DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 July 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 2025 in the reply filed on 16 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Willis (US 2003/0035229).
Regarding claim 1, Willis discloses an optical mount apparatus (see figures 1a-1b and 2-4, for instance), the optical mount apparatus comprising: a body (1) comprising: a bore (8) for an optical element (5); a first opening (9) for a first fastener (6); and a first flexure arm (2), wherein tightening of the first fastener (6) against the first flexure arm (2) causes a second flexure arm (3) to pivot around a flexure element (at “d2” in figure 1a) and increase a size of the bore (8).
Regarding claim 2, Willis discloses an optical mount apparatus of claim 1, wherein the body (10 of Fig. 4) of the optical mount apparatus further includes a second opening (25) for a second fastener (43), wherein when the second fastener (43) is installed in the second opening (25), the second fastener (43) limits tightening of the first fastener (44, since 43 acts in conjunction with 44).
Regarding claim 3, Willis discloses an optical mount apparatus of claim 2, wherein the installed second fastener (43) prevents the second flexure arm (3) from exceeding its elastic deformation limit.
Regarding claim 4, Willis discloses an optical mount apparatus of claim 1, wherein the body (10) of the optical mount apparatus further includes a third opening (29) for a third fastener (31), wherein when the third fastener (31) is installed in the third opening (29), the third fastener (31) limits translation of the optical element (51) through the bore (12).
Regarding claim 5, Willis discloses an optical mount apparatus of claim 4, wherein translation of the third fastener (31) in the third opening causes (29) the optical element (51) to translate through the bore (12).
Regarding claim 6, Willis discloses an optical mount apparatus of claim 1, wherein the size of the bore (8) is smaller than the size of a portion of the optical element (5) mounted in the bore.
Regarding claim 7, Willis discloses an optical mount apparatus of claim 1, wherein the body of the optical mount apparatus is fabricated from a single monolithic block of material (see figure 1a, for instance).
Regarding claim 20, Willis discloses a method for mounting an optical element in an optical mount (see figures 2-4, for instance), the method including: tightening a first fastener (31) in a body (10) of the optical mount to increase a size of a bore (11) in the body of the optical mount; inserting the optical element (51) in the bore; and removing the first fastener (31) from the body (10) of the optical mount (See [0060], “Once the alignment process is completed, the system is locked according to the description herein with negligible cross talk from the locking mechanism making the adjustment. In a preferred method of alignment, the adjustment screws 31, 32 are backed off from the contact with the respective plates”).
Regarding claim 21, Willis discloses the method of claim 20, further including tightening the first fastener (31) in the body (10) of the optical mount until translation of the first fastener is limited by a second fastener (39) in the body (10) of the optical mount.
Regarding claim 22, Willis discloses the method of claim 21, further including removing the second fastener (39) from the body of the optical mount after the removing of the first fastener (31; [0060] “The locking is so effective that insignificant plate movement is experienced when the screws are backed off.”).
Regarding claim 23, Willis discloses the method of claim 20, further including inserting the optical element (51) into the bore (11) until the optical element is limited in translation by a third fastener (32) in the body of the optical mount.
Regarding claim 24, Willis discloses the method of claim 23, further including translating the optical element (51) by translating the third fastener (32) through the body (10) of the optical mount.
Regarding claim 25, Willis discloses the method of claim 20, further including tightening one or more alignment screws ([0066]) to adjust an angle of a top plate of the body (10) of the optical mount (see also [0079], for instance).
Conclusion
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 8/20/2026