DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: “12” (corresponding to the chassis in paragraph [0073]).
Relatedly, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “12” has been used to designate both the chassis (paragraph [0073]) and the fan cages of the prior art (paragraph [0004]).
Additionally, the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first electronics cable” (claim 1) or “first cable” (claim 17) and “second electronics cable” (claim 1) or “second cable” (claim 17) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality: In paragraph [0076], “each of the plungers 48 of the plurality of fan cages 33 need to be actuated” should be changed to “needs to be” since the subject (“each”) of the phrase is singular. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality: “wherein the mounting portions of the baffle including openings” (line 1) should be changed to “…include openings”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informality: The limitation “at least one of a rib and a slit” (line 2) should be changed to “… and a slot” to be consistent with the terminology used in the specification (the word “slit” appears only in claim 7). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 13, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 states that “the first cable-routing channel is partially defined by the first … fan cage and a third … fan cage” (lines 1-3). However, neither the drawings nor the specification discloses which fan cage of the plurality of fan cages corresponds to the “first … fan cage” or “third … fan cage”. Specifically, it is unclear whether consecutively numbered fan cages correspond to consecutively located fan cages (i.e. whether the second fan cage is located directly in between the first fan cage and third fan cage) This ambiguity renders claim 12 indefinite, as it is unclear which fan cages are intended to define the first cable-routing channel.
Likewise, claim 13, which is dependent upon claim 12 and states “second cable-routing channel is partially defined by [a] second … fan cage and a fourth … fan cage” (lines 1-3)., is indefinite as it is unclear which fan cages are intended to define the second cable-routing channel (i.e. which of the six fan cages shown in the drawings correspond to the second and fourth fan cages or how the second and fourth fan cages are positioned in relation to the first and third cages).
Claim 20 recites both that “the first cable-routing channel is partially defined by the first … and a third … fan cage” (lines 2-4) and that “the second cable-routing channel is partially defined by the second … and a fourth … fan cage (lines 3-5). Thus, claim 20 is indefinite as the positions and relative spatial relationships between the first, second, third, and fourth fan cages is unclear.
For the purposes of examination, based on the information disclosed in the drawings and specification and the Examiner’s best understanding of the claimed invention, the Examiner interprets the first cable-routing channel and second cable-routing channel to be partially defined by fan cages adjacent to each other (i.e. the “first … fan cage” is located directly next to the “third… fan cage”). Further, the Examiner assumes that the two sets of fan cages (the first and third and second and fourth) defining each cable-routing channel do not necessarily have to be directly adjacent to each other. Under this interpretation, in Fig. 14C, if cable-routing channel 145a were the first cable-routing channel, either cable-routing channels 145c or 145d could be the second cable-routing channel. However, if channel 145b were the first cable-routing channel, only channel 145d could be the second cable-routing channel.
Claim 14 recites that “the baffle has mounting portions adapted for mounting to … a first server … and a second server” (lines 1-3). However, only one server is disclosed in the specification and drawings. Since the type of server or relationship between the first and second servers is not stated (e.g., if one server is larger than the other or if they house different electronics), the limitations imposed by the second server are unclear, rendering claim 14 indefinite. For the purposes of examination, based on the drawings and specification and according to the Examiner’s best understanding of the claimed invention, the Examiner has interpreted claim 14 as if the first and second server were functionally the same, with their primary difference being the location of electrical components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 7,259,962 B2) in view of Chianghsieh et al. (US 12,372,101 B1). For clarity, bolded text indicates claim language. Claim 14 has been interpreted as referring to two structurally similar but differently organized servers, as discussed in the claim 14 112(b) rejection above
[Claim 1] Chen teaches: A fan-bracket assembly for use in a chassis of a server (Chen, Abstract), the fan-bracket assembly comprising:
a baffle (Chen, Fig. 6, element 2) having mounting portions (Chen, Fig. 3 and 5, element 24) configured for mounting (Chen, col. 3, lines 57-61) the fan-bracket assembly within the chassis (Chen, Fig. 6, element 3) of the server;
a tray (Chen, Fig. 3, element 21) that is coupled to the baffle (Chen, Fig. 3-5, elements 2 and 21 show that the baffle and tray are integrally formed), the tray including a groove (Chen, Fig. 3, element 22);
a plurality of fan cages (Chen, Fig. 4-6, element 1), each of the plurality of fan cages (Chen, Fig. 1-2, element 11) configured for receiving a fan (Chen, Fig. 2, elements 12 and 115) to move air within the chassis of the server (Chen, col. 3, line 66 – col. 4, line 3), each of the plurality of fan cages including a protruding section (Chen, Fig. 1-5, element 113) that is received within the groove of the tray (Chen, Fig. 3, element 22) such that each of the plurality of fan cages is movable along the tray (Chen, col. 3, lines 23-28), each of the plurality of fan cages including a locking element (Chen, col. 3, lines 45-49) for locking the corresponding fan cage (Chen, Fig. 3-4, elements 1121 and 112) at an operational position relative to the tray (Chen, Fig. 3-4,
element 23).
