DETAILED ACTION
Sequence Compliance
This application contains sequence disclosures that are encompassed by the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 through 1.825 because there are sequences in Figure 2, for example, that do not contain a SEQ ID NO.
37 CFR 1.821 Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequence disclosures in patent applications.
(a) Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences, as used in §§ 1.821 through 1.825, are interpreted to mean an unbranched sequence of 4 or more amino acids or an unbranched sequence of 10 or more nucleotides. Branched sequences are specifically excluded from this definition. Sequences with fewer than four specifically defined nucleotides or amino acids are specifically excluded from this section.
A complete response to this office action must correct the defects cited above regarding compliance with the sequence rules and a response to the action on the merits which follows.
The aforementioned instance of failure to comply is not intended as an exhaustive list of all such potential failures to comply in the instant application. Applicants are encouraged to thoroughly review the application to ensure that the entire application is in full compliance with all sequence rules. This requirement will not be held in abeyance.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 7/19/24 are objected to because they contain sequences that are encompassed by the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2), but each sequence does not contain a SEQ ID NO., as explained in the “Sequence Compliance” section above. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim inadvertently recites “a a” instead of “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 5-9, 11-13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 4 recite “e.g.” which does not clearly limit the claim and therefore the claim is indefinite. The claim scope is unclear because it is not clear if the recitation after “e.g.” is intended to be required or not.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the modified tRNA" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recited a “modified tRNA”.
Additionally, the specification does not disclose sequences that encode modified tRNAs and conventionally a sequence does not encode the actual modifications. Therefore, the claim is not definite.
Claims 9, 11, and 13 recite “such”, which is not definite. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What specifically is required by the term “such” cannot be clearly ascertained.
Claim 23 recites administration to a subject in need thereof without identifying the particular condition, disease, disorder, or other need. It is unclear what subject would be in need of the tRNA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 15 and 16 broadly encompass methods of increasing tRNA activity, half-lifer, or stability by introducing one or more nucleoside modifications and/or one or more backbone modifications. The claims are not limited to any particular chemical modification, quantity, position, or tRNA sequence.
The specification discloses species of possible modifications, but the working examples are limited to particular placement of 2’-O-methyal and phosphorothioates within the acceptor stem of a specific engineered human arginine tRNA resulting in increased activity. The working example does not demonstrate increased half-life or stability even for the single species.
However, the specification does not adequately describe which modifications at which positions of which tRNAs across the structurally diverse genus of possible modifications that have the structure to result in each of the recited functions.
The specification fails to identify the structure common to the broadly encompassed modifications that are correlated with each of the recited outcomes.
The mere identification of numerous possible modifications does not establish that applicant was in possession of the genus that has the required function.
As demonstrated in the art, the effects of tRNA modifications are position, tRNA sequence, and chemical modification type dependent.
Phizicky et al. (FEBS Letters 584 (2010) 265–271) tech that despite the universality of tRNA modifications, some tRNAs lacking specific modifications are subject to degradation pathways, while other tRNAs lacking the same modifications are resistant (Abstract).
Phizicky et al. is evidence that not all modifications have the same activity in all tRNAs.
Satoh et al. (RNA (2000), 6:680–686) teach that 2’-O-methylcytidine increased the efficiency of reading a G-ending codon when incorporated at the first anticodon position and 2’-O-methylation was detrimental to codon-reading activity when incorporated at the second or third anticodon position.
Satoh et al. is evidence that it was known that the same type of chemical modification can either increase or impair tRNA activity depending upon the location.
Biela et al. (The EMBO Journal, Volume 44, 13, 2025, 3553–3585) teaches that incorporation of pseudouridine (Ψ) into human tRNA. Biela et al. teach: The introduction of Ψ13 and Ψ55 in tRNAGluUUC is most beneficial whereas the addition of Ψ54, which is rare in eukaryotes, does not contribute to the stability of tRNAGluUUC by itself and even lowers the Tm value (page 3558).
Biela et al. is evidence that not every type of chemical modification benefits tRNA stability.
