DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornitius-Cary(8556337). The reference to Cornitius-Cary teaches structure substantially as claimed including a seat cover system for detachably coupling to a seat, the seat cover system comprising: a main body (20) comprising a top end, a bottom end, a first side, and a second side, the first side comprising a first gusset (14) and the second side comprising a second gusset (15); and a cooling pack (40) carried in the main body; wherein the seat cover system is configurable from a rolled configuration to a seat configuration and vice versa (it is noted that the system can be rolled up and secured in the position by the straps), the first gusset and the second gusset being configured to inhibit the seat cover (due to the additional thickness) system from reconfiguring from the seat configuration to a flat configuration, a plurality of straps coupled (at least fig 5), the plurality of straps are configured to extend around the seat to couple the seat cover system to the seat, insulated pockets (at least paragraph 16)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 8, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornitius-Cary(8556337). The reference to Cornitius-Cary teaches structure as claimed as discussed above including buckles. The use of different well known buckles, such as snap buckles, threaded buckle, quick disconnect buckles, swivel buckles would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success since such would have been conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed. The method would have been obvious in view of the structures.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornitius-Cary(8556337)as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Deluca (9549617). The reference to Cornitius-Cary teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above including cover portions the only difference being that the portions do not include coverage for a back and seat structure. However, the reference to Deluca teaches the use of providing a seat and back portion for cooling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Cornitius-Cary with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a seat and back coverage, as taught by Deluca since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed. The particular angle would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary kill in the art and a reasonably predictable result and it is noted that the structure of Deluca can preform as such.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited teach structure similar to applicant’s including heat/cooling covers.
/JOSE V CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637