DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. #18/777,555 filed on July 19, 2024. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Title Objection
The title of the application is objected to under 37 CFR 1.153 because it does not designate the particular article, and as well as not corresponding to the claim inventions. The title of the instant application shall be technically more accurate and descriptive. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11, and 16, the acronyms “PDDCH”, “DCI”, “QCL”, and “DMRS” are undefined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11, and 16, the claims recite the limitation, “… detecting a DCI format with same information …” (Emphasis added). It is unclear if the DCI format is the same, or the DCI conveys the same information. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted that the DCIs convey identical information.
Regarding claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15, and 17-20, claims 2-5 each depend on independent claim 1, claims 7-10 each depend on independent claim 6, claims 12-15 each depend on independent claim 11, and claims 17-20 each depend on independent claim 16 and therefore, inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250133568, hereinafter, “Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura teaches:
A first node for wireless communications, comprising (Matsumura: [0424] FIG. 25 is a diagram to show an example of a structure of the user terminal according to one embodiment ... Fig. 25):
a first receiver (Matsumura: [0424] … The user terminal 20 includes … a transmitting/receiving section 220. Fig. 25), receiving a second information block, the second information block being used to determine that a first search space set and a second search space set are linked (Matsumura: [0090] In the present disclosure, a plurality of PDCCHs/DCI (for example, multi-PDCCH/multi-DCI) applied with repetition transmission may be associated in terms of a certain transmission parameter … for configuration. The certain transmission parameter may be … a search space set … [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, … search space sets corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration …);
the first receiver, receiving a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a reference time-domain resource set (Matsumura: [0090] In the present disclosure, a plurality of PDCCHs/DCI (for example, multi-PDCCH/multi-DCI) applied with repetition transmission may be associated in terms of a certain transmission parameter … for configuration. The certain transmission parameter may be … a CORESET … [0091] For example, certain transmission parameters may be associated with each other between a PDCCH to serve as a time reference (for example, the PDCCH to be transmitted first in repetition transmission) and another PDCCH, for configuration … [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, CORESETs … corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration. A plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates or a plurality of (for example, two) linked search space sets may correspond to one CORESET …); and
the first receiver, monitoring at least a first PDCCH candidate in the first search space set and at least a second PDCCH candidate in the second search space set (Matsumura: [0347] One value may be configured/notified by a higher layer parameter (for example, SearchSpaceZero), and the value may indicate an index from associations (for example, a table) defined in advance and corresponding to a parameter set of a PDCCH monitoring occasion corresponding to one search space set. Another search space set linked to one search space set obtained by the higher layer parameter and certain associations (or a parameter of a PDCCH monitoring occasion of another search space set) may be determined based on a certain rule (refer to FIG. 20D).);
wherein the first PDCCH candidate and the second PDCCH candidate are monitored for detecting a DCI format with same information (Matsumura: [0300] In this case, the UE may assume that a PDCCH (for example, the second PDCCH) including the DCI format and the PDCCH order (for example, the first PDCCH) have the same quasi-co-location characteristics (for example, DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics) (refer to FIG. 14));
at least one of QCL information of a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception on the first PDCCH candidate or QCL information of a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception on the second PDCCH candidate depends on whether at least one of the first PDCCH candidate or the second PDCCH candidate overlaps with the reference time-domain resource set in time domain (Matsumura: [0301] For example, when the UE detects a DCI format in response to PRACH transmission, the UE may assume that the second PDCCH used for transmission of the DCI format and the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) are QCLed, to perform reception processing … [0302] When repetition transmission is applied to/configured for/supported for at least one of the PDCCH order (for example, the first PDCCH) and the second PDCCH, a problem is which PDCCH (or PDCCH candidate/CORESET) among a plurality of PDCCHS (or a plurality of linked PDCCH candidates/plurality of linked CORESETs) is to be used as a reference/basis to judge QCL ... [0307] The UE may assume that a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the second PDCCH and a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) have the same DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics …).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura teaches:
A second node for wireless communications, comprising (Matsumura: [0402] FIG. 24 is a diagram to show an example of a structure of the base station according to one embodiment ... Fig. 24):
