DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/18/2024.
Claims 1- 14 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 07/18/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viswanath et al. (US20230138108A1), hereinafter “Viswanath”; and in further view of Park et al. (US 20200413241 A1), hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claim 1, Viswanath teaches A method of a user equipment (UE) for managing a network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) list, the method comprising: receiving, from a network, a registration accept message with at least one partial NSSAI [Viswanath: Abstract teaches configured to transmit a registration request message to a network, the registration request message comprising a request to register to a set of one or more single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAIs)];
receiving, from the network, a configuration update command message with at least one partial NSSAI [Viswanath: Abstract and Fig. 6 further teaches the response indicating that the request to register to the set of one or more S-NSSAIs is rejected and store the set of one or more S-NSSAIs in a rejected NSSAI list locally at the UE]; and
Viswanath does not explicitly teach deleting the at least one partial NSSAI stored in the UE based on a length of the at least one partial NSSAI of the configuration update command message being zero.
However, Park, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches deleting the at least one partial NSSAI stored in the UE based on a length of the at least one partial NSSAI of the configuration update command message being zero
[Park: Fig. 5; Par. 299- 304, 319,269 teaches If the UE receives a new configured NSSAI in the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message, the UE considers the new configured NSSAI for the registered PLMN as valid and the old configured NSSAI for the registered PLMN as invalid; and the UE shall delete the stored allowed NSSAI and perform a mobility registration update procedure to obtain anew allowed NSSAI. ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was made to utilize the teaching of Park for deleting NSSAI. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivate to utilize the teaching of Park in the Viswanath system in order to request and configured updated command massage [Park: Par. 265- 299].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Viswanath in view of Park teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Viswanath in view of Park further teaches wherein the at least one partial NSSAI comprises at least one of a partially allowed NSSAI and a partially rejected NSSAI [Park: Fig. 6; Par. 325- 329 teaches UE use at least one S-NSSAI of S-NSSAIs included in allowed NSSAI].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Viswanath in view of Park teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Viswanath in view of Park further teaches wherein the length of the at least one partial NSSAI of the configuration update command message being zero indicates that the at least one partial NSSAI does not include a single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI) [Par. 34- 336 teaches of UE delete rejected S-NSSAI and does not request to use/ does not include S-NSSAI included in the rejected NSSAI].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Viswanath in view of Park teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Viswanath in view of Park further teaches retaining the at least one partial NSSAI stored in the UE based on the length of the at least one partial NSSAI of the configuration update command message not being zero [Park: Par. 340 teaches UE may store rejected S-NSSAI].
Regarding claim 5, Viswanath teaches A method of a network for managing a network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) list, the method comprising [Viswanath: Fig. 6].
transmitting a registration accept message with at least one partial NSSAI to a user equipment (UE) [Viswanath: Abstract teaches configured to transmit a registration request message to a network, the registration request message comprising a request to register to a set of one or more single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAIs)];
transmitting the configuration update command message to the UE [Viswanath: Abstract and Fig. 6 further teaches the response indicating that the request to register to the set of one or more S-NSSAIs is rejected and store the set of one or more S-NSSAIs in a rejected NSSAI list locally at the UE]; and
Viswanath does not explicitly teach setting a length of at least one partial NSSAI of a configuration update command message being zero.
However, Park, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches setting a length of at least one partial NSSAI of a configuration update command message being zero [Park: Fig. 5; Par. 299- 304, 319,269 teaches If the UE receives a new configured NSSAI in the CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message, the UE considers the new configured NSSAI for the registered PLMN as valid and the old configured NSSAI for the registered PLMN as invalid; and the UE shall delete the stored allowed NSSAI and perform a mobility registration update procedure to obtain anew allowed NSSAI. ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was made to utilize the teaching of Park for deleting NSSAI. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivate to utilize the teaching of Park in the Viswanath system in order to request and configured updated command massage [Park: Par. 265- 299].
Regarding claim 6, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412