Chen does not teach a first cable-routing channel. Chianghsieh et al. teaches a fan module assembly for the purpose of cooling a computer server (Chianghsieh et al., Abstract and col. 2, lines 42-45). Specifically, Chianghsieh et al. teaches a fan-bracket assembly including a tray with a groove (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 4, element 416), a plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 10, elements 440 and 450), fans (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 10, element 424), and a first cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above corresponding to gap in between elements 428-1 and 428-2) for receiving a first electronics cable that extends from one side of the fan-bracket assembly to an opposing side of the fan-bracket assembly (Chianghsieh et al., col. 8, lines 16-20).
Chianghsieh et al. teaches that fan partitions (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, elements 428-1 and 428-2) placed in between two fan cages define the bounds of the first cable-routing channel. These fan partitions protect the fans from cables traveling through the first cable-routing channel, and secure the location of the channel (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 37-43). Chen teaches fan cages with solid outer walls (Chen, Fig. 3 and 5, element 11) which can serve the same purpose as the fan partitions. Without the fan partitions, the first cable-routing channel would be partially defined by a first external surface (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, the left wall of fan cage 418-4 that abuts fan partition 428-2) of a first one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-4) of the plurality of fan cages.
Chen and Chianghsieh et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of fan-bracket assemblies within a server. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to leave a gap in between individual fan cages along the tray of the fan-bracket assembly of Chen to form a first cable-routing channel that could accept a first electronics cable, as taught by Chianghsieh et al. This configuration would be beneficial, as it would allow cables to cross the fan-bracket assembly without interfering with or blocking the flow of air through the chassis.
[Claim 2] Chen in view of Chianghsieh et al. teaches: The fan-bracket assembly of claim 1, where the first cable-routing channel is located adjacent to the first one of the plurality of fan cages. Chianghsieh et al. further teaches that the first cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 31-35) is located between the first one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-4) and a second one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-3) of the plurality of fan cages, the first cable-routing channel further defined by a second external surface (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, the right wall of fan cage 418-3 that abuts fan partition 428-1) of the second one of the plurality of fan cages.
[Claim 3] Chen in view of Chianghsieh et al. teaches: The fan-bracket assembly of claim 1. Chianghsieh et al. further teaches that the fan-bracket assembly further includes a second cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above) partially defined by a second external surface (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, the left wall of fan cage 418-3) of a second one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-3) of the plurality of fan cages, the second cable-routing channel for receiving a second electronics cable that extends from the one side of the fan-bracket assembly to the opposing side of the fan-bracket assembly (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 44-49).
[Claim 4] Chen in view of Chianghsieh et al. further teaches: The fan-bracket assembly of claim 1, wherein the mounting portions (Chen, Fig. 3, element 24) of the baffle (Chen, Fig. 3, element 2) include openings (Chen, Fig. 3 and 5, unlabeled circles on element 24) for receiving fasteners that mount the fan-bracket assembly within the chassis of the server (Chen, col. 3, lines 57-61).
[Claim 7] Chen in view of Chianghsieh et al. teaches: The fan bracket assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of fan cages (Chen, Fig. 2, element 11) includes as least one of a rib and a slot (Chen, Fig. 2, element 111) for mating with corresponding features of the fan (Chen, Fig. 2, elements 12 and 115).
[Claim 8] Chen in view of Chianghsieh et al. teaches: The fan-bracket assembly of claim 1, wherein the baffle (Chen, Fig. 3, element 2) includes a flange (Chen, Fig. 3, unlabeled front of baffle 2) that correspond to the plurality of fan cages (Chen, Fig. 3, element 211 indicate locations of fan cages; col. 3, lines 41-44), and wherein the flange includes a plurality of mating features (Chen, Fig. 3, element 23) for allowing the corresponding fan cage to be mated to the baffle at a plurality of locations (Chen, col. 3, lines 44-49).