a second transmitter (Matsumura: [0402] ... The base station 10 includes … a transmitting/receiving section 120. Fig. 24), transmitting a second information block, the second information block being used to determine that a first search space set and a second search space set are linked (Matsumura: [0090] In the present disclosure, a plurality of PDCCHs/DCI (for example, multi-PDCCH/multi-DCI) applied with repetition transmission may be associated in terms of a certain transmission parameter … for configuration. The certain transmission parameter may be … a search space set … [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, … search space sets corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration …); and
the second transmitter, transmitting a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a reference time-domain resource set (Matsumura: [0090] In the present disclosure, a plurality of PDCCHs/DCI (for example, multi-PDCCH/multi-DCI) applied with repetition transmission may be associated in terms of a certain transmission parameter … for configuration. The certain transmission parameter may be … a CORESET … [0091] For example, certain transmission parameters may be associated with each other between a PDCCH to serve as a time reference (for example, the PDCCH to be transmitted first in repetition transmission) and another PDCCH, for configuration … [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, CORESETs … corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration. A plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates or a plurality of (for example, two) linked search space sets may correspond to one CORESET…);
wherein a receiver of the second information block monitors at least a first PDCCH candidate in the first search space set and at least a second PDCCH candidate in the second search space set (Matsumura: [0347] One value may be configured/notified by a higher layer parameter (for example, SearchSpaceZero), and the value may indicate an index from associations (for example, a table) defined in advance and corresponding to a parameter set of a PDCCH monitoring occasion corresponding to one search space set. Another search space set linked to one search space set obtained by the higher layer parameter and certain associations (or a parameter of a PDCCH monitoring occasion of another search space set) may be determined based on a certain rule (refer to FIG. 20D).);
the first PDCCH candidate and the second PDCCH candidate are monitored for detecting a DCI format with same information (Matsumura: [0300] In this case, the UE may assume that a PDCCH (for example, the second PDCCH) including the DCI format and the PDCCH order (for example, the first PDCCH) have the same quasi-co-location characteristics (for example, DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics) (refer to FIG. 14));
at least one of QCL information of a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception on the first PDCCH candidate or QCL information of a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception on the second PDCCH candidate depends on whether at least one of the first PDCCH candidate or the second PDCCH candidate overlaps with the reference time-domain resource set in time domain (Matsumura: [0301] For example, when the UE detects a DCI format in response to PRACH transmission, the UE may assume that the second PDCCH used for transmission of the DCI format and the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) are QCLed, to perform reception processing … [0302] When repetition transmission is applied to/configured for/supported for at least one of the PDCCH order (for example, the first PDCCH) and the second PDCCH, a problem is which PDCCH (or PDCCH candidate/CORESET) among a plurality of PDCCHS (or a plurality of linked PDCCH candidates/plurality of linked CORESETs) is to be used as a reference/basis to judge QCL ... [0307] The UE may assume that a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the second PDCCH and a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) have the same DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics …).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura teaches:
A method in a first node for wireless communications, comprising (Matsumura: [0402] FIG. 24 is a diagram to show an example of a structure of the base station according to one embodiment ... Fig. 24):
receiving a second information block, the second information block being used to determine that a first search space set and a second search space set are linked (Matsumura: [0090] In the present disclosure, a plurality of PDCCHs/DCI (for example, multi-PDCCH/multi-DCI) applied with repetition transmission may be associated in terms of a certain transmission parameter … for configuration. The certain transmission parameter may be … a search space set … [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, … search space sets corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration …);
receiving a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a reference time-domain resource set (Matsumura: [0090] In the present disclosure, a plurality of PDCCHs/DCI (for example, multi-PDCCH/multi-DCI) applied with repetition transmission may be associated in terms of a certain transmission parameter … for configuration. The certain transmission parameter may be … a CORESET … [0091] For example, certain transmission parameters may be associated with each other between a PDCCH to serve as a time reference (for example, the PDCCH to be transmitted first in repetition transmission) and another PDCCH, for configuration … [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, CORESETs … corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration. A plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates or a plurality of (for example, two) linked search space sets may correspond to one CORESET…); and
monitoring at least a first PDCCH candidate in the first search space set and at least a second PDCCH candidate in the second search space set (Matsumura: [0347] One value may be configured/notified by a higher layer parameter (for example, SearchSpaceZero), and the value may indicate an index from associations (for example, a table) defined in advance and corresponding to a parameter set of a PDCCH monitoring occasion corresponding to one search space set. Another search space set linked to one search space set obtained by the higher layer parameter and certain associations (or a parameter of a PDCCH monitoring occasion of another search space set) may be determined based on a certain rule (refer to FIG. 20D).);
