DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2020/0042819) in view of Kilarapu (US 2020/0074872).
With respect to claim 13 (similarly claims 1 and 14), Zhang teaches an electronic device (e.g. an attention memory system 10 [0039] implemented as a server/electronic device [0041]) comprising:
one or more processors (e.g. a control unit 120, [0044], [0047]);
a memory (e.g. memory 130. [0044]); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions (e.g. the control unit 120 may execute a program stored in the memory 130, [0048] to execute the method of Fig 2) for:
receiving an image (e.g. the attention memory system 10 may acquire an image Fig 2 at step S2001. [0073]);
generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to a first object in the image (e.g. generating based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to a first object in the image, see Fig 2 S2003-S2005 No to loop back to S2003 [0081], [0084]-[0085], [0091]);
However, Zhang fails to teach selecting a subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image; and
displaying the subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image.
Kilarapu teaches an electronic device for generating and displaying questions for content of multimedia [0016]-[0017], selecting a subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image/multimedia (e.g. selecting a subset of the relevant questions corresponding to the content of the multimedia, [0020]-[0023], [0035]-[0036]); and
displaying the subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image (e.g. the display control unit 106 can be configured to display the question received from the question selection unit 104 to a user while watching the chapter of the multimedia [0024], [0037]).
Zhang and Kilarapu are analogous art because they all pertain to generating questions on objects in an image/multimedia. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with the teachings of Kilarapu to include: selecting a subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image; and
displaying the subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image, as taught by Kilarapu in Figs 1-2 [0016]-[0037]. The benefit of the modification would be such that displaying the questions for each chapter/object creates highly engaged viewing experience and also provides ability to the user to assess learning efficiently, Kilarapu [0037].
With respect to claim 2, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein the plurality of questions is a first plurality of questions (Zhang e.g. the plurality of questions is a first plurality of questions, see Fig 2 S2003-S2005 No to loop back to S2003 [0081], [0084]-[0085], [0091]), the one or more programs further including instructions for:
generating, based on the image, a second plurality of questions corresponding to a second object in the image (e.g. generating based on the image, a second plurality of questions corresponding to a second object in the image extracted among the objects at S2002, see Fig 2 S2003-S2005 No to loop back to S2003 [0081], [0084]-[0085], [0091]);
selecting a subset of the first plurality of questions and a subset of the second plurality of questions as suggested questions (e.g. selecting a subset of the first plurality of questions and a subset of the second plurality of questions as suggested questions, as modified by Kilarapu in [0020]-[0023], [0035]-[0036] of Kilarapu); and
displaying the suggested questions (e.g. displaying the suggested questions as modified by Kilarapu in the display control unit 106 can be configured to display the question received from the question selection unit 104 to a user while watching the chapter of the multimedia [0024], [0037]).
With respect to claim 8, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
detecting selection of a question of the subset of questions corresponding to the first object in the image (Zhang e.g. the attention memory system 10 may generate a question for identifying a preset object on the image [0081], [0084]-[0085], [0092]); and
in response to detecting selection of the question of the subset of questions corresponding to the first object in the image (Zhang e.g. yes S2005 Fig 2): determining information about the first object based on the selected question (Zhang e.g. the attention memory system 10 may select the preset object from candidate objects on the image through comparison with the attention memory information which is information about a candidate object close to the preset object, the space information of the objects on the image, and the categories of the objects [0094]); and
providing the information about the first object (Zhang e.g. [0093]-[0094] provide information about the first object).
With respect to claim 9, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the information about the first object references contextual data of the electronic device (Zhang e.g. the information about the first object references contextual data of the electronic device as suggested in [0090] i.e. the relevance of the question).
With respect to claim 10, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein displaying the subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image further comprises: displaying the subset of questions as a virtual item in a view of the electronic device (Kilarapu e.g. [0037] suggests displaying the subset of questions as a virtual item in a view of the electronic device).
With respect to claim 11, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to a first object in the image and selecting a subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image are performed by a neural network (Zhang e.g. [0008]-[0010] suggest that generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to a first object in the image and selecting a subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image are performed by a neural network).
With respect to claim 12, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for: determining information corresponding to each question of the subset of questions (Zhang e.g. [0081]-[0085] determine information corresponding to each question of the subset of questions); and displaying the information corresponding to each question of the subset of questions (Zhang e.g. [0045] and [0076] suggest displaying the information corresponding to each question of the subset of questions).
Claim(s) 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2020/0042819) in view of Kilarapu (US 2020/0074872) and further in view of Gupta (US 2018/0288477).
With respect to claim 3, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1 including wherein generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image, see Fig 2 S2003-S2005 No to loop back to S2003 [0081], [0084]-[0085], [0091].
However, Zhang fails to teach wherein generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image further comprises:
determining whether a gaze of a user includes the first object; and
in accordance with a determination that the gaze of the user includes the first object, selecting the first object for generating the plurality of questions.
