DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “cause the replacement motherboard to store the BIOS entitlements in the storage when at least one of the IHS is manufactured or when the replacement motherboard is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS”. However, Applicant’s disclosure as originally filed does not provide any description of the replacement motherboard store the BIOS entitlements in the storage when at least one of the IHS is manufactured or when the replacement motherboard is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS, as it is a replacement for the previous motherboard (See Paragraph 25) and it is not installed in the system at time of manufacture or custom configuration (See Paragraphs 49-50). For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “cause the IHS to store the BIOS entitlements in the storage when at least one of the IHS is manufactured or when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS”.
Dependent claims inherit the lack of written description of their parent claims and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “rebooting the replacement motherboard for the first time” in Line 4. It is unclear as to how the motherboard can be rebooted for the first time, as the term “rebooting” requires it to have been previously booted. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “booting the replacement motherboard for the first time”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "a replacement motherboard" in Line 6. It is unclear as to whether this refers to the same replacement motherboard previously recited in the claim. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the replacement motherboard”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “cause the replacement motherboard to store the BIOS entitlements in the storage when at least one of the IHS is manufactured or when the replacement motherboard is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS”. It is unclear as to how the replacement motherboard can perform any actions when the IHS is manufactured or custom configured, as it is a replacement for the previous motherboard (See Paragraph 25) and it is not installed in the system at time of manufacture or custom configuration (See Paragraphs 49-50). For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “cause the IHS to store the BIOS entitlements in the storage when at least one of the IHS is manufactured or when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS”.
Dependent claims inherit the indefiniteness of their parent claims and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0103837 to Sayyed et al. (“Sayyed”), US Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0110207 to Herzi (“Herzi”), and knowledge commonly known in the art, as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0215069 to Nakajima (“Nakajima”), US Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0347224 to Robba et al. (“Robba”), and US Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0176800 to Minakawa (“Minakawa”).
In reference to Claim 1, Sayyed discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 and Paragraphs 5 and 23), comprising: a processor (See Figure 1 Number 102 and Paragraphs 5 and 59); and a memory coupled to the processor (See Figure 1 Number 114 and Paragraphs 5 and 59), the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to (See Paragraphs 5 and 59), when a replacement motherboard (See Figure 4 Number 442 and Paragraph 44) is booted for the first time (See Paragraphs 54-55): retrieve, from a storage (See Figure 4 Number 430 and Paragraphs 43-44), one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS (See Figure 4 Number 432, Figure 6 Numbers 622-628, and Paragraphs 19, 45-46 and 56-57); configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements (See Figure 6 Number 632 and Paragraph 57); and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation (See Figure 6 Number 610 and Paragraphs 55 and 57). However, Sayyed does not explicitly disclose that the storage is a QR code, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS. Herzi discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 and Paragraphs 1 and 13), comprising: a processor (See Figure 2 Number 202A and Paragraphs 20--21); and a memory coupled to the processor (See Figure 2 Number 204 and Paragraphs 21-23 and 27), the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS (See Figure 6 Numbers 610-612 and Paragraphs 40-43), wherein the QR code comprises a printed label (See Paragraph 36); configure a BIOS using the BIOS entitlements (See Figure 6 Number 614 and Paragraph 43); and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation (See Paragraphs 4 and 34). However, Herzi is silent as to the positioning of the printed QR code label, and does not explicitly disclose that the QR code comprises a label affixed to the housing. Official Notice is taken that affixing a printed QR code label containing configuration information to the housing of an information handling system is well known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima (See Paragraph 84), Robba (See Paragraph 22), and Minakawa (See Paragraph 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Sayyed using the printed QR code label for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the BIOS entitlement storage, and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the invention of Claim 1, because the simple substitution of the QR code for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the BIOS entitlement storage of Sayyed would have yielded the predictable result of recording the BIOS entitlements in a nonvolatile manner to enable easy, efficient, and fast transfer to the replacement motherboard without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi and Paragraphs 5, 16, and 19 of Sayyed); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Herzi using a replacement motherboard in the same IHS as the recipient of the saved BIOS entitlements of Sayyed, and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the invention of Claim 1, in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a motherboard, which is the backbone of the IHS, to be replaced without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraph 16 of Sayyed and Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa).