Chen does not teach that the baffle includes a plurality of flanges corresponding to each of the plurality of fan cages. Chianghsieh et al. teaches that portions of the bracket connecting the plurality of fan cages could be made of separate sections (Chianghsieh et al., col. 6, lines 5-8). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate the flange of Chen into sections so that the plurality of flanges corresponded to the location of the plurality of fan cages and mating features, as taught by Chianghsieh et al, as this would merely be using known elements for their known functions.
[Claim 11] Chen teaches: A fan-bracket assembly for use in servers (Chen, Abstract), the fan-bracket assembly comprising:
a baffle (Chen, Fig. 6, element 2);
a tray (Chen, Fig. 3, element 21) that is coupled to the baffle (Chen, Fig. 3-5, elements 2 and 21 show that the baffle and tray are integrally formed), the tray including a groove (Chen, Fig. 3, element 22);
a plurality of fan cages (Chen, Fig. 4-6, element 1), each of the plurality of fan cages (Chen, Fig. 1-2, element 11) configured for receiving a fan (Chen, Fig. 2, element 12), each of the plurality of fan cages including a protruding section (Chen, Fig. 1-5, element 113) that is received within the groove of the tray (Chen, Fig. 3, element 22) such that each of the plurality of fan cages is movable along the tray (Chen, col. 3, lines 23-28), each of the plurality of fan cages including a locking element (Chen, col. 3, lines 45-49) for locking the corresponding fan cage (Chen, Fig. 3-4, elements 1121 and 112) relative to the tray (Chen, Fig. 3-4, element 23).
Chen does not teach a first configuration or a second configuration. Chianghsieh et al. teaches a fan module assembly for the purpose of cooling a computer server (Chianghsieh et al., Abstract and col. 2, lines 42-45). Specifically, Chianghsieh et al. teaches a fan-bracket assembly including a tray with a groove (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 4, element 416), a plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 10, elements 440 and 450), fans (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 10, element 424),
wherein, in a first configuration, the plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, elements 418-1 to 418-7) is positioned on the tray (Chianghsieh et al., element 416) to form a first cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above corresponding to gap in between elements 428-1 and 428-2), and
wherein, in a second configuration, the plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, elements 418-1 to 418-7) is positioned on the tray (Chianghsieh et al., element 416) to form a second cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above corresponding to the gap in between elements 418-5 and 418-6) being at a different location relative to the tray than the first cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 44-49), each of the first and second cable-routing channels being capable of receiving an electronics cable that extends from one side of the fan-bracket assembly to an opposing side of the fan-bracket assembly (Chianghsieh et al., col. 8, lines 16-20).
Chianghsieh et al. teaches that fan partitions (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, elements 428-1 and 428-2) placed in between two fan cages define the bounds of the first cable-routing channel. These fan partitions protect the fans from cables traveling through the first cable-routing channel, and secure the location of the channel (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 37-43). Chen teaches fan cages with solid outer walls (Chen, Fig. 3 and 5, element 11) which can serve the same purpose as the fan partitions. Without the fan partitions, the first cable-routing channel would be partially defined by at least a first one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-4) of the plurality of fan cages. By the same reasoning, the second cable-routing channel would be partially defined by at least a second one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-5) of the plurality of fan cages.
Chen and Chianghsieh et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of fan-bracket assemblies within a server. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to leave gaps in between individual fan cages along the tray of the fan-bracket assembly of Chen to form a first configuration with a first cable-routing channel that could accept an electronics cable and a second configuration with a second cable-routing channel that could accept an electronics cable, as taught by Chianghsieh et al. This configuration would be beneficial, as it would allow cables from different electronics or directions to cross the fan-bracket assembly without interfering with or blocking the flow of air through the server.
[Claim 12] Chen in view of Chianghsieh et al. teaches: The fan-bracket assembly of claim 11. Chianghsieh et al. further teaches that, in the first configuration, the first cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above) is partially defined by the first one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-4) of the plurality of fan cages and a third one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-3) of the plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 44-49).
[Claim 13] Chen in view of Chianghsieh et al. teaches: The fan-bracket assembly of claim 12. Chianghsieh et al. further teaches that, in the second configuration, the second cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above) is partially defined by the second one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-5) of the plurality of fan cages and a fourth one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-6) of the plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 44-49).