The MPEP states that for a generic claim, the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. See MPEP § 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP § 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative species, the courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number of species to adequately describe a broad genus. In Gostelli, the courts determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gostelli, 872, F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618. Additionally, in Carnegie Mellon University v. Hoffman-La Roche Inc., Nos. 07-1266, -1267 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 8, 2008), the Federal Circuit affirmed that a claim to a genus described in functional terms was not supported by the specification’s disclosure of species that were not representative of the entire genus. Furthermore, for a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim. In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co. the court stated:
"A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d 1601; In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284985 (CCPA 1973) ("In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus ...") Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications under the 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, “Written Description” Requirement”, published at Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pp. 1099-1111 outline the method of analysis of claims to determine whether adequate written description is present. The first step is to determine what the claim as a whole covers, i.e., discussion of the full scope of the claim. Second, the application should be fully reviewed to understand how applicant provides support for the claimed invention including each element and/or step, i.e., compare the scope of the claim with the scope of the description. Third, determine whether the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing.
Thus, having analyzed the claims with regard to the Written Description guidelines, it is clear that the specification does not disclose a representative number of species for modifications incorporated within the instant methods that have the structure for the required function as claimed. Thus, one skilled in the art would be led to conclude that Applicant was not in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Accordingly the disclosure of a limited number of species that are operative embodiments that are not representative of the entire claimed genus does not convey possession of the full scope of the claimed methods.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of increasing the activity of a specific tRNA of the specification in the specific system of the specification, does not reasonably provide enablement for methods of increasing the activity, half-life, or stability of any tRNA by modifying the tRNA to comprise one or more nucleoside modifications and/or one or more backbone modifications of any type and location of any tRNA. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Factors to be considered in a determination of lack of enablement include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988)
The claims are directed to methods of increasing the activity, half-life, or stability of a tRNA by modifying the tRNA to comprise one or more nucleoside modifications and/or one or more backbone modifications of any type and location. The claims are not limited to any particular type of modification(s), quantity, location, or any specific tRNA sequence.
The specification demonstrates that 2’-O-methyl modifications on ribose sugars at one or more of the first four nucleotides (N1-N4) of the acceptor stem and phosphorothioate modifications between those nucleotides resulted in improved activity (Example 1). The example did not measure half-life.
This evidence of improved activity in a specific reporter system (HEK293T cells with a nanoluciferase reporter containing a UGA stop codon) is not commensurate in scope with a method of increasing the activity, half-life, or stability of any tRNA that has one or more of any type of nucleoside modification and/or one or more of any type of backbone modification at any location in the tRNA.
The effects of nucleoside and backbone modifications on tRNA activity, half-life, and stability depend upon the chemical nature of the modification, its position within the tRNA, and the specific tRNA being modified. It cannot reasonably be concluded that the results from the experiment of the instant specification are applicable to the full breadth of modifications encompassed by the instant claims.
One of ordinary skill would be required to select and introduce an enormous genus of possible modifications and combinations of modifications at varying positions within different tRNAs to determine which result in the recited outcomes, an amount of experimentation that is undue.
Phizicky et al. (FEBS Letters 584 (2010) 265–271) tech that despite the universality of tRNA modifications, some tRNAs lacking specific modifications are subject to degradation pathways, while other tRNAs lacking the same modifications are resistant (Abstract).
Phizicky et al. is evidence that not all modifications have the same activity in all tRNAs.
Satoh et al. (RNA (2000), 6:680–686) teach that 2’-O-methylcytidine increased the efficiency of reading a G-ending codon when incorporated at the first anticodon position and 2’-O-methylation was detrimental to codon-reading activity when incorporated at the second or third anticodon position.
Satoh et al. is evidence that it was known that the same type of chemical modification can either increase or impair tRNA activity depending upon the location.
Biela et al. (The EMBO Journal, Volume 44, 13, 2025, 3553–3585) teaches that incorporation of pseudouridine (Ψ) into human tRNA. Biela et al. teach: The introduction of Ψ13 and Ψ55 in tRNAGluUUC is most beneficial whereas the addition of Ψ54, which is rare in eukaryotes, does not contribute to the stability of tRNAGluUUC by itself and even lowers the Tm value (page 3558).
Biela et al. is evidence that not every type of chemical modification benefits tRNA stability.
As outlined above, it is well known that there is a high level of unpredictability in the tRNA for broad introduction of modifications and the instantly recited activities. The scope of the claims in view of the specification as filed together do not reconcile the unpredictability in the art to enable one of skill in the art to make and/or use the claimed invention, namely a broad method of increasing the activity, half-life, or stability of a tRNA via broad introduction of any type of chemical modification and/or backbone modification at any location and in any tRNA.