In reference to Claim 2, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Sayyed further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to receive user input for manually inputting the BIOS entitlements (See Paragraph 32). Herzi further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to receive user input for manually inputting the BIOS entitlements (See Paragraphs 36, 38, and 43).
In reference to Claim 3, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Herzi further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS (See Figure 3 Number 338 and Paragraphs 32-33 and 43).
In reference to Claim 4, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Sayyed further discloses that the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the storage (See Paragraph 52). Herzi further discloses that the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code (See Paragraph 30).
In reference to Claim 5, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Sayyed further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to inhibit normal operation of the IHS until the BIOS entitlements are successfully configured on the motherboard (See Paragraphs 55-57 [booting does not continue until configuration completes]). Herzi further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to inhibit normal operation of the IHS until the BIOS entitlements are successfully configured on the IHS (See Paragraph 34 [rebooting is not performed until configuration completes]).
In reference to Claim 6, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Sayyed further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to store the BIOS entitlements in the storage when the IHS is manufactured (See Paragraphs 45 and 53).
In reference to Claim 7, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Sayyed further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to store the BIOS entitlements in the storage when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS (See Paragraphs 51-52). Herzi further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to store the BIOS entitlements in the QR code when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS (See Paragraphs 5, 16, 34, and 41).
In reference to Claim 8, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Sayyed further discloses that the wherein the program instructions are stored in a BIOS portion of the replacement motherboard (See Paragraphs 30-31 and 42). Herzi further discloses that the wherein the program instructions are stored in a BIOS portion of the IHS (See Paragraph 32).
In reference to Claim 9, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Sayyed further discloses that the IHS comprises at least one of a workstation or a desktop computer (See Paragraphs 21 and 23). Herzi further discloses that the IHS comprises at least one of a workstation or a desktop computer (See Paragraphs 17 and 19).
In reference to Claim 10, Sayyed discloses a BIOS entitlement retention method for a motherboard replacement (See Paragraphs 19, 45-46 and 56-57), the BIOS entitlement retention method comprising, rebooting a replacement motherboard (See Figure 4 Number 442 and Paragraph 44) for the first time (See Paragraphs 54-55): retrieving, from a storage (See Figure 4 Number 430 and Paragraphs 43-44), one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements (See Figure 4 Number 432, Figure 6 Numbers 622-628, and Paragraphs 19, 45-46 and 56-57) associated with an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 and Paragraphs 5 and 23); configuring a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements (See Figure 6 Number 632 and Paragraph 57); and completing booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation (See Figure 6 Number 610 and Paragraphs 55 and 57). However, Sayyed does not explicitly disclose that the storage is a QR code, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS. Herzi discloses a BIOS entitlement retention method for a motherboard replacement (See Paragraphs 40-43), the BIOS entitlement retention method comprising: retrieving, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements (See Figure 6 Numbers 610-612 and Paragraphs 40-43) associated with an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 and Paragraphs 1 and 13), wherein the QR code comprises a printed label (See Paragraph 36); configuring a BIOS using the BIOS entitlements (See Figure 6 Number 614 and Paragraph 43); and completing booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation (See Paragraphs 4 and 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Sayyed using the printed QR code label for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the BIOS entitlement storage, and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the invention of Claim 10, because the simple substitution of the QR code for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the BIOS entitlement storage of Sayyed would have yielded the predictable result of recording the BIOS entitlements in a nonvolatile manner to enable easy, efficient, and fast transfer to the replacement motherboard without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi and Paragraphs 5, 16, and 19 of Sayyed); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Herzi using a replacement motherboard in the same IHS as the recipient of the saved BIOS entitlements of Sayyed, and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the invention of Claim 10, in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a motherboard, which is the backbone of the IHS, to be replaced without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraph 16 of Sayyed and Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa).
In reference to Claim 11, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 10 above. Sayyed further discloses receiving user input for manually inputting the BIOS entitlements (See Paragraph 32). Herzi further discloses receiving user input for manually inputting the BIOS entitlements (See Paragraphs 36, 38, and 43).
In reference to Claim 12, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 10 above. Herzi further discloses receiving the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS (See Figure 3 Number 338 and Paragraphs 32-33 and 43).
