DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the doorpost at the front of the cabinet recited in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “adjacent support surfaces are spaced by a recess” is not clear because the claim never defines or recites “a support surface”. The claim will be examined as if it read –adjacent shelf supports are spaced by a recess--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 & 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (US patent 6,238,032) (hereinafter Cooper) in view of Miller, Jr. et al. (US patent 5,645,182) (hereinafter Miller, Jr.).
Regarding claim 1, Cooper discloses a refrigerator appliance, comprising: a cabinet (10) comprising a rear side (20) and a door (28)opposite the rear side at a front of the cabinet; a panel (40) disposed at the rear side of the cabinet and comprising an integrally moulded first shelf support (54) for supporting a rear end of a shelf (Fig. 4 & Col. 3: 66-Col., 4: 10); and a second shelf support (56) spaced from the first shelf support and arranged to support a front and/or side of the shelf (Fig. 4).
Cooper does not disclose wherein the second shelf support comprises a rail having a plurality of attachment positions for a clip to support the shelf. Miller, Jr. teaches a shelf support comprising a rail (78) having a plurality of attachment positions (80) for a clip (70) to support a shelf. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replaced the shelf support of Cooper with the shelf support of Miller, Jr., because this arrangement would have replaced one known shelf support with another known shelf support yielding a predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the first shelf support comprises a plurality of integrally moulded support surfaces (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the heights of the support surfaces of the first shelf support correspond to the attachment positions of the second shelf support (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein adjacent support surfaces are spaced apart by a recess shaped and sized for receiving the shelf (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the second shelf support comprises a first rail (Miller, Jr.: 78) having a plurality of attachment positions (Miller, Jr.: 80) for a first clip (Miller, Jr.: 70) attachable to one of the plurality of attachment positions of the first rail, and a second rail (Miller, Jr.: 78, opposite side) having a plurality of attachment positions (Miller, Jr.: 78) for a second clip (Miller, Jr.: 70) attachable to one of the plurality of attachment positions of the second rail.
Regarding claim 6, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the respective first and second rails are arranged to support a front of the shelf (Miller, Jr.: Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the respective first and second rails are arranged to support a side of the shelf (Miller, Jr.: Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the first rail is arranged to support one of the front and side of the shelf, and the second rail is arranged to support the other of the front and side of the shelf (Miller, Jr.: Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the second shelf support is disposed on or adjacent to a doorpost (29) at the front of the cabinet (Figs. 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 10, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the first shelf support extends partially over the height of the rear side of the cabinet (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein ends of the first shelf support are spaced from a top and bottom of the cabinet (Figs. 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 12, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the panel is an insulated panel (at 38).
Regarding claim 13, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator comprising a moulding (40) that extends across the rear side of the cabinet, and wherein the first shelf support is formed on the moulding (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the moulding further extends across the top and/or bottom of the cabinet (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the moulding further extends around at least one side of the cabinet (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the plurality of attachment positions are provided by openings (Miller, Jr.: 80) in the rail.
Regarding claim 17, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator further comprising a clip (Miller Jr.: 70) for the second shelf support, and wherein the clip comprises two protruding arms (Miller, Jr.: 72, 77), each arm being attachable to an opening in the rail (Miller, Jr. Figs. 5 & 6).
Regarding claim 19, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the first shelf support extends partially across the width of the rear side of the cabinet (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the first shelf support comprises a first support portion (54) at a first side and a second support portion (54, opposite side) spaced apart from the first support portion at a second side (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 21, Cooper, as modified, teaches a refrigerator wherein the refrigerator appliance is a back bar refrigerator appliance (Cooper, as modified, is capable of performing this).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper in view of Miller, Jr. and Adanur et al. (US patent application publication 2018/0127150) (hereinafter Adanur).
Regarding claim 18, Cooper, as modified, teaches the refrigerator as claimed. Cooper, as modified, does not teach a refrigerator wherein the first shelf support extends across the width of the rear side of the cabinet. Adanur teaches a shelf support that extends from the width of a side of a cabinet (Fig. 1). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cooper, as previously modified, wherein the first shelf support extends across the width of the rear side of the cabinet in view of Adanur’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known configuration with another known configuration yielding a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637