DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Reed et al. (USPN 7632196) in view of Stites et al. (US 2012/0196701).
Regarding claim 1, Reed et al. discloses a golf club having a shaft 200, a grip 300, and a golf club head 100. As evident by Figure 29, the shaft includes a proximal end and a distal end wherein a grip is attached to the shaft proximal end. The club head is attached to the shaft distal end and includes a face, sole, crown, skirt, and bore. Evident by Figure 10, the face is positioned at a front portion of the club head includes a top edge height, and lower edge height, and a face height that is the difference between the maximum top edge height and the minimum lower edge height (See paragraph bridging columns 4 and 5). The sole is positioned at a bottom portion of the club head. The crown is positioned at a top portion of the club head. The skirt is positioned around a portion of a periphery of the club head between the sole and crown. The collective of the face, crown, sole, and skirt define an outer shell that further defines a volume. The club head also includes a rear portion opposite the face. Figure 10 also discloses a bore having a center shaft axis that intersects the horizontal ground plane to define and origin point. The bore is located on the heel side of the club head having receives the shaft distal end for attachment to the club head. The toe side is located opposite the heel side. As evident by Figures 13 and 14, The club head having a blade length measured from the origin point toward the toe side to the most distant point on the club head. The blade length also includes a heel blade length section measured in the same direction as the blade length from the origin point to an engineering impact point and a toe blade length. As evident by Figures 15, 16, and 17, a center of gravity of the club head is located vertically toward the crown from the origin point a distance Ycg, horizontally from the origin point toward the toe side a distance Xcg that is parallel to the face and ground plane, and a distance Zcg from the origin toward the rear portion in a direction orthogonal to the vertical direction Ycg and orthogonal to the horizontal direction Xcg. Reed et al. does not disclose a stress reducing feature along the sole. Stites et al. discloses, in Figures 3 and 4, a club head having a stress reducing feature 140, referred to as SRF, along the sole, referred to as SSRF, having a stress reducing feature length between the toe-most point and the heel-most point that is greater than a heel blade length section, a SSRF leading edge, SSRF trailing edge, SSRF volume, SSRF width, and SSRF depth. A portion of the SRF contains a secondary elastic material 160 (See Figure 4 and Paragraph 0077). Stites et al. notes that the secondary elastic material is polyurethane rubber, which inherently has a density of about 1.3 g/cm3 (See Paragraph 0077). The SSRF includes a SSRF aperture recessed from the sole and extending through the outer shell. Stites notes that the secondary elastic material can extend over at least a portion of the length which implies that the insert can extend the entire length if desired (See Paragraph 0076). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an SSRF feature, as taught by Stites et al., in order to increase the flexure of the face of the club head. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a secondary elastic material, as taught by Stites et al., in order to prevent overdeformation of the channel. With respect to the characteristic time, the combination would meet the requirement due to the structural limitations of the instant invention being met.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10245485. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 10245485 does not claim the club head having a blade length. Though not in claim 1 of US 10245485, claim 2 claims this limitation. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found claim 1 of the instant application to be obvious over claims 1 and 2 of US 10245485.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10792542. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 10792542 does not claim the club head having a secondary elastomer material, SSRF width, and SSRF volume. Though not in claim 1 of US 10792542, claim 2 claims the secondary elastic material having a density of less than 3 g/cm3. Claim 6 of US 10792542 claims the SSRF having a width. Claim 7 of US 10792542 claims the SSRF having a volume. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found claim 1 of the instant application to be obvious over claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 of US 10792542.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 6 and 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10556160. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 10556160 does not claim the blade length and SSRF aperture length at least 50% of the Xcg distance. Though not in claim 1 of US 10245485, claim 13 claims the SSRF aperture length being at least 50% of the Xcg distance and claim 2 claims the blade length. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found claim 1 of the instant application to be obvious over claims 1, 2, and 13 of US 10556160.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 9950223 in view of Stites et al. (US 2012/0196701). US 9950223 claims the same subject matter except for a secondary elastic material having a density less than 3 g/cm3. A portion of the SRF contains a secondary elastic material 160 (See Figure 4 and Paragraph 0077). Stites et al. discloses a club head having a channel wherein a secondary elastic material is located within it. Stites et al. notes that the secondary elastic material is polyurethane rubber, which inherently has a density of about 1.3 g/cm3 (See Paragraph 0077). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a secondary elastic material, as taught by Stites et al., in order to prevent overdeformation of the channel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711