DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1 in the reply filed on 8/4/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/4/2026.
Claims 1-11 remain pending and under prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
No elements are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites:
d. performing two or more correlations between said processed electrical signals and said stored measurements or indications thereof;
e. calculating a correlation value for each of said two or more correlations;
f. determining a position of said DBS lead and/or said at least one macro electrode contact inside said brain based on a correlation with the highest correlation value.
Under the first of the two-prong inquiry of step 2A for evaluating 101, this limitation is considered a mental process because the steps as claimed may be performed in the user’s mind or using pen and paper. The steps also constitute mathematical equations because the correlations are a type of statistical analysis, the correlation value is calculated, which then calculates a position of the DBS lead and/or said macro-electrode contact. Nothing from the claims suggest that the limitations cannot be practically performed in the human mind or using pen and paper.
Under the second of the two-prong inquiry of step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no limitations that indicate improvements to the functioning of a computer or to the technology/technical field; effecting a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease/condition; applying the judicial exception with a particular machine (the control unit and sensor are recited with such generality that they are not considered a particular machine); effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state/thing; applying the judicial exception in a meaningful way beyond generally linking to a particular technological environment.
Since the second of the two-prong inquiry of step 2A is not satisfied, the claims are then evaluated under step 2B.
Under step 2B for evaluating 101, the claim(s) does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because steps a. receiving electrical signals recorded from at least one macro electrode contact of a deep brain stimulation (DBS) lead positioned inside a brain; b. processing said electrical signals; and c. providing stored measurements or indications thereof constitute well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering steps that must occur in every instance and have been recited in a generic manner. The DBS lead with macro electrode contacts is also a generic well-understood, routine, and conventional lead structure within the art. Thus, the claims do not recite any limitations that are significantly more than the abstract idea or mathematical equations.
Claims 2-4 do not provide a practical application of the above abstract idea and do not further add significantly more because the dependent claims merely provide more details regarding the data gathering steps, including the generic well-understood, routine, and conventional structure of a microelectrode and details of the types of measurements.
Claims 5 and 8 merely add details to the mental process/mathematical equation.
Claims 6-7 define a type of human detectable output comprising recommendations; however this merely constitutes an extrasolution activity step of communicating information regarding recommendations to modify at least one parameter of an advancement of the DBS lead. Since no specific machine is claimed, this is performed with generic technology and thus does not place meaningful limits upon the abstract idea.
Claims 9-11 introduce additional mental processes and/or mathematical equations, i.e., filtering, measuring, constructing a waveform, and applying an algorithm described in a generic fashion or well-understood, routine, and conventional manner that is common to all art in the field and thus does not amount to significantly more. No further practical application is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 9, the recitation of “said at least one SPK parameter” lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear if the parameter recited is different than the measurement, previously introduced in Claim 2.
Claims 10-11 are rejected by virtue of dependence on Claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman et al (WO 2018008034 – cited by applicant) in view of Willis et al (US Pub No. 20040236220).
In regard to Claim 1, Bergam et al disclose a method for determining a position of a deep brain stimulation (DBS) lead inside the brain, comprising:
a. receiving electrical signals recorded from at least one macro electrode contact of a deep brain stimulation (DBS) lead positioned inside a brain – “the electrical lead used for recording is also used for providing stimulation, for example DBS to the desired brain region”(pg. 50 line 23-27), “said at least two electrodes comprise at least one macro-electrodes” (pg. 3 line 17-18);
b. processing said electrical signals – “processing circuitry for detection of an anatomical position, wherein said processing circuitry calculates an anatomical position of said electrical lead based on processing of said differential signal and said reference indications of electrical signals associated with said neural tissue” (pg. 3 line 7-10);
c. providing stored measurements or indications thereof – “a memory configured for storing said differential signal and reference indications of electrical signals associated with neural tissue” (pg. 3 line 5-6);
d. performing two or more correlations between said processed electrical signals and said stored measurements or indications thereof – “the correlation equation (2) can be used twice: first when both electrodes are outside the STN and second when both electrodes are inside the STN” (pg. 70 line 3-5);
e. calculating a correlation value for each of said two or more correlations using equations 1-7 (pg. 69 line 15-pg. 71 line 15);
f. determining a position of said DBS lead and/or said at least one macro electrode contact inside said brain – “said processing circuitry analyzes said stored differential signal using said algorithm and calculates said anatomical position of said electrical lead” (pg. 3 line 13-16).
However, Bergman et al do not expressly disclose determining a position of said DBS lead and/or said at least one macro electrode contact inside said brain based on a correlation with the highest correlation value.
Berman et al do disclose the correlations used in determining an outside vs. inside position/location of the DBS lead/at least one macro electrode relative to the STN (sub-thalamic nucleus) location of the brain, including calculating Pearson’s correlation coefficient to evaluate the fit between the observed and predicted position – “quality of fit between the observed "outside-inside" and predicted "outside-inside" c.l.z was optionally evaluated by calculating their Pearson's product- moment correlation coefficient” (p.69 line 29-pg. 70 line 26).
Willis teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous medical device navigation system wherein at least two correlations are calculated to determine position – “cross correlation values are stored in the matrix… [which] are the angular positions in the elevation and azimuth for the simulated positioning transducer positions” (0085, also see 0084), and a correlation with the highest correlation value is used to indicate the position closest to the observed within 1 degree – “angular position corresponding to the highest correlation value in matrix… indicates the position closest to the actual positioning transducer's location within 1 degree [of resolution]” (0085, also see 0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bergman et al such that a correlation with the highest correlation value is used to determine the position of said DBS lead and/or said at least one macro electrode contact inside said brain as taught by Willis as an effective metric when it concerns the correlation or fit between the observed and predicted position of the DBS lead/at least one macro electrode in the brain, as taught by Willis.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein said stored measurements or indications thereof comprise at least one of SPK measurements and/or LFP measurements, best seen in Figure 13A-D (pg. 73 line 11-21) – “graph 170 represents the average spiking activity recorded by bi-polar macro-electrodes LFP, graph 172 represents the average spiking activity recorded by microelectrode SPK, and graph 174 represents the average spiking activity as recorded by monopolar macro-electrode LFP” (pg. 54 line 18-21).
