This action is responsive to the amendment filed on August 6, 2026.
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are pending. Claims 12 and 17 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 13, 14 and 16 are currently amended.
The objection to the disclosure on page 1, paragraph [0001] is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The objection to claims 1, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16 and 17 for minor following informalities recited in the previous office action is withdrawn in in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 5 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn in in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-5 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fevola et al. (US 2017/0079898) is withdrawn in in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 12-13 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by each of: Asirvatham et al. (US 2021/0229053), Asirvatham et al. (US 2021/0230100), Asirvatham et al. (US 2021/0230106), Asirvatham et al. (US 2021/0230107), and Asirvatham et al. (US 2021/0230108); and the rejection of claims 4-11 and 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asirvatham ‘053, Asirvatham ‘100, Asirvatham ‘106, Asirvatham ‘107 or Asirvatham ‘108 as applied to claims 1-3, 12-13 and 17 above, and each, further in view of Fernandez-Prieto et al. (US 2013/0336903) are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s statement that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in each of Asirvatham ‘053, Asirvatham ‘100, Asirvatham ‘106, Asirvatham ‘107 and Asirvatham ‘108 was owned by the same person as the present application, namely AdvanSix Resins & Chemicals LLC, and/or was subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person.
The rejection of claims 12 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fevola as applied to claims 1-5 and 13 above is withdrawn in view of the cancellation of these claims.
The rejection of claims 1, 12, 13 and 17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 11 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,458,573 is withdrawn in in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13 and 17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 17/154,919 in view of Fevola et al. (US 2017/0079898) is withdrawn in in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13 and 17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13, 18 and 19 of copending Application No. 17/154,920 in view of Fevola is withdrawn in in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, “Formula I” in line 3 should be deleted
in claim 5, “sodium,” in line 3 should be replaced with “sodium”
in claim 13, “Formula I” in line 4 should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is indefinite in the recital of “(N-methyl pyrrolidone, N-ethyl pyrrolidone)” in line 10 because it is not clear if the limitations inside the parentheses are part of the claim limitation or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Asirvatham et al. (US 2025/0257029), hereinafter “Asirvatham ‘029.”
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 10, Asirvatham ‘029 teaches, in Example 5, a formulation for shampoo comprising 0.1-10 wt% surfactant like 6-(dodecyloxy)-6-oxohexan-1-aminium chloride (see Example 1), ammonium lauryl sulfate anionic surfactant, xanthan gum or acrylate polymer (see [0037]-[0038] and [0042]). Asirvatham ‘029 need not disclose the soap in claim 3 because since this component is not claimed as being present in the composition, rather, this component is cited in the alternative only (see claim 1, last line).
Hence, Asirvatham ‘029 anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fevola et al. (US 2017/0079898, already of record), hereinafter “Fevola.”
Regarding claims 1-5 and 13, Fevola teaches compositions utilizing a first zwitterionic ammonio-alkanamide and/or zwitterionic ammonio-alkanoate surfactant according to Formula 1 and an ingredient comprising a second surfactant other than the first zwitterionic surfactant and solvents, among others (see abstract), wherein Formula I is as follows:
wherein R1 is a linear C6-C22 alkyl hydrophobe; R2 is a linear alkyl group, like C1-C8; R3 is a linear alkyl group like C1-C8; R4 is a linear alkyl group like C1-C8; R5 is a linear alkyl group like C1-C8; Y is O and X can be -SO3- (see [0008]-[0011]), hence, 4-((6-(dodecyloxy)-6-oxohexyl)dimethylammonio)-butane-1-sulfonate, can be envisaged in this formula, i.e., R1 is C12, Y is O, R2 is C5, R4 and R5 are each CH3, R3 is C4 and X is SO3. The second surfactant includes anionic, cationic non-ionic and/or zwitterionic surfactants (see [0029]). The composition may further comprise an inorganic salt like sodium chloride (see [0098]), which reads on the builder.
