DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference numeral 100 in Fig. 1 does not appear to be in the instant Specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they present empty boxes and fail to show a method as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first predetermined heating rate” in Line 3, “a first predetermined temperature” in Lines 3-4, “a first predetermined temperature range” in Line 4, “a second predetermined temperature” in Lines 7-8, “a second predetermined temperature range” in Line 8, and “a predetermined period” in Lines 8-9. Claim 2 recites “the first predetermined temperature” in Line 1. Claim 3 recites “the first predetermined heating rate” in Line 1. Claim 5 recites “the second predetermined temperature” in Line 1. Claim 6 recites “the predetermined period” in Line 1. Claim 7 recites “the predetermined period” in Line 1. Claim 11 recites “a first predetermined temperature” in Line 3, “a predetermined period” in Line 7 and “a second predetermined temperature” in Lines 7-8. Claim 13 recites “the predetermined period” in Line 1. Claim 14 recites “the predetermined period” in Line 1. Claim 17 recites “a first predetermined temperature” in Line 3, “a first predetermined heating rate” in Line 4, and “a second predetermined temperature” in Line 9.
As used in Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11, 13, and 17, the term “predetermined” is a relative term which renders those claims indefinite. The instant Specification at [0007] details exemplary temperatures and time periods, but does not limit the claim language to a specific value or range of values. Thus, the above cited phrases including the term “predetermined” in Claims 9-12, “a deformation threshold” in Claim 10, “contamination condition” in Claim 11, and “scheduling threshold” in Claim 12 are not defined by the claims, the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear which threshold applicant is trying to limit and under what conditions and range of conditions. Similarly, the deformation threshold of Claim 10 and the contamination threshold of Claim 11 referenced in the Specification at [0064] and [0065] respectively are not sufficiently limited. Examiner recommends identifying a condition and providing a range or parameter that defines what the threshold is exactly.
Claim 1 recites at Line 10, “stamp/press.” While there is literal support for “stamp/press” in the instant Specification, e.g. at [0004], it is unclear whether “stamp”, is meant, “stamp” or “press” is meant, or some other meaning entirely. Appropriate correction is required to establish the claimed components with clarity and specificity.
Claim 9, Claim 16, and Claim 19 recite at Lines 1-2, “greater than or equal to 90% of an exposed surface of the CFPHS component” in Lines 1-2. It is unclear what is meant by “an exposed surface” and it is further unclear to what the surface is exposed. Appropriate correction is required to establish actionable and repeatable method steps with positive active claim language.
Claim 8 recites in Line 1, Claim 10 recites in Line 1, and Claim 11 recites in Line 11, “after pre-heating in the heater.” As there is no recitation of a pre-heating step, this recitation lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear from the claims when or if at all the claimed heater is pre-heated. Appropriate correction is required to establish actionable and repeatable method steps.
Claims 4, 12, 14-15, and 18 are rejected for their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heater” in Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 11, and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by NPL Hou et al.
Regarding Claim 1, NPL Hou et al. teaches a method for manufacturing a coating-free press hardening steel (CFPSH) component, comprising heating a CFHS blank at a first predetermined heating rate to a first predetermined temperature in a first predetermined temperature range using a heater; transferring the CFPHS blank to a furnace; soaking the CFPHS blank in the furnace at a second predetermined temperature in a second predetermined temperature range for a predetermined period; and pressing and forming the CFPH blank by hot stamping in a pair of flat die (notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, meeting the limitation for a stamp/press) to form a specimen final product (meeting the limitation for a component), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 2, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary first predetermined temperature is 930 °C (Fig. 2), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 3, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary first predetermined heating rate is 100 °C/s (Fig. 2), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 4, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary heater is an induction heater (Fig. 1). meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Fig. 5, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary second predetermined temperature is 930 °C (Fig. 2), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 6, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary predetermined period is 30s (Page 3197), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 7, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary predetermined period is 30s (Page 3197), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over NPL Hou et al.