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein said stored measurements or indications thereof are measurements of electrical signals recorded by at least one microelectrode, best seen in Figure 13A-D (pg. 73 line 11-21) – “graph 170 represents the average spiking activity recorded by bi-polar macro-electrodes LFP, graph 172 represents the average spiking activity recorded by microelectrode SPK, and graph 174 represents the average spiking activity as recorded by monopolar macro-electrode LFP” (pg. 54 line 18-21).
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein said stored measurements or indications thereof are measurements of electrical signals recorded by at least one micro contact and/or at least one macro contact of said microelectrode, best seen in Figure 13A-D (pg. 73 line 11-21) –“graph 170 represents the average spiking activity recorded by bi-polar macro-electrodes LFP, graph 172 represents the average spiking activity recorded by microelectrode SPK, and graph 174 represents the average spiking activity as recorded by monopolar macro-electrode LFP” (pg. 54 line 18-21).
6. The method according to claim 1, comprising: delivering a human detectable indication with recommendations to modify at least one parameter of an advancement of said DBS lead according to said determined position – “circuitry 562 detects a transition into and/or out of a brain area, display 508 is configured to signal to a user, optionally in the form of a graphical visualization on a map, and/or text message on the display, and/or sound, and/or vocal signals” (pg. 62 line 23-28).
7. The method according to claim 6, wherein said at least one advancement parameter of said DBS lead comprises at least one of, advancement speed, advancement direction, and advancement step size (pg. 9 line 7-9).
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein said determined position is a position relative to at least one of a position inside said brain, a position along an insertion trajectory of said macro electrode contact inside the body tissue, a position of an entry point of said lead into a skull, and a position of an entry point of said lead into a brain – “calculation of said anatomical position comprises calculation of whether said distal end of said electrical lead has crossed a border between two anatomical regions” (pg. 3 line 23-25).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman et al (WO 2018008034 – cited by applicant) in view of Willis et al (US Pub No. 20040236220) as applied to claim 1, further in view of JP 2013503015, hereinafter referred to as JP.
Bergman et al in combination with Willis disclose the invention above but do not expressly disclose determining a position of said lead if said highest correlation value is larger than 0.8. It is noted that Bergman et al do not disclose any criticality toward using the correlation value of larger than 0.8 as solving a particular problem, conferring a specific advantage, or providing a desired result other than being a known and acceptable result within the correlation value results, for example the disclosure states that the high correlation value can be 0.8, 0.85, or even 0.9 (0226 published spec).
JP teach that it is well-known in the art to use a correlation coefficient function including Pearson’s in an analogous neural lead positioning system, as similarly taught by Bergman et al (p.69 line 29-pg. 70 line 26), such that it is known that “In an advantageous embodiment, the correlation coefficient is not affected by the magnitude scale and ranges from -1 (perfect inverse correlation) to 1 (perfect correlation)” (see translation).
Given the known values of -1 to 1 as perfect correlation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the invention of Bergman et al as modified by Willis such that it determines a position of said lead if said highest correlation value is larger than 0.8 as suggested by JP because a skilled artisan would be able to determine from routine experimentation as well as common sense that higher than 0.8 would indicate a high enough correlation value (close enough to 1 being perfect correlation) to indicate good or exemplary correlation or fit between the observed and predicted position of the DBS lead/at least one macro electrode in the brain as being measured by Bergman et al in the manner above.
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman et al (WO 2018008034 – cited by applicant) in view of Willis et al (US Pub No. 20040236220) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Naor et al (WO 2017158604 A1).
In regard to Claim 9, Bergman et al in combination with Willis disclose the invention above including filtering said received electrical signal with a filter to measure values of said at least one SPK parameter or spike signal from said filtered signals – “ high-pass filtered "spike" signal” (pg. 106 line 11), but do not expressly disclose which extracts electrical signals in a frequency range of 250 Hz-7000 Hz.
Naor et al teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous DBS lead wherein “the recorded signals have the spectral properties of spike signals (300-20kHz), local field potentials (0.001-600 Hz)” (pg. 48 line 18-20). Since Naor et al teach that the spike signals have a frequency range of 250 Hz-7000 Hz, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bergman et al as modified by Willis such that the filtered signals are extracted in a frequency range of 250 Hz-7000 Hz as taught by Naor et al to effectively isolate the at least one SPK parameter as desired by Bergman et al.
10. Bergman et al disclose the method according to claim 9, further comprising reconstructing a waveform from said filtered signals, and to measure said at least one SPK parameter from said reconstructed waveform, best seen in Figure 10 – “microelectrode spiking activity (n=56) after full wave rectification as a function of location on the dorsolateral-ventromedial axis (3mm before and after entering the STN)” (pg. 72 line 32-pg. 33 line 1).
11. Bergman et al disclose the method according to claim 10, further comprising applying a full wave rectification algorithm on said filtered signals to said reconstruct said waveform, best seen in Figure 10 – “microelectrode spiking activity (n=56) after full wave rectification as a function of location on the dorsolateral-ventromedial axis (3mm before and after entering the STN)” (pg. 72 line 32-pg. 33 line 1).
Conclusion
/H.Q.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791