DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, 16, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,482,260 to Schmidt.
Re-claim 1, Schmidt discloses a bump stop, the bump stop comprising: an outer shell (combination of 22, 24 and 26) around an internal structure 10; one or more ports 30; the outer shell retains air within the bump stop; the air is vented through the one or more ports.
Re-claim 2, the size (diameter) of the ports will vary a rate of air vented via the port.
Re-claim 3, the ports are arranged on a bottom surface 24 (or 22, depending upon the mounting arrangement).
Re-claim 4, the bump stop is capable of being arranged against a surface of a vehicle, whereupon compression of the bump stop the vents on the bottom surface would limit an amount of air vented to the outside.
Re-claim 5, the internal structure 10 comprises a variable infill structure (see column 3 lines 49-55).
Re-claim 6, the loose shred fill material within the internal structure will vary the stiffness, as the material is not arranged in any organized manner.
Re-claim 7, the loose fill constitutes a discontinuous internal structure.
Re-claim 8, the bump stop has a hollow core 20 with internal sidewalls.
Re-claim 10, the bump stop comprises a base region (such as one of 22 or 24) with a higher density than the internal structure.
Re-claim 11, the base region is solid (as shown in figure 3a).
Re-claim 12, the base region 22/24 (being a solid) has a greater stiffness than the internal structure (comprised of loose granules).
Re-claim 16, the outer shell (such as 26) is detached from a portion of the internal structure (see figure 3a).
Re-claim 17, the outer shell (such as at 22 and 24) is attached to the internal structure at a top 22 and bottom 24 side, and detached at a side region (see spacing between the internal structure 10 (envelope 12) and sidewall 26. The top and bottom portions of the outer shell are shown in contact with the internal structure (particularly at the edges 25) and are expected to remain in contact during compression stages, whereas the outer shell is free to move with respect to the internal structure during compression.
Re-claim 20, the loose fill or shreds within the internal structure 10 (specifically the envelope 12) is at least shown as having a zigzag structure.
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2013-0042829 A to Choi.
Re- claim 1, Choi discloses a bump stop for a suspension system, the bump stop comprising: an outer shell 10 around an internal structure (combination of air and fluid within space 20); one or more ports 30; the outer shell retains air within the bump stop; air is vented through the one or more ports.
Re-claim 2, the size (diameter) of the ports 30 will vary a rate of air vented via the port.
Re-claim 3, the ports are arranged on a bottom surface (see figures 3 and 6).
Re-claim 4, the bump stop is capable of being arranged against a surface of a vehicle, whereupon compression of the bump stop the vents on the bottom surface would limit an amount of air vented to the outside (see figures 5, 6 and 9).
Re-claim 5, the internal structure 20 comprises a variable infill structure (such as air and fluid, see at least the abstract).
Re-claim 6, the presence of both air and a separate fluid within the internal structure will vary the stiffness.
Re-claim 7, the interface between the air and fluid constitutes a discontinuous internal structure.
Re-claim 8, the bump stop has a hollow core with internal sidewalls, see figure 3.
Re-claim 10, the bump stop comprises a base region with a higher density than the internal structure. The base region is made of rubber or polyurethane which is known to have a density higher than air, which is part of the internal structure.
Re-claim 11, the base region is solid (as shown in figure 3).
Re-claim 12, the base region has a greater stiffness than the internal structure (comprised of air and fluid).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt in view of US 5,052,665 to Sakuragi.
Schmidt fails to teach the internal walls of the hollow core having an accordion-style bellows shape.
Sakuragi teaches a bump stop having a hollow core with internal walls. The walls are formed with an accordion-style bellows (see recessed portions 213). The recessed portions on at least the exterior provide for a more controlled compression (see at least the abstract and “the bumper rubber is hardly bent..”). This feature would carry over to the internal grooves as well. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the hollow core of Schmidt with an accordion-style bellow wall formation as taught by Sakuragi, thus controlling the compression direction of the bump stop.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Sakuragi.
Choi fails to teach the internal walls of the hollow core having an accordion-style bellows shape.
Sakuragi teaches a bump stop having a hollow core with internal walls. The walls are formed with an accordion-style bellows (see recessed portions 213). The recessed portions on at least the exterior provide for a more controlled compression (see at least the abstract and “the bumper rubber is hardly bent..”). This feature would carry over to the internal grooves as well. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the hollow core of Choi with an accordion-style bellow wall formation as taught by Sakuragi, thus controlling the compression direction of the bump stop.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt in view of US 3,312,459 to Pence.
Re-claims 13-15, Schmidt teaches an integrated thread feature (see tapped element 28). However, Schmidt fails to teach the presence of a lock ring.
Pence teaches a bump stop attachment arrangement that includes an integrated (i.e. not easily separated from the apparatus once attached) lock ring, or washer, in addition to a bolt for attachment purposes. The use of lock rings is well known, as this reduces the loosening of the bolt once tightened. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the bump stop of Schmidt with an integral lock ring as suggested in Pence, thus reducing the chance of the bolt from loosening once the bump stop is attached to the vehicle structure. It is noted that having the lock ring integral as one piece with the bump stop reduces the need for separate parts, and would have been obvious to those skilled in the art during the manufacturing step.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Pence.
Re-claims 13-15, Choi fails to teach an integrated thread feature and a lock ring.
Pence teaches a bump stop attachment arrangement that includes an integrated (i.e. not easily separated from the apparatus once attached) lock ring, or washer, in addition to a bolt for attachment purposes. The use of lock rings (or lock washers) is well known, as this reduces the loosening of the bolt once tightened. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the bump stop of Choi with an integral lock ring as suggested in Pence, thus reducing the chance of the bolt from loosening once the bump stop is attached to the vehicle structure. It is noted that having the lock ring integral as one piece with the bump stop reduces the need for separate parts, and would have been obvious to those skilled in the art during the manufacturing step.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt in view of US 2020/0138141 A1 to Kwok et al.
Re-claims 18 and 19, Schmidt fails to teach the internal structure comprising a gyroid fill pattern or a rectilinear fill pattern, although Schmidt does teach that the fill material of the internal structure is left to the artisan (see column 3 lines 47-49), followed by alternatives.
Kwok et al. teach an impact or energy absorbing layer having either a rectilinear fill pattern (see paragraphs 200-201), or gyroid fill pattern (see paragraph 203). This type of structure replaces a standard foam structure, with an improved energy absorption (see paragraphs 197-198). Thus, as per the teachings of Kwok et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the fill material of Schmidt with either a gyroid fill pattern or rectilinear fill pattern as taught by Kwok et al., thus improving the energy absorption profile of the bump stop.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Somes, Hall, Kimura, Reisner and Friedrich each teach a bump stop having an outer shell with an interior structure communicating with the atmosphere via air vents. Portella teaches a gyroid damping structure.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 August 12, 2026