Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0374203.
Kim discloses a biodegradable polyester resin comprising a diol, aromatic dicarboxylic acid and an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid. See paragraph 0040. The diol can be 1,4 butane diol and the aromatic dicarboxylic acid may be terephthalic acid or dimethyl terephthalate and the aliphatic dicarboxylic acid may be adipic acid. See paragraph 0010. The composition can further include another biodegradable resin including those claimed in amounts of 10-100 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the polyester resin. See paragraphs 0251-0252. Kim discloses a method of preparing the biodegradable polyester comprising the steps of preparing a slurry of the diol and the aromatic dicarboxylic acid wherein the slurry stirrer can have two or more blades, (see paragraph 0259-269), esterifying the slurry to prepare a prepolymer wherein the esterification can be performed twice, (see paragraph 0278-0282), then condensation polymerizing the prepolymers to form the biodegradable composition wherein the polycondensation is performed at temperatures of 190-260 for 1-5 hours. See paragraph 0330-0335. The resulting polymer can have a number average molecular weight of 30,000 g/mol -90,000 g/mol which meets the range of 33,000-40,000 g/mol as set forth in amended claim 1. See paragraph 0037. The thus formed polymer can be formed into extruded articles. See paragraph 0363. The composition can include a chain extender in amounts of 0.1 -10 wt % which meets the limitation of 1000-5000 ppm. See paragraphs 0220-0228.
With regard to the particular properties of melt index, melt index change value, and intrinsic viscosity, Kim does not disclose the particularly claimed properties, however, since Kim teaches the same composition made by the same process, it is reasonable to expect that the composition of Kim would have the claimed properties, since like materials must have like properties.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0374203.
Kim discloses a composition and method of making as set forth above.
Kim does not disclose the Ampere value of the agitator.
However, it would have been obvious to have selected the Ampere value which had sufficient power to agitate the composition during preparation.
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0374203 in view of Bastioli et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0220687.
Kim discloses a composition and extruded articles made from the composition as set forth above.
Kim differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose extruding the composition to form a yarn.
However, Bastioli teaches extruding polyester composition comprising aliphatic/aromatic polyester into yarns and fibers. See paragraph 0053.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have extruded the composition of Lee including the chain extender and the second polymer in the claimed amounts to form a yarn as taught by Bastioli and to have selected the diameter of the yarn depending on the properties desired in the final product.
While Kim in view of Bastioli do not explicitly teach the claimed tensile strength, melt index or difference in melting temperature and crystallization temperature, since Kim discloses the same composition formed by the same process, it is reasonable to expect that the composition would necessarily have the claimed properties, since like materials must have like properties, or that it would have been obvious to have selected parameters such as the denier of the extruded yarns as well as post processing steps like drawing and annealing in order to provide a yarn having the desired tensile strength.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that in view of the priority claim and the common ownership of the instant application and the Kim reference, that Kim is not prior art.
However, Applicant has not perfected priority by filing a certified translation of the results. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789