DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4 line 5, the limitation “with the duty cycle” should be replaced with ---within the duty cycle---. Similar is true of the same or similar limitation of claim 28.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 11, 12, 14-16, 18, 24, 25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0385710 (hereinafter “Jin”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0037343 (hereinafter “He”).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, Jin discloses, teaches, or suggests a method for wireless communications at a wireless device, the method and the wireless device comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see at least paragraph 283, storage unit storing data such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information for the operation of the UE); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to (see at least paragraph 284, a controller including at least one processor that controls overall operations of the terminal):
transmit a report message comprising an indication of one or more performance parameters comprising at least one of an energy threshold for transmission and a delay constraint for transmission (see at least Fig. 23, step 2335, Fig. 24, step 2415, and paragraph 246, a UE transmitting a delay budget report delivered as UEAssistanceInformation RRC message to a corresponding eNB, where the delay budget report corresponds to the delay constraint);
receive, based at least in part on the one or more performance parameters, duty cycle information for transmission (see at least Fig. 23, step 2355, Fig. 24, step 2420, and paragraphs 238 and 264, the eNB delivers a reconfigured DRX cycle value to the UE, where the DRX cycle value corresponds to duty cycle information); and
transmit a message via one or more transmission occasions according to a duty cycle that is based at least in part on the duty cycle information (see at least Fig. 23, step 2365, Fig. 24, step 2430, and paragraphs 246 and 268, the UE transmits and receives data according to the DRX cycle).
Jin discloses VoLTE service and V2X communication (see abstract and paragraphs 235-238) but does not explicitly disclose non-coherent transmission. However, in an analogous art, He discloses, teaches, or suggests a V2X UE requesting resources for a transmission of bursty packet (see at least paragraph 146, bursty packet transmission corresponds to non-coherent transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by He in to the invention of Jin in order to reduce the control signaling in the Uu interface (see at least paragraph 146 of He).
Jin further discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claims 4 and 28, the duty cycle information comprises a duty cycle value that corresponds to a first transmission occasion of the one or more transmission occasions occurring within the duty cycle, and a second transmission occasion of the one or more transmission occasions occurring within the duty cycle, the second transmission occasion occurring in a last available transmission occasion prior to expiration of the delay constraint (see at least Fig. 23, step 2355, Fig. 24, step 2420, and paragraphs 264, 266, and 268, the eNB delivers a reconfigured DRX cycle value to the UE and the UE continues to perform data transmission/reception according to the reconfigured DRX cycle, where each data transmission within the reconfigured DRX cycle corresponds to a first transmission occasion and a second transmission occasion, where the reconfigured DRX cycle satisfies the delay budget report and, therefore, the second transmission occasion is prior to expiration of the delay constraint); and
regarding claims 5 and 29, the duty cycle information comprises an indication of a last transmission occasion of the one or more transmission occasions occurring within the duty cycle (see at least Fig. 23, step 2355, Fig. 24, step 2420, and paragraphs 264 and 268, the eNB delivers a reconfigured DRX cycle value to the UE and the UE continues to perform data transmission/reception according to the reconfigured DRX cycle, where a final data transmission within the reconfigured DRX cycle corresponds to a last transmission occasion).
Regarding claim 11, Jin discloses VoLTE service and V2X communication (see abstract and paragraphs 235-238) but does not explicitly disclose one or more non-coherent peaky transmissions.
However, in an analogous art, He discloses, teaches, or suggests a V2X UE requesting resources for a transmission of bursty packet (see at least paragraph 146, bursty packet transmission corresponds to non-coherent peaky transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by He in to the invention of Jin in order to reduce the control signaling in the Uu interface (see at least paragraph 146 of He).
Regarding claims 12 and 30, Jin discloses, teaches, or suggests a method for wireless communications at a wireless device (see at least Fig. 28 and paragraph 285, a base station), the method and the wireless device comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see at least paragraph 290, storage unit storing data such as a basic program, an application program, and configuration information for the operation of the base station); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to (see at least paragraph 291, a controller including at least one processor that controls overall operations of the base station):
receive a report message comprising an indication of one or more performance parameters comprising at least one of an energy threshold for transmission by a second wireless device, and a delay constraint for transmission by the second wireless device (see at least Fig. 23, step 2335, Fig. 24, step 2415, and paragraph 246, a UE transmitting a delay budget report delivered as UEAssistanceInformation RRC message, which is received by a corresponding eNB, where the delay budget report corresponds to the delay constraint);
transmit, based at least in part on the one or more performance parameters, duty cycle information for transmissions (see at least Fig. 23, step 2355, Fig. 24, step 2420, and paragraphs 238 and 264, the eNB delivers a reconfigured DRX cycle value to the UE, where the DRX cycle value corresponds to duty cycle information); and
receive a message via one or more transmission occasions according to a duty cycle that is based at least in part on the duty cycle information (see at least Fig. 23, step 2365, Fig. 24, step 2430, and paragraphs 246 and 268, the UE transmits and receives data to/from the base station according to the DRX cycle).
