Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments provided on 03/17/2026 have been fully considered.
The Office acknowledges receipt of the certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Regarding the amended limitations and the arguments, the Office agrees that the example provided by Bao in fig. 6 does not teach that “the emission period for each subpixel in the display panel is the same”. However, as noted by Bao in ¶ 66, “values of M and N may be determined according to demands of actual application and are not limited here”. In other words, for the 16 lines of GA1 and GA2, by setting M=N=16, the configuration as claimed is met. Specifically, each “group” will include one GA2 line which will have a corresponding GA1 line. In order to further clarify this configuration, a secondary reference is applied according to which such a modification is made obvious.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al., US 2024/0249679 A1, hereinafter “Bao”, in view of Kasai et al., US 2005/0062710 A1, hereinafter “Kasai”.
Regarding claim 1, Bao teaches a display apparatus (¶ 35: “display apparatus”) comprising: a display panel (¶ 35: “display panel”) including a subpixel configured to emit light (¶ 35, RGB or RGBW sub-pixels) with a data voltage (fig. 4, Vda, ¶ 54) applied through a first data line (fig. 3, DA) and change an emission condition (¶ 56), based on an additional voltage (¶ 56, Vb1a) applied through a first additional line (fig. 3, VB); and a driver configured to drive the display panel (fig. 4, a driver inherently exists to control the levels and timings of the various signals), wherein the display panel comprises a first data write period for applying the data voltage (fig. 4, T1, ¶ 54; also see fig. 3), an emission period for emitting light with the data voltage (fig. 4, T2, ¶ 55; also see fig. 3), and a second data write period for applying the additional voltage (fig. 4, T3, ¶ 56; also see fig. 3), and each of the first data write period, the emission period, and the second data write period is included in one frame driving period of the display panel (see fig. 4, F0, ¶ 52), wherein the first data write period is provided to be adjacent to a start time of the one frame driving period, and the second data write period is provided to be adjacent to an end time of the one frame driving period (see fig. 4 wherein T1 is adjacent to a start time and T3 is adjacent to an end time of the frame), and wherein the first data write period and the second data write period are performed sequentially along gate lines of the display panel (see fig. 4 and fig. 6 wherein GA1 and GA2 have a sequential relationship along the gate lines; also see ¶ 65 wherein GA1 is output sequential to a predetermined number of GA2 pulses).
Bao does not specifically teach that the emission period for each subpixel in the display panel is the same.
Kasai, however, clearly teaches that the emission period for each subpixel in the display panel is the same (fig. 3, see emission periods 52, 54, 56, ¶ 33; also see fig. 12, emission periods 209, 212, 215, each of which is followed by black insertion 210, 213, and 216, ¶ 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Bao in view of Kasai. The references teach black insertion periods for display devices. Kasai further teaches that such a black insertion period occurs after every gate signal provided for each pixel. Note that Bao also teaches that such a configuration may be achieved by changing the values of M and N as disclosed by Bao in ¶ 66. For example, by setting M=N=16 in fig. 6, each GA1 signal would follow each GA2 signal in a line-by-line manner, causing the emission period for each subpixel to be the same. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a modification to Bao in view of Kasai, expecting the same result of driving a display device while providing black voltage signals in order to control the light emission of the pixels.
Regarding claim 10, Bao teaches a driving method of a display apparatus including a display panel (¶ 35), the driving method comprising: a first data write operation of applying a data voltage to a subpixel of the display panel through a first data line (fig. 4, T1, ¶ 54; also see fig. 3); an emission operation of allowing the subpixel to emit light, based on the data voltage (fig. 4, T2, ¶ 55; also see fig. 3); and a second data write operation of applying an additional voltage to the subpixel of the display panel through a first additional line and changing an emission condition of the subpixel, based on the additional voltage (fig. 4, T3, ¶ 56; also see fig. 3), wherein the display panel comprises a first data write period for applying the data voltage (fig. 4, T1, ¶ 54; also see fig. 3), an emission period for emitting light with the data voltage (fig. 4, T2, ¶ 55; also see fig. 3), and a second data write period for applying the additional voltage (fig. 4, T3, ¶ 56; also see fig. 3), and each of the first data write period, the emission period, and the second data write period is included in one frame driving period of the display panel (see fig. 4, F0, ¶ 52), wherein the first data write period is provided to be adjacent to a start time of the one frame driving period, and the second data write period is provided to be adjacent to an end time of the one frame driving period (see fig. 4 wherein T1 is adjacent to a start time and T3 is adjacent to an end time of the frame), and wherein the first data write period and the second data write period are performed sequentially along gate lines of the display panel (see fig. 4 and fig. 6 wherein GA1 and GA2 have a sequential relationship along the gate lines; also see ¶ 65 wherein GA1 is output sequential to a predetermined number of GA2 pulses).
Bao does not specifically teach that the emission period for each subpixel in the display panel is the same.