MPEP 2164.01
Any analysis of whether a particular claim is supported by the disclosure in an application requires a determination of whether that disclosure, when filed, contained sufficient information regarding the subject matter of the claims as to enable one skilled in the pertinent art to make and use the claimed invention.
Also, MPEP 2164.01(a)
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Given the teachings of the specification as discussed above, one skilled in the art could not predict a priori whether introduction of any chemical modification and/or backbone modification of the instant genus in vivo by the broadly disclosed methodologies of the instantly claimed invention, would result in successful increase in the activity, half-life, or stability of any possible tRNA.
Without further guidance, one of skill in the art would have to practice a substantial amount of trial and error experimentation, an amount considered undue and not routine, to practice the instantly claimed invention.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation (see MPEP 2164.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1-6, 8-19, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Anastassiadis et al. (WO 2021/211762 A2).
Anastassiadis et al. teach: tRNA-based effector molecules having a non-naturally occurring modification and methods relating thereto (abstract).
Anastassiadis et al. teach incorporation of modified nucleosides including 2’-O-methyl modifications (pages 4, 96-97 and Table 5) (instant claims 1, 2, and 17).
Anastassiadis et al. teach incorporation of phosphorothioate modifications (page 4)(instant claims 3 and 18).
Anastassiadis et al. teach incorporation of the modifications in the terminal part of the acceptor stem (see pages 2-4, page 15, embodiments 43 and 44, and page 229 (every position))(instant claims 4 and 19).
Although
Anastassiadis et al. teach: the tRNA can be modified with non-naturally occurring modifications to, e.g., increase the level and/or activity (e.g., stability) of the TREM (instant claims 15 and 16).
Anastassiadis et al. teach: In embodiments, a TREM composition (e.g., a pharmaceutical TREM composition) described herein is contacted with a cell or tissue, or administered to a subject in need thereof, in an amount and for a time sufficient to modulate (increase or decrease) one or more of the following parameters: adaptor function (e.g., cognate or non-cognate adaptor function), e.g., the rate, efficiency, robustness, and/or specificity of initiation or elongation of a polypeptide chain; ribosome binding and/or occupancy; regulatory function (e.g., gene silencing or signaling); cell fate; mRNA stability; protein stability; protein transduction; protein compartmentalization (instant claims 14 and 23).
Anastassiadis et al. teach: tRNA sequences encoded by a DNA sequence in Table 1 (page 75)(instant claims 5 and 6).
Anastassiadis et al. teach: The vector may be, e.g., a plasmid or a virus. In some embodiments, delivery is in vivo, in vitro, ex vivo, or in situ (instant claims 8 and 9).
Anastassiadis et al. teach: A TREM, a TREM composition or a pharmaceutical TREM composition described herein may comprise, may be formulated with, or may be delivered in, a carrier (instant claims 10 and 13).
Anastassiadis et al. teach: A lipid nanoparticle formulation comprising a TREM of any one of embodiments (instant claims 11 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anastassiadis et al. (WO 2021/211762 A2), as applied to claims 1-6, 8-19, and 23 above, and further in view of Murray et al. (WO 2012/170433 A1).
Although Anastassiadis et al. teach tRNA sequences encoded by a DNA sequence in Table 1 (page 75)(instant claims 5 and 6); and that the vector may be, e.g., a plasmid or a virus. In some embodiments, delivery is in vivo, in vitro, ex vivo, or in situ (instant claims 8 and 9), Anastassiadis et al. do not teach that the oligonucleotide comprising a promoter and/or terminator.
However, it would have been obvious for the construct to comprise a promoter and terminator because these elements are routinely utizl3ed to drive expression of encoded tRNA sequences, as evidenced by Murray et al.
Murray et al. teaches a T7 promoter, a sequence encoding a tRNA, and a transcription terminator domain. Murray et al. teaches incorporation of the cassette into a plasmid expression vector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate these elements into the construct of Anastassiadis et al. with the motivation and reasonable expectation of facilitating transcription and expressing the tRNA.
Conclusion
/AMY ROSE HUDSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636