Regarding Claim 9, notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, NPL Hou et al. teaches the formation of an oxidation layer. Therefore, the oxidation layer covers 100% of the exposed surface of the CFPHS component on which it is formed.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to maximize the coverage of the oxide layer on surface of the CFPHS component in order to form a protective layer and prevent further oxidation of the formed component based on the teachings of NPL Hou et al. at (Page 3199), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Hou et al.
Regarding Claim 8, NPL Hou et al. teaches after pre-heating in the heater, the CFPH component includes an oxidation layer having a thickness less than 5 µm, overlapping the instantly claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.1 micron to less than or equal to 1.5 microns.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 10, NPL Hou et al. teaches after pre-heating in the heater, the CFPH component includes an oxidation layer having a thickness less than 5 µm, overlapping the instantly claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.1 micron to less than or equal to 1.0 microns.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 11, NPL Hou et al. teaches a method for manufacturing a coating-free press hardening steel (CFPSH) component, comprising heating a CFHS blank at a first predetermined heating rate to a first predetermined temperature in a first predetermined temperature range using a heater; transferring the CFPHS blank to a furnace; soaking the CFPHS blank in the furnace at a second predetermined temperature in a second predetermined temperature range for a predetermined period; and pressing and forming the CFPH blank by hot stamping in a pair of flat die (notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, meeting the limitation for a stamp/press) to form a specimen final product (meeting the limitation for a component).
NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary first and second predetermined temperature is 930 °C (Fig. 2). NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary first predetermined heating rate is 100 °C/s (Fig. 2), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
NPL Hou et al. teaches after pre-heating in the heater, the CFPH component includes an oxidation layer having a thickness less than 5 µm, overlapping the instantly claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.1 micron to less than or equal to 1.5 microns.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 12, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary heater is an induction heater (Fig. 1). meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 13, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary predetermined period is 30s (Page 3197), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 14, NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary predetermined period is 30s (Page 3197), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 15, NPL Hou et al. teaches after pre-heating in the heater, the CFPH component includes an oxidation layer having a thickness less than 5 µm, overlapping the instantly claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.1 micron to less than or equal to 1.0 microns.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 16, notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, NPL Hou et al. teaches the formation of an oxidation layer. Therefore, the oxidation layer covers 100% of the exposed surface of the CFPHS component on which it is formed.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to maximize the coverage of the oxide layer on surface of the CFPHS component in order to form a protective layer and prevent further oxidation of the formed component based on the teachings of NPL Hou et al. at (Page 3199), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 17, NPL Hou et al. teaches a method for manufacturing a coating-free press hardening steel (CFPSH) component, comprising heating a CFHS blank at a first predetermined heating rate to a first predetermined temperature in a first predetermined temperature range using a heater; transferring the CFPHS blank to a furnace; soaking the CFPHS blank in the furnace at a second predetermined temperature in a second predetermined temperature range for a predetermined period; and hot stamping the CFPHS blank by transferring the CFPHS blank a pair of flat die (notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, meeting the limitation for a stamp/press) to press and form a specimen final product (meeting the limitation for a component).
NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary first and second predetermined temperature is 930 °C (Fig. 2). NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary first predetermined heating rate is 100 °C/s (Fig. 2). NPL Hou et al. teaches an exemplary predetermined period is 30s (Page 3197), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
NPL Hou et al. teaches after pre-heating in the heater, the CFPH component includes an oxidation layer having a thickness less than 5 µm, overlapping the instantly claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.1 micron to less than or equal to 1.5 microns.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 18, NPL Hou et al. teaches after pre-heating in the heater, the CFPH component includes an oxidation layer having a thickness less than 5 µm, overlapping the instantly claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.1 micron to less than or equal to 1.0 microns.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 19, notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, NPL Hou et al. teaches the formation of an oxidation layer. Therefore, the oxidation layer covers 100% of the exposed surface of the CFPHS component on which it is formed.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to maximize the coverage of the oxide layer on surface of the CFPHS component in order to form a protective layer and prevent further oxidation of the formed component based on the teachings of NPL Hou et al. at (Page 3199), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200063232 A1, and US 11530469 B2 teach methods forming coating free press hardened steels.
US 20210276065 A1 teaches low density press-hardening steel formation.
US 20210198760 A1 teaches heat treating a press hardened steel.
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733