wherein the first PDCCH candidate and the second PDCCH candidate are monitored for detecting a DCI format with same information (Matsumura: [0300] In this case, the UE may assume that a PDCCH (for example, the second PDCCH) including the DCI format and the PDCCH order (for example, the first PDCCH) have the same quasi-co-location characteristics (for example, DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics) (refer to FIG. 14));
at least one of QCL information of a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception on the first PDCCH candidate or QCL information of a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception on the second PDCCH candidate depends on whether at least one of the first PDCCH candidate or the second PDCCH candidate overlaps with the reference time-domain resource set in time domain (Matsumura: [0301] For example, when the UE detects a DCI format in response to PRACH transmission, the UE may assume that the second PDCCH used for transmission of the DCI format and the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) are QCLed, to perform reception processing … [0302] When repetition transmission is applied to/configured for/supported for at least one of the PDCCH order (for example, the first PDCCH) and the second PDCCH, a problem is which PDCCH (or PDCCH candidate/CORESET) among a plurality of PDCCHS (or a plurality of linked PDCCH candidates/plurality of linked CORESETs) is to be used as a reference/basis to judge QCL ... [0307] The UE may assume that a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the second PDCCH and a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) have the same DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics …).
Regarding claim 16, Matsumura teaches:
A method in a second node for wireless communications, comprising (Matsumura: [0402] FIG. 24 is a diagram to show an example of a structure of the base station according to one embodiment ... Fig. 24):
transmitting a second information block, the second information block being used to determine that a first search space set and a second search space set are linked (Matsumura: [0090] In the present disclosure, a plurality of PDCCHs/DCI (for example, multi-PDCCH/multi-DCI) applied with repetition transmission may be associated in terms of a certain transmission parameter … for configuration. The certain transmission parameter may be … a search space set … [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, … search space sets corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration …); and
transmitting a first information block, the first information block being used to determine a reference time-domain resource set (Matsumura: [0090] In the present disclosure, a plurality of PDCCHs/DCI (for example, multi-PDCCH/multi-DCI) applied with repetition transmission may be associated in terms of a certain transmission parameter … for configuration. The certain transmission parameter may be … a CORESET … [0091] For example, certain transmission parameters may be associated with each other between a PDCCH to serve as a time reference (for example, the PDCCH to be transmitted first in repetition transmission) and another PDCCH, for configuration … [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, CORESETs … corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration. A plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates or a plurality of (for example, two) linked search space sets may correspond to one CORESET…);
wherein a receiver of the second information block monitors at least a first PDCCH candidate in the first search space set and at least a second PDCCH candidate in the second search space set (Matsumura: [0347] One value may be configured/notified by a higher layer parameter (for example, SearchSpaceZero), and the value may indicate an index from associations (for example, a table) defined in advance and corresponding to a parameter set of a PDCCH monitoring occasion corresponding to one search space set. Another search space set linked to one search space set obtained by the higher layer parameter and certain associations (or a parameter of a PDCCH monitoring occasion of another search space set) may be determined based on a certain rule (refer to FIG. 20D).);
the first PDCCH candidate and the second PDCCH candidate are monitored for detecting a DCI format with same information (Matsumura: [0300] In this case, the UE may assume that a PDCCH (for example, the second PDCCH) including the DCI format and the PDCCH order (for example, the first PDCCH) have the same quasi-co-location characteristics (for example, DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics) (refer to FIG. 14));
at least one of QCL information of a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception on the first PDCCH candidate or QCL information of a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception on the second PDCCH candidate depends on whether at least one of the first PDCCH candidate or the second PDCCH candidate overlaps with the reference time-domain resource set in time domain (Matsumura: [0301] For example, when the UE detects a DCI format in response to PRACH transmission, the UE may assume that the second PDCCH used for transmission of the DCI format and the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) are QCLed, to perform reception processing … [0302] When repetition transmission is applied to/configured for/supported for at least one of the PDCCH order (for example, the first PDCCH) and the second PDCCH, a problem is which PDCCH (or PDCCH candidate/CORESET) among a plurality of PDCCHS (or a plurality of linked PDCCH candidates/plurality of linked CORESETs) is to be used as a reference/basis to judge QCL ... [0307] The UE may assume that a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the second PDCCH and a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) have the same DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics …).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, and 17, Matsumura discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 as outlined above.