Kasai, however, clearly teaches that the emission period for each subpixel in the display panel is the same (fig. 3, see emission periods 52, 54, 56, ¶ 33; also see fig. 12, emission periods 209, 212, 215, each of which is followed by black insertion 210, 213, and 216, ¶ 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Bao in view of Kasai. The references teach black insertion periods for display devices. Kasai further teaches that such a black insertion period occurs after every gate signal provided for each pixel. Note that Bao also teaches that such a configuration may be achieved by changing the values of M and N as disclosed by Bao in ¶ 66. For example, by setting M=N=16 in fig. 6, each GA1 signal would follow each GA2 signal in a line-by-line manner, causing the emission period for each subpixel to be the same. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a modification to Bao in view of Kasai, expecting the same result of driving a display device while providing black voltage signals in order to control the light emission of the pixels.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Bao teaches that the additional voltage comprises a black data voltage consisting of a direct current (DC) voltage of 0 V (¶ 56: Vb1a may be set to 0V).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Bao teaches that the display panel changes the emission condition to black, based on the black data voltage (¶ 56).
Regarding claim 6, Bao teaches that the subpixel comprises: a capacitor (fig. 3, CST, ¶ 47) configured to store the data voltage or the additional voltage; a driving transistor configured to operate based on the data voltage or the additional voltage stored in the capacitor (¶ 54-56); a first switching transistor (M2) including a first electrode connected to the first data line (DA), a second electrode connected to a gate electrode of the driving transistor and a first electrode of the capacitor (see fig. 3, M2), and a gate electrode connected to a first-first gate line (GA2); a second switching transistor (M1) including a first electrode connected to the first additional line (VB), a second electrode connected to the gate electrode of the driving transistor and the first electrode of the capacitor, and a gate electrode connected to a first-second gate line (GA1); and an organic light emitting diode configured to operate based on a current generated from the driving transistor (¶ 54-56).
Regarding claim 7, Bao teaches that the organic light emitting diode comprises an anode electrode connected to a high-level voltage line (fig. 3, anode of OLED L is connected to ELVD through M0)
Bao does not teach a cathode electrode connected to a first electrode of the driving transistor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Bao to place the OLED between the ELVDD terminal and the driving transistor instead of placing the OLED between the driving transistor and the ELVSS terminal. The OLED is driven according to a current that flows between ELVDD and ELVSS and through M0 and the OLED. The order in which the current flows through M0 and OLED does not change the amount of current that flows through the OLED. As such, one would have been motivated to make such a modification expecting to achieve the same results of driving the OLED. In other words, such a modification does not change the functionality of the circuit of Bao.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Bao teaches that the display panel comprises a pixel including subpixels configured to emit lights of different colors (¶ 35), and the subpixels share the first additional line (fig. 7, see sharing of SVB, ¶ 75).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Bao teaches that the additional voltage comprises a black data voltage having either a direct current (DC) voltage of 0 V or a ground voltage (¶ 56: Vb1a may be set to 0V).
Regarding claim 17, Bao teaches that the additional voltage is varied to various levels to increase an image expression performance of a display panel (¶ 56, Vb1a voltage is modulated between an on and off state in order to set the pixel value to a dark level when activated, thus increasing the image expression performance; Further, note that Vb1a can be set to any level below the threshold voltage of the driving transistor per ¶ 56).
Regarding claim 18, Bao does not specifically teach that a start of the second data write period of the subpixel is changed depending on when a scan signal is applied to the subpixel.
Kasai teaches teach that a start of the second data write period of the subpixel is changed depending on when a scan signal is applied to the subpixel (fig. 3, see emission periods 52, 54, 56, ¶ 33; also see fig. 12, emission periods 209, 212, 215, each of which is followed by black insertion 210, 213, and 216, ¶ 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Bao in view of Kasai. The references teach black insertion periods for display devices. Kasai further teaches that such a black insertion period occurs after every gate signal provided for each pixel. Note that Bao also teaches that such a configuration may be achieved by changing the values of M and N as disclosed by Bao in ¶ 66. For example, by setting M=N=16 in fig. 6, each GA1 signal would follow each GA2 signal in a line-by-line manner, causing the emission period for each subpixel to be the same. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a modification to Bao in view of Kasai, expecting the same result of driving a display device while providing black voltage signals in order to control the light emission of the pixels.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao, in view of Nam, US 2009/0079679 A1, hereinafter “Nam”.
Regarding claim 7, Bao teaches that the organic light emitting diode comprises an anode electrode connected to a high-level voltage line (fig. 3, anode of OLED L is connected to ELVD through M0)
Bao does not teach a cathode electrode connected to a first electrode of the driving transistor.
Nam, however, teaches that the organic light emitting diode comprises an anode electrode connected to a high-level voltage line and a cathode electrode connected to a first electrode of the driving transistor (see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Bao in view of Nam in order to place the OLED between the ELVDD terminal and the driving transistor instead of placing the OLED between the driving transistor and the ELVSS terminal. Fig. 10 of Nam teaches a pixel circuit that is similar to that of Bao, and in fig. 4, Nam teaches that the OLED in such a pixel circuit may be configured as claimed. As such, one would have been motivated to merely switch the position of the driving transistor and the OLED on the same current path, expecting the same result of driving the OLED.
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621