[Claim 14] Chen in view of Chianghsieh et al. teaches: The fan-bracket assembly of claim 11, wherein the baffle has mounting portions (Chen, Fig. 3-5, element 23) adapted for mounting the fan-bracket assembly in multiple configurations (Chen, col. 3, lines 44-49). Chianghsieh et al. further teaches that the fan-bracket assembly may be reconfigured for a different server (Chianghsieh et al., col. 6, lines 41-52). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the fan-bracket assembly of Chen so that it is compatible with (i) a first server when the fan-bracket assembly is in the first configuration and (ii) a second server when the fan-bracket assembly is in the second configuration. As Chianghsieh et al. teaches, this flexibility of configuration would be beneficial as it allows the same fan-bracket assembly system to be used in more than one server or chassis.
Claims 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chianghsieh et al. (US 12,372,101 B1) in view of Chen (US 7,259,962 B2) and Wang et al. (US 2021/0337692 A1). For clarity, bolded text indicates claim language.
[Claim 17] Chianghsieh et al. teaches: A server (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 3, element 200) comprising:
a chassis (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 414) having a base (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 414a) and side walls extending upwardly from the base (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, elements 414b,c);
electronics (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 460) located within the chassis (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 414);
a tray (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 4, element 416) fixed within the chassis (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 4, element 434);
a plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, elements 418-1 to 418-7), each of the plurality of fan cages including a protruding section (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 5, element 426) that connects to the tray (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 4, element 416) such that each of the plurality of fan cages is movable along the tray (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 8A and B show that the once the fan cage protruding section is snapped in place onto the tray, it is prevent from moving vertically, but can still move horizontally along the tray),
a plurality of fans (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 10, element 424), each of the plurality of fans being mounted (Chianghsieh et al., col. 10, lines 41-47) within a corresponding one of the plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 10, elements 418);
wherein the plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, elements 418-1 to 418-7) is movable along the tray (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 44-49) to form (i) a first configuration having a first cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above corresponding to gap in between elements 428-1 and 428-2) for receiving cables (Chianghsieh et al., col. 8, lines 16-20) and (ii) a second configuration having a second cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above corresponding to the gap in between elements 418-5 and 418-6) for receiving cables (Chianghsieh et al., col. 8, lines 16-20), the second cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above corresponding to the gap in between elements 418-5 and 418-6) being at a different location within the chassis than the first cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 44-49).
Chianghsieh et al. does not teach that the tray includes a groove or that each fan cage includes a locking element. Chen teaches “a fan module for use in a server” (Chen, Abstract), which includes a chassis (Chen, Fig. 6, element 3), a tray (Chen, Fig. 3, element 21), and a plurality of fan cages (Chen, Fig. 2, element 11) and fans (Chen, Fig. 2, element 12). More specifically, Chen teaches that the tray includes a groove (Chen, Fig. 3, element 22) and that each of the plurality of fan cages includes a locking element (Chen, col. 3, lines 45-49) for locking the corresponding fan cage (Chen, Fig. 3-4, elements 1121 and 112) relative to the tray (Chen, Fig. 3-4, element 23).
Chianghsieh et al. teaches that fan partitions (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, elements 428-1 and 428-2) placed in between two fan cages define the bounds of a cable-routing channel. These fan partitions protect the fans from cables traveling through the cable-routing channel, and secure the location of the channel (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 37-43). Chen teaches fan cages with solid outer walls (Chen, Fig. 3 and 5, element 11) which can serve the same purpose as the fan partitions, rendering the them unnecessary. Without the fan partitions, the first cable-routing channel would be partially defined by at least a first one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-4) of the plurality of fan cages. By the same reasoning, the second cable-routing channel would be partially defined by at least a second one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-5) of the plurality of fan cages.
Although Chianghsieh et al. teaches that the cable-routing channels can accept cables, Chianghsieh does not teach specific first and second cables coupled to the electronics. Wang et al. teaches “a server system” (Wang et al., Abstract) that includes electronics (Wang et al., Fig. 3, elements 18, 22, and 23) and a fan module (Wang et al., Fig. 3 and 13, element 19). Wang et al. also teaches a supporting member (Wang et al., Fig. 13, elements 24 and 25) that includes at least two openings (Wang et al., Fig. 13, elements 243 and 251) through which cables from the electronics can travel (Wang et al., paragraph [0065]). Assuming that the electronics of Chianghsieh et al. are analogous to those of Wang et al., then cables that pass through the first and second cable-routing channels taught by Chianghsieh et al. constitute at least a first cable and a second cable coupled to the electronics.