Gupta teaches a media guidance application to:
determining whether a gaze of a user includes a first object (e.g. determining whether a gaze of a user includes a first object/a first character, see Fig 1 [0062]-[0064], [0072]-[0074], [0084]); and
in accordance with a determination that the gaze of the user includes the first object (e.g. in accordance with a determination that the gaze of the user includes the first object/character i.e. If the user answers “yes” to the media guidance application's prompt [0068], [0099]-[0100]), selecting the first object for generating the plurality of questions (e.g. selecting Jack Gleeson for generating the plurality of questions as suggested in [0062]-[0068], [0099]-[0100]).
Zhang and Gupta are analogous art because they all pertain to asking questions about objects/characters in an image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with the teachings of Gupta to include: wherein generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image further comprises:
determining whether a gaze of a user includes the first object; and
in accordance with a determination that the gaze of the user includes the first object, selecting the first object for generating the plurality of questions, as suggested by Gupta in Figs 1-3. The benefit of the modification would be to disambiguate between the objects/characters to satisfy the user’s queries about the objects.
With respect to claim 4, Zhang in view of Kilarapu and further in view of Gupta teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 3, wherein determining whether the gaze of the user includes the first object further comprises:
determining a length of time that the gaze of the user is directed at the first object (Gupta e.g. determining a length of time 6:50-6:52 PM that the gaze of the user is directed at the first object/character, as suggested in [0063]-[0068], see also the viewing log of [0078]); and
in accordance with a determination that the length of time that the gaze of the user is directed at the first object exceeds a predetermined threshold (Gupta e.g. in accordance with a determination that the length of time that the gaze of the user is directed at the first object exceeds a predetermined threshold i.e. 2 seconds from 6:50-6:52 PM as suggested in [0063]-[0068, [0078]), determining that the gaze of the user includes the first object (Gupta e.g. determining that the gaze of the user includes the first object/character Jack Gleeson as suggested in [0063]-[0068], [0099]-[0100]).
With respect to claim 5, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1 including wherein generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image, see Fig 2 S2003-S2005 No to loop back to S2003 [0081], [0084]-[0085], [0091].
However, Zhang fails to teach wherein generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image further comprises:
determining a location of the electronic device; and
selecting the first object in the image based on the location of the electronic device.
Gupta teaches determining a location of the electronic device (e.g. distance 124 determines a location of the electronic device of Fig 1 as suggested in [0069]-[0070]); and
selecting the first object in the image based on the location of the electronic device (selecting a first object/character 118 based on the distance 124 of the electronic device, see Fig 1).
Zhang and Gupta are analogous art because they all pertain to asking questions about objects/characters in an image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with the teachings of Gupta to include: wherein generating, based on the image, a plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image further comprises:
determining a location of the electronic device; and
selecting the first object in the image based on the location of the electronic device, as suggested by Gupta in Fig 1. The benefit of the modification would be to determine the position of eye 104 relative to display 114 Gupta [0070].
With respect to claim 6, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1 including selecting the subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image and selecting the predetermined number of questions as the subset of the plurality of questions in [0020]-[0023], [0035]-[0036] of Kilarapu.
However, Zhang fails to teach wherein selecting the subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image further comprises:
determining a corresponding weight for each of the plurality of questions;
ranking the plurality of questions based on the corresponding weights;
determining a predetermined number of questions of the plurality of questions based on the ranking;
Gupta teaches determining a corresponding weight for each of the plurality of questions (e.g. the media guidance application may also store a weighting profile in the user profile, which indicates how important an entity is (or how often the user looks at said entity) [0063]);
ranking the plurality of questions based on the corresponding weights (ranking entity 118 a weight of 40%, entity 120 a weight of 30% and a third entity a weight of 30%, see [0030]-[0031], [0081], [0098]);
determining a predetermined number of questions of the plurality of questions based on the ranking (e.g. increasing or decreasing the weight/ a predetermined number of questions of the plurality of questions based on the ranking as suggested in [0098], [0100], [0105] whereby where a negative answer is received about a question, questions about that character is decreased, whereas a positive answer increases the number of questions);
Zhang and Gupta are analogous art because they all pertain to asking questions about objects/characters in an image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with the teachings of Gupta to include: wherein selecting the subset of the plurality of questions corresponding to the first object in the image further comprises: determining a corresponding weight for each of the plurality of questions; ranking the plurality of questions based on the corresponding weights; determining a predetermined number of questions of the plurality of questions based on the ranking; and selecting the predetermined number of questions as the subset of the plurality of questions, as suggested by Gupta in Figs 1-4. The benefit of the modification would be to disambiguate between the objects/characters to satisfy the user’s queries about the objects.
With respect to claim 7, Zhang in view of Kilarapu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 6, wherein the corresponding weight is an indication of the questions relevance and wherein the relevance is based on at least one of contextual data, digital assistant interaction history, and popularity of the question (e.g. the corresponding weight of 30%, 40% of [0030]-[0031], [0081], [0098], [0105] is an indication of the questions relevance and wherein the relevance is based on at least one of contextual data, digital assistant interaction history, and popularity of the question).
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM SIDDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681