elevated right account in a manner that is customized to the job responsibility criteria…the elevated right account may have a lifecycle of only one month if the associated job responsibility lasts only one month…the user will be able to perform a task such as accessing the domain controller using the elevated right account, but the user will not be able to access the domain controller through the basic user account…see par. 23, 27). Vasishth does not explicitly disclose based on expiration of the specified duration, restoring the specified privileges to the user account. However Ezra discloses based on expiration of the specified duration, restoring the specified privileges to the user account (…these elevated privileges typically include a time limit on the user's access to the elevated privileges…when the elevated privileges are provided on a just-in-time manner, the elevated privileges may have predetermined time period (e.g., of one hour)…the time period for the elevated privileges may be determined by the privileges manager…the privileged identity management system may designate time when the user is preapproved for elevated privileges…for example, the privileged identity management system may provide elevated privileges from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, which would cause the elevated privileges to expire at 5:00 PM…the user may continue their work session without the elevated privileges…see par. 47, 50). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Ezra in Vasishth for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further improve user accounts’ levels of authorization to computer systems and software applications, see Ezra, par. 1-3.
As per claims 2, 12, the combination of Vasishth and Ezra discloses wherein the operations further comprise, upon granting the escalated privileges, starting a timer set to expire after an amount of time equal to the specified duration (Ezra: see par. 47). The motivation for claims 2, 12 is the same motivation as in claims 1, 11 above.
As per claims 3, 13, the combination of Vasishth and Ezra discloses wherein the operations further comprise, prior to expiration of the timer: receiving an extension request to extend the specified duration to an extended duration; determining that the extension request is allowable; and based on determining that the extension request is allowable, setting the expiration of the timer to an amount of time equal to the extended duration (Ezra: see par. 37, 47). The motivation for claims 3, 13 is the same motivation as in claims 1, 11 above.
As per claims 4, 14, the combination of Vasishth and Ezra discloses wherein the request comprises an identifier of the user account and requested privileges (Vasishth: see par. 24-25).
As per claims 9, 19, the combination of Vasishth and Ezra discloses wherein the task comprises upgrading software (Vasishth: see par. 37).
Claims 5-8, 10, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasishth et al (Pub. No. US 2006/0143447) in view of Ezra et al (Pub. No. US 2017/0006044) as applied to claims 1, 11 above, and further in view of Reich et al (Pub. No. US 2020/0065494).
As per claims 5, 15, the combination of Vasishth and Ezra does not explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprise identifying a list of prohibited activities for the user account while the user account is granted the escalated privileges. However Reich discloses wherein the operations further comprise identifying a list of prohibited activities for the user account while the user account is granted the escalated privileges (…this security rule can be applied based on checking for create table, alter table, drop table, or grant operations where the user performing the operation does not belong to the list of authorized users that were granted the system privilege explicitly (and not via the PUBLIC role) that was identified by a database assessment scan…see par. 24). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Seigel in the combination of Vasishth and Ezra for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further protect the database from security breaches and passing database compliance audits…see Reich, par. 4.
As per claims 6, 16, the combination of Vasishth, Ezra and Reich disclose wherein the operations further comprise detecting an attempt by the user account to perform one of the prohibited activities from the list of prohibited activities (Reich: see par. 24). The motivation for claims 6, 16 is the same motivation as in claims 5, 15 above.
As per claims 7, 17, the combination of Vasishth, Ezra and Reich disclose wherein the operations further comprise, based on detecting the attempt by the user account to perform one of the prohibited activities from the list of prohibited activities, revoking the escalated privileges granted to the user account (Reich: see par. 32). The motivation for claims 7, 17 is the same motivation as in claims 5, 15 above.
As per claims 8, 18, the combination of Vasishth, Ezra and Reich disclose wherein revoking the escalated privileges granted to the user account comprises revoking the escalated privileges before the specified duration has expired (Reich: see par. 40). The motivation for claims 8, 18 is the same motivation as in claims 5, 15 above.
As per claims 10, 20, the combination of Vasishth, Ezra and Reich disclose wherein the task executes on a private cloud (Reich: see par. 3). The motivation for claims 10, 20 is the same motivation as in claims 5, 15 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patents and Papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to escalating user privileges in cloud computing environments.
Seigel et al (Pub. No. US 2017/0161503); “Determining a Risk Indicator Based on Classifying Documents Using a Classifier”;
-Teaches by looking at user accounts that are using the access privileges associated with the user accounts, determining risk shifts from what the user accounts are capable of doing to what the user accounts are actually doing, e.g., what classification of resources are being accessed, how often the resources are being accessed…see par. 22.
Beckhardt et al (Pub. No. US 2015/0358310); “Cloud Queue Access Control”;
-Teaches a host of a cloud queue may restrict access to entities having a valid authentication token…see par. 27.
/GHAZAL B SHEHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499