Fevola need not disclose the recited soap in instant claim 3 since this component is not claimed as being present in the composition, rather, this component is cited in the alternative as recited in claim 1, last line. In Example E15, Fevola teaches a cleansing composition comprising 3.75 wt% compound E4, i.e., 3(-((4-(lauryloxy)-4-oxobutyl)dimethylammonio)-propane-1-sulfonate (see Table 1, page 12), 5.25 wt% sodium laureth-2-sulfate, i.e., an anionic surfactant, 1.25 wt% sodium chloride (which reads on the builder, i.e., inorganic salt of alkali metal, in claims 4-5) and water to 100% (i.e., solvent; see Table 2, page 14). Fevola, however, fails to specifically disclose a formulation comprising 4-((6-(dodecyloxy)-6-oxohexyl)dimethylammonio)-butane-1-sulfonate, say as in Example E15.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the 3(-((4-(lauryloxy)-4-oxobutyl)dimethylammonio)-propane-1-sulfonate in Example E15 with 4-((6-dodecyloxy)-6-oxohexyl)dimethylammonio)butane-1-sulfonate as the specific zwitterionic surfactant not only because they are homologs, but also the latter is one of the selections of surfactants from Formula I as discussed above.
Claims 6-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fevola as applied to claims 1-5 and 13 above, and further in view of Fernandez-Prieto et al. (US 2013/0336903), hereinafter “Fernandez-Prieto.”
Regarding claims 6-11 and 14-16, Fevola teaches the features as discussed above. Fevola however, fails to disclose the incorporation of a bleach like benzoyl peroxide, an enzyme like protease, a polymer like dimethyldiallylammonium chloride homopolymer, and solvents like hydrocarbons and cosolvents like alcohols.
Fernandez-Prieto, an analogous art in personal care composition (see abstract), teaches that personal care compositions comprise bleach like benzoyl peroxide (see paragraph [0215], an enzyme like protease (see paragraph [0184]), a polymer like dimethyldiallylammonium chloride homopolymer (see paragraph [0235]), and solvents like ethanol (see paragraph [0047]) and hydrocarbons (see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the above components into the cleansing composition of Fevola because said components are typical ingredients in personal cleaning compositions as taught by Fernandez-Prieto.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,071,600. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to similar formulations for dry cleaning, each formulation comprising similar ingredients and having overlapping compound, i.e., 4-((6-(dodecyloxy)-6-oxohexyl)dimethylammonio)-butane-1-sulfonate.
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,460,131. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to similar formulations comprising similar ingredients, i.e., defoaming agent in US ‘131 reads on the detergent ingredient of claim 1, both sets of claims have solvents and have overlapping compound, i.e., 6-(dodecyloxy)-6-oxohexan-1-aminium chloride.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,930. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to similar formulations comprising similar ingredients and have overlapping compound, i.e., 6-(dodecyloxy)-6-oxohexan-1-aminium chloride.
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-13 of copending Application No. 19/177,247 in view of Fevola.
Copending ‘247 teaches a liquid composition comprising water and a surfactant of the following formula:
wherein X is chloride as one of the selections (see claim 12). Copending ‘247, however, fails to disclose the incorporation of a detergent as recited in 1-2, and the builders as recited in claims 4-5.
Fevola, an analogous art, as discussed above, teaches in Example E15, a cleansing composition which further comprises 5.25 wt% sodium laureth-2-sulfate, i.e., an anionic detergent, 1.25 wt% sodium chloride, i.e., builder, and water to 100% (see Table 2, page 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an anionic surfactant like sodium laureth-2-sulfate, and sodium chloride builder into the liquid composition of copending ‘247 because these are typical ingredients in a similar composition as taught by Fevola.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the obviousness rejection of claims 1-5 and 13 over Fevola, and claims 6-11 and 14-16 over Fevola in view of Fernandez-Prieto, as they apply to the present claims, Applicant argues that Fevola discloses a broad genus of zwitterionic alkyl-alkanoylamide and/or alkyl alkanoate surfactants (see Formula I) with specific examples including compound E4 (3-((4-lauryloxy)-4-oxobutyl)dimethylammonio)-propane-1-sulfonate) and does not specifically disclose, describe or exemplify 4-((6-(dodecyloxy)-6-oxohexyl)dimethylammonio)-butane-1-sulfonate.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments for the same reasons as discussed in paragraphs 17 and 18 above.
With respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejections discussed above, Applicant requests that the rejections be held in abeyance until the claims in the present application are otherwise found in condition for allowance.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejections discussed above are maintained until such time Applicant submits a timely filed terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761