DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 7/18/2024 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 appears to be better written to be dependent on claim 8 (instead of claim 7) for proper antecedent basis for a “leg rest” and footrest”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 7,597,339 to Furusho.
Regarding claim 1, Furusho teaches: A wheelchair for radiographic testing (see Fig. 1 or 7, wheelchair 1 and Abstract: “wheelchair capable of radiographing”) comprising:
a frame (see Fig. 7, upper frame body 4) made of a radiographically transmissive material (see Abstract: “main body configured of an x-ray transmissive material”);
a seat connected to the frame (see Fig. 7, seat 2);
a backrest connected to the frame (see Fig. 7, backrest 3);
a lower support connected to the frame (see Fig. 7, lower frame body 18 and leg rest 10/foot rest 9);
a plurality of wheels connected to the frame (see Fig. 1, front 7 and rear 8 wheels), the plurality of wheels configured to contact a ground (see Fig. 7 as shown);
at least one of the seat, the backrest, or the lower support configured to receive an imaging plate while a person is seated in the wheelchair (see Fig. 7, lower support 18 with second support member 25 holds cassette holder 29 via keyhole slots 25A and is shown holding imaging cassette 21).
Regarding claim 2, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the radiographically transmissive material of the frame is or includes carbon (see col. 10, lines [53-56]: “carbon”).
Regarding claim 3, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the seat, the backrest and the lower support are radiographically transmissive (see col. 10, lines [59-56] and col. 11, lines [11-19]).
Regarding claim 4, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein at least one of the seat, the backrest or the lower support are made of a radiographically transmissive material that includes a polymer, plastic, or fabric (see col. 10, lines [57-64]: at least “cotton” is describe which is an exemplary fabric).
Regarding claim 5, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein at least one of the seat, the backrest, or the lower support includes a pocket, a slot or an opening for receiving the imaging plate (see Fig. 7-8, keyhole slots 23A, 25A, or 27A are used to adjustably support cassette holder 29).
Regarding claim 6, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein at least one of the seat, the backrest, or the lower support includes a coupler, a connector or a bracket (see Fig. 7-8, first or second support members 23 / 25 which are ‘brackets’) for receiving the imaging plate.
Regarding claim 7, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 6, and additionally teaches: wherein the coupler, the connector or the bracket includes snaps, a hook and loop fastener, clips, hooks, clamps, holes (see Fig. 7-8, keyhole slots/holes), adhesive tape, ropes, ties or straps.
Regarding claim 8, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the lower support includes a leg rest (see Fig. 7-8, leg-rest 10) and a footrest (see Fig. 8, footrest 9), the leg rest and footrest being rotatable with respect to each other (see Fig. 7-8) and the leg rest and footrest each being rotatable with respect to the frame (see Fig. 8, right foot rest is shown rotated vertically).
Regarding claim 9, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the leg rest and footrest are each configured to receive an imaging plate (see Fig. 7-8, leg rest area has second support member 25 which is configured to hold cassette holder 29, per Fig. 9, foot rest 9 also contains supporting plate 27 and holding members 30 configured to assist holding a cassette 21).
Regarding claim 10, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the lower support includes a leg rest (see Fig. 7-8, leg-rest 10) and a footrest (see Fig. 8, footrest 9), the leg rest and footrest each having a slot or an opening configured to receive an imaging plate (see Fig. 7-8, leg rest area has second support member 25 with slots 25A which are configured to hold cassette holder 29, per Fig. 9, foot rest 9 also contains supporting plate 27 and slots 27A configured to assist holding a cassette 21).
Regarding claim 11, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the lower support includes a leg rest (see Fig. 7-8, leg-rest 10) and a footrest (see Fig. 8, footrest 9) and the lower support is detachable from the frame (see Fig. 7, upper frame 3 is shown as detachable from lower frame 18 – upper portions/frame removed in Fig. 8-9).
Regarding claim 12, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the backrest, the seat and the lower support are configured to form a flat bed (see Fig. 10-11, backrest can be tilted via joints 38 to form a flat surface “approximately parallel to radiographic unit 22A”).
Regarding claim 13, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the imaging plate can be moved so a plurality of diagnostic views may be recorded (see Fig. 7-11, as shown, imaging cassette 21 may be positioned in various locations on wheelchair [seat | leg rests | backrests] to facility different x-ray views).
Regarding claim 14, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein imaging plates can be coupled to the wheelchair while a user is seated in the wheelchair (see at least Fig. 8, imaging cassette 21 is shown coupled to wheelchair while a user is sitting thereupon).
Regarding claim 15, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the seat, the backrest or the lower support are configured to house an imaging plate (see Fig. 7-11, imaging cassette 21 is shown housed in all the claimed locations).
Regarding claim 16, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 15, and additionally teaches: wherein the imaging plate is positioned between a front and a back or a top and a bottom of the seat, the backrest (see Fig. 11, cassette 21 is shown between a top and rear surface of backrest 3), or the lower support (see Fig. 8, cassette 21 is shown position beneath seat 2 but above holder 29 connected to first support member 23).
Regarding claim 17, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 16, and additionally teaches: wherein the imaging plate is positioned in a depression, a receptacle or a slot (see Fig. 8, slots 23A in first support member 23).
Regarding claim 18, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally teaches: wherein the footrest includes grooves or slots for receiving an imaging plate (see Fig. 7-8, slots 27A in support plate 27 on footrest 9).
Regarding claim 19, Furusho teaches: A wheelchair for radiographic testing (see Fig. 1 or 7, wheelchair 1 and Abstract: “wheelchair capable of radiographing”) comprising:
a radiographically transmissive frame (see Fig. 7, upper frame body 4 and for radiologically transmissive teachings - see col. 10, lines [59-56] and col. 11, lines [11-19]);
a seat (see Fig. 7, seat 2) mounted to the radiographically transmissive frame;
a backrest (see Fig. 7, backrest 3) mounted to the radiographically transmissive frame;
a lower support (see Fig. 7, lower frame body 18 and leg rest 10/foot rest 9) connected to the radiographically transmissive frame;
a plurality of wheels (see Fig. 1, front 7 and rear 8 wheels) connected to the radiographically transmissive frame, the plurality of wheels configured to contact a ground (see Fig. 7 as shown);
wherein at least one of the seat, the backrest, or the lower support having a holder for receiving an imaging plate (see Fig. 7-8, leg rest area has second support member 25 which is configured to hold cassette holder 29, per Fig. 9, foot rest 9 also contains supporting plate 27 and holding members 30 configured to assist holding a cassette 21).
Regarding claim 20, Furusho teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 19, and additionally teaches: wherein the holder is an opening, slot, groove, pocket or fastener (see Fig. 7-8, keyhole slots 23A, 25A, or 27A are used to adjustably support cassette holder 29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited patents show multi-purpose imaging wheelchairs with similar properties to the claimed invention. They show the general state of the art and are of general relevance with respect to the claimed subject matter.
Sincerely,
/DAVID R HARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
1/16/2026