Jin discloses VoLTE service and V2X communication (see abstract and paragraphs 235-238) but does not explicitly disclose non-coherent transmission. However, in an analogous art, He discloses, teaches, or suggests a V2X UE requesting resources for a transmission of bursty packet (see at least paragraph 146, bursty packet transmission corresponds to non-coherent transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by He in to the invention of Jin in order to reduce the control signaling in the Uu interface (see at least paragraph 146 of He).
Jin further discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claim 14, the duty cycle information comprises a duty cycle value that corresponds to a first transmission occasion of the one or more transmission occasions occurring within the duty cycle, and a second transmission occasion of the one or more transmission occasions occurring within the duty cycle, the second transmission occasion occurring in a last available transmission occasion prior to expiration of a time duration indicated by the delay constraint (see at least Fig. 23, step 2355, Fig. 24, step 2420, and paragraphs 264, 266, and 268, the eNB delivers a reconfigured DRX cycle value to the UE and the UE continues to perform data transmission/reception according to the reconfigured DRX cycle, where each data transmission within the reconfigured DRX cycle corresponds to a first transmission occasion and a second transmission occasion, where the reconfigured DRX cycle satisfies the delay budget report and, therefore, the second transmission occasion is prior to expiration of the delay constraint);
regarding claim 15, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to select the duty cycle value from a plurality of candidate duty cycle values based at least in part on the delay constraint, wherein the selected duty cycle value corresponds to the duty cycle having a duration that satisfies the delay constraint (see at least Table 4, and paragraphs 236-238, selecting a DRX cycle value, from a plurality of DRX cycle values, that satisfies the delay budget report);
regarding claim 16, the duty cycle information comprises an indication of a last transmission occasion of the one or more transmission occasions occurring within the duty cycle (see at least Fig. 23, step 2355, Fig. 24, step 2420, and paragraphs 264 and 268, the eNB delivers a reconfigured DRX cycle value to the UE and the UE continues to perform data transmission/reception according to the reconfigured DRX cycle, where a final data transmission within the reconfigured DRX cycle corresponds to a last transmission occasion); and
regarding claim 18, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to select the last transmission occasion from a plurality of candidate transmission indications based at least in part on the last transmission occasion occurring prior to expiration of the delay constraint see at least Fig. 23, step 2355, Fig. 24, step 2420, and paragraphs 264, 266, and 268, the eNB delivers a reconfigured DRX cycle value to the UE and the UE continues to perform data transmission/reception according to the reconfigured DRX cycle, where a final data transmission within the reconfigured DRX cycle corresponds to a last transmission occasion, where the reconfigured DRX cycle satisfies the delay budget report and, therefore, the last transmission occasion is prior to expiration of the delay constraint).
Regarding claim 24, Jin discloses VoLTE service and V2X communication (see abstract and paragraphs 235-238) but does not explicitly disclose one or more non-coherent peaky transmissions.
However, in an analogous art, He discloses, teaches, or suggests a V2X UE requesting resources for a transmission of bursty packet (see at least paragraph 146, bursty packet transmission corresponds to non-coherent peaky transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by He in to the invention of Jin in order to reduce the control signaling in the Uu interface (see at least paragraph 146 of He).
Claims 3 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of He, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0045150 (hereinafter “Newman”).
Regarding claims 3 and 27, Jin, as modified by He, discloses all of the subject matter of the invention of claims 1 and 25, respectively, and further discloses the duty cycle information comprising a duty cycle value (see at least Fig. 23, step 2355, Fig. 24, step 2420, and paragraph 264, the eNB delivers a reconfigured DRX cycle value to the UE) but Jin, as modified by He, does not explicitly disclose that a peak transmission power for transmitting the message is equal to an average transmission power divided by the duty cycle value.
However, in an analogous art, Newman discloses, teaches, or suggests that a peak transmission power for transmitting the message is equal to an average transmission power divided by the duty cycle value (see at least paragraph 2, the peak powers are approximately equal to the average power divided by the duty cycle).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Newman in to the invention of Jin, as modified by He, in order to regulate the transmission power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-10, 13, 17, 19-23, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 7,558,232 (Pearl) – Adaptive duty cycle management.
U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0244457 (Jiang et al.) – Assistance information reporting for DRX cycle length adjustment.
U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0292240 (Mattam et al.) – UE delay budget report for DRX cycle length adjustment.
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 06/17/2026