DETAILED ACTION
Dual-Use Guard of Angle Grinder
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
There is an abstract ,and applicant should note that it does contain language directed to the purported merits “Debris can be effectively prevented from splashing out from the side face of the guard.”
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the an arc-shaped notch must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US20170072534A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a first guard (720, figure 31), a connecting portion (750, figures 31-33) and a second guard (770, figures 31-33) wherein the first guard comprises a semicircular or fan-shaped base (731, figure 32) and an enclosure (733, figure 32) arranged on an edge (734, figure 32) of the semicircular or fan-shaped base, the enclosure (733, figures 31-33) extends towards a side of the semicircular or fan-shaped base by a predetermined length (figure 31), an arc-shaped notch (para 0073-0089 0165-0168) allowing a spindle (24, figure 2) of the angle grinder to penetrate through is formed in a center of the semicircular or fan-shaped base, an extension (figures 23,31-33) raised towards a side away from the enclosure is arranged at the arc-shaped notch of the semicircular or fan-shaped base, the connecting portion (750, figures 31-33) connected to the angle grinder is fixedly arranged on the extension of the semicircular or fan-shaped base, and the second guard (770, figures 31-33) is fixedly arranged on a side (para 0164-0165), away from the semicircular or fan-shaped base, of the enclosure and shaped as a small cut circle (figures 31-33).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches wherein an arc edge (see edge 734, figure 32) bending towards the center of the semicircular or fan-shaped base is arranged at an end, away from the semicircular or fan-shaped base, of the enclosure (see 733, figures 31-33).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura teaches wherein a slope (see annotated figure below) corresponding to the arc edge is arranged on an edge of the second guard, and the slope on the edge of the second guard is attached to an outer side or an inner side of the arc edge.
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura teaches wherein the arc edge is connected to the second guard by welding or riveting (790; para 0168; figure 31).
Additionally, regarding claim 4, this is a product by process limitation. MPEP
2113 clearly states "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product- by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different processes."
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura teaches wherein the connecting portion is a hoop (750,figure 33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US20170072534A1).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura teaches all limitation stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the second guard is arranged adjacent to a middle area in a length direction of the enclosure.
However, Nakamura teaches in a different embodiment guard for an angle grinder that includes the second guard (534, figure 19) is arranged adjacent to a middle area (para 0132-0138) in a length direction of the enclosure (537, figure 14-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakamura’s second guard is arranged adjacent to a middle area in a length direction of the enclosure based on the teachings of within different embodiment of Nakamura. This modification would help that reduce the possibility of losing the second protective cover (see para 0147-0148 of Nakamura).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the hoop is fixedly connected to the extension by welding
However, Nakamura teaches in a different embodiment components of the guard of the angle grinder can be connected by welding (see para 0176).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakamura using a known alternative process of joining the hoop to be fixedly connected to the extension. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable result of providing a process of joining components together within the guard.
Further, this is a product by process limitation. MPEP
2113 clearly states "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product- by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different processes."
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723