DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitations encompassing the ‘members’ of claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-14, 17, 18, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, 11-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aghdam (US 20180078242 A1).
For claim(s) 1-3, 11-12, 15, and 18-19, Aghdam teaches
a sheath; [200]
a shaft [208] extending through a cavity of the sheath, the shaft being moveable relative to the sheath; [Fig(s). 1-2]
a cap [234] located at a distal end of the shaft, the cap being configured to seal a distal end of the sheath; [Fig(s). 2C]
a set of bristles [222] attached to the shaft;
and at least two members [224, 236] attached to the shaft at locations proximal to the cap, [each of 224 and 236 are proximal to a distalmost portion of 234 (e.g., the rounded portion of 234)]
the at least two members being configured to seal the cavity when located within the sheath, [Fig(s). 2C]
wherein a first member of the at least two members is attached to the shaft at a location distal to the set of bristles and a second member of the at least two members is attached to the shaft at a location proximal to the set of bristles [Fig(s). 2-6]
wherein the first member and the second member are located outside of the sheath when the shaft is moved distal to the sheath [Fig(s). 4]
wherein the first member and the second member are configured to wipe an inner surface of the sheath when the shaft is moved proximal to the sheath [¶57 ¶71]
(and a method of use comprising)
delivering the brush in a first state to a target location, [1204]
moving the shaft in a distal direction to a second state, [Fig. 1, Fig. 6B, ¶¶78-81]
collecting a tissue sample; [¶¶77-81]
and moving the shaft in a proximal direction to the first state. [via spring 900 in ¶¶45-47, end of ¶55]
For claim(s) 4-5 and 13, Aghdam teaches
a third member [stud 700] of the at least two members attached to the shaft at a location proximal to the second member
wherein the first member and the second member are located outside of the sheath and the third member is located within the sheath when the shaft is moved distal to the sheath. [Fig(s). 4]
For claim(s) 6 and 14, Aghdam teaches
a protrusion located towards a proximal end of the shaft, the protrusion being configured to prevent the third member from exiting the sheath when the shaft is moved distal to the sheath. [threads on stud 700 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of a protrusion for stud 700]
For claim(s) 8 and 17, Aghdam teaches
the sheath comprising a cutline [218] located proximal to the second member when the first member and the second member are located within the sheath.
For claim(s) 9, Aghdam teaches The brush of claim 1, comprising a locking mechanism [900, 218, 206] located at a proximal end of the brush, the locking mechanism being configured to prevent the shaft from moving relative to the sheath when the locking mechanism is in a locked state.
For claim(s) 20, Aghdam teaches
removing the brush from the target location; and cutting the brush at a cutline located proximal to the second member when the brush is in the first state. [¶81]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aghdam in view of Parasher (US 5535756 A).
For claim(s) 7 and 16, Aghdam fails to teach a radiopaque marker.
Parasher teaches an invasive sampling device which has a radiopaque marker on a brush structure [end of col. 2 and throughout col. 3, col. 4 ll. 30-45]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the brush of Aghdam to incorporate the radiopaque marker of Parasher in order to aid in positioning of the device. As motivated by Parasher cols. 2-4.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aghdam in view of Erin (US 20120253115 A1).
For claim(s) 10, Aghdam fails to teach the brush configured for an endoscope.
Erin teaches a biopsy brush configured for an endoscope. [entire disclosure – see at least abstract]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the brush of Aghdam to be configured for use within an endoscope as taught by Erin in order to aid in inspection and sampling of the target anatomy. As motivated by Erin ¶3.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791