DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two jambs arranged on different faces of the support beam as recited in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 10-13, 15 & 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “optionally” is not clear and it can’t be determined if the limitations after optionally are required by the claim or not.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “optionally” is not clear and it can’t be determined if the limitations after optionally are required by the claim or not.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations “optionally” and “further optionally” are not clear and it can’t be determined if the limitations after optionally are required by the claim or not.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "spine" in lines 2 & 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “optionally” is not clear and it can’t be determined if the limitations after optionally are required by the claim or not.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “optionally” is not clear and it can’t be determined if the limitations after optionally are required by the claim or not.
Regarding claim 12, the limitations “optionally” and “further optionally” are not clear and it can’t be determined if the limitations after optionally are required by the claim or not.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “optionally” is not clear and it can’t be determined if the limitations after optionally are required by the claim or not.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “optionally” is not clear and it can’t be determined if the limitations after optionally are required by the claim or not.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "spine" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, 14, 15, 17 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howington et al. (US patent application publication 2011/0304253) (hereinafter Howington).
Regarding claim 1, Howington discloses a support beam (36) for a refrigerator, the support beam comprising: an outer shell (48) defining a cavity, a filler (46) occupying the cavity, at least one jamb (at 64, see Fig. 3) formed by the outer shell, wherein the filler and outer shell are formed of the same material ([0024]) teaches they are both polyurethane.
Regarding claim 2, Howington discloses a support beam for a refrigerator, the support beam comprising: a rigid spine (48) comprising a keyed surface (Fig. 4), a filler (46) at least partially coating the spine, and engaged with the keyed surface (Fig. 4), at least one jamb (at 64, see Fig. 4), formed by the filler, wherein the filler and the spine are formed of the same material ([0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the material is a polymer, optionally the polymer is polypropylene ([0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the filler is a foam ([0024]), optionally wherein the foam comprises expanded polypropylene.
Regarding claim 5, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the outer shell or spine is a single piece ([0024]), optionally formed by extrusion, and further optionally wherein the outer shell or spine are formed by extrusion of polypropylene.
Regarding claim 6, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the support beam comprises two jambs (left and right sides of 64), each arranged to abut first and second respective doors.
Regarding claim 8, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the support beam is a barrier to thermal conductivity between the interior of a refrigerator and the exterior of a refrigerator (via 60).
Regarding claim 9, Howington discloses a support beam wherein, in use, the support beam provides a closing face to a door of a refrigerator (bottom face in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the support beam comprises a door sealing surface, optionally an air-tight door sealing surface (at 64).
Regarding claim 11, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the support beam comprises an ancillary component mount (54) optionally formed in the filler or outer shell.
Regarding claim 12, Howington discloses a support beam wherein an ancillary component (52) is at least temporarily fixed to the ancillary component mount, and optionally wherein the ancillary component is a light, further optionally a light strip, and still more optionally an LED light strip.
Regarding claim 14, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the support beam is capable of bearing the load of one or more refrigerator shelves and/or a refrigerator top panel (this is an intended use limitation which Howington is capable of performing).
Regarding claim 15, Howington discloses a support beam wherein the support beam is provided with one or more accessible fixings to at least temporarily connect the support beam to a refrigerator ([0024]), and optionally wherein the one or more accessible fixings are tool-less fixings.
Regarding claim 17, Howington discloses a refrigerator comprising a support beam as claimed in claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Howington discloses a kit of parts comprising a support beam as claimed in claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wach et al. (US patent application publication 2013/0285517) (hereinafter Wach).
Regarding claim 1, Wach discloses a support beam for a refrigerator, the support beam comprising: an outer shell (12) defining a cavity, a filler (18) occupying the cavity, at least one jamb (21) formed by the outer shell, wherein the filler and outer shell are formed of the same material ([0041] teaches PVC).
Regarding claim 6, Wach discloses a support beam wherein the support beam comprises two jambs (21a, 21b), each arranged to abut first and second respective doors.
Regarding claim 7, Wach discloses a support beam wherein the two jambs are arranged on different faces of the support beam (at 21a & 21b).
Regarding claim 16, Wach discloses a method of manufacturing a support beam as claimed in claim 1 comprising: extruding an outer shell (12), the outer shell according to claim 1, and applying a filler (18) to the cavity of the outer shell, such that the filler adheres to the outer shell or spine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howington in view of An (US patent application publication 2004/0189165).
Regarding claim 13, Howington discloses the support beam as claimed. Howington does not disclose a support beam wherein the support beam further comprises means to urge a door in contact with the support beam towards the support beam, optionally wherein the urging means is a magnet or ferromagnetic strip. An teaches a support beam comprising a means to urge (32) a door in contact with the support beam. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Howington to comprise a means to urge in view of An’s teaching, because this arrangement would have forces a door to seal on the surface as taught by An.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637