In reference to Claim 13, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 10 above. Sayyed further discloses encrypting the BIOS entitlements on the storage (See Paragraph 52). Herzi further discloses encrypting the BIOS entitlements on the QR code (See Paragraph 30).
In reference to Claim 14, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 10 above. Sayyed further discloses storing the BIOS entitlements in the QR code when the IHS is manufactured (See Paragraphs 45 and 53).
In reference to Claim 15, Sayyed and Herzi disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 10 above. Sayyed further discloses storing the BIOS entitlements in the QR code when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS (See Paragraphs 51-52). Herzi further discloses storing the BIOS entitlements in the QR code when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS (See Paragraphs 5, 16, 34, and 41).
In reference to Claim 16, Sayyed discloses a BIOS entitlement retention system for a motherboard replacement, the BIOS entitlement retention system comprising: a replacement motherboard (See Figure 4 Number 442 and Paragraph 44) comprising: a processor (See Figure 1 Number 102 and Paragraphs 5 and 59); and a memory coupled to the processor (See Figure 1 Number 114 and Paragraphs 5 and 59), the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the replacement motherboard to (See Paragraphs 5 and 59), when a replacement motherboard (See Figure 4 Number 442 and Paragraph 44) is booted for the first time (See Paragraphs 54-55): retrieve, from a storage (See Figure 4 Number 430 and Paragraphs 43-44), one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements (See Figure 4 Number 432, Figure 6 Numbers 622-628, and Paragraphs 19, 45-46 and 56-57) associated with an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 and Paragraphs 5 and 23); configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements (See Figure 6 Number 632 and Paragraph 57); and complete booting of the replacement motherboard into a normal mode of operation (See Figure 6 Number 610 and Paragraphs 55 and 57). However, Sayyed does not explicitly disclose that the storage is a QR code, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS. Herzi discloses a processor (See Figure 2 Number 202A and Paragraphs 20--21); and a memory coupled to the processor (See Figure 2 Number 204 and Paragraphs 21-23 and 27), the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the system to retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements (See Figure 6 Numbers 610-612 and Paragraphs 40-43) associated with an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 and Paragraphs 1 and 13), wherein the QR code comprises a printed label (See Paragraph 36); configure a BIOS using the BIOS entitlements (See Figure 6 Number 614 and Paragraph 43); and complete booting of the replacement motherboard into a normal mode of operation (See Paragraphs 4 and 34). However, Herzi is silent as to the positioning of the printed QR code label, and does not explicitly disclose that the QR code comprises a label affixed to the housing. Official Notice is taken that affixing a printed QR code label containing configuration information to the housing of an information handling system is well known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima (See Paragraph 84), Robba (See Paragraph 22), and Minakawa (See Paragraph 66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Sayyed using the printed QR code label for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the BIOS entitlement storage, and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the invention of Claim 16, because the simple substitution of the QR code for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the BIOS entitlement storage of Sayyed would have yielded the predictable result of recording the BIOS entitlements in a nonvolatile manner to enable easy, efficient, and fast transfer to the replacement motherboard without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi and Paragraphs 5, 16, and 19 of Sayyed); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Herzi using a replacement motherboard in the same IHS as the recipient of the saved BIOS entitlements of Sayyed, and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the invention of Claim 16, in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a motherboard, which is the backbone of the IHS, to be replaced without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraph 16 of Sayyed and Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa).
In reference to Claim 17, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 16 above. Sayyed further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the replacement motherboard to receive user input for manually inputting the BIOS entitlements (See Paragraph 32). Herzi further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the replacement motherboard to receive user input for manually inputting the BIOS entitlements (See Paragraphs 36, 38, and 43).
In reference to Claim 18, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 16 above. Herzi further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the replacement motherboard to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS (See Figure 3 Number 338 and Paragraphs 32-33 and 43).
In reference to Claim 19, Sayyed, Herzi, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 16 above. Sayyed further discloses that the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the storage (See Paragraph 52). Herzi further discloses that the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code (See Paragraph 30).