Matsumura further teaches:
when both the first PDCCH candidate and the second PDCCH candidate are orthogonal to the reference time-domain resource set in time domain, the DMRS antenna port for the PDCCH reception on the first PDCCH candidate and a first RS resource are quasi co-located, and the DMRS antenna port for the PDCCH reception on the second PDCCH candidate and a second RS resource are quasi co-located (Matsumura: [0309] Alternatively, among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETS corresponding to the second PDCCH, the CORESET/PDCCH candidate with a relatively high (or low) search space set ID/CORESET ID/CORESET pool ID may have the same QCL as that of the PDCCH candidate/CORESET with a relatively high (or low) search space set ID/CORESET ID/CORESET pool ID among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order);
when both the first PDCCH candidate and the second PDCCH candidate belong to the reference time-domain resource set in time domain, the DMRS antenna port for the PDCCH reception on the first PDCCH candidate and a third RS resource are quasi co-located, and the DMRS antenna port for the PDCCH reception on the second PDCCH candidate and a fourth RS resource are quasi co-located (Matsumura: [0307] The UE may assume that a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the second PDCCH and a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) have the same DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics. [0308] For example, among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETS corresponding to second PDCCH #2, the PDCCH candidate/CORESET starting/ending earlier (or later) in terms of time may have the same QCL as that of the PDCCH candidate/CORESET starting/ending earlier (or later) in terms of time among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (refer to FIG. 16)).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18, Matsumura discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 as outlined above.
Matsumura further teaches:
wherein a first CORESET is associated with the first search space set, and a second CORESET is associated with the second search space set (Matsumura: [0092] In the present disclosure, the PDCCHs applied with repetition transmission may be interpreted as CORESETs/PDCCH candidates/search spaces/search space sets applied with repetition transmission. In other words, repetition transmission being applied to PDCCHs may be interpreted as repetition transmission being applied to CORESETs/PDCCH candidates/search spaces/search space sets. In the present disclosure, a PDCCH, a CORESET, a PDCCH candidate, search space, and a search space set may be interchangeably interpreted. [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, CORESETs/PDCCH candidates/search space sets corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration. A plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates or a plurality of (for example, two) linked search space sets may correspond to one CORESET or may correspond to respective different CORESETs.);
a target time-domain resource set comprises time-domain resources outside the reference time-domain resource set (Matsumura: [0308] For example, among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETS corresponding to second PDCCH #2, the PDCCH candidate/CORESET starting/ending earlier (or later) in terms of time may have the same QCL as that of the PDCCH candidate/CORESET starting/ending earlier (or later) in terms of time among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (refer to FIG. 16));
in the target time-domain resource set, a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception in the first CORESET and a first RS resource are quasi co-located, and a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception in the second CORESET and a second RS resource are quasi co-located (Matsumura: [0309] Alternatively, among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETS corresponding to the second PDCCH, the CORESET/PDCCH candidate with a relatively high (or low) search space set ID/CORESET ID/CORESET pool ID may have the same QCL as that of the PDCCH candidate/CORESET with a relatively high (or low) search space set ID/CORESET ID/CORESET pool ID among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order);
in the reference time-domain resource set, a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception in the first CORESET and a third RS resource are quasi co-located, and a DMRS antenna port for a PDCCH reception in the second CORESET and a fourth RS resource are quasi co-located (Matsumura: [0307] The UE may assume that a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the second PDCCH and a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) have the same DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics. [0308] For example, among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETS corresponding to second PDCCH #2, the PDCCH candidate/CORESET starting/ending earlier (or later) in terms of time may have the same QCL as that of the PDCCH candidate/CORESET starting/ending earlier (or later) in terms of time among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (refer to FIG. 16)).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, and 19, Matsumura discloses on the features with respect to claims 3, 8, 13, and 18 as outlined above.