Chianghsieh et al., Chen, and Wang et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they all teach fan-bracket assemblies within a server. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the server with a plurality of fan cages and cable-routing channels of Chianghsieh et al. to include the tray and fan cage walls of Chen to create first and second cable-routing channels through which first and second cables coupled to the electronics can pass, as taught by Wang et al. This modification would be beneficial, as it would allow cables from different electronics or directions to cross the fan-bracket assembly without interfering with or blocking the flow of air through the server.
[Claim 18] Chianghsieh et al. in view of Chen and Wang et al. teaches: The server of claim 17. Chen further teaches a baffle (Chen, Fig. 6, element 2) having mounting portions (Chen, Fig. 3 and 5, element 24) that are mounted (Chen, col. 3, lines 57-61) to the chassis (Chen, Fig. 6, element 3) of the server, the tray (Chen, Fig. 3, element 21) being fixed to the baffle (Chen, Fig. 3-5, elements 2 and 21 show that the baffle and tray are integrally formed).
` [Claim 20] Chianghsieh et al. in view of Chen and Wang et al. teaches: The server of claim 17, wherein, in the first configuration, the first cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above) is partially defined by the first one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-4) of the plurality of fan cages and a third one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-3) of the plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 44-49), and wherein, in the second configuration, the second cable-routing channel (Chianghsieh et al., annotated in Fig. 11 above) is partially defined by the second one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-5) of the plurality of fan cages and a fourth one (Chianghsieh et al., Fig. 11, element 418-6) of the plurality of fan cages (Chianghsieh et al., col. 11, lines 44-49).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 7,259,962 B2) in view of Chianghsieh et al. (US 12,372,101 B1) and further in view of Ma (US 2013/0287544 A1). For clarity, bolded text indicates claim language.
[Claim 10] Chen in view of Chianghsieh teaches: The fan-bracket assembly of claim 1. However, neither Chen nor Chianghsieh teaches that the tray includes a closed end and an open end. Ma teaches “A fan assembly [that] includes a guide rail, a number of fan brackets slidably mounted to the guide rail … and a number of fans correspondingly fixed to the fan brackets” (Ma, Abstract). Further, Ma teaches a tray (Ma, Fig. 1, element 11) with a groove (Ma, Fig. 1, element 15) that includes a closed end (Ma, Fig. 1, right side of the tray 11 abuts the wall of the chassis 102) and an open end (Ma, Fig. 1, left side of tray 11), the groove extending between the closed end and the open end (Ma, Fig. 1, element 15 runs the length of the tray), each of the plurality of fan cages (Ma, Fig. 1-3, element 20) being insertable into the groove at the open end of the tray and movable toward the closed end of the tray (Ma, paragraph [0016]).
Chen, Chianghsieh et al., and Ma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they all teach sliding fan-bracket assemblies within a server. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the tray of Chen to have a closed end and an open end, as taught by Ma. This modification would be beneficial, as it would prevent the fan cages from slide off of the tray while the cable-routing channels were being configured and the fan cages locked in place.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9, 15, 16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to be in independent form, including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. For clarity, bolded text indicates claim language.
[Claims 5, 6, 16, and 19] Although a variety of locking elements for fan cages are taught, the prior art made of record does not teach a locking element that includes a hand-actuated plunger that transitions between an open position and closed position without the use of a tool.
[Claims 9 and 15] The prior art of made of record does not teach a fan bracket assembly with a tray coupled to a baffle through a plurality of fasteners (that is, an assembly wherein the tray and the baffle are made separately and are not one integrated element).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pang et al. (US 2013/0170896 A1) teaches a fan fixing apparatus that includes a base with pins and multiple configurations of holes.
Ma et al. (US 2013/0028728 A1) teaches fan brackets that slide along a channel from an open end toward a closed end.
Sun (US 2013/0156597 A1) teaches a fan mounting assembly that slides on parallel rails.
Tang et al. (US 2011/0233360 A) teaches a fan mounting assembly with fixing members that slide along a top groove.
Wang (US 2025/0169025 A1) teaches a fan bracket assembly where fan cages slide along a curved track into position.
Gupta (US 11,096314 B2) teaches a sliding fan bracket assembly with spacers connecting the fans.
Gopalakrishna et al. (US 2019/0182982 A1) teaches a fan bracket housing that engages a fan using ribs.
Giraldo et al. (US 6,616,525 B1) teaches a fan connected to a housing using a spring-loaded plunger pin.
Hsieh et al. (US 2020/0315049) teaches a fan mounting assembly with a middle channel for cable management.
/EMC/Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632