In reference to Claim 20, Sayyed and Herzi disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 16 above. Sayyed further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the replacement motherboard to store the BIOS entitlements in the storage when at least one of the IHS is manufactured (See Paragraphs 45 and 53) or when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS (See Paragraphs 51-52). Herzi further discloses that the program instructions, upon execution, further cause the IHS to store the BIOS entitlements in the QR code when at least one of the IHS is manufactured or when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS (See Paragraphs 5, 16, 34, and 41).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 10, 13, 16, and 19 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 6-7, 10, 13, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,887 to Sayyed et al. (“Sayyed-887”) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0110207 to Herzi (“Herzi”), knowledge commonly known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima, Robba, and Minakawa, and knowledge commonly known in the art and admitted by Applicant to be prior art.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as indicated below, the aforementioned claims of Sayyed-887 recite, in substantially equivalent form, all of the claim limitations of the aforementioned claims of the instant application.
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claims 1 and 6 (Sayyed-887)
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
[Claim 1] An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a processor;
[Claim 1] a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to, when a replacement motherboard is booted on the IHS:
[Claim 1] and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to: when a previous motherboard is replaced with a replacement motherboard:
[Claim 4] perform the acts of detecting, accessing, and updating only when the replacement motherboard is started for the first time
retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
[Claim 1] access context data associated with the previous motherboard from a NVMe storage unit that is deployed in the IHS independently of the replacement motherboard, the context data comprising configuration settings of the previous motherboard;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
[Claim 1] update the replacement motherboard according to the stored context information; and during an Operating System (OS) phase of the IHS, write the context data to the NVMe storage unit using a secure connection
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
Claim 4 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (Sayyed-887)
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code
encrypt the context data stored in the NVMe storage unit
Claim 10 (Instant Application)
Claims 10 and 13 (Sayyed-887)
A BIOS entitlement retention method for a motherboard replacement, the BIOS entitlement retention method comprising,
[Claim 10] A method comprising:
rebooting a replacement motherboard for the first time:
[Claim 13] perform the acts of detecting, accessing, and updating only when the replacement motherboard is started for the first time
retrieving, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (IHS), wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
[Claim 10] accessing context data associated with the previous motherboard from a NVMe storage unit that is deployed in an Information Handling System (IHS) independently of the replacement motherboard
configuring a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
[Claim 10] the context data comprising configuration settings of the previous motherboard; and updating the replacement motherboard according to the stored context information;
and completing booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
Claim 13 (Instant Application)
Claim 15 (Sayyed-887)
encrypting the BIOS entitlements on the QR code.
encrypting the context data stored in the NVMe storage unit;
Claim 16 (Instant Application)
Claims 1 and 6 (Sayyed-887)
A BIOS entitlement retention system comprising: a replacement motherboard comprising:
[Claim 1] An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising…a replacement motherboard
a processor;
[Claim 1] a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the replacement motherboard to, when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
[Claim 1] and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to: when a previous motherboard is replaced with a replacement motherboard:
[Claim 4] perform the acts of detecting, accessing, and updating only when the replacement motherboard is started for the first time
retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (IHS), wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
[Claim 1] access context data associated with the previous motherboard from a NVMe storage unit that is deployed in the IHS independently of the replacement motherboard, the context data comprising configuration settings of the previous motherboard;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
[Claim 1] update the replacement motherboard according to the stored context information; and during an Operating System (OS) phase of the IHS, write the context data to the NVMe storage unit using a secure connection
and complete booting of the replacement motherboard into a normal mode of operation.