Matsumura further teaches:
the first receiver, receiving a third information block; wherein the third information block indicates configuration information of a first CORESET and configuration information of a second CORESET; the first CORESET is associated with the first search space set, and the second CORESET is associated with the second search space set (Matsumura: [0092] In the present disclosure, the PDCCHs applied with repetition transmission may be interpreted as CORESETs/PDCCH candidates/search spaces/search space sets applied with repetition transmission. In other words, repetition transmission being applied to PDCCHs may be interpreted as repetition transmission being applied to CORESETs/PDCCH candidates/search spaces/search space sets. In the present disclosure, a PDCCH, a CORESET, a PDCCH candidate, search space, and a search space set may be interchangeably interpreted. [0093] When repetition transmission is applied to PDCCHs, CORESETs/PDCCH candidates/search space sets corresponding to respective different repetition transmissions may be associated with or linked to each other, for configuration. A plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates or a plurality of (for example, two) linked search space sets may correspond to one CORESET or may correspond to respective different CORESETs.);
the configuration information of the first CORESET is used to determine at least one of the first RS resource or the third RS resource, and the configuration information of the second CORESET is used to determine at least one of the second RS resource or the fourth RS resource (Matsumura: [0307] The UE may assume that a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the second PDCCH and a plurality of (for example, two) linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (first PDCCH) have the same DMRS antenna port quasi-co-location characteristics. [0308] For example, among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETS corresponding to second PDCCH #2, the PDCCH candidate/CORESET starting/ending earlier (or later) in terms of time may have the same QCL as that of the PDCCH candidate/CORESET starting/ending earlier (or later) in terms of time among the linked PDCCH candidates/CORESETs corresponding to the PDCCH order (refer to FIG. 16)).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20, Matsumura discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 as outlined above.
Matsumura further teaches:
wherein
the reference time-domain resource set comprises one or multiple symbols, at least one symbol in the reference time-domain resource set is configured as DL by a higher-layer parameter, and one or multiple subcarriers in one or multiple symbols configured as DL by the higher-layer parameter in the reference time-domain resource set are used for uplink transmission (Matsumura: [0135] When the UE detects DCI format 2_1 in a PDCCH transmitted in a control resource set in a slot, the set of symbols are the last Nsymbslot.TINT.2μ−μINT symbols before the first symbol in the control resource set in the slot. TINT corresponds to PDCCH monitoring periodicity provided by higher layer signaling, Nsymbslot corresponds to the number of symbols per slot, μ corresponds to a differential subcarrier spacing configuration (SCS configuration) of a serving cell mapped to each field of DCI format 2_1, and μINT corresponds to a subcarrier spacing configuration of a DL BWP in which the UE receives the PDCCH in DCI format 2_0 … [0138] For example, the UE applies/interprets the information notified by DCI formats 2_1, based on a specific control resource set (for example, reference B) to control transmission processing/reception processing. With this, even when a plurality of DCI formats 2_1 are repeatedly transmitted, the UE can appropriately control communication.).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416