Claim 19 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (Sayyed-887)
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code
encrypt the context data stored in the NVMe storage unit
However, the aforementioned claims of Sayyed-887 do not explicitly disclose that the storage is a QR code, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS, that the context data is BIOS entitlement data, and completing the booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation, as in Claims 1, 10, and 16; and cause the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS, as in Claims 3, 12, and 18. Herzi discloses the transferring of BIOS entitlement data using a QR code to a replacement motherboard when transferring context information to the replacement motherboard (See Paragraph 5 and Claim 2). Herzi is silent as to the positioning of the printed QR code label, and does not explicitly disclose that the QR code comprises a label affixed to the housing. Official Notice is taken that affixing a printed QR code label containing configuration information to the housing of an information handling system is well known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima (See Paragraph 84), Robba (See Paragraph 22), and Minakawa (See Paragraph 66). Official Notice is further taken that completing booting of an IHS into a normal mode of operation is well known in the art. This has been admitted by Applicant to be prior art. Herzi further discloses causing the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS (See Figure 3 Number 338 and Paragraphs 32-33 and 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claims of Sayyed-887 using the QR code, camera, and BIOS entitlement data of Herzi as storage and the context data, using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, and using the well-known boot completion into a normal mode of operation, resulting in the claimed inventions, because the simple substitution of the BIOS entitlement data of Herzi as the context data of the aforementioned claims of Sayyed-887 would have yielded the predicable result of adjusting the BIOS configuration settings when the replacement motherboard is installed (See Paragraphs 4-5 of Herzi); because the simple substitution of the QR code and camera for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the storage of Sayyed-887 would have yielded the predictable result of recording the BIOS entitlements in a nonvolatile manner to enable easy, efficient, and fast transfer to the replacement motherboard without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi); because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa); and in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for normal use and operation of the computer system for its intended purpose.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 10, 12-13, and 16-19 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/788,257, published as US Patent Application Publication Number 2026/0037271, to McNulty et al. (“McNulty”), in view of Herzi and knowledge commonly known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima, Robba, and Minakawa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as indicated below, the aforementioned claims of Sayyed-887 recite, in substantially equivalent form, all of the claim limitations of the aforementioned claims of the instant application.
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claim 1 (McNulty)
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a processor;
a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to, when a replacement motherboard is booted on the IHS:
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to: when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
attach to a device that stores one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS; configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard with the BIOS entitlements
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard with the BIOS entitlements;
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation
Claim 4 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (McNulty)
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code
the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the device
Claim 10 (Instant Application)
Claim 10 (McNulty)
A BIOS entitlement retention method for a motherboard replacement, the BIOS entitlement retention method comprising,
A motherboard replacement method comprising:
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
retrieving, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (IHS), wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
attaching to a device that stores one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (HIS);
configuring a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard with the BIOS entitlements;
and completing booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
Claim 13 (Instant Application)
Claim 15 (McNulty)
encrypting the BIOS entitlements on the QR code.
encrypting the BIOS entitlements on the device
Claim 16 (Instant Application)
Claim 1 (McNulty)
A BIOS entitlement retention system comprising: a replacement motherboard comprising:
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a processor;
a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the replacement motherboard to, when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to: when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (IHS), wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
attach to a device that stores one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS; configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard with the BIOS entitlements
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard with the BIOS entitlements;
and complete booting of the replacement motherboard into a normal mode of operation.
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation
Claim 19 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (McNulty)
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code
the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the device
However, the aforementioned claims of Sayyed-887 do not explicitly disclose that the storage is a QR code, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS, as in Claims 1, 10, and 16; and cause the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS, as in Claims 3, 12, and 18. Herzi discloses the transferring of BIOS entitlement data using a QR code to a replacement motherboard (See Paragraph 5 and Claim 2). Herzi is silent as to the positioning of the printed QR code label, and does not explicitly disclose that the QR code comprises a label affixed to the housing. Official Notice is taken that affixing a printed QR code label containing configuration information to the housing of an information handling system is well known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima (See Paragraph 84), Robba (See Paragraph 22), and Minakawa (See Paragraph 66). Herzi further discloses causing the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS (See Figure 3 Number 338 and Paragraphs 32-33 and 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claims of Sayyed-887 using the QR code and camera of Herzi as storage, and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the claimed inventions, because the simple substitution of the QR code and camera for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the storage of Sayyed-887 would have yielded the predictable result of recording the BIOS entitlements in a nonvolatile manner to enable easy, efficient, and fast transfer to the replacement motherboard without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 10, 12-13, and 16-19 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/780,264, published as US Patent Application Publication Number 2026/0030029 to Kemp et al. (“Kemp”), in view of Herzi and knowledge commonly known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima, Robba, and Minakawa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as indicated below, the aforementioned claims of Kemp recite, in substantially equivalent form, all of the claim limitations of the aforementioned claims of the instant application.
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claims 1 and 7 (Kemp)
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
[Claim 1] An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a processor;
[Claim 1] a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to,
[Claim 1] and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to:
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
[Claim 7] configure the BIOS on the replacement motherboard when the IHS is booted with the replacement motherboard for the first time.
retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
[Claim 1] obtain a plurality of Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements from a non-volatile storage system of the IHS;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
[Claim 1] configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard with the BIOS entitlements;
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
[Claim 1] and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation
Claim 4 (Instant Application)
Claim 5 (Kemp)
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code
encrypt the BIOS entitlements in the non-volatile storage system
Claim 10 (Instant Application)
Claims 9 and 15 (Kemp)
A BIOS entitlement retention method for a motherboard replacement, the BIOS entitlement retention method comprising,
[Claim 9] A Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlement retention method comprising:
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
[Claim 15] obtaining the plurality of BIOS entitlements from the non-volatile storage system of the IHS and configuring the BIOS on the replacement motherboard when the IHS is booted with the replacement motherboard for the first time
retrieving, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (IHS), wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
[Claim 9] obtaining a plurality of BIOS entitlements from a non-volatile storage system of an Information Handling System (IHS);
configuring a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
[Claim 9] configuring a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
and completing booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
[Claim 9] and completing booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
Claim 13 (Instant Application)
Claim 15 (Kemp)
encrypting the BIOS entitlements on the QR code.
encrypting the BIOS entitlements in the non-volatile storage system
Claim 16 (Instant Application)
Claims 1 and 7 (Kemp)
A BIOS entitlement retention system comprising: a replacement motherboard comprising:
[Claim 1] An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a processor;
[Claim 1] a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the replacement motherboard to,
[Claim 1] and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to:
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
[Claim 7] configure the BIOS on the replacement motherboard when the IHS is booted with the replacement motherboard for the first time.
retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (IHS), wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
[Claim 1] obtain a plurality of Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements from a non-volatile storage system of the IHS;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
[Claim 1] configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard with the BIOS entitlements;
and complete booting of the replacement motherboard into a normal mode of operation.
[Claim 1] and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation
Claim 19 (Instant Application)
Claim 5 (Kemp)
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code
cause the IHS to encrypt the BIOS entitlements in the non-volatile storage system
However, the aforementioned claims of Kemp do not explicitly disclose that the storage is a QR code, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS, as in Claims 1, 10, and 16; and cause the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS, as in Claims 3, 12, and 18. Herzi discloses the transferring of BIOS entitlement data using a QR code to a replacement motherboard (See Paragraph 5 and Claim 2). Herzi is silent as to the positioning of the printed QR code label, and does not explicitly disclose that the QR code comprises a label affixed to the housing. Official Notice is taken that affixing a printed QR code label containing configuration information to the housing of an information handling system is well known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima (See Paragraph 84), Robba (See Paragraph 22), and Minakawa (See Paragraph 66). Official Notice is further taken that completing booting of an IHS into a normal mode of operation is well known in the art. This has been admitted by Applicant to be prior art. Herzi further discloses causing the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS (See Figure 3 Number 338 and Paragraphs 32-33 and 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claims of Kemp using the QR code and camera of Herzi as storage and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the claimed inventions, because the simple substitution of the QR code and camera for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the storage of Kemp would have yielded the predictable result of recording the BIOS entitlements in a nonvolatile manner to enable easy, efficient, and fast transfer to the replacement motherboard without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa)
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8-10, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim(s) 1, 7-10, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/777,645, published as US Patent Application Publication Number 2026/0023571 to Dyson et al. (“Dyson”), in view of Herzi and knowledge commonly known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima, Robba, and Minakawa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as indicated below, the aforementioned claims of Dyson recite, in substantially equivalent form, all of the claim limitations of the aforementioned claims of the instant application.
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claim 1 (Dyson)
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a processor;
a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to,
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to,
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
attach to a system device that stores one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
Claim 4 (Instant Application)
Claim 8 (Dyson)
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the system device.
Claim 6 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (Dyson)
cause the IHS to store the BIOS entitlements in the QR code when the IHS is manufactured.
the BIOS entitlements are stored in the system device when the IHS is manufactured by a vendor.
Claim 8 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (Dyson)
wherein the program instructions are stored in a BIOS portion of the replacement motherboard.
the program instructions are stored in a BIOS portion of the replacement mb.
Claim 9 (Instant Application)
Claim 9 (Dyson)
the IHS comprises at least one of a workstation or a desktop computer.
wherein the IHS comprises at least one of a workstation or a desktop computer.
Claim 10 (Instant Application)
Claim 10 (Dyson)
A BIOS entitlement retention method for a motherboard replacement, the BIOS entitlement retention method comprising,
A bios entitlement retention method comprising:
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
attaching, when a replacement motherboard is booted on an Information Handling System (IHS) for the first time, to a system device that stores one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS;
retrieving, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (IHS), wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
attaching, when a replacement motherboard is booted on an Information Handling System (IHS) for the first time, to a system device that stores one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS;
configuring a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
configuring a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
and completing booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
and completing booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
Claim 13 (Instant Application)
Claim 15 (Dyson)
encrypting the BIOS entitlements on the QR code.
encrypting the BIOS entitlements on the system device.
Claim 14 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (Dyson)
storing the BIOS entitlements in the QR code when the IHS is manufactured.
the BIOS entitlements are stored in the system device when the IHS is manufactured by a vendor.
Claim 16 (Instant Application)
Claim 1 (Dyson)
A BIOS entitlement retention system comprising: a replacement motherboard comprising:
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a processor;
a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the replacement motherboard to,
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having program instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause the IHS to,
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
when a replacement motherboard is booted for the first time:
retrieve, from a QR code, one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with an Information Handling System (IHS), wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS;
attach to a system device that stores one or more Basic Input/Output System (BIOS) entitlements associated with the IHS;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
configure a BIOS on the replacement motherboard using the BIOS entitlements;
and complete booting of the replacement motherboard into a normal mode of operation.
and complete booting of the IHS into a normal mode of operation.
Claim 19 (Instant Application)
Claim 8 (Dyson)
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the QR code
wherein the BIOS entitlements are encrypted on the system device.
Claim 20 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (Dyson)
cause the IHS to store the BIOS entitlements in the QR code when at least one of the IHS is manufactured or when the IHS is custom configured for use by a user of the IHS.
the BIOS entitlements are stored in the system device when the IHS is manufactured by a vendor.
However, the aforementioned claims of Dyson do not explicitly disclose that the storage is a QR code, wherein the QR code comprises a label affixed on a housing of the IHS, as in Claims 1, 10, and 16; and cause the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS, as in Claims 3, 12, and 18. Herzi discloses the transferring of BIOS entitlement data using a QR code to a replacement motherboard (See Paragraph 5 and Claim 2). Herzi is silent as to the positioning of the printed QR code label, and does not explicitly disclose that the QR code comprises a label affixed to the housing. Official Notice is taken that affixing a printed QR code label containing configuration information to the housing of an information handling system is well known in the art, as evidenced by Nakajima (See Paragraph 84), Robba (See Paragraph 22), and Minakawa (See Paragraph 66). Herzi further discloses causing the IHS to receive the BIOS entitlements using a camera coupled to the IHS (See Figure 3 Number 338 and Paragraphs 32-33 and 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claims of Dyson using the QR code and camera of Herzi as storage, and using a well-known printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS, resulting in the claimed inventions, because the simple substitution of the QR code and camera for storing BIOS entitlements of Herzi as the storage of Dyson would have yielded the predictable result of recording the BIOS entitlements in a nonvolatile manner to enable easy, efficient, and fast transfer to the replacement motherboard without needing to install or execute a custom script or application (See Paragraphs 3, 13, 16, and 36 of Herzi); and because Herzi is silent as to the particular positioning of the printed QR code label, and the simple substitution of the printed QR code label containing configuration information affixed to the housing of the IHS as the printed QR code label containing configuration information of Herzi would have yielded the predictable result of providing the configuration information in a location where is can be easily scanned for transfer of the configuration settings (See Paragraph 36 of Herzi, Paragraph 84 of Nakajima, Paragraph 22 of Robba, and Paragraph 66 of Minakawa).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication Number 2007/0008684 to Anderson et al. (“Anderson”) discloses affixing a label containing a printed image to the housing of a computing device (See Paragraph 21), and in combination with the printed QR code of Hamzi, would also render the claims as obvious.